This action is responsive to Applicant’s response to election/restriction and amendment/remarks filed 08/20/2026.
Claims 1-9 are currently pending.
The Drawings filed 05/09/2024 are approved by the examiner.
The IDS statements filed 07/25/2024, 02/26/2025, 01/21/2026, and 05/04/2026 have been considered. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Regarding NPL Cite No. 1 on the IDS filed 07/25/2024, the file history of Ex Parte Reexamination of US Patent No. 6,336,333 spans hundreds of pages. The Examiner has considered the cited file history to the best of their ability in the time allotted for examining this application (i.e., that a process of replacing R-12 refrigerant with a mixture of propane and butane where propane was about 25-75% by volume and the remainder butane was unpatentable). If Applicant would like something in the cited case more carefully considered, please provide specific citations and an explanation thereof.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of iso-butane as the butane isomer species in the reply filed on 08/20/2026 is acknowledged. Because Applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant has also indicated or at least implied that claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-9 read on the elected species.
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-9 were searched and examined only to the extent that they read on the elected species, as the elected species was found not to be allowable.
Claims 3 and 5 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 6, 8, and 9 are each objected to because of the following informalities: In these claims, Applicant is suggested to amend the recitations of “instrument grade propane” and “instrument grade iso-butane” to recite “instrument-grade propane” and “instrument-grade iso-butane” (i.e., add a hyphen between instrument and grade) to precisely match the antecedent basis of the terms as set forth in the parent/independent claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is also advised that should claim 4 be found allowable, claim 6 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
All the pending claims (1, 2, 4, and 6-9) recite the term “instrument-grade” (or “instrument grade”) describing the hydrocarbon refrigerant gas (a composition) as well as propane and butane contained therein (components in the composition) which are relative terms which render the claims indefinite. The term(s) is/are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. While the specification does mention “instrument-grade” nearby mentioning “AHRI 700 Standards” (a known standard in the art), the disclosure is worded that “instrument-grade” and “AHRI 700 Standards” are two, different required standards (e.g., “the blended HC refrigerant gas is preferably instrument-grade and must meet AHRI 700 Standards for refrigerants”) that both are preferably required but not that instrument-grade means AHRI 700 Standard. For further examination, the term “instrument-grade” is extended little patentable weight but the moisture content of the volatile impurities content/concentrations of the propane and butane components are extended some patentable weight (note that the instant claims recite the term open-ended term “comprises” as to the content of the hydrocarbon refrigerant gas, i.e., composition, meaning the claims do not exclude additional unrecited elements or components such as additional moisture and/or volatile impurities present on their own or with other components).
Additionally, the recitation of the components present in the “hydrocarbon refrigerant gas” renders all the claims (1, 2, 4, and 6-9) indefinite. As implied above, the claims recite a composition termed, inter alia, “blended hydrocarbon refrigerant gas”, which appears to denote the composition is a gas. However, the body of the claim confusingly indicates the propane and butane components as if they were liquids rather than gases (“… in a selected amount by liquid volume”). Additionally, the non-conductive synthetic lubricant component is also a liquid; in the art, refrigerant lubricants are oils/liquids, not gases; this is also confirmed by the limitations of claim 7. Additionally, drying agent components such as those further contained in the composition/gas of claim 2 are not necessarily gases, either. Accordingly, it is unclear how the composition is indeed a gas when the claims require at least one liquid component. For purposes of further examination (or else the claims would be considered too confusing to compare relative to prior art), the term “gas” in “hydrocarbon refrigerant gas” is extended little patentable weight as the claims clearly require at least one non-gaseous component. While it is acknowledged propane and butane are certainly capable of being present as gases their content is claimed relative to their presence as liquids and the claims nevertheless require, inter alia, a liquid component via the lubricant. The claims are construed as a refrigerant composition comprising hydrocarbons (propane & butane) and a lubricant.
In claims 8 and 9, it is unclear (under an indefiniteness rationale rather than a clear-cut 112(d) rationale) whether the recited concentrations of propane and butane further limit and/or include all the limitations of the parent claim. The sum of propane and butane concentrations appears to be 100% (claim 8 requires approximately 50% propane and approximately 50% butane, and claim 9 requires approximately 70% propane and approximately 30% butane) to the apparent exclusion of the lubricant and drying agent components. For purposes of further examination, any relative concentrations of propane and butane are considered to merely be with respect to each other so as to allow the composition to clearly contain the lubricant and drying agent components required by the parent claim(s).
Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Interpretation
In addition to any foregoing statements of claim interpretation, the following is additionally noted.
The recitations “for replacing a hydrofluoro refrigerant gas in an air condition system” (claim 1), “wherein said instrument-grade blended hydrocarbon refrigerant gas is formulated to replace a hydrofluorocarbon refrigerant gas” (claims 4 and 8), and “wherein said instrument-grade blended hydrocarbon refrigerant gas is formulated to replace a hydrofluoroolefin refrigerant gas” (claims 4 and 9) are merely intended use recitations of the recited composition(s) that does not require the utility, use, or provision recited. See, e.g., MPEP 2111.02.
The recitation that the propane and butane are each “in a selected amount by liquid volume” are extremely broad (but definite) recitations. For purposes of further examination, presence of any (non-zero) amount of propane and butane will read on the claimed “selected amount”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindgren (WO 94/05956 A1) in view of AHRI Standard 700-2017 (2017) and Carr et al. (US 8,685,271 B2).
As to claim 1, Lindgren teaches a hydrocarbon refrigerant mixture comprising a mixture of propane and butane (abstract). The mixture is ideally (i.e., preferably) 50% propane and 50% butane by liquid volume but may alternatively be up to about 75% of either propane or butane (abstract and p.11). The reference’s discussion of concentration means propane and butane are clearly each in a selected amount as claimed. Also, butane may be iso-butane (p.12 lines 10-14 & claim 13), as elected. Lindgren further teaches the refrigerant mixture has improved compatibility with lubricating oils (p.4 lines 14-17 & p.6 lines 5-6).
Lindgren fails to teach the propane and (iso)butane have the recited moisture and volatile impurity concentrations and the refrigerant mixture expressly contains a non-conductive synthetic lubricant.
However, regarding moisture and volatile impurities, AHFI Standard 700-2017 is an art standard that establishes purity specification for acceptability of refrigerants for use in refrigeration and air-conditioning products (Section 1 p.1). Therein, AHRI Standard 700-2017 teach propane (R-290) has a maximum allowable level of water impurity of 10 ppm and maximum allowable level of volatile impurities of 0.5 wt.% (Table 1B on p.10) which corresponds to a water impurity of zero to 10 ppm and volatile impurities of zero to 0.5 wt.%. Two columns to the right of R-290, AHRI Standard 700-2017 also teach isobutane (R-600a) has the same maximum allowable level of water impurity of 10 ppm and maximum allowable level of volatile impurities of 0.5 wt.% (Table 1B on p.10) which corresponds to a water impurity of zero to 10 ppm and volatile impurities of zero to 0.5 wt.%. This is evidence that, to be effective for use as a refrigerant and/or be in-spec. according to art standards, propane and isobutane must have a reduced moisture content of 10 ppm or less and a volatile impurity content of 0.5 wt.% or less, which reads on the moisture content and volatile impurities as claimed.
Regarding addition of a non-conductive synthetic lubricant, Carr et al. teach a polyol ester lubricant for a hydrocarbon refrigerant comprising esters of neopentyl alcohol exhibiting very high lubricity, excellent load carrying properties, and excellent low temperature properties (abstract). Neopentyl alcohol is a polyol meaning an ester of neopentyl alcohol is a polyol ester; however, see also col. 2 lines 62-66, col. 3 lines 5-47, etc. which term Carr et al.’s lubricant(s) as a polyol ester. The hydrocarbon refrigerant may comprise a mixture of propane and isobutane (col. 3 lines 64-67). Carr et al. teach a working fluid is formulated by combining the hydrocarbon refrigerant with the polyol ester lubricant (col. 3 lines 6-7, col. 9 lines 10-13, col. 10 lines 24-41, etc.). Regarding the claimed limitation the lubricant is a synthetic lubricant, while this is a product-by-process limitation note that Carr et al. teach a process for preparing their polyol ester lubricants by esterification (col. 3 lines 20-42, col. 7-8, etc.) meaning it is indeed synthetic. The claimed limitation that the synthetic lubricant is electrically non-conductive would flow naturally from the teachings of the reference as esters are notably nonconductive and/or Carr et al. fail to teach adding any electrically conductive substance to the lubricant.
Thus, at the time of the effective filing date it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to reduce a moisture content of the propane and isobutane as taught by AHRI Standard 700-2017’s industry-wide refrigerant component purity standards to Lindgren’s propane and (iso)butane refrigerant components/composition with a reasonable expectation of success of obtaining a sufficient and/or compliant purity of the refrigerant composition.
At the time of the effective filing date it would have also been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a synthetic polyol ester oil as taught by Carr et al. to Lindgren’s hydrocarbon propane+isobutane refrigerant composition in order to obtain a working fluid suitable for refrigeration and heat energy transfer applications with high lubricity, excellent load carrying properties, excellent low temperature properties, and miscibility with the hydrocarbon component(s) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Any remaining claim limitations are merely intended use. However, Lindgren teaches the refrigerant mixture is indeed intended as a replacement refrigerant in refrigeration/air conditioning systems.
As to claim 2, the combination of references also meets the claimed limitation that the composition further comprises a drying agent. Carr et al. teach the working fluids are compatible with standard additives common in the field and may further include common additives (col. 3 lines 17-19 and col. 9 lines 26-28 & 42-46). Moisture scavengers are listed (col. 10 lines 20-23). A moisture scavenger is synonymous with a drying agent as it removes water and therefore dries. Accordingly, provision of a drying agent/moisture scavenger is obviously encompassed by the combination of references.
At the time of the effective filing date it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to additionally provide a drying agent/moisture scavenger as taught by Carr et al. in the working fluid of Lindgren in view of AHRI Standard 700-2017 and Carr et al. as Carr et al. teach such an additive is common in the art for provision into hydrocarbon refrigerant- and lubricant-containing working fluids and the recited function of the additive (as a moisture scavenger) would be expected to effectively and sufficiently protect the working fluid from moisture and/or remove moisture from the working fluid with a reasonable expectation of success.
As to claims 4, 6, 8, and 9, the disclosed concentrations of propane and (iso)butane in Lindgren overlap and encompass those instantly claimed. Lindgren prefers a mixture of 50% propane by liquid volume and 50% isobutane by liquid volume (Id., abstract, p.12 lines 10-14 & claim 13) which meets the concentrations of claims 4 and 6 (approximately 35-80% propane and approximately 20-65% iso-butane) and claim 8 (approximately 50% propane to approximately 50% (iso)butane). Lindgren also teach the propane and (iso)butane may be in mixtures anywhere in 25-75% propane by liquid volume and 75-25% (iso)butane by liquid volume (Id., p.4 lines 5-9, p.12 lines 10-14 & claim 13) which overlaps and encompasses all the concentrations of claims 4 and 6 (approximately 35-80% propane and approximately 20-65% iso-butane) claim 8 (approximately 50% propane to approximately 50% (iso)butane), and claim 9 (approximately 70% propane to approximately 30% (iso)butane). Any remaining claim limitations are merely statements of intended use of the recited refrigerant compositions.
As to claim 7, the combination of references meets the claimed limitation that said non-conductive synthetic lubricant is a polyolester oil (Carr et al. teach the lubricant is a synthetic polyol ester oil, Id.).
The remaining references listed on Forms 892 and 1449 have been reviewed by the examiner and are considered to be cumulative to or less material than the prior art references relied upon or described above.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 18/369,250 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claims 4 and 6-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-9 of copending Application No. 18/369,250 (reference application).
Note claims 1 and 2 are rejected under statutory double patenting (Id.). The reference claims recite the same instrument-grade blended hydrocarbon refrigerant comprising propane and butane of the same purities, a non-conductive synthetic lubricant, and drying agent.
Regarding instant claims 4, 6, 8, and 9, the difference between these instant claims and the reference claims is the instant claims nest the concentrations of propane and butane/iso-butane under instant claim 2 to where the refrigerant further comprises a drying agent whereas the reference application’s claims have a dependent claim to the further containing of a drying agent (claim 2) but the concentration-related claims to the propane and butane concentrations are dependent on claim 1 rather than the drying agent-containing claim 2. However, the totality of limitations are roughly the same and/or strongly overlapping. The two sets of claims are nevertheless obvious variants of one another as both sets of claims ultimately encompass instrument-grade blended hydrocarbon refrigerant comprising propane and butane of the same purities in overlapping amounts (see reference application claims 3, 4, 7, and 8; the concentrations of reference application claim 5 fall within those of instant claims 4 and 6; the concentrations of reference application claim 4 are even the same as those of instant claim 8; the concentrations of reference application claim 8 are even the same as those of instant claim 9) where the butane is iso-butane (see reference application claims 5 and 9) with the potential for the provision of a drying agent (see reference application claim 2).
Regarding instant claim 7 regarding the non-conductive synthetic lubricant being a polyolester oil, the reference application’s refrigerant indeed contains a non-conductive synthetic lubricant (see reference application claim 1) and the reference application’s original specification indicates polyolester oil as a suitable species of the non-conductive synthetic lubricant [0017], indicating the instantly claimed polyolester oil as an obvious variant of the reference application’s non-conductive synthetic lubricant. Note that it is proper to construe a claim using the reference patent disclosure to ascertain whether a claim defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in a reference patent. See MPEP 804, II, B, 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-9 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-9 of copending Application No. 19/081,311 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, and 7 are also provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-12 of copending Application No. 19/081,311 (reference application).
Claims 10-12 of the reference application recite:
Regarding instant claims 1 and 2, while reference applications claims 10-12 do not meet instant claims 1 and 2 under a statutory double patenting analysis (the reference application claims recite more components than the instant claims), they nevertheless meet/overlap the limitations of claims 1 and 2. Especially note that the totality of limitations in claim 12 anticipates instant claims 1 and 2.
Regarding instant claim 7 regarding the non-conductive synthetic lubricant being a polyolester oil, the reference application’s refrigerant indeed contains a non-conductive synthetic lubricant (see reference application claim 10) and the reference application’s original specification indicates polyolester oil as a suitable species of the non-conductive synthetic lubricant [0018], indicating the instantly claimed polyolester oil as an obvious variant of the reference application’s non-conductive synthetic lubricant. Note that it is proper to construe a claim using the reference patent disclosure to ascertain whether a claim defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in a reference patent. See MPEP 804, II, B, 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, and 11-13 of copending Application No. 19/736,628 (reference application) optionally in view of AHRI Standard 700-2017 (2017).
Reference application claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-9 are exactly same as instant claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-9 except for failing to recite moisture content (“less than a 5 percent moisture content”) for the propane and butane components. However, the reference application’s original specification indicates such moisture content(s) as suitable moisture content(s) for the propane and butane refrigerant species [0021] & [0025], indicating the instantly claimed moisture content(s) of the propane and butane components as an obvious variant of the reference application’s propane and butane components. Note that it is proper to construe a claim using the reference patent disclosure to ascertain whether a claim defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in a reference patent. See MPEP 804, II, B, 1.
In the event it is found or deemed improper to read the moisture content of the propane/butane refrigerant species from the reference application’s specification, the claimed moisture contents of the individual refrigerant species are nevertheless obvious further in view of AHRI Standard 700-2017. AHFI Standard 700-2017 is an art standard that establishes purity specification for acceptability of refrigerants for use in refrigeration and air-conditioning products (Section 1 p.1). Therein, AHRI Standard 700-2017 teach propane (R-290) has a maximum allowable level of water impurity of 10 ppm and maximum allowable level of volatile impurities of 0.5 wt.% (Table 1B on p.10) which corresponds to a water impurity of zero to 10 ppm and volatile impurities of zero to 0.5 wt.%. Two columns to the right of R-290, AHRI Standard 700-2017 also teach isobutane (R-600a) has the same maximum allowable level of water impurity of 10 ppm and maximum allowable level of volatile impurities of 0.5 wt.% (Table 1B on p.10) which corresponds to a water impurity of zero to 10 ppm and volatile impurities of zero to 0.5 wt.%. This is evidence that, to be effective for use as a refrigerant and/or be in-spec. according to art standards, propane and isobutane must have a reduced moisture content of 10 ppm or less and a volatile impurity content of 0.5 wt.% or less, which reads on the moisture content and volatile impurities as claimed.
Thus, at the time of the effective filing date it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to reduce a moisture content of the propane and isobutane as taught by AHRI Standard 700-2017’s industry-wide refrigerant component purity standards to the reference application’s propane and (iso)butane refrigerant components/composition with a reasonable expectation of success of obtaining a sufficient and/or compliant purity of the refrigerant composition.
Alternatively regarding instant claims 1 and 2, claims 11-13 of the reference application recite:
While reference applications claims 11-13 do not meet instant claims 1 and 2 under a statutory double patenting analysis (the reference application claims recite more components than the instant claims and fail to recite a moisture content of the propane and butane), they nevertheless meet/overlap the limitations of claims 1 and 2 except for the moisture content of the propane and butane. Especially note that the totality of limitations in claim 13 anticipates instant claims 1 and 2 except for the moisture content. The rationale to the moisture content is incorporated as set forth above (met via the specification of the reference application or alternatively the via the secondary reference, Id.).
Alternatively regarding instant claim 7 (and building off the alternative rejection/rationale to claims 1 and 2) regarding the non-conductive synthetic lubricant being a polyolester oil under reference application claims 11-13, the reference application’s refrigerant indeed contains a non-conductive synthetic lubricant (see reference application claim 11) and the reference application’s original specification indicates polyolester oil as a suitable species of the non-conductive synthetic lubricant [0021], indicating the instantly claimed polyolester oil as an obvious variant of the reference application’s non-conductive synthetic lubricant. Note that it is proper to construe a claim using the reference patent disclosure to ascertain whether a claim defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in a reference patent. See MPEP 804, II, B, 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Correspondence
/MATTHEW R DIAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/M.R.D./
September 29, 2026