DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-20 are currently pending.
2. Claims 5 and 9 are canceled.
3. Claims 1, 6, 8, 10-13, and 19-20 are currently amended.
4. The 101 rejection to Claim 20 has not been overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
5. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because while the claim states “a computer-readable medium storing instructions that when executed by an electronic processor cause the electronic processor to execute operations,” there is nothing non-transitory to modify the computer-readable medium. Therefore, the BRI of the computer-readable medium includes signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu-Zhong Cabos (US 20230274650 A1), in view of Wang (CN 112349147 A; previously provided), and in further view of Garnier de Labareyre (US 20150331975 A1).
10. Regarding Claim 1, Shu-Zhong Cabos teaches a method comprising: receiving flight data divided according to a plurality of time intervals and associated with a mission flown by an aircraft (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0029]);
Determining categorized flight data by categorizing each of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data into at least one of a plurality of phases of flight (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0029], [0036], and [0048]),
Wherein the plurality of time intervals of the flight data are categorized into the at least one of the plurality of phases of flight associated with the aircraft by processing the flight data through a statistical model and a rule-based classification logic component (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0029], [0036], and [0050]),
And providing the categorized flight data… for post flight analysis of the mission (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0048]).
Shu-Zhong Cabos fails to explicitly teach wherein the statistical model is trained to categorize each of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data based on a rolling window employed to capture temporal features of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data, wherein the flight data includes a plurality of signals, and wherein the statistical model is trained to categorize each of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data based on statistical metrics of each of the plurality of signals within the rolling window, wherein the rolling window includes past and future phases when categorizing a phase of flight at a particular interval.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches wherein the statistical model is trained to categorize each of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data based on a rolling window employed to capture temporal features of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data (Wang: [Page 7, Lines 34-39] and [Page 7, Lines 40-45]),
Wherein the flight data includes a plurality of signals (Wang: [Page 2, Lines 23-27]),
And wherein the statistical model is trained to categorize each of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data based on statistical metrics of each of the plurality of signals within the rolling window (Wang: [Page 2, Lines 23-27] and [Page 7, Lines 14-17]),
And wherein the rolling window includes past and future phases when categorizing a phase of flight at a particular interval (Wang: [Page 7, Lines 14-17] and [Page 10, Lines 7-13]).
Shu-Zhong Cabos and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of aircraft phase determination and navigations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shu-Zhong Cabos to incorporate the teachings of Wang to categorize the time intervals based on a rolling window because it provides the benefit of capturing temporal features of the time intervals based on a predetermined set of data to accurately determine the current phase of flight the aircraft is in. Wang explains that a rolling window uses a set of data that is not loo large or too small for the benefit of accurate determinations so changes in flight parameters can be detected without being too sensitive.
Shu-Zhong Cabos and Wang fail to explicitly teach providing the categorized flight data to a user interface for post flight analysis of the mission.
However, in the same field of endeavor Garnier de Labareyre teaches providing the categorized flight data to a user interface for post flight analysis of the mission (Garnier de Labareyre: [0047] and [0048]).
Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of aircraft phase determination and navigations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shu-Zhong Cabos and Wang to incorporate the teachings of Garnier de Labareyre to provide the categorized flight data to a user interface because it provides the benefit of visually analyzing the categorized flight data to determine that the flight data is categorized accurately into a phase of flight for the aircraft. Detection of predefined events can be determined by a user based on the analysis of the data to issue a warning, and in turn, improve the safety of the aircraft.
11. Regarding Claim 2, Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, Shu-Zhong Cabos teaches the plurality of time intervals of the flight data are categorized into the at least one of the plurality of phases of flight by processing the flight data through a statistical model (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0029], [0036], and [0048]),
And wherein the statistical model is trained to categorize the flight data according to summary statistical values of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data to thereby capture temporal characteristics of the flight data (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0029], [0035], and [0050]).
12. Regarding Claim 3, Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre remains as applied above in Claim 2, and further, Shu-Zhong Cabos teaches the at least one phase of flight includes one or more of phases of flight associated with a conventional takeoff or landing (CTOL) mission profile and phases of flight common to both a vertical takeoff or landing (VTOL) mission profile and the CTOL mission profile (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0049] Note that the broadest reasonable interpretation, a phase of flight associated with a CTOL mission profile is equivalent to a taxi-in or taxi-out phase of flight. Also, note that phases of flight common to both CTOL and VTOL mission profiles are equivalent to at least climb, cruise, descent, takeoff, landing, and approach.).
13. Regarding Claim 4, Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre remains as applied above in Claim 3, and further, Shu-Zhong Cabos teaches the plurality of phases of flight include at least one of standing, taxi, takeoff, climb, cruise, descent, landing, hover, transition, or charging (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0049]).
14. Regarding Claim 6, Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, Shu-Zhong Cabos teaches the rule-based classification logic component is configured to identify phases of flight associated with a vertical takeoff or landing (VTOL) mission profile (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0049] Note that identifying phases of flight associated with vertical takeoff or landing mission profiles is equivalent to the fuzzy logic determining a takeoff or landing phase of flight.).
15. Regarding Claim 7, Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre remains as applied above in Claim 6, and further, Shu-Zhong Cabos teaches the statistical model is trained to identify at least one phase of flight (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0029]).
16. Regarding Claim 8, Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre remains as applied above in Claim 5.
Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre discloses the claimed invention except for the statistical model is trained to prefer takeoff and landing when classifying the flight data.
However, it would have been well within the skill level of one ordinary skill in the art to prefer takeoff and landing when classifying data absent a showing to the contrary. The Applicant has not disclosed anything that solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with the statistical model trained to have difference preferences.
Shu-Zhong Cabos teaches in [0050] to determine the phase based on predetermined magnitudes of the flight data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to prefer takeoff and landing when classifying the flight data as similarly shown in Shu-Zhong Cabos' [0050] use of predetermined magnitudes for analyzing the flight data by the phase determination control unit. The predetermined magnitudes can be selected to favor takeoff and landing when classifying data.
17. Regarding Claim 10, Shu Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, Garnier de Labareyre teaches a length of each of the plurality of time intervals is set according to an interval value, and wherein the interval value is determined based on the aircraft or information related to the mission (Garnier de Labareyre: [0041], [0070], and [0074]).
Garnier de Labareyre fails to explicitly teach a size of the rolling window is determined based on a type of the aircraft or model employed.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches a size of the rolling window is determined based on a type of the aircraft or model employed (Wang: [Page 7, Lines 34-39]).
Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of aircraft phase determination and navigations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shu-Zhong Cabos and Garnier de Labareyre to incorporate the teachings of Wang to determine a size of a rolling window based on the type of aircraft or model employed because it provides the benefit of determining the flight phase of the aircraft based on specific requirements. This provides the additional benefit of increasing the accuracy of the determination of the phase of flight the aircraft is currently in.
18. Regarding Claim 11, Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, Wang teaches a number of the temporal features is determined by calculating the statistical metrics of each of the plurality of signals over varying sizes of the rolling window (Wang: [Page 7, Lines 40-45]).
19. Regarding Claim 12, Shu Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, Wang teaches the statistical metrics include at least one of an aggregation, an average, a maximum value, or a minimum value (Wang: [Page 2, Lines 23-27] and [Page 7, Lines 14-17]).
20. Regarding Claim 13, Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, Wang teaches the plurality of signals includes at least one of airspeed, ground speed, altitude, heading, pusher throttle input, hover throttle input, weight on wheels indicator, or charging indicator (Wang: [Page 2, Lines 23-27]).
21. Regarding Claim 14, Shu- Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre remains as applied above in Claim 1, and further, Garnier de Labareyre teaches processing the categorized flight data to remove anomalies (Garnier de Labareyre: [0064]).
22. Regarding Claim 15, Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre remains as applied above in Claim 14, and further, Garnier de Labareyre teaches the anomalies include a number of the plurality of time intervals categorized as one of the plurality of phases of flight that is shorter than a threshold duration (Garnier de Labareyre: [0064] Note that the anomalies including time intervals categorized as a phase of flight shorter than a threshold duration is equivalent to suppressing the flight data before the instant of the initial flight data.).
23. Regarding Claim 16, Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre remains as applied above in Claim 14, and further, Garnier de Labareyre teaches the anomalies include a transition between phases that violates a matrix of allowable phase transitions (Garnier de Labareyre: [0069] and [0072] Note that Fig. 3 shows allowable phase transitions from the current phase of flight so the state model avoids an exhaustive search of possible transitions.).
24. Regarding Claim 17, Shu- Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre remains as applied above in Claim 16, and further, Garnier de Labareyre teaches the matrix of allowable phase transitions includes a plurality of transition rules defining, for each of the plurality of phases of flight, and allowable next phases of the plurality of phases of flight (Garnier de Labareyre: [0067], [0069], and [0072]).
25. Regarding Claim 18, Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre remains as applied above in Claim 16, and further, Garnier de Labareyre teaches the plurality of phases of flight and the matrix of allowable phase transitions are determined based on a type of the mission (Garnier de Labareyre: [0067] and [0069]).
26. Regarding Claim 19, Shu-Zhong Cabos teaches a system comprising (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0006]):
An aircraft including: a plurality of sensors (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0024]),
And an on-board computing system communicably coupled to the plurality of sensors and configured to capture, via the plurality of sensors, flight data comprising a plurality of signals and divided into a plurality of time intervals (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0025] and [0030]);
And an electronic processor communicably coupled to the on-board computing system… the electronic processor configured to (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0020]):
Receive the flight data from the on-board computing system (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0029]),
Generate a plurality of respective features for the plurality of time intervals based on statistical metrics of each of the plurality of signals (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0029], [0035], and [0050]),
Determine categorized flight data by categorizing each of the plurality of time intervals into at least one of a plurality of phases of flight based on a plurality of temporal features (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0029], [0036], and [0048]),
And provide the categorized flight data… for post flight analysis of a mission (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0048]).
Shu-Zhong Cabos fails to explicitly teach wherein the statistical model is trained to categorize each of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data based on a rolling window employed to capture temporal features of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data, wherein the flight data includes a plurality of signals, and wherein the statistical model is trained to categorize each of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data based on statistical metrics of each of the plurality of signals within the rolling window, wherein the rolling window includes past and future phases when categorizing a phase of flight at a particular interval.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches wherein the statistical model is trained to categorize each of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data based on a rolling window employed to capture temporal features of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data (Wang: [Page 7, Lines 34-39] and [Page 7, Lines 40-45]),
Wherein the flight data includes a plurality of signals (Wang: [Page 2, Lines 23-27]),
And wherein the statistical model is trained to categorize each of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data based on statistical metrics of each of the plurality of signals within the rolling window (Wang: [Page 2, Lines 23-27] and [Page 7, Lines 14-17]),
And wherein the rolling window includes past and future phases when categorizing a phase of flight at a particular interval (Wang: [Page 7, Lines 14-17] and [Page 10, Lines 7-13]).
Shu-Zhong Cabos and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of aircraft phase determination and navigations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shu-Zhong Cabos to incorporate the teachings of Wang to categorize the time intervals based on a rolling window because it provides the benefit of capturing temporal features of the time intervals based on a predetermined set of data to accurately determine the current phase of flight the aircraft is in. Wang explains that a rolling window uses a set of data that is not loo large or too small for the benefit of accurate determinations so changes in flight parameters can be detected without being too sensitive.
Shu-Zhong Cabos and Wang fail to explicitly teach a user interface; and provide the categorized flight data to the user interface for post flight analysis of a mission.
However, in the same field of endeavor Garnier de Labareyre teaches a user interface (Garnier de Labareyre: [0048]);
And providing the categorized flight data to a user interface for post flight analysis of the mission (Garnier de Labareyre: [0047] and [0048]).
Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of aircraft phase determination and navigations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shu-Zhong Cabos and Wang to incorporate the teachings of Garnier de Labareyre to provide the categorized flight data to a user interface because it provides the benefit of visually analyzing the categorized flight data to determine that the flight data is categorized accurately into a phase of flight for the aircraft. Detection of predefined events can be determined by a user based on the analysis of the data to issue a warning, and in turn, improve the safety of the aircraft.
27. Regarding Claim 20, Shu-Zhong Cabos teaches a computer-readable medium storing instructions that when executed by an electronic processor cause the electronic processor to execute operations, the operations comprising (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0038] and [0040]):
Receiving flight data divided according to a plurality of time intervals and associated with a mission flown by an aircraft (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0029]);
Determining categorized flight data by categorizing each of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data into at least one of a plurality of phases of flight processing the flight data through a statistical model (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0029], [0036], and [0048]),
Wherein the statistical model is trained to categorize the flight data according to summary statistical values of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data to thereby capture temporal characteristics of the flight data (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0029], [0035], and [0050]);
And providing the categorized flight data… for post flight analysis of the mission (Shu-Zhong Cabos: [0048]).
Shu-Zhong Cabos fails to explicitly teach wherein the statistical model is trained to categorize each of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data based on a rolling window employed to capture temporal features of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data, wherein the flight data includes a plurality of signals, and wherein the statistical model is trained to categorize each of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data based on statistical metrics of each of the plurality of signals within the rolling window, wherein the rolling window includes past and future phases when categorizing a phase of flight at a particular interval.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches wherein the statistical model is trained to categorize each of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data based on a rolling window employed to capture temporal features of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data (Wang: [Page 7, Lines 34-39] and [Page 7, Lines 40-45]),
Wherein the flight data includes a plurality of signals (Wang: [Page 2, Lines 23-27]),
And wherein the statistical model is trained to categorize each of the plurality of time intervals of the flight data based on statistical metrics of each of the plurality of signals within the rolling window (Wang: [Page 2, Lines 23-27] and [Page 7, Lines 14-17]),
And wherein the rolling window includes past and future phases when categorizing a phase of flight at a particular interval (Wang: [Page 7, Lines 14-17] and [Page 10, Lines 7-13]).
Shu-Zhong Cabos and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of aircraft phase determination and navigations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shu-Zhong Cabos to incorporate the teachings of Wang to categorize the time intervals based on a rolling window because it provides the benefit of capturing temporal features of the time intervals based on a predetermined set of data to accurately determine the current phase of flight the aircraft is in. Wang explains that a rolling window uses a set of data that is not loo large or too small for the benefit of accurate determinations so changes in flight parameters can be detected without being too sensitive.
Shu-Zhong Cabos and Wang fail to explicitly teach providing the categorized flight data to a user interface for post flight analysis of the mission.
However, in the same field of endeavor Garnier de Labareyre teaches providing the categorized flight data to a user interface for post flight analysis of the mission (Garnier de Labareyre: [0047] and [0048]).
Shu-Zhong Cabos, Wang, and Garnier de Labareyre are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of aircraft phase determination and navigations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shu-Zhong Cabos and Wang to incorporate the teachings of Garnier de Labareyre to provide the categorized flight data to a user interface because it provides the benefit of visually analyzing the categorized flight data to determine that the flight data is categorized accurately into a phase of flight for the aircraft. Detection of predefined events can be determined by a user based on the analysis of the data to issue a warning, and in turn, improve the safety of the aircraft.
Response to Arguments
28. Applicant's arguments filed 12/4/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
29. First, the Applicant has alleged "the combination cited above at least fails to teach, suggest, or disclose the 'noted passage' as recited in the claims" and “there is no term for rolling window in Wang.” The Examiner disagrees.
Wang teaches in [Page 7, Lines 34-39] and [Page 7, Lines 40-45] that the latest multiple track points are used for determining the phase of the flight for the aircraft. The specific number of points can be set according to requirements. This is equivalent to a rolling window because only the latest number of track points are used to determine the phase of flight for the aircraft. Wang may not explicitly recite a term for rolling window, however, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that continuously using a specific number of the latest points is equivalent to a rolling window. Therefore, Wang does not use discrete sections to determine the phase of flight because the latest number of track points are used. Wang explains this again in [Page 10, Lines 7-13] because track points 1-15 are used to determine the aircraft is in the ascent phase, and then uses track points 2-16 to determine if the phase of flight has changed.
Further, Wang teaches that the rolling window includes past and future phases when identifying a phase of flight because current and previous track points (rolling window) are compared to determine if the aircraft is still in the same phase of flight. For example, if a height change between the current a previous point is greater than a threshold, then the aircraft is maintained in a rising phase of flight. If a height change between the current and previous point is less than a threshold, the aircraft is changed from the rising phase of flight to the horizontal phase of flight. Therefore, the rolling window includes past and future phases (e.g., rising and horizontal) when categorizing the phase of flight at the particular interval because the comparison is used to make a choice between a previous flight phase (e.g., rising) or future flight phase (e.g., horizontal). Wang teaches in [Page 7, Lines 14-17] that the flight stage state machine uses the information of the next flight stage to determine to transfer from the current flight stage. Also, [Page 10, Lines 7-13] teaches to judge the track point to update to the next flight phase.
Wang's judging of track points to determine whether or not to update to a next flight phase is equivalent to the rolling window including past and future flight phases when categorizing a phase of flight at a particular interval. The current flight phase (ascending) is equivalent to a past flight phase because it has already been previously determined. The next flight phase (horizontal) is equivalent to the future flight phase because the track points are judged to determine to update to horizontal flight phase. As currently claimed, Wang teaches each and every amended limitation. There is no claim language that creates a distinction between the rolling window in the claims and Wang's use of the latest number of track points. Therefore, the rejection to the independent claims is maintained.
30. Shu-Zhong Cabos (US 20230274650 A1), in view of Wang (CN 112349147 A), and in further view of Garnier de Labareyre (US 20150331975 A1) teaches all aspects of the invention. The rejection is modified according to the newly amended language but still maintained with the current prior art of record.
31. Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-20 remain rejected under their respective grounds and rational as cited above, and as stated in the prior office action which is incorporated herein. Also, although not specifically argued, all remaining claims remain rejected under their respective grounds, rationales, and applicable prior art for these reasons cited above, and those mentioned in the prior office action which is incorporated herein.
Conclusion
32. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL T SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663