Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first office action in response to the communication filed 05/07/2024. Claims 1-8 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/07/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 through 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Emori et al. (US-20030210457-A1; hereinafter Emori).
Regarding claim 1, Emori discloses A Raman optical amplifier comprising: a pumping source configured to include a plurality of laser elements including different wavelengths, the plurality of laser elements being configured as pumping sources including a gain in a wavelength band obtained by adding a first wavelength band in operation and a second wavelength band to be added, (see at least [0008]; "Although a Raman amplifier amplifies a signal over a wide wavelength band, the gain of a Raman amplifier is relatively small and, therefore, it is preferable to use a high output laser device as a pumping source. However, increasing the output power of a single mode (or frequency) pumping source beyond a certain threshold leads to undesirable stimulated Brillouin scattering and increased noise at high peak power values. As recognized by the present inventors, to prevent this problem, a multimode laser device is preferably used as a pumping source in a Raman amplifier. A multimode laser has a plurality of oscillating longitudinal modes, each providing output power at less than the threshold at which stimulated Brillouin occurs. A multimode laser can provide a sufficient amount of output power to achieve Raman amplification distributed over the various modes (i.e., wavelengths of output light), as opposed to providing the power all at a single wavelength." and see at least [0009]; "To control the wavelength of the light emitted from the pumping source, and therefore, determine what wavelength of signal will be amplified, it is well known to use fiber gratings. A fiber grating selectively reflects certain wavelengths of light causing a laser beam of a specific wavelength to be output. Fiber gratings are known to be included in the core of an optical fiber, separate from the laser device itself. However, having the grating separate from the semiconductor laser device has been found to be problematic in that it allows for noise to be introduced, for instabilities due to the mechanical vibrations that can occur between the semiconductor laser device and the optical fiber including the fiber grating, and for losses." and see at least [0006]; "To offset this effect, a gain flattening filter may be used to obtain a uniform or flat gain profile (having a gain deviation of less than 1 dB) across the entire communication band. The gain flattening filter is designed to have a loss profile having a shape that is the inverse of the shape of the gain profile." and see at least [0012]; "As described in U.S. Pat. No. 6,292,288, in order to achieve a uniform gain profile over a broad range of wavelengths, a Raman amplifier can include multiple pump lasers, each providing multimode light having a predetermined spectral width, centered at a different central wavelength. By properly spacing in wavelength the pump lasers with predetermined optical output levels, it is possible to achieve a composite gain profile that is flat over a broad range of wavelengths, and therefore to provide Raman amplification over a broad range of wavelengths.") wherein a pumping ratio between the plurality of laser elements is adjusted so that a gain spectrum of the Raman optical amplifier becomes flat over the wavelength band obtained by adding the first wavelength band and the second wavelength band. (see at least [0007]; "By multiplexing several different pump wavelengths into the same fiber, one can generate a reasonably flat gain spectrum over an arbitrary bandwidth." and see at least [0125] The WDM signal level maybe measured directly at an input to the Raman amplifier 200. In this case, the control unit 206 can determine whether the target gain is achieved by comparing the target gain to a ratio of a measured output signal from the Raman amplifier 200 to the level ofthe optical signal applied to the Raman amplifier 200.").
Regarding claim 2, Emori discloses The Raman optical amplifier according to claim 1, wherein, when the second wavelength band is added, the Raman optical amplifier amplifies first-band signal light and second-band signal light that propagate through the transmission line with pumping light in the wavelength band obtained by adding the first wavelength band and the second wavelength band. (see at least [0014]; "FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a conventional Raman amplifier 100. The Raman amplifier 100 includes an amplifier fiber (optical fiber) 103, a WDM coupler 104, a pumping device 107, a control unit 119, and optional polarization independent isolators 102, 105. The Raman amplifier 100 is connected (or merely coupled) to an input fiber 101 and an output fiber 106, which may be optical transmission fibers such as single mode fibers (SMF), dispersion compensation fibers (DCF), dispersion flattening fibers, etc. The amplifier fiber (or optical signal transmission fiber) 103 may be similar types of fibers as well." and see at least [0133]; "FIGS. 13A and 13B illustrate another example of the superposition principle as applied to the present invention with regard to creating target amplification performances. As shown in FIG. 13A, four pump lasers are tuned to the shorter wavelengths (i.e., a first group) and set at a first predetermined gain level (or optical output level), and a fifth pump laser (i.e., a second group, having only one pump laser in this example, but more could be included) is set to a higher gain level. The fifth pump laser is tuned to be separated in wavelength from the closest of the pump lasers in the first group by a greater wavelength interval than between that of adjacent members in the first group. Moreover, the pump lasers in the first group are set to approximately equal gain levels and are tuned to be separated from one another by about 20 nm (although a range of 6 nm to 35 nm is a reasonable separate range to minimize appreciable inflection points in the gain profile). In this example, the fifth pump laser is tuned to operate at a central wavelength of 1495.2 nm (29.2 nm above the closest pump laser in the first group, which operates at 1466.0 nm), and is set to impart an effective gain that is almost 3 times higher than that of each of the first group of pumps." and see at least [0168]; "The amplification bandwidth can be expanded or contracted by tuning the central wavelengths and/or changing the contributions from pump lasers tuned to operate at the shortest and longest wavelengths in the group of pump lasers. FIG. 16 illustrates another example in which this can be accomplished. It should be noted that in FIG. 16, the center frequencies of the pump lasers are shown, rather than the central wavelengths. As shown, the center frequency of the first pump 91 is tuned to operate at 211 THz (a wavelength of 1420.8 nm) and the center frequency of the fifth pump is tuned to operate at 95 is 207 THz (a wavelength of 1448.3 nm). The pumps 91-95 are tuned by the control unit 206 to be spaced apart from each other at an interval of 1 THz and the light output from the pumps 91-95 are combined via the WDM combiner 82 to form a shorter wavelength group. This combined light is then combined via a coupler 99 with light output from the longer wavelength group that includes a pump 96 operating at a frequency of 205 THz (a wavelength of 1462.4 nm), which is spaced apart from the fifth pump 95 by 2 THz.").
Regarding claim 3, Emori discloses An optical transmission system comprising: a Raman optical amplifier arranged in a transmission line and configured to include a pumping source that includes a plurality of laser elements including different wavelengths, the plurality of laser elements being configured as pumping sources including a gain in a wavelength band obtained by adding a first wavelength band in operation and a second wavelength band to be added, (see at least [0014]; "FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a conventional Raman amplifier 100. The Raman amplifier 100 includes an amplifier fiber (optical fiber) 103, a WDM coupler 104, a pumping device 107, a control unit 119, and optional polarization independent isolators 102, 105. The Raman amplifier 100 is connected (or merely coupled) to an input fiber 101 and an output fiber 106, which may be optical transmission fibers such as single mode fibers (SMF), dispersion compensation fibers (DCF), dispersion flattening fibers, etc. The amplifier fiber (or optical signal transmission fiber) 103 may be similar types of fibers as well." and see at least [0008]; "Although a Raman amplifier amplifies a signal over a wide wavelength band, the gain of a Raman amplifier is relatively small and, therefore, it is preferable to use a high output laser device as a pumping source. However, increasing the output power of a single mode (or frequency) pumping source beyond a certain threshold leads to undesirable stimulated Brillouin scattering and increased noise at high peak power values. As recognized by the present inventors, to prevent this problem, a multimode laser device is preferably used as a pumping source in a Raman amplifier. A multimode laser has a plurality of oscillating longitudinal modes, each providing output power at less than the threshold at which stimulated Brillouin occurs. A multimode laser can provide a sufficient amount of output power to achieve Raman amplification distributed over the various modes (i.e., wavelengths of output light), as opposed to providing the power all at a single wavelength." and see at least [0009]; "To control the wavelength of the light emitted from the pumping source, and therefore, determine what wavelength of signal will be amplified, it is well known to use fiber gratings. A fiber grating selectively reflects certain wavelengths of light causing a laser beam of a specific wavelength to be output. Fiber gratings are known to be included in the core of an optical fiber, separate from the laser device itself. However, having the grating separate from the semiconductor laser device has been found to be problematic in that it allows for noise to be introduced, for instabilities due to the mechanical vibrations that can occur between the semiconductor laser device and the optical fiber including the fiber grating, and for losses." and see at least [0006]; "To offset this effect, a gain flattening filter may be used to obtain a uniform or flat gain profile (having a gain deviation of less than 1 dB) across the entire communication band. The gain flattening filter is designed to have a loss profile having a shape that is the inverse of the shape of the gain profile." and see at least [0012]; "As described in U.S. Pat. No. 6,292,288, in order to achieve a uniform gain profile over a broad range of wavelengths, a Raman amplifier can include multiple pump lasers, each providing multimode light having a predetermined spectral width, centered at a different central wavelength. By properly spacing in wavelength the pump lasers with predetermined optical output levels, it is possible to achieve a composite gain profile that is flat over a broad range of wavelengths, and therefore to provide Raman amplification over a broad range of wavelengths.") wherein a pumping ratio between the plurality of laser elements is adjusted so that a gain spectrum of the Raman optical amplifier becomes flat over the wavelength band obtained by adding the first wavelength band and the second wavelength band; and (see at least [0007]; "By multiplexing several different pump wavelengths into the same fiber, one can generate a reasonably flat gain spectrum over an arbitrary bandwidth." and see at least [0125]; "The WDM signal level maybe measured directly at an input to the Raman amplifier 200. In this case, the control unit 206 can determine whether the target gain is achieved by comparing the target gain to a ratio of a measured output signal from the Raman amplifier 200 to the level of the optical signal applied to the Raman amplifier 200.") a processor configured to control the Raman optical amplifier. (see at least [0089]; "The control unit 206 uses a processor to assert control over the output power and/or tune the central wavelength of light provided by each of the semiconductor lasers 202, 203, 204, 205, thereby controlling the overall amplification performance of the Raman amplifier 200.").
Regarding claim 4, Emori discloses The optical transmission system according to claim 3, wherein the Raman optical amplifier amplifies first-band signal light and second-band signal light that propagate through the transmission line with pumping light in the wavelength band obtained by adding the first wavelength band and the second wavelength band when the second wavelength band is added. (see at least [0014]; "FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a conventional Raman amplifier 100. The Raman amplifier 100 includes an amplifier fiber (optical fiber) 103, a WDM coupler 104, a pumping device 107, a control unit 119, and optional polarization independent isolators 102, 105. The Raman amplifier 100 is connected (or merely coupled) to an input fiber 101 and an output fiber 106, which may be optical transmission fibers such as single mode fibers (SMF), dispersion compensation fibers (DCF), dispersion flattening fibers, etc. The amplifier fiber (or optical signal transmission fiber) 103 may be similar types of fibers as well." and see at least [0133]; "FIGS. 13A and 13B illustrate another example of the superposition principle as applied to the present invention with regard to creating target amplification performances. As shown in FIG. 13A, four pump lasers are tuned to the shorter wavelengths (i.e., a first group) and set at a first predetermined gain level (or optical output level), and a fifth pump laser (i.e., a second group, having only one pump laser in this example, but more could be included) is set to a higher gain level. The fifth pump laser is tuned to be separated in wavelength from the closest of the pump lasers in the first group by a greater wavelength interval than between that of adjacent members in the first group. Moreover, the pump lasers in the first group are set to approximately equal gain levels and are tuned to be separated from one another by about 20 nm (although a range of 6 nm to 35 nm is a reasonable separate range to minimize appreciable inflection points in the gain profile). In this example, the fifth pump laser is tuned to operate at a central wavelength of 1495.2 nm (29.2 nm above the closest pump laser in the first group, which operates at 1466.0 nm), and is set to impart an effective gain that is almost 3 times higher than that of each of the first group of pumps." and see at least [0168]; "The amplification bandwidth can be expanded or contracted by tuning the central wavelengths and/or changing the contributions from pump lasers tuned to operate at the shortest and longest wavelengths in the group of pump lasers. FIG. 16 illustrates another example in which this can be accomplished. It should be noted that in FIG. 16, the center frequencies of the pump lasers are shown, rather than the central wavelengths. As shown, the center frequency of the first pump 91 is tuned to operate at 211 THz (a wavelength of 1420.8 nm) and the center frequency of the fifth pump is tuned to operate at 95 is 207 THz (a wavelength of 1448.3 nm). The pumps 91-95 are tuned by the control unit 206 to be spaced apart from each other at an interval of 1 THz and the light output from the pumps 91-95 are combined via the WDM combiner 82 to form a shorter wavelength group. This combined light is then combined via a coupler 99 with light output from the longer wavelength group that includes a pump 96 operating at a frequency of 205 THz (a wavelength of 1462.4 nm), which is spaced apart from the fifth pump 95 by 2 THz.").
Regarding claim 5, Emori discloses The optical transmission system according to claim 3, wherein the processor includes pumping ratio setting information in which the pumping ratio in the wavelength band obtained by adding the first wavelength band and the second wavelength band is recoded in association with one of a fiber type of the transmission line and an average Raman gain of the transmission line, and (see at least [0089]; "The control unit 206 uses a processor to assert control over the output power and/or tune the central wavelength of light provided by each of the semiconductor lasers 202, 203, 204, 205, thereby controlling the overall amplification performance of the Raman amplifier 200." and see at least [0125]; "The WDM signal level may be measured directly at an input to the Raman amplifier 200. In this case, the control unit 206 can determine whether the target gain is achieved by comparing the target gain to a ratio of a measured output signal from the Raman amplifier 200 to the level of the optical signal applied to the Raman amplifier 200." and see at least [0140]; "Alternatively, an average of the monitored samples may be combined to develop a mean amplification performance over a predetermined sub-band. In this case, it is possible to reduce the number of calculations required, but also permit the control unit 206 to measure for a compliance of "shape" with regard to the target amplification performance. For example, as will be discussed below, the control unit 206 may control groups of pump lasers to affect a desired amplification performance. Suppose the control of the pump lasers is handled by controlling the pump lasers as two groups. The control unit 206 can then calculate a mean output level for the shorter wavelengths (first group) and another mean output level for the longer wavelengths (second group). This allows the control unit 206 to (1) determine whether the mean amplification performance across the amplification band is within .gamma.; and (2) to determine if an adjustment needs to be made to the slope (i.e., tilt) of the total amplification performance by some amount.") wherein, when the Raman optical amplifier is activated, the processor adjusts the pumping ratio of the Raman optical amplifier by using the pumping ratio setting information. (see at least [0125]; "As another alternative, a target output WDM optical signal characteristic may be provided from an external source and stored in memory instead of the target amplification performance. In this case, the target amplification performance is calculated from an input WDM optical signal characteristic and a target output WDM optical signal characteristic and stored in a memory of the controller 501.” and see at least [0125]; "The target amplification performance and input WDM optical signal characteristic may be provided, stored, and read, for example, from the main memory in the control unit 206 during operational conditions.").
Regarding claim 6, Emori discloses The optical transmission system according to claim 5, wherein the processor stores the adjusted pumping ratio. (see at least [0089]; "The control unit 206 uses a processor to assert control over the output power and/or tune the central wavelength of light provided by each of the semiconductor lasers 202, 203, 204, 205, thereby controlling the overall amplification performance of the Raman amplifier 200." and see at least [0125]; "The WDM signal level may be measured directly at an input to the Raman amplifier 200. In this case, the control unit 206 can determine whether the target gain is achieved by comparing the target gain to a ratio of a measured output signal from the Raman amplifier 200 to the level of the optical signal applied to the Raman amplifier 200." and see at least [0125]; "As another alternative, a target output WDM optical signal characteristic may be provided from an external source and stored in memory instead of the target amplification performance. In this case, the target amplification performance is calculated from an input WDM optical signal characteristic and a target output WDM optical signal characteristic and stored in a memory of the controller 501." and see at least [0140]; "This allows the control unit 206 to (1) determine whether the mean amplification performance across the amplification band is within .gamma.; and (2) to determine if an adjustment needs to be made to the slope (i.e., tilt) of the total amplification performance by some amount." and see at least [0125]; "The target amplification performance and input WDM optical signal characteristic may be provided, stored, and read, for example, from the main memory in the control unit 206 during operational conditions.").
Regarding claim 7, Emori discloses A method for adjusting a Raman optical amplifier comprising: adjusting a pumping ratio between a plurality of laser elements configured as pumping sources including a gain in a wavelength band obtained by adding the first wavelength band in operation and the second wavelength band to be added, so that a gain spectrum of the Raman optical amplifier becomes flat over the wavelength band obtained by adding the first wavelength band and the second wavelength band, a pumping source of the pumping sources including the plurality of laser elements including different wavelengths. (see at least [0008]; "Although a Raman amplifier amplifies a signal over a wide wavelength band, the gain of a Raman amplifier is relatively small and, therefore, it is preferable to use a high output laser device as a pumping source. However, increasing the output power of a single mode (or frequency) pumping source beyond a certain threshold leads to undesirable stimulated Brillouin scattering and increased noise at high peak power values. As recognized by the present inventors, to prevent this problem, a multimode laser device is preferably used as a pumping source in a Raman amplifier. A multimode laser has a plurality of oscillating longitudinal modes, each providing output power at less than the threshold at which stimulated Brillouin occurs. A multimode laser can provide a sufficient amount of output power to achieve Raman amplification distributed over the various modes (i.e., wavelengths of output light), as opposed to providing the power all at a single wavelength." and see at least [0009]; "To control the wavelength of the light emitted from the pumping source, and therefore, determine what wavelength of signal will be amplified, it is well known to use fiber gratings. A fiber grating selectively reflects certain wavelengths of light causing a laser beam of a specific wavelength to be output. Fiber gratings are known to be included in the core of an optical fiber, separate from the laser device itself. However, having the grating separate from the semiconductor laser device has been found to be problematic in that it allows for noise to be introduced, for instabilities due to the mechanical vibrations that can occur between the semiconductor laser device and the optical fiber including the fiber grating, and for losses." and see at least [0006]; "To offset this effect, a gain flattening filter may be used to obtain a uniform or flat gain profile (having a gain deviation of less than 1 dB) across the entire communication band. The gain flattening filter is designed to have a loss profile having a shape that is the inverse of the shape of the gain profile." and see at least [0012]; "As described in U.S. Pat. No. 6,292,288, in order to achieve a uniform gain profile over a broad range of wavelengths, a Raman amplifier can include multiple pump lasers, each providing multimode light having a predetermined spectral width, centered at a different central wavelength. By properly spacing in wavelength the pump lasers with predetermined optical output levels, it is possible to achieve a composite gain profile that is flat over a broad range of wavelengths, and therefore to provide Raman amplification over a broad range of wavelengths." and see at least [0007]; "By multiplexing several different pump wavelengths into the same fiber, one can generate a reasonably flat gain spectrum over an arbitrary bandwidth." and see at least [0125]; "The WDM signal level maybe measured directly at an input to the Raman amplifier 200. In this case, the control unit 206 can determine whether the target gain is achieved by comparing the target gain to a ratio of a measured output signal from the Raman amplifier 200 to the level ofthe optical signal applied to the Raman amplifier 200.").
Regarding claim 8, Emori discloses The method for adjusting Raman optical amplifier according to claim 7, wherein, when the second wavelength band is added, the Raman optical amplifier amplifies first-band signal light and second-band signal light that propagate through the transmission line with pumping light in the wavelength band obtained by adding the first wavelength band and the second wavelength band. (see at least [0008]; "Although a Raman amplifier amplifies a signal over a wide wavelength band, the gain of a Raman amplifier is relatively small and, therefore, it is preferable to use a high output laser device as a pumping source. However, increasing the output power of a single mode (or frequency) pumping source beyond a certain threshold leads to undesirable stimulated Brillouin scattering and increased noise at high peak power values. As recognized by the present inventors, to prevent this problem, a multimode laser device is preferably used as a pumping source in a Raman amplifier. A multimode laser has a plurality of oscillating longitudinal modes, each providing output power at less than the threshold at which stimulated Brillouin occurs. A multimode laser can provide a sufficient amount of output power to achieve Raman amplification distributed over the various modes (i.e., wavelengths of output light), as opposed to providing the power all at a single wavelength." and see at least [0009]; "To control the wavelength of the light emitted from the pumping source, and therefore, determine what wavelength of signal will be amplified, it is well known to use fiber gratings. A fiber grating selectively reflects certain wavelengths of light causing a laser beam of a specific wavelength to be output. Fiber gratings are known to be included in the core of an optical fiber, separate from the laser device itself. However, having the grating separate from the semiconductor laser device has been found to be problematic in that it allows for noise to be introduced, for instabilities due to the mechanical vibrations that can occur between the semiconductor laser device and the optical fiber including the fiber grating, and for losses." and see at least [0006]; "To offset this effect, a gain flattening filter may be used to obtain a uniform or flat gain profile (having a gain deviation of less than 1 dB) across the entire communication band. The gain flattening filter is designed to have a loss profile having a shape that is the inverse of the shape of the gain profile." and see at least [0012]; "As described in U.S. Pat. No. 6,292,288, in order to achieve a uniform gain profile over a broad range of wavelengths, a Raman amplifier can include multiple pump lasers, each providing multimode light having a predetermined spectral width, centered at a different central wavelength. By properly spacing in wavelength the pump lasers with predetermined optical output levels, it is possible to achieve a composite gain profile that is flat over a broad range of wavelengths, and therefore to provide Raman amplification over a broad range of wavelengths." and see at least [0007]; "By multiplexing several different pump wavelengths into the same fiber, one can generate a reasonably flat gain spectrum over an arbitrary bandwidth." and see at least [0125]; "The WDM signal level maybe measured directly at an input to the Raman amplifier 200. In this case, the control unit 206 can determine whether the target gain is achieved by comparing the target gain to a ratio of a measured output signal from the Raman amplifier 200 to the level ofthe optical signal applied to the Raman amplifier 200." and see at least [0014]; "FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a conventional Raman amplifier 100. The Raman amplifier 100 includes an amplifier fiber (optical fiber) 103, a WDM coupler 104, a pumping device 107, a control unit 119, and optional polarization independent isolators 102, 105. The Raman amplifier 100 is connected (or merely coupled) to an input fiber 101 and an output fiber 106, which may be optical transmission fibers such as single mode fibers (SMF), dispersion compensation fibers (DCF), dispersion flattening fibers, etc. The amplifier fiber (or optical signal transmission fiber) 103 may be similar types of fibers as well.").
Conclusion
/MARK ANTHONY FLORES/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648