DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument directed at independent claim 1 and the McGhie reference specifically, the inclusion of a reference to an annotated figure was an oversight as no annotated figure was deemed necessary. The reference has been removed. The openings to elements 116 and 122 are clearly present in the bottom planar surface of the assembled plugs 112 and 113. From that, both 118 and 124 include passageways that run parallel to each other as they meet 116 and 122. Further, the element equated to the gear, element 99, does indeed include both cogs and recessed regions between the cogs. As stated the equated cogs are elements 104 and 105 while the recessed regions are the regions present between elements 104 and 105 which are recessed relative to 104 and 105.
Applicant then states the boss 95 and ribs 104 and 105 do not correspond to the claimed gear having cogs and recessed regions because the disclosed operation is inconsistent with the recited functional relationship from which applicant specifies that the groove 93 permits vertical movement rather than preventing it and references the rejections of claims 2 and 25, however neither claim nor the recitations of claim 1 stipulate anything regarding permitting or preventing vertical movement. Claims 2 and 25 recite a mechanical stop configured to engage with one of the cogs to prevent the passage of the fluid or to engage with one of the recessed regions to facilitate the passage of fluid. To which, the section of McGhie applicant explicitly quoted explicitly says the groove 93 engages with rib 104 in order to prevent the passage of fluid out of the nozzle and then from there the assembly is actuated to have the recessed region in communication with the groove 93 to allow the passage of fluid as is required by the claims.
In response to applicant's argument that “it is unclear how Hayashi’s click structure would be incorporated into McGhie’s lift-rotate-depress selector while preserving McGhie’s axial rib-and-groove operation,” the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Regarding applicant’s arguments directed at the Chen reference, functionally as the Chen reference operates where the dial 23 is rotated, when one nozzle is in alignment with the supply passage, all of the other nozzles are moved out of alignment with the supply passage and therefore meets the functional recitation “prevent passage of fluid from the supply channel when the dial is positioned with the nozzles out of alignment with the channel.”
Regarding applicant’s remarks directed at dependent claim 22, the recitation of an elongated elastic post (erroneously referred to as an “elongated plastic post” by applicant on page 12 of the remarks) merely requires an elastic version of something comparable to a pole or stake that’s set up to mark or indicate something as defined by Merriam-Webster. To which, at the very least, the arm of the torsion spring which is clearly elastic is specifically there to engage with the gear 82 and indicate when the gear has rotated.
Applicant references the combination of Chen in view of Hayashi and states that “no such reason (to combine) is provided in connection with the rejections of claims 13-15 and the specific modifications noted therein” however the “specific modifications” applicant refers to are all further components of what was cited in claim 12 and as such no further reason to combine is necessary as the reason already stipulated for claim 12 would be the same throughout.
In light of these remarks, all prior art rejections shall be maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 16-20 and 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McGhie et al. (US Pat No 3,795,366).
Re claim 1, McGhie shows an apparatus (Figs. 10-18) comprising:
a dial (112/113) having a planar surface;
a plurality of nozzles (116/122) recessed within the surface of the dial, each of the nozzles having a fluid channel (118/124) extending in a direction that is aligned in parallel with the fluid channels of the other nozzles, the dial being configured to rotate (abstract) for selectively aligning each of the respective nozzles (116/122) with a fluid supply channel (Fig. 1, 26); and
a gear (99), coupled to the dial (112/113) and configured to rotate (abstract) with the dial, the gear (99) having a plurality of cogs (104/105) and recessed regions between adjacent ones of the cogs (104/105) and being configured to:
prevent passage (col. 7, lines 13-19) of fluid from the fluid supply channel (26) when the dial (112/113) is positioned with the nozzles (116/122) out of alignment with the channel (26); and
facilitate dispensing of fluid from the fluid supply channel (26) through one of the nozzles (116/122) when the dial (112/113) is positioned such that the fluid channel (118/124) of the one of the nozzles (116/122) is aligned with the fluid supply channel (inside 12; col. 6, lines 50-67 through col. 7, lines 1-12).
Re claim 2, McGhie shows a mechanical stop (93) configured and arranged with the gear (99) to facilitate:
engaging of one of the cogs (104/105) with the mechanical stop (93) to prevent the passage of the fluid from the fluid supply channel (26) when the dial (112/113) is positioned with the nozzles (116/122) out of alignment with the channel (26; col. 7, lines 13-19); and
engaging of one of the recessed regions with the mechanical stop (93) to facilitate the dispensing of the fluid from the fluid supply channel (26) through the one of the nozzles (116/122) when the dial (112/113) is positioned such that the fluid channel (118/124) of the one of the nozzles is aligned with the fluid supply channel (26).
Re claim 3, McGhie shows an actuator (95) coupled to the dial (112/113) to facilitate the dispensing of the fluid from the fluid supply channel (26) through the one of the nozzles (116/122) via movement of the actuator (95) and dial (112/113) for dispensing the fluid, when the one of the recessed regions is engaged with the mechanical stop (93).
Re claim 4, McGhie shows the actuator (95) is configured to engage with a valve (Fig. 1, 28) operable to dispense the fluid into the channel in response to movement of the actuator and dial relative to the valve.
Re claim 5, McGhie shows the dial (112/113) and the fluid channel (118/124) are configured to move vertically in response to pressure applied thereto, and to operate the valve (28) to dispense the fluid in response to vertical movement.
Re claim 6, McGhie shows the dial (112/113) and fluid channel (118/124) are configured to move vertically in response to pressure applied thereto, for dispensing fluid through the fluid channel and one of the nozzles (116/122) aligned to the fluid channel.
Re claim 7, McGhie shows the fluid supply channel (26) is configured to move with the dial (112/113) in response to force applied thereto (col. 6, lines 56-60).
Re claim 8, McGhie shows the fluid supply channel (26) includes a portion extending vertically and another portion extending horizontally aligned to the nozzles (116/122), and is configured to move vertically with the dial (112/113) in response to force applied thereto (col. 6, lines 56-60).
Re claim 9, McGhie shows the fluid supply channel (26) and an actuator (95) configured and arranged to actuate a valve (28) to release propelled liquid through the fluid supply channel and into the fluid channel (118/124) of one of the nozzles (116/122) aligned to the fluid supply channel, wherein the fluid supply channel (26) includes a portion extending vertically and another portion extending horizontally aligned to the nozzles, and is configured to move vertically with the dial (112/113) in response to force applied thereto via the actuator for actuating the valve and releasing the propelled liquid (col. 6, lines 56-60).
Re claim 10, McGhie shows the fluid supply channel (26) is configured to engage and disengage with a valve stem (28) of a pressurized vessel (11) for dispensing the propelled liquid into the fluid supply channel, including providing a seal to the pressurized vessel while a force is applied to the actuator (95) and releasing the seal when less or no force is applied to the actuator (95).
Re claim 16, McGhie shows a flow restrictor configured to reduce the pressure of fluid provided through one or more of the plurality of nozzles (col. 2, lines 40-42 & col. 6, lines 23-28).
Re claim 17, McGhie shows the flow restrictor is configured to restrict flow for a particular one of the nozzles (116).
Re claim 18, McGhie shows the flow restrictor is configured to restrict flow for all of the nozzles (116/122).
Re claim 19, McGhie shows a first flow restrictor (col. 6, lines 23-28) configured to restrict fluid flow to a particular one of the nozzles (116), and a second flow restrictor (col. 2, lines 40-42) configured to restrict fluid flow to all of the nozzles (116/122).
Re claim 20, McGhie shows a mechanical feedback component (133/133’/134) configured to provide tactile feedback to a user in response to movement of the dial (112/113) relative to positions at which one of the nozzles is aligned to the fluid supply channel (26).
Re claim 23, McGhie shows the dial (112/113), nozzles (116/122) and gear (99) are coupled to a spray button housing (81) configured to couple to an aerosol can (11) for dispensing fluid upon depression of the spray button housing, dial and gear, in a direction toward the aerosol can.
Re claim 24, McGhie shows the dial, nozzles and gear are molded (col. 6, lines 44-48) into a spray cap (Fig. 12) configured to couple to an aerosol can (11).
Re claim 25, McGhie shows an apparatus (Figs. 10-18) comprising:
a dial (112/113) having a plurality of nozzles (102/103) recessed within a surface thereof, each nozzle having a fluid channel (118/124) extending in a horizontal direction that is aligned in parallel with the fluid channels of the other nozzles, the dial being configured to rotate (abstract) and to move in a vertical direction (col. 7, lines 9-11);
a mechanical stop (93) that is fixed in place relative to the dial and vertical movement thereof; and
a gear (99), coupled to the dial and configured to rotate with the dial, the gear having a plurality of cogs (104/105) and recessed regions between adjacent ones of the cogs and being configured to:
prevent movement the dial in a vertical direction when the dial is positioned with one of the cogs aligned with the mechanical stop such that the mechanical stop engages with the one of the cogs and prevents vertical movement of the dial (col. 7, lines 13-19); and
facilitate vertical movement of the dial when one of the recessed regions is aligned with the mechanical stop (col. 6, lines 50-67 through col. 7, lines 1-12).
Re claim 26, McGhie shows the dial (112/113) and nozzles (102/103) are configured to dispense fluid from a fluid supply channel (26) through one of the nozzles when the dial is positioned such that the fluid channel (118/124) of the one of the nozzles is aligned with the fluid supply channel when one of the recessed regions is aligned to the mechanical stop (93).
Re claim 27, McGhie shows the mechanical stop (93) is configured to prohibit dispensing of the fluid from the fluid supply channel (26) when one of the cogs (104/105) is aligned with the mechanical stop (93), by preventing the dial from moving in the vertical direction (col. 7, lines 13-19).
Re claim 28, McGhie shows the fluid supply channel (26), wherein the fluid supply channel is configured to move vertically with the dial (112/113), and to engage with a fluid supply valve (28) and to dispense fluid from the fluid supply valve (28) into the fluid supply channel (26) in response to the dial (112/113) and fluid supply channel (26) moving vertically toward the fluid supply valve (28).
Claims 1 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US Pat No 7,080,795 B2).
Re claim 1, Chen shows an apparatus (Figs. 2-7B) comprising:
a dial (23) having a planar surface;
a plurality of nozzles (231) recessed within the surface of the dial (23), each of the nozzles (231) having a fluid channel extending in a direction that is aligned in parallel with the fluid channels of the other nozzles (231), the dial being configured to rotate for selectively aligning each of the respective nozzles with a fluid supply channel (221); and
a gear (82), coupled to the dial (23) and configured to rotate with the dial (23), the gear (82) having a plurality of cogs (col. 2, lines 39-40) and recessed regions between adjacent ones of the cogs and being configured to:
prevent passage of fluid from the fluid supply channel when the dial (23) is positioned with the nozzles (231) out of alignment with the channel; and
facilitate dispensing of fluid from the fluid supply channel through one of the nozzles (231) when the dial (23) is positioned such that the fluid channel of the one of the nozzles (231) is aligned with the fluid supply channel (221).
Re claim 20, Chen shows further including a mechanical feedback component (94/95) configured to provide tactile feedback to a user in response to movement of the dial (23) relative to positions at which one of the nozzles (231) is aligned to the fluid supply channel (221).
Re claim 21, Chen shows the mechanical feedback component (94/95) is configured to provide increased resistance to rotation of the dial (23) as the dial (23) is rotated away from a first position in which one of the nozzles (231) is aligned to the fluid supply channel (221), and to provide decreased resistance to the rotation of the dial (23) as the dial (23) is rotated to a second position in which another one of the nozzles (231) is aligned to the fluid supply channel (221).
Re claim 22, Chen shows the mechanical feedback component (94/95) includes an elongated elastic post (95) protruding into the rotational path of the dial (23), and is configured to deform as the dial (23) is rotated away from the first position and therein provide the increased resistance, and to elastically return an undeformed state as the dial (23) rotates into the second position and therein provide decreased resistance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGhie et al. (US Pat No 3,795,366) in view of Hayashi (JP H10113585 A).
Re claim 12, McGhie discloses all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach an audible feedback component configured to provide audible feedback to a user in response to movement of the dial relative to positions at which the one of the nozzles is aligned to the fluid supply channel.
However, Hayashi shows a rotating nozzle head including an audible feedback component (4) configured to provide audible feedback to a user in response to movement of the dial (3; paragraphs 0063-0064) relative to positions at which the one of the nozzles (Figs. 3a-3f) is aligned to the fluid supply channel (22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the nozzle of McGhie include an audible feedback component as taught by Hayashi to confirm an on/off state of the nozzle (Hayashi - paragraph 0007).
Re claim 13, McGhie as modified by Hayashi shows the audible feedback component (Hayashi - 4) includes an elastic protrusion (Hayashi - 61, 62, 63) configured to: deform away from a first position as the dial is rotated away from a position in which one of the nozzles is aligned with the fluid supply channel; and return to the first position as the dial is rotated into a position in which the fluid channel of another one of the nozzles is aligned with the fluid supply channel, including generating an audible sound in response to returning to the first position (Hayashi – paragraph 0053).
Re claim 14, McGhie as modified by Hayashi shows the elastic protrusion (Hayashi – 61, 62, 63) is configured to generate the audible sound by snapping back into the first position and therein making contact with a portion (Hayashi – 71, 72) of the apparatus in a manner that generates the audible sound (Hayashi – paragraph 0053).
Re claim 15, McGhie as modified by Hayashi shows the audible feedback component includes an elastic post (Hayashi – 61, 62, 63) and a protrusion (Hayashi – 71, 72), the elastic post being configured to: deform away from a first position as the dial is rotated (Hayashi – paragraphs 0063-0064) in a manner that engages the elastic post with the protrusion in a manner that deforms the elastic post; and upon rotating past the protrusion, elastically return to the first position and therein generate an audible sound (Hayashi – paragraph 0053).
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Pat No 7,080,795 B2) in view of Hayashi (JP H10113585 A).
Re claim 12, Chen discloses all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach an audible feedback component configured to provide audible feedback to a user in response to movement of the dial relative to positions at which the one of the nozzles is aligned to the fluid supply channel.
However, Hayashi shows a rotating nozzle head including an audible feedback component (4) configured to provide audible feedback to a user in response to movement of the dial (3; paragraphs 0063-0064) relative to positions at which the one of the nozzles (Figs. 3a-3f) is aligned to the fluid supply channel (22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the nozzle of Chen include an audible feedback component as taught by Hayashi to confirm an on/off state of the nozzle (Hayashi - paragraph 0007).
Re claim 13, Chen as modified by Hayashi shows the audible feedback component (Hayashi - 4) includes an elastic protrusion (Hayashi - 61, 62, 63) configured to: deform away from a first position as the dial is rotated away from a position in which one of the nozzles is aligned with the fluid supply channel; and return to the first position as the dial is rotated into a position in which the fluid channel of another one of the nozzles is aligned with the fluid supply channel, including generating an audible sound in response to returning to the first position (Hayashi – paragraph 0053).
Re claim 14, Chen as modified by Hayashi shows the elastic protrusion (Hayashi – 61, 62, 63) is configured to generate the audible sound by snapping back into the first position and therein making contact with a portion (Hayashi – 71, 72) of the apparatus in a manner that generates the audible sound (Hayashi – paragraph 0053).
Re claim 15, Chen as modified by Hayashi shows the audible feedback component includes an elastic post (Hayashi – 61, 62, 63) and a protrusion (Hayashi – 71, 72), the elastic post being configured to: deform away from a first position as the dial is rotated (Hayashi – paragraphs 0063-0064) in a manner that engages the elastic post with the protrusion in a manner that deforms the elastic post; and upon rotating past the protrusion, elastically return to the first position and therein generate an audible sound (Hayashi – paragraph 0053).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 23 and 25-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, 12, 14 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,975,912 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Re claim 1, US Pat No 11,975,912 B2 discloses an apparatus (col. 11, line 5) comprising:
a dial having a planar surface (line 7);
a plurality of nozzles recessed within the surface of the dial (lines 7-8), each of the nozzles having a fluid channel extending in a direction that is aligned in parallel with the fluid channels of the other nozzles (lines 6 & 10-15), the dial being configured to rotate for selectively aligning each of the respective nozzles with a fluid supply channel (lines 10-15); and
a gear (line 18), coupled to the dial and configured to rotate with the dial (lines 18-19), the gear having a plurality of cogs and recessed regions between adjacent ones of the cogs (lines 19-20) and being configured to:
prevent passage of fluid from the fluid supply channel when the dial is positioned with the nozzles out of alignment with the channel (lines 22-26); and
facilitate dispensing of fluid from the fluid supply channel through one of the nozzles when the dial is positioned such that the fluid channel of the one of the nozzles is aligned with the fluid supply channel (lines 27-31).
Re claim 2, see claim 5.
Re claim 3, see col. 11, lines 16-17 and claim 5.
Re claim 4, see col. 11, line 17 and claim 2.
Re claim 6, see claim 12.
Re claim 7, see claim 3.
Re claim 8, see claim 12.
Re claim 23, see claims 2 and 3.
Re claim 25, see claim 14.
Re claim 26, see claim 15.
Re claim 27, see claim 15.
Claims 12-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,975,912 B2 in view of JP H10113585 A.
Re claim 12, U.S. Patent No. 11,975,912 B2 discloses all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach an audible feedback component configured to provide audible feedback to a user in response to movement of the dial relative to positions at which the one of the nozzles is aligned to the fluid supply channel.
However, Hayashi shows a rotating nozzle head including an audible feedback component (4) configured to provide audible feedback to a user in response to movement of the dial (3; paragraphs 0063-0064) relative to positions at which the one of the nozzles (Figs. 3a-3f) is aligned to the fluid supply channel (22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the nozzle of U.S. Patent No. 11,975,912 B2 include an audible feedback component as taught by Hayashi to confirm an on/off state of the nozzle (Hayashi - paragraph 0007).
Re claim 13, U.S. Patent No. 11,975,912 B2 as modified by Hayashi shows the audible feedback component (Hayashi - 4) includes an elastic protrusion (Hayashi - 61, 62, 63) configured to: deform away from a first position as the dial is rotated away from a position in which one of the nozzles is aligned with the fluid supply channel; and return to the first position as the dial is rotated into a position in which the fluid channel of another one of the nozzles is aligned with the fluid supply channel, including generating an audible sound in response to returning to the first position (Hayashi – paragraph 0053).
Re claim 14, U.S. Patent No. 11,975,912 B2 as modified by Hayashi shows the elastic protrusion (Hayashi – 61, 62, 63) is configured to generate the audible sound by snapping back into the first position and therein making contact with a portion (Hayashi – 71, 72) of the apparatus in a manner that generates the audible sound (Hayashi – paragraph 0053).
Re claim 15, U.S. Patent No. 11,975,912 B2 as modified by Hayashi shows the audible feedback component includes an elastic post (Hayashi – 61, 62, 63) and a protrusion (Hayashi – 71, 72), the elastic post being configured to: deform away from a first position as the dial is rotated (Hayashi – paragraphs 0063-0064) in a manner that engages the elastic post with the protrusion in a manner that deforms the elastic post; and upon rotating past the protrusion, elastically return to the first position and therein generate an audible sound (Hayashi – paragraph 0053).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not teach the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the dial is configured to lift the fluid supply channel vertically when rotating between positions at which the nozzles are not aligned with the fluid supply channel, therein disengaging the fluid supply channel from the valve stem.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STEVEN MICHAEL CERNOCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752