DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/07/2024 was filed on the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. [US 2021/0212209] in view of JP S59101381.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a connector for enabling an electrical connection between principal surfaces of two planar panels by being sandwiched between the two planar panels, the connector comprising: a deformable main body (fig. 8a; body of 250) having a first elongated cuboid shape (shape of 250) and having, perpendicular to a longitudinal direction (fig. 8a; L) of the first elongated cuboid shape (250 shape), a first rectangular cross-section (fig. 8b; is a cross-section along the W direction); and a conductive layer (fig. 8a; 254) mostly enclosing a perimeter (outer side of 250 that 254 covers) of the first rectangular cross-section (250 cross-section of fig. 8b) along a portion of the longitudinal direction (L) of the deformable main body (body of 250).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses wherein: the conductive layer (254) is one of a number of conductive layers (there are multiple 254), each of which partially fully enclose the perimeter (outer side of 250 that 254 covers) of the first rectangular cross-section (250 cross-section of fig. 8b) along separate portions along the longitudinal direction (L).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Kim does not disclose the conductive layer fully enclosing the perimeter [claim 1]; each of the conductor layers fully enclosing the perimeter [claim 2].
Regarding claims 1 and 2, JP ‘381 teaches each of the conductive layers (fig. 5; 37b) fully enclosing the perimeter (fig. 5; perimeter of 37a; see JP ‘381 translation page 3 lines 1-4: to make any portion into a contact surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate one or each of the conductive layers fully enclosing the perimeter as suggested by JP ‘381 for the benefit of providing an improved electrical connection once a plurality of panels make electrical contact with the connector.
Regarding claim 3, Kim modified by JP ‘381 has be discussed above. Kim discloses wherein: the separate portions (areas where 254 are located) are equally spaced apart from one another in the longitudinal direction (L).
Regarding claim 4, Kim modified by JP ‘381 has be discussed above. Kim discloses four conductive layers (at least four 254).
Regarding claim 5, Kim modified by JP ‘381 has be discussed above. Kim discloses each conductive layer (254) is comprised of a conductive pad (fig. 8b; sections of 254 that contact 224 and 214).
Regarding claim 11, Kim modified by JP ‘381 has be discussed above. Kim discloses a first end portion (fig. 8a; left end of 250) at a first end (left side) of the deformable main body (body of 250) in the longitudinal direction (L); and a second end portion (fig. 8a; right end of 250) at a second end (right side) of the deformable main body (body of 250) opposing the first end (left side) in the longitudinal direction (L).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
/MARCUS E HARCUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2831