CTNF 18/657,291 CTNF 75412 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 3 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Caliskan, et al. (10,688,854) . Caliskan discloses a seat mounting structure for a vehicle (see Figure 4), the seat mounting structure comprising a floor panel 30 configured to cover an upper side of a battery accommodation space 62 and including a top wall via 30, and a bottom wall 42 spaced apart from the top wall in an upward and downward direction of the vehicle; a plurality of partition walls 46 configured to connect the top wall and the bottom wall in the upward and downward direction; a seat mounting reinforcement bracket 50, 94 configured to be inserted into a space that is defined by the top wall, the bottom wall, and the partition walls; a seat 90 mounted in an upper direction on the floor panel; and a fastening member 96 configured to be fastened by penetrating the top wall so that the seat is secured to the floor panel 30. The seat mounting reinforcement bracket 50, 94 includes an upper portion configured to come into contact with the top wall of the floor panel; and lateral portions configured to respectively come into contact with opposite partitions, as shown in Figure 4. The floor panel 30 comprises a basic floor portion including a top wall; and a mounting floor portion 40 including a top wall configured to have a height greater than a height of the top wall of the basic floor portion, wherein the seat mounting reinforcement bracket 50, 94 is configured to be inserted into a lower side of the top wall of the mounting floor portion. Caliskan discloses a seat mounting structure for a vehicle (see Figure 4), the seat mounting structure comprising a floor panel 30 made of constant extruded material along a transverse direction of a vehicle body (see Figure 1), and including a plurality of closed cross-sections (see Figure 2), the floor panel configured to enclose an upper side of a battery accommodation space 62; a seat mounted 90 in an upper direction on the floor panel, as shown in Figure 4; a seat mounting reinforcement bracket 50, 94 configured to be inserted into at least one of the plurality of closed cross-sections of the floor panel; and a fastening member 96 configured to secure the seat to the seat mounting reinforcement bracket. The seat mounting reinforcement bracket 50, 94 comprises lateral portions respectively extending downward along opposite partition walls constituting the plurality of closed cross-sections of the floor panel; and an upper portion connecting the lateral portions to each other, as shown in Figure 4 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caliskan, et al. (10,688,854) . Caliskan discloses the claimed invention except for a weld nut. Caliskan teaches the cross members may be attached by welding, fasteners, or the like, (see col. 3, lines 26-28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fasteners to include a weld nut to ensure a permanent bond . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4-7 and 11-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art recited discloses common inventive concepts as the claimed present invention . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Faye M. Fleming whose telephone number is (571)272-6672. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Vivek Koppikar can be reached at (571) 272-5109. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /FAYE M FLEMING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 Application/Control Number: 18/657,291 Page 2 Art Unit: 3612 Application/Control Number: 18/657,291 Page 3 Art Unit: 3612 Application/Control Number: 18/657,291 Page 4 Art Unit: 3612 Application/Control Number: 18/657,291 Page 5 Art Unit: 3612