DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This communication is in response to the reply received 04/28/2026 for application No. 18/657,196 filed on 05/07/2024.
The reply cancelled claims 10-20 and added claims 21-29.
Applicant’s remarks regarding the amendment to claim 1 are noted.
Newly submitted claims 24-26 and 29 directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: the claims do not find support in the election reply filed on 12/15/2025 (the reply elected Group I, Species V (fig. 12), Sub-species A (fig. 14) and elected claims 1-4, 6-9 and 21).
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 24-26 and 29 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 21-23 and 27-28 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02/19/2026 and 5/13/2026 are acknowledged. The 02/19/2026 IDS is/are not in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98 and MPEP 609. Specifically, 37 C.F.R. §1.98 (a)(3)(i) which states the following: (a)(3)(i) A concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in § 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each patent, publication, or other information listed that is not in the English language. The concise explanation may be either separate from applicant’s specification or incorporated therein. See MPEP 609.04.A.III.
While it is not appropriate to attempt to set forth procedures by which attorneys, agents, and other individuals may ensure compliance with the duty of disclosure, MPEP § 2004 states: It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents (i.e. including voluminous publications) if it can be avoided. MPEP § 2004 also provides “Eliminate clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list or voluminous publication(s) is/are submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to the Applicant’s attention and are known to be of most significance.” Care should be taken to see that prior art or other information cited in a specification or in an information disclosure statement is properly described and that the information is not incorrectly or incompletely characterized.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. It is noted that the 12/15/2025 reply elected without traverse Species V (fig. 12) and sub-species A (fig. 13)
The subject matter of claims: 1, 23-29.
Claim Interpretation Under 35 USC § 112
No claim elements in this application are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 23 and 28 are each considered a product by process claim which fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 22 and claim 27, respectively, because the product by process fails to impart any further structural or functional distinctions and fails to limit the product in any way. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 21-23 and 27-28, as best understood in view of the issues above, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0174725 A1, hereinafter D1.
As to claim 1.
Claim 1 is considered a product by process claim. D1 discloses each and every structural element of the burner panel set forth in claim 1. D1 discloses a cushion (cushion 1 in e.g. fig. 1), comprising:
a filament mesh structure (e.g. one of 45 or 43, each are composed of filaments, i.e. a first and second set of filaments) comprising a first set of filaments ([0080] A core material for cushion 1 according to a first embodiment is comprised of a three-dimensional net-like structure 41 in a plate-like form that is made of or mainly made of a thermoplastic resin as a raw material and is formed by spirally tangling a plurality of filaments at random and partially bonding the tangles by heat as shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2A), wherein each member of the first set of filaments is bonded to at least one other member of the first set of filaments ([0080] tangling a plurality of filaments at random and partially bonding the tangles by heat), the filament mesh structure defining a first side (structure 41 has six sides); and
a layer (the other of 45 or 43 in fig. 1) that is disposed on the first side of the filament mesh structure (45 and 43 are disposed on respective sides) bonded to at least some members of the first set of filaments ([0083] A three-dimensional net-like structure used for respective layers (first layer and second layer) is formed by tangling a plurality of filaments at random in loops and thermally welding the tangles).
D1 is silent as to after the filament mesh structure has been cooled, wherein the filament mesh structure is heated before the layer is deposited on the first side of the filament mesh structure such that the layer is bonded. Thus, even though D1 is silent as to the process used to dispose the layer on the filament mesh structure, it appears that the cushion in D1 would be the same or similar as that claimed; especially since both applicant’s product and the prior art product is made of a filament mesh with a layer applied. However, the claimed phrase “after the filament mesh structure has been cooled, wherein the filament mesh structure is heated before the layer is deposited on the first side of the filament mesh structure such that the layer is bonded” is being treated as a product by process limitation. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are NOT limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. See MPEP 2113.
As to claim 2.
D1 discloses the cushion of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the layer (the other of 45 or 43 in fig. 1) comprises at least one of a second set of filaments (the other of 45 or 43 is composed of filaments) and a film (in fig. 3A, 3B a sheet 9A is disposed on each of 45 and 43).
As to claim 3.
D1 discloses the cushion of claim 2, and further discloses wherein a gap is provided between adjacent members of the second set of filaments ([0080] the cushion is formed of a net-like structure = gaps between filaments as in the figures).
As to claim 4.
D1 discloses the cushion of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the second set of filaments is contiguous ([0080] formed by spirally tangling a plurality of filaments at random and partially bonding the tangles by heat as shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2A; the bonding = “contiguous”).
As to claim 6.
D1 discloses the cushion of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the film is one of air impermeable ([0126] lack of pores in sheet 9A = impermeable to provide sound attenuation) or air permeable (an embodiment not elected).
As to claim 7.
D1 discloses the cushion of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the layer (the other of 45 or 43 in fig. 1) is disposed on at least a portion of the first side (as in fig. 1).
As to claim 8.
D1 discloses the cushion of claim 7, and further discloses wherein the layer extends from an edge of the first side (fig. 1 and 2A).
As to claim 9.
D1 discloses the cushion of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the filament mesh structure comprises a set of sides (in fig. 1 we see a structure 1 which is comprised of a 45 and a 43, each having 6 sides, wherein the first side is a member of the set of sides and the layer is provided on at least one member of the set of sides in addition to the first side (the layer is provided on opposing faces of 45 and 43).
As to claim 21.
D1 discloses the cushion of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the second set of filaments (the other of 45 or 43 is composed of filaments) comprises at least one of a linear configuration and a non-linear configuration ([0034] In view of the above problems, the invention provides a core material for cushion, comprising a three-dimensional net-like structure that is formed by spirally tangling filam ents, … at random and partially bonding the tangles by heat).
As to claim 22.
D1 discloses wherein the layer is a film (in fig. 3A, 3B a sheet 9A is disposed on each of 45 and 43).
As to claim 23.
Claim 23 is considered a product by process claim. As to claim 23, D1 discloses wherein the film is a pre-manufactured film of flexible material unrolled onto the filament mesh structure (see explanation for claim 22). See MPEP 2113.
As to claim 27.
Claim 27 is considered a product by process claim. D1 discloses a cushion (cushion 1 in e.g. fig. 1), comprising:
a filament mesh structure (netlike structure 41, fig. 1) comprising a first set of filaments (e.g. one of 45 or 43, each are composed of filaments, i.e. a first and second set of filaments; [0080] A core material for cushion 1 according to a first embodiment is comprised of a three-dimensional net-like structure 41 in a plate-like form that is made of or mainly made of a thermoplastic resin as a raw material and is formed by spirally tangling a plurality of filaments at random and partially bonding the tangles by heat as shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2A),
wherein each member of the first set of filaments is bonded to at least one other member of the first set of filaments ([0080] A core material for cushion 1 according to a first embodiment is comprised of a three-dimensional net-like structure 41 in a plate-like form that is made of or mainly made of a thermoplastic resin as a raw material and is formed by spirally tangling a plurality of filaments at random and partially bonding the tangles by heat as shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2A), the filament mesh structure defining a first side (side of 45 facing 43); and
a film layer (in fig. 3A, 3B a sheet 9A) applied to the filament mesh structure (in fig. 3A, 3B a sheet 9A is disposed on each of 45 and 43) through application of heat to the filament mesh structure to facilitate bonding of the first set of filaments to the film layer.
D1 is silent as to through application of heat to the filament mesh structure to facilitate bonding of the first set of filaments to the film layer. Thus, even though D1 is silent as to the process used to dispose the film layer on the filament mesh structure, it appears that the cushion in D1 would be the same or similar as that claimed; especially since both applicant’s product and the prior art product is made of a filament mesh with a film layer applied. However, the claimed phrase “through application of heat to the filament mesh structure to facilitate bonding of the first set of filaments to the film layer” is being treated as a product by process limitation. As set forth in MPEP 2113, product by process claims are NOT limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. Once a product appearing to be substantially the same or similar is found, a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection may be made and the burden is shifted to applicant to show an unobvious difference. See MPEP 2113.
As to claim 28.
Claim 28 is considered a product by process claim. As to claim 28, D1 discloses wherein the film is a pre-manufactured film of flexible material unrolled onto the filament mesh structure (see explanation for claim 22). See MPEP 2113.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record on the attached PTOL-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as each further discloses a state of the art.
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or pointed out by the examiner.
Inquiry
/J. T. Newton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673 20 July 2026