DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply communication filed on 05/07/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 5, 6, 7, 12, 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2, 5, 6, 7, 12, 18, recited, “and/or” thru out the claims. For clarity, it is suggested to change to either “and” or “or”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Double Patenting
Non-Statutory
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the “same invention” as patent.
It has been held that the omission an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one skilled in the art. Moreover, the doctrine of double patenting seeks to prevent the unjustified extension of patent exclusivity beyond the term of a patent.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Wu et al. (US Patent No 12,016,056) (referred as Wu’s 056).
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the “same invention” as the first application or patent. Moreover, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application are the same scope of the claims of Haggar et al. (US Patent No 12,016,056) (referred as Wu’s 056) by adding the well-known elements and functions as set forth below.
Regarding claim 1, Wu’s 056 discloses a random access processing method, comprising:
reporting random access process information corresponding to a type of a random access process to a network side;
wherein the random access process information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: random access process type information, random access process trigger event information, or random access process record information (see claim 1, lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 2, Wu’s 056 discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the random access process type information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: a new 2-step random access process, a traditional 4-step random access process, a traditional 2-step random access process, or a random access process for time information calibration; and/or the random access process trigger event information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: initial access, connection re-establishment, cell switching, downlink data arrives and an uplink of the terminal is in an out-of-synchronization state, uplink data arrives and an uplink of the terminal is in an out-of-synchronization state, terminal state switch, establishing uplink synchronization for a secondary cell, system information request, or beam failure recover; and/or the random access process information further comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: geographic location information of the terminal, measurement information of the terminal, speed information of the terminal, or identifier information of the terminal (see claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, Wu’s 056 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein if the type of the random access process comprises the new 2-step random access process, the random access process record information comprises record information of the new 2-step random access process; if the type of the random access process comprises the traditional 4-step random access process, the random access process record information comprises record information of the traditional 4-step random access process; if the type of the random access process comprises the traditional 2-step random access process, the random access process record information comprises record information of the traditional 2-step random access process; and if the type of the random access process comprises the new 2-step random access process and the traditional 4-step random access process, the random access process record information comprises at least one of the following: record information of the new 2-step random access process, record information of the traditional 4-step random access process, and total record information of the new 2-step random access process and the traditional 4-step random access process (see claim 1, lines 18-32).
Regarding claim 4, Wu’s 056 discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the record information of the new 2-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message A is sent, the number of times sending of message A fails, the number of times receiving of message B fails, the number of times sending of control information of message A fails, the number of times receiving of a response message corresponding to the control information of message A fails, the number of times sending of control information of message A succeeds, the number of times receiving of a response message corresponding to the control information of message A succeeds, the number of times sending of data information of message A fails, the number of times receiving of a response message corresponding to data information of message A fails, the number of times sending of data information of message A succeeds, the number of times receiving of a response message corresponding to data information of message A succeeds, indication information indicating whether contention occurs is detected, the number of times contention is detected, or channel access failure information (see claim 1, lines 33-53).
Regarding claim 5, Wu’s 056 discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the channel access failure information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: indication information indicating whether sending of message A has a channel access failure, the number of times sending of message A has a channel access failure, indication information indicating whether sending of the control information of message A has a channel access failure, the number of times sending of the control information of message A has a channel access failure, indication information indicating whether sending of the data information of message A has a channel access failure, the number of times sending of the data information of message A has a channel access failure, indication information indicating whether receiving of message B has a channel access failure, the number of times receiving of message B has a channel access failure, or information about a frequency that has a channel access failure; and/or wherein the record information of the traditional 4-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message 1 is sent, the number of times sending of message 1 fails, the number of times receiving of message 2 fails, the number of times receiving of message 4 fails, the number of times message 3 is sent, the number of times sending of message 3 fails, indication information indicating whether contention occurs is detected, the number of times contention is detected, or channel access failure information; and/or wherein the channel access failure information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: indication information indicating whether sending of message 1 has a channel access failure, indication information indicating whether sending of message 3 has a channel access failure, the number of times sending of message 1 has a channel access failure, the number of times sending of message 3 has a channel access failure, indication information indicating whether receiving of message 2 has a channel access failure, indication information indicating whether receiving of message 4 has a channel access failure, the number of times receiving of message 2 has a channel access failure, the number of times receiving of message 4 has a channel access failure, or information about a frequency that has a channel access failure; wherein the information about the frequency that has a channel access failure comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: information about a frequency at which message 1 has a channel access failure, information about a frequency at which message 2 has a channel access failure, information about a frequency at which message 3 has a channel access failure, or information about a frequency at which message 4 has a channel access failure; and the information about the frequency comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: a frequency channel number identifier, a bandwidth identifier, a band identifier, a bandwidth part identifier, or a cell identifier; and/or wherein the record information of the traditional 2-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message 1 is sent, the number of times sending of message 1 fails, the number of times receiving of message 2 fails, indication information indicating whether contention occurs is detected, the number of times contention is detected, or channel access failure information; and/or wherein the total record information comprises: a sum of the number of times message A is sent in the new 2-step random access process and the number of times message 1 is sent in the traditional 4-step random access process, a sum of the number of times sending of message A fails in the new 2-step random access process and the number of times sending of message 1 fails in the traditional 4-step random access process, a sum of the number of times contention is detected in the new 2-step random access process and the number of times contention is detected in the traditional 4-step random access process, indication information indicating whether the new 2-step random access process falls back to the traditional 4-step random access process is detected, and the number of times the new 2-step random access process falls back to the traditional 4-step random access process (see claim 1, lines 54-85).
Regarding claim 6, Wu’s 056 discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein in response to that the record information of the traditional 4-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message 1 is sent, the number of times sending of message 1 fails, the number of times receiving of message 2 fails, the number of times receiving of message 4 fails, the number of times message 3 is sent, the number of times sending of message 3 fails, indication information indicating whether contention occurs is detected, the number of times contention is detected, or channel access failure information, the method further comprises at least one of the following steps: if at least one of the following conditions is met, it is determined that sending of message 1 fails; wherein the at least one condition comprises: a control information identifier of message 1 is not received when message 2 is received, and/or, corresponding contention resolution information is not received when message 4 is received; if at least one of the following conditions is met, contention is detected; wherein the at least one condition comprises: a control information identifier of message 1 is not received when message 2 is received and/or corresponding contention resolution information is not received when message 4 is received; and if corresponding contention resolution information is not received when message 4 is received, it is determined that sending of message 3 fails (see claim 1 lines 85-100).
Regarding claim 7, Wu’s 056 discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein in response to that the record information of the traditional 2-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message 1 is sent, the number of times sending of message 1 fails, the number of times receiving of message 2 fails, indication information indicating whether contention occurs is detected, the number of times contention is detected, or channel access failure information, the method further comprises at least one of the following steps: if a control information identifier of message 1 is not received when message 2 is received, it is determined that sending of message 1 fails; or if a control information identifier of message 1 is not received when message 2 is received, contention is detected; wherein the channel access failure information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: indication information indicating whether sending of message 1 has a channel access failure, the number of times sending of message 1 has a channel access failure, indication information indicating whether receiving of message 2 has a channel access failure, the number of times receiving of message 2 has a channel access failure, or information about a frequency that has a channel access failure; the information about the frequency that has a channel access failure comprises: information about a frequency at which message 1 has a channel access failure, and/or, information about a frequency at which message 2 has a channel access failure; and the information about the frequency comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: a frequency channel number identifier, a bandwidth identifier, a band identifier, a bandwidth part identifier, or a cell identifier (see claim 1 lines 101-125).
Regarding claim 8, Wu’s 056 discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein if the new 2-step random access process fails, record information of the new 2-step random access process is failure process record information of the new 2-step random access process; if the traditional 4-step random access process fails, record information of the traditional 4-step random access process is failure process record information of the traditional 4-step random access process; and if the traditional 2-step random access process fails, record information of the traditional 2-step random access process is failure process record information of the traditional 2-step random access process (see claim 3).
Regarding claim 9, Wu’s 056 discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein if the new 2-step random access process succeeds, record information of the new 2-step random access process is success process record information of the new 2-step random access process; if the traditional 4-step random access process succeeds, record information of the traditional 4-step random access process is success process record information of the traditional 4-step random access process; and if the traditional 2-step random access process succeeds, record information of the traditional 2-step random access process is success process record information of the traditional 2-step random access process (see claim 4).
Regarding claim 10, Wu’s 056 discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: a random access process that fails the most recently, a random access process that fails the most recently in a specific geographic location, a random access process that is successfully completed the most recently, or a random access process that is successfully completed the most recently in a specific geographic location; or, wherein the random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: a failed random access process configured by a network, a failed random access process specified in a protocol, a successfully completed random access process configured in a network, or a successfully completed random access process specified in a protocol (see claim 5).
Regarding claim 11, Wu’s 056 discloses a random access processing method, comprising: receiving random access process information corresponding to a type of a random access process from a terminal; and modifying configuration information of the random access process according to the random access process information; wherein the random access process information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: random access process type information, random access process trigger event information, or random access process record information (see claim 6 lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 12, Wu’s 056 discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the random access process comprises: a failed random access process, and/or, a successfully completed random access process (see claim 7).
Regarding claim 13, Wu’s 056 discloses the method according to claim 11, further comprising: sending the random access process information to another network node (see claim 8).
Regarding claim 14, Wu’s 056 discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the random access process type information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: a new 2-step random access process, a traditional 4-step random access process, a traditional 2-step random access process, or a random access process for time information calibration; wherein the random access process trigger event information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: initial access, connection re-establishment, cell switching, downlink data arrives and an uplink of the terminal is in an out-of-synchronization state, uplink data arrives and an uplink of the terminal is in an out-of-synchronization state, terminal state switch, establishing uplink synchronization for a secondary cell, system information request, or beam failure recover; wherein the random access process record information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: record information of a new 2-step random access process, record information of a traditional 4-step random access process, record information of a traditional 2-step random access process, or total record information of a new 2-step random access process and a traditional 4-step random access process (see claim 5).
Regarding claim 15, Wu’s 056 discloses the method according to claim 14, wherein the record information of the new 2-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message A is sent, the number of times sending of message A fails, the number of times receiving of message B fails, the number of times sending of control information of message A fails, the number of times receiving of a response message corresponding to the control information of message A fails, the number of times sending of control information of message A succeeds, the number of times receiving of a response message corresponding to the control information of message A succeeds, the number of times sending of data information of message A fails, the number of times receiving of a response message corresponding to data information of message A fails, the number of times sending of data information of message A succeeds, the number of times receiving of a response message corresponding to data information of message A succeeds, indication information indicating whether contention occurs is detected, the number of times contention is detected, or channel access failure information; the record information of the traditional 4-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message 1 is sent, the number of times sending of message 1 fails, the number of times receiving of message 2 fails, the number of times receiving of message 4 fails, the number of times message 3 is sent, the number of times sending of message 3 fails, indication information indicating whether contention occurs is detected, the number of times contention is detected, or channel access failure information; the record information of the traditional 2-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message 1 is sent, the number of times sending of message 1 fails, the number of times receiving of message 2 fails, indication information indicating whether contention occurs is detected, the number of times contention is detected, or channel access failure information; the total record information comprises: a sum of the number of times message A is sent in the new 2-step random access process and the number of times message 1 is sent in the traditional 4-step random access process, a sum of the number of times sending of message A fails in the new 2-step random access process and the number of times sending of message 1 fails in the traditional 4-step random access process, a sum of the number of times contention is detected in the new 2-step random access process and the number of times contention is detected in the traditional 4-step random access process, indication information indicating whether the new 2-step random access process falls back to the traditional 4-step random access process is detected, and the number of times the new 2-step random access process falls back to the traditional 4-step random access process; the random access process information further comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: geographic location information of the terminal, measurement information of the terminal, speed information of the terminal, or identifier information of the terminal (see claim 2).
Regarding claim 16, Wu’s 056 discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the measurement information of the terminal comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: measurement information corresponding to a reference signal of a serving cell, measurement information corresponding to a reference signal of a serving frequency channel number, measurement information corresponding to a reference signal of a neighboring cell, measurement information corresponding to a reference signal of a neighboring frequency channel number, an identifier of a reference signal corresponding to a random access resource of a failed random access process, measurement information of a reference signal corresponding to a random access resource of a failed random access process, the number of identifiers of reference signals exceeding a threshold for reference signal selection, or an identifier of a reference signal exceeding a threshold for reference signal selection (see claim 5).
Regarding claim 7, Wu’s 056 discloses a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, following step is implemented: reporting random access process information corresponding to a type of a random access process to a network side; wherein the random access process information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: random access process type information, random access process trigger event information, or random access process record information (see claim 11 lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 18, Wu’s 056 discloses the terminal according to claim 17, wherein the random access process type information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: a new 2-step random access process, a traditional 4-step random access process, a traditional 2-step random access process, or a random access process for time information calibration; and/or wherein the random access process trigger event information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: initial access, connection re-establishment, cell switching, downlink data arrives and an uplink of the terminal is in an out-of-synchronization state, uplink data arrives and an uplink of the terminal is in an out-of-synchronization state, terminal state switch, establishing uplink synchronization for a secondary cell, system information request, or beam failure recover; and/or wherein the random access process information further comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: geographic location information of the terminal, measurement information of the terminal, speed information of the terminal, or identifier information of the terminal (see claim 6 lines 63-84).
Regarding claim 19, Wu’s 056 discloses the terminal according to claim 17, wherein if the type of the random access process comprises the new 2-step random access process, the random access process record information comprises record information of the new 2-step random access process; if the type of the random access process comprises the traditional 4-step random access process, the random access process record information comprises record information of the traditional 4-step random access process; if the type of the random access process comprises the traditional 2-step random access process, the random access process record information comprises record information of the traditional 2-step random access process; and if the type of the random access process comprises the new 2-step random access process and the traditional 4-step random access process, the random access process record information comprises at least one of the following: record information of the new 2-step random access process, record information of the traditional 4-step random access process, and total record information of the new 2-step random access process and the traditional 4-step random access process (see claim 11 lines 13-36).
Regarding claim 20, Wu’s 056 discloses a network device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, steps of the random access processing method according to claim 11 are implemented (see claim 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 1, 10-12, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Pang et al. (US 2014/0241285).
Regarding claim 1, Pang discloses a random access processing method [See Fig. 4, ¶¶ 160-173; a random access processing method], comprising:
reporting random access process information corresponding to a type of a random access process to a network side [See Fig. 4, ¶ 168; S402, reporting the random access report/ (random access process information) to the network device, wherein the random access report records a random access type (corresponding to a random access type) (See ¶ 164)];
wherein the random access process information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: random access process type information, random access process trigger event information, or random access process record information [See Fig. 4, ¶ 164-165, 168; wherein the random access report/ (random access process information) comprises a random access type, random access process record information].
Regarding claim 10, Pang discloses the method according to claim 1.
Pang further disclose wherein the random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: a failed random access process configured by a network, a failed random access process specified in a protocol, a successfully completed random access process configured in a network, or a successfully completed random access process specified in a protocol [See ¶¶ 116, 205; wherein the random access process comprises a failed random access process configured by a network, a successfully completed random access process configured in a network].
Regarding claim 11, a random access processing method [See Fig. 4, ¶¶ 160-173, random access processing report method of a network device], comprising:
receiving random access process information corresponding to a type of a random access process from a terminal [See Fig. 4, ¶ 168; S402, receiving random access report/ (random access process information) from a user terminal, wherein the random access report records a random access type (corresponding to a random access type) (See ¶ 164)]; and
modifying configuration information of the random access process according to the random access process information [See Fig. 4, ¶ 171; adjusting/modifying random access parameter (according to preset standard configuration information) included in contents of the random access report reported, also See ¶ 173];
wherein the random access process information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: random access process type information, random access process trigger event information, or random access process record information [See Fig. 4, ¶ 164-165, 168; wherein the random access report/ (random access process information) comprises a random access type, random access process record information].
Regarding claim 12, Pang discloses the method according to claim 1.
Pang further discloses wherein the random access process comprises: a failed random access process, and/or, a successfully completed random access process [¶¶ 116, 205; wherein the random access process comprises: a failed random access process, and/or, a successfully completed random access process].
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored in the memory [See Fig. 8, ¶¶ 229-239; a user terminal 80 including: a recording unit 801, a reporting unit 802, a second receiving unit 803 and a storage unit 804] and executable on the processor to perform the method recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 17 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites the network device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor [See Fig. 6, ¶¶ 192-215; network device 60 including: a first receiving unit 601, an adjusting unit 602 and an issuing unit 603] to perform the method recited as in claim 1; therefore, claim 20 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2-5, 14-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Pang et al. (US 2014/0241285) in view of Dinan et al. (US 2018/0279376).
Regarding claim 2, Pang discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the random access process type information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: wherein the random access process type information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following:
However, Dinan discloses wherein the random access process type information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: a new 2-step random access process, a traditional 4-step random access process, a traditional 2-step random access process, or a random access process for time information calibration [See ¶¶ 241, 261-262, 266; the random access process type information comprises a traditional 4-step random access process, a traditional 2-step random access process].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the random access process type information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: a new 2-step random access process, a traditional 4-step random access process, a traditional 2-step random access process, or a random access process for time information calibration” as taught by Dinan in the system of Pang, so that it would to provide maximum amount of power at which the wireless device may be allowed to transmit [see Dinan; ¶ 2].
Regarding claim 3, Pang discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein if the type of the random access process comprises the new 2-step random access process, the random access process record information comprises record information of the new 2-step random access process; if the type of the random access process comprises the traditional 4-step random access process, the random access process record information comprises record information of the traditional 4-step random access process.
However, Dinan discloses wherein if the type of the random access process comprises the new 2-step random access process, the random access process record information comprises record information of the new 2-step random access process [See ¶¶ 262-263, 266-267; wherein if the type of the random access process comprises the new 2-step random access process, the random access process record information comprises record information of the new 2-step random access process]; if the type of the random access process comprises the traditional 4-step random access process, the random access process record information comprises record information of the traditional 4-step random access process [See ¶¶ 262-263, 266-267; if the type of the random access process comprises the traditional 4-step random access process, the random access process record information comprises record information of the traditional 4-step random access process].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein if the type of the random access process comprises the new 2-step random access process, the random access process record information comprises record information of the new 2-step random access process; if the type of the random access process comprises the traditional 4-step random access process, the random access process record information comprises record information of the traditional 4-step random access process” as taught by Dinan in the system of Pang, so that it would to provide maximum amount of power at which the wireless device may be allowed to transmit [see Dinan; ¶ 2].
Regarding claim 4, the combined system of Pang and discloses the method according to claim 3.
Pang does not explicitly disclose wherein the record information of the new 2-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message A is sent, the number of times sending of message A fails.
However, Dinan discloses wherein the record information of the new 2-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message A is sent, the number of times sending of message A fails [See Fig. 22, ¶¶ 288-289; wherein the record information of the new 2-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message A is sent, the number of times sending of message A fails].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the record information of the new 2-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message A is sent, the number of times sending of message A fails” as taught by Dinan in the system of Pang, so that it would to provide maximum amount of power at which the wireless device may be allowed to transmit [see Dinan; ¶ 2].
Regarding claim 5, the combined system of Pang and discloses the method according to claim 4.
Pang does not explicitly disclose wherein the channel access failure information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: indication information indicating whether sending of message A has a channel access failure, the number of times sending of message A has a channel access failure, indication information indicating whether sending of the control information of message A has a channel access failure, the number of times sending of the control information of message A has a channel access failure, indication information indicating whether sending of the data information of message A has a channel access failure, the number of times sending of the data information of message A has a channel access failure, indication information indicating whether receiving of message B has a channel access failure, the number of times receiving of message B has a channel access failure, or information about a frequency that has a channel access failure .
However, Dinan discloses wherein the channel access failure information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: indication information indicating whether sending of message A has a channel access failure, the number of times sending of message A has a channel access failure, indication information indicating whether sending of the control information of message A has a channel access failure, the number of times sending of the control information of message A has a channel access failure, indication information indicating whether sending of the data information of message A has a channel access failure, the number of times sending of the data information of message A has a channel access failure, indication information indicating whether receiving of message B has a channel access failure, the number of times receiving of message B has a channel access failure, or information about a frequency that has a channel access failure [See ¶¶ 262-263, 266-267; wherein the MAC PDU comprising a subheader that includes a RAP ID that the wireless device transmitted, but that also includes a decoding failure indicator in the subheader; decoding failure indicator may be implemented in different ways depending on a MAC PDU format. If RARs for data decoding failures and successes have the same size, a MAC PDU may have a dedicated field inserted in a subheader or in an RAR to indicate the data decoding success or failure].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein the channel access failure information comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: indication information indicating whether sending of message A has a channel access failure, the number of times sending of message A has a channel access failure, indication information indicating whether sending of the control information of message A has a channel access failure, the number of times sending of the control information of message A has a channel access failure, indication information indicating whether sending of the data information of message A has a channel access failure, the number of times sending of the data information of message A has a channel access failure, indication information indicating whether receiving of message B has a channel access failure, the number of times receiving of message B has a channel access failure, or information about a frequency that has a channel access failure” as taught by Dinan in the system of Pang, so that it would to provide maximum amount of power at which the wireless device may be allowed to transmit [see Dinan; ¶ 2].
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites the method according to claim 11to perform the method recited as in claim 2; therefore, claim 14 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 2.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites the method according to claim 11to perform the method recited as in claims 4-5; therefore, claim 15 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 4-5.
Regarding claims 18-19, the claim recites the terminal according to claim 17 to perform the method recited as in claims 2-3 respectively; therefore, claims 18-19 are rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claims 2-3 respectively.
Claims 6-7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Pang et al. (US 2014/0241285) in view of Dinan et al. (US 2018/0279376), and further in view of YANG et al. (US 2021/0329704).
Regarding claim 6, the combined system of Pang and Dinan discloses the method according to claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose wherein in response to that the record information of the traditional 4-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message 1 is sent, the number of times sending of message 1 fails, the number of times receiving of message 2 fails, the number of times receiving of message 4 fails, the number of times message 3 is sent, the number of times sending of message 3 fails, indication information indicating whether contention occurs is detected, the number of times contention is detected.
However, YANG discloses wherein in response to that the record information of the traditional 4-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message 1 is sent, the number of times sending of message 1 fails, the number of times receiving of message 2 fails, the number of times receiving of message 4 fails, the number of times message 3 is sent, the number of times sending of message 3 fails, indication information indicating whether contention occurs is detected, the number of times contention is detected [See Fig. 8, ¶¶ 109-119; wherein in response to that the record information of the traditional 4-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message 1 is sent, the number of times sending of message 1 fails].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein in response to that the record information of the traditional 4-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message 1 is sent, the number of times sending of message 1 fails, the number of times receiving of message 2 fails, the number of times receiving of message 4 fails, the number of times message 3 is sent, the number of times sending of message 3 fails, indication information indicating whether contention occurs is detected, the number of times contention is detected” as taught by YANG in the combined system of Pang and Dinan, so that it would to provide efficient random access procedure may be performed through an operation differentiated from the prior art when a communication apparatus performs a random access procedure [see YANG; ¶ 21].
Regarding claim 7, the combined system of Pang and Dinan discloses the method according to claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose wherein in response to that the record information of the traditional 2-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message 1 is sent, the number of times sending of message 1 fails, the number of times receiving of message 2 fails, indication information indicating whether contention occurs is detected, the number of times contention is detected; the method further comprises at least one of the following steps: if a control information identifier of message 1 is not received when message 2 is received, it is determined that sending of message 1 fails; or if a control information identifier of message 1 is not received when message 2 is received, contention is detected.
However, YANG discloses wherein in response to that the record information of the traditional 2-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message 1 is sent, the number of times sending of message 1 fails, the number of times receiving of message 2 fails, indication information indicating whether contention occurs is detected, the number of times contention is detected [See Fig. 8, ¶¶ 109-119; wherein in response to that the record information of the traditional 2-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message 1 is sent, the number of times sending of message 1 fails];
the method further comprises at least one of the following steps: if a control information identifier of message 1 is not received when message 2 is received, it is determined that sending of message 1 fails; or if a control information identifier of message 1 is not received when message 2 is received, contention is detected [See Fig. 8, ¶¶ 109-119; if a control information identifier of message 1 is not received when message 2 is received, it is determined that sending of message 1 fails; or if a control information identifier of message 1 is not received when message 2 is received, contention is detected].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “wherein in response to that the record information of the traditional 2-step random access process comprises one or a combination of multiple of the following: the number of times message 1 is sent, the number of times sending of message 1 fails, the number of times receiving of message 2 fails, indication information indicating whether contention occurs is detected, the number of times contention is detected; the method further comprises at least one of the following steps: if a control information identifier of message 1 is not received when message 2 is received, it is determined that sending of message 1 fails; or if a control information identifier of message 1 is not received when message 2 is received, contention is detected” as taught by YANG in the combined system of Pang and Dinan, so that it would to provide efficient random access procedure may be performed through an operation differentiated from the prior art when a communication apparatus performs a random access procedure [see YANG; ¶ 21].
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites the method according to claim 15 to perform the method recited as in claim 6; therefore, claim 16 is rejected along the same rationale that rejected in claim 6.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over Pang et al. (US 2014/0241285) in view of Wager et al. (US 2019/0007268).
Regarding claim 13, Pang discloses the method according to claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: sending the random access process information to another network node.
However, Wager discloses sending the random access process information to another network node [See Fig. 18, ¶¶ 147-151; sending the random access process information to another network node].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to provide “sending the random access process information to another network node” as taught by Wager in the system of Pang, so that it would to reduce/eliminate a coverage hole(s) in the coverage provided by the macro base stations, and/or to off-load traffic from macro base stations (e.g., to increase capacity in a high traffic location, also referred to as a hot-spot). Due to the lower transmit power and smaller physical size, an LPN may offer greater flexibility for site acquisition [see Wager; ¶ 6].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
In additional to references cited that are used for rejection as set forth above, CHEN et al. (CN 108282901) is also considered as relevant prior arts for rejection of in claims 1, 11, 17, and 20 (Fig. 15, page 27 line 1 to page 28 line 16).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHONG LA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469