DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 2/25/26.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “130” has been used to designate both as a handle and as a recess (fig 12). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 0874119 to Mingrone in view of US Pat No 8,020,901 to Watanabe.
Regarding claim 1, Mingrone discloses an escutcheon assembly that comprises a base plate assembly (4) including an elongated base plate (13) having lateral sides and longitudinal sides, and an upper shuttle and a lower shuttle (18) proximate opposing lateral sides of the base plate, each of the upper and lower shuttles normally biased in opposing directions by at least one resilient biasing mechanism (19) and translatable axially within an interior of the base plate, each of the upper and lower shuttles further including a projection (20); and an escutcheon (1) includes ramped surfaces (21) on opposing lateral ends thereof.
Mingrone fails to disclose that one of the lateral ends defines a recessed portion, adjacent one of the ramp surfaces, that is closed and inaccessible from the exterior and a slotted portion at the other lateral end, that is accessible from the exterior, to permit disengagement of the escutcheon from the base plate.
Mingrone discloses a different engagement/mounting of the escutcheon to the base plate wherein both shuttles are accessible from the outside.
Watanabe teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a cover (16) to be mounted to a base (12), wherein it comprises latching connections at each side, having one of the sides defining a recessed portion (at B) that is closed and inaccessible from the exterior, and a slotted portion at the other lateral end (at A), that is accessible from the exterior, to permit disengagement of the escutcheon from the base plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the engagement/mounting described by Mingrone, as one that is only accessible from one side, as taught by Watanabe, in order to facilitate the user to engage/disengage the mounting of the elements.
In combination, Mingrone, as modified by Watanabe, will teach that the escutcheon is mechanically coupled to the base plate by engaging the base plate upper and lower shuttle projections with the escutcheon ramped surfaces to axially translate the upper and lower shuttles inwardly toward a center of the base plate against the at least one resilient biasing mechanism until the projections clear the ramped surfaces and are biased outwardly such that one of the upper or lower shuttle projections is received within the escutcheon recessed portion and the other of the upper or lower shuttle projections is received within the escutcheon slotted portion.
As to claim 2, Mingrone, as modified by Watanabe, teaches that mechanically coupling the escutcheon to the base plate causes each of the upper and lower shuttles to first translate in an opposite direction as a result of the upper and lower shuttle projections contacting the escutcheon ramped surfaces.
As to claim 3, Mingrone, as modified by Watanabe, teaches that translation of the upper and lower shuttles in the opposite direction is caused by compression of the at least one resilient biasing mechanism as a result of the contact with the escutcheon ramped surfaces.
As to claim 4, Mingrone discloses that the upper and lower shuttles are translatable within upper and lower recesses (17) of the base plate.
As to claim 5, Mingrone discloses that the upper and lower recesses (17) are defined by laterally extending ledges integral with or connected to an interior surface of the base plate.
As to claim 6, Mingrone discloses that each of the at least one resilient biasing mechanism abuts the laterally extending edges.
As to claim 7, Mingrone discloses the at least one resilient biasing mechanism is a spring.
Applicant is reminded of that duplicating the components of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art.
As to claim 10, Mingrone discloses that the escutcheon slotted portion provides access to the upper or lower shuttle engaged therewith when the escutcheon is mechanically coupled to the base plate.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 0874119 to Mingrone in view of US Pat No 8,020,901 to Watanabe and further in view of US Pat No 4,432,576 to Wartian.
As to claims 8 and 9, Mingrone, as modified by Watanabe, fails to disclose that the assembly further comprises at least one internally-threaded post extending from the escutcheon to secure the assembly to the door surface.
Wartian teaches that it is well known in the art to provide an internally threaded post (84) that extends from an escutcheon (82) and receives an attachment fastener (86) in order to secure the assembly to a door (12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the escutcheon described by Mingrone, as modified by Watanabe, with a post/fastener, as taught by Wartian, in order to aid in securing the assembly to the door.
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102010003007 to Grochala in view of EP 0874119 to Mingrone and US Pat No 8,020,901 to Watanabe.
Regarding claim 1, Grochala discloses an escutcheon assembly that comprises a base plate assembly (1) including an elongated base plate (2) having lateral sides and longitudinal sides, and an escutcheon (10).
Grochala fails to disclose that the base plate assembly further comprises upper shuttle and a lower shuttle proximate opposing lateral side of the base plate, each of the upper and lower shuttles normally biased in opposing directions by at least one resilient biasing mechanism and translatable axially within an interior of the base plate, each of the upper and lower shuttles further including a projection; and that the escutcheon includes ramped surfaces on opposing lateral ends thereof. Wherein, one of the lateral ends defines a recessed portion, adjacent one of the ramp surfaces, that is closed and inaccessible from the exterior and a slotted portion at the other lateral end, that is accessible from the exterior, to permit disengagement of the escutcheon from the base plate.
Grochala discloses the use of spring clips (17) to secure the base plate to the escutcheon.
Mingrone teaches that it is well known in the art to provide an escutcheon assembly that comprises a base plate assembly (4) including an elongated base plate (13) having lateral sides and longitudinal sides, and an upper shuttle and a lower shuttle (18) proximate opposing lateral sides of the base plate, each of the upper and lower shuttles normally biased in opposing directions by at least one resilient biasing mechanism (19) and translatable axially within an interior of the base plate, each of the upper and lower shuttles further including a projection (20); and an escutcheon (1) includes ramped surfaces (21) on opposing lateral ends thereof.
Watanabe teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a cover (16) to be mounted to a base (12), wherein it comprises latching connections at each side, having one of the sides defining a recessed portion (at B) that is closed and inaccessible from the exterior, and a slotted portion at the other lateral end (at A), that is accessible from the exterior, to permit disengagement of the escutcheon from the base plate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the engagement/mounting described by Grochala, as one that uses shuttles, as taught by Mingrone, and only accessible from one side, as taught by Watanabe, in order to facilitate the user to engage/disengage the mounting of the elements and provide a stronger engagement between the two pieces.
In combination, Grochala, as modified by Mingrone and Watanabe, will teach that the escutcheon is mechanically coupled to the base plate by engaging the base plate upper and lower shuttle projections with the escutcheon ramped surfaces to axially translate the upper and lower shuttles inwardly toward a center of the base plate against the at least one resilient biasing mechanism until the projections clear the ramped surfaces and are biased outwardly such that one of the upper or lower shuttle projections is received within the escutcheon recessed portion and the other of the upper or lower shuttle projections is received within the escutcheon slotted portion.
As to claim 2, Grochala, as modified by Mingrone and Watanabe, teaches that mechanically coupling the escutcheon to the base plate causes each of the upper and lower shuttles to first translate in an opposite direction as a result of the upper and lower shuttle projections contacting the escutcheon ramped surfaces.
As to claim 3, Grochala, as modified by Mingrone and Watanabe, teaches that translation of the upper and lower shuttles in the opposite direction is caused by compression of the at least one resilient biasing mechanism as a result of the contact with the escutcheon ramped surfaces.
As to claim 4, Mingrone teaches that the upper and lower shuttles are translatable within upper and lower recesses (17) of the base plate.
As to claim 5, Mingrone teaches that the upper and lower recesses (17) are defined by laterally extending ledges integral with or connected to an interior surface of the base plate.
As to claim 6, Mingrone teaches that each of the at least one resilient biasing mechanism abuts the laterally extending edges.
As to claim 7, Mingrone teaches the at least one resilient biasing mechanism is a spring.
Applicant is reminded of that duplicating the components of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art.
As to claim 8, Grochala discloses that the assembly further comprises at least one internally-threaded post (4) for receiving an attachment fastener to secure the base plate to the door surface.
As to claim 9, Grochala discloses that the attachment fasteners are concealed and inaccessible when the escutcheon is mechanically coupled to the base plate (since the escutcheon is covering the base plate).
As to claim 10, Grochala, as modified by Mingrone and Watanabe, teaches that the escutcheon slotted portion provides access to the upper or lower shuttle engaged therewith when the escutcheon is mechanically coupled to the base plate.
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102010003007 to Grochala in view of EP 0874119 to Mingrone, US Pat No 8,020,901 to Watanabe and further in view of US Pat No 4,432,576 to Wartian.
As to claims 11-13, Grochala, as modified by Mingrone and Watanabe, fails to disclose that the assembly further comprises another escutcheon at the other side of the door, wherein it comprises a handle mechanically connected to a spindle hub, a spindle and at least one blind internally threaded post. Grochala discloses that the escutcheon is configured to be attached to another escutcheon at the opposite side of the door. The assembly is capable of comprising a handle, spindle hub and a spindle.
Wartian teaches that it is well known in the art to provide an escutcheon assembly that comprises an exterior escutcheon (82) at an exterior side of a door (12), a handle (16) mechanically connected to a spindle hub (not shown), a spindle (28) and, wherein, the escutcheon further comprises at least one blind internally threaded post (84) that receives an attachment fastener (86) to connect the escutcheon to an inside escutcheon (14) at the other side of the door.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the assembly described by Grochala, as modified by Mingrone and Watanabe, with at least one blind internally threaded post, as taught by Wartian, in order to aid in securing the assembly to the door.
As to claim 14, Grochala, as modified by Mingrone, Watanabe and Wartian, will teach the method of installation as claimed. Furthermore, Wartian teaches a 2nd escutcheon that is configured to be mounted on the opposite side of the door and coupled to the other assembly.
As to claim 15, Grochala, as modified by Mingrone, Watanabe and Wartian, will teach a recessed portion, adjacent one of the ramp surfaces, that is closed and inaccessible from the exterior and a slotted portion that is accessible from the exterior, to permit disengagement of the escutcheon from the base plate.
As to claim 16, Mingrone teaches that the upper and lower shuttles are translatable within upper and lower recesses (17) of the base plate.
As to claim 17, Mingrone teaches that the upper and lower recesses (17) are defined by laterally extending ledges integral with or connected to an interior surface of the base plate.
As to claim 18, Mingrone teaches that each of the at least one resilient biasing mechanism abuts the laterally extending edges.
As to claim 19, Grochala discloses that the assembly further comprises at least one internally-threaded post (4) proximate each of the base plate lateral sides, the internally-threaded posts for receiving an attachment fastener to secure the base plate assembly to the exterior escutcheon assembly on opposing surfaces of the swing door.
As to claim 20, Grochala discloses that the attachment fasteners are concealed and inaccessible when the escutcheon is mechanically coupled to the base plate (since the escutcheon is covering the base plate).
Response to Arguments
With respect to the previous drawing objection, the current amendment overcomes the previous issue. However, a new objection has been made on the record.
With respect to the previous 112 2nd paragraph rejection, the current amendment overcomes the previous issue.
With respect to the previous prior art rejection, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Prosecution has been closed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
April 20, 2026