DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2025 and 08/08/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 12, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 7-11, 13-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ye et al. (WO 2024/030494).
As per claim 1, Ye teaches a user equipment (UE), (Ye, see paragraph [0007], the more the UE devices) comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (Ye, see paragraph [0073], a processing device, a central processing unit (CPU),) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive, from a network entity of a serving cell of the UE (Ye, see figure 3 message 320 received from “RAN 312”) a delay status reporting configuration comprising an indication of a plurality of triggering events associated with delay status reporting for one or more logical channels of the UE (Ye, see paragraph [0044], the delay status report 105 and transmits 230 the DSR to the network entity 112. The trigger depends on various conditions, which may be configured by the network entity 112. In some cases, the triggering conditions avoid wasting uplink resources when the DSR, though generated, may not be sufficient to inform the network entity 112 to update resource allocation) and
transmit, in accordance with the delay status reporting configuration, a report indicative of a delay status of a first logical channel of the one or more logical channels based at least in part on a first triggering event of the plurality of triggering events being satisfied (Ye, see figure 2, message 230 and fig 3 message “330 transmit DSR upon triggering conditions met”. Also see paragraph [0055], when the delay has reached 324 (YES branch) the delay threshold(s), the operation of the UE device 105 proceeds to 326a-b and 328. As shown, the generation of the DSR at 326a or 326b may take place either before or after the determination 328 of triggering conditions satisfaction, depending on the implementation) wherein the first triggering event is selected from the plurality of triggering events based at least in part on a radio condition associated with the UE, a traffic pattern associated with the first logical channel, or both. (Ye, see paragraph [0066], the triggering conditions are associated with other uplink transmissions, such as a buffer status report For example, when the UE device 105 triggers a buffer status report, the buffer status report trigger automatically triggers a DSR transmission and the UE device 105 correspondingly generates a DSR transmission).
As per claim 2, Ye teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: monitor one or more performance indicators associated with the delay status reporting, wherein the one or more performance indicators comprise a quantity of instances wherein any triggering event of the plurality of triggering events is satisfied, (Ye, see paragraph [0066], the triggering conditions are associated with other uplink transmissions, such as a buffer status report For example, when the UE device 105 triggers a buffer status report, the buffer status report trigger automatically triggers a DSR transmission and the UE device 105 correspondingly generates a DSR transmission) a quantity of instances wherein the delay status reporting is triggered, a scheduling request success rate, an average quantity of scheduling request transmissions before receiving a scheduling grant, a quantity of instances the delay status reporting is canceled, an effective packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) discard metric, or any combination thereof (Ye, see paragraph [0043], under packet data convergence protocol (PDCP), the UE device 105 may associate and start a timer for each arriving PDCP service data unit (SDU))
As per claim 3, Ye teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, in accordance with the monitoring, a second report indicative of the one or more performance indicators associated with the delay status reporting, wherein the delay status reporting configuration is received based at least in part on transmission of the second report. (Ye, see paragraph [0010], When the UE device determines that a delay of the first data in the uplink buffer for the one or more channels has reached at least one of the delay thresholds, the UE device generates a delay status report (DSR).).
7. The UE of claim 1, wherein the traffic pattern comprises a traffic type of the first logical channel, bearer-specific data of the first logical channel, a quality of service (QoS) flow identifier (QFI) of a QoS flow of the first logical channel, or any combination thereof (Ye, see paragraph [0031], exhibits a certain variety and set of characteristics for the data streams (e.g., video) and they may change “on-the-fly” or dynamically. Additional information on the running services from higher layers, e.g., the QoS flow association, frame-level QoS, ADU-based QoS, XR specific QoS, etc., may be beneficial to facilitate informed choices of radio parameters by the RAN 112).
As per claim 8,
[Rejection rational for claim 2 is applicable].
As per claim 9, Ye teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the report, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the report indicative of the delay status of the first logical channel the report prior to multiple of the plurality of triggering events being satisfied (Ye, see paragraph [0066], the triggering conditions are associated with other uplink transmissions, such as a buffer status report For example, when the UE device 105 triggers a buffer status report, the buffer status report trigger automatically triggers a DSR transmission and the UE device 105 correspondingly generates a DSR transmission) based at least in part on the radio condition associated with the UE, the traffic pattern associated with the first logical channel, or both, wherein: the radio condition, the traffic pattern, or both are associated with an uplink grant pattern, a type of data arrival, a burstiness of the data arrival, one or more characteristics of a packet data unit (PDU) set, or any combination thereof (Ye, see paragraph [0061], regardless of the configuration of the third timer, the UE device 105 may not transmit another (or a) DSR immediately following a most recent DSR transmission when the UE device receives a new uplink grant from the RAN 112).
As per claim 10, Ye teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the radio condition, the traffic pattern, or both are associated with a signaling procedure at the UE, a bearer type, or both. (Ye, see paragraph [0037], multiple UE devices may signal with the network entity 112, and the UE device 105 may signal with multiple network entities about reporting delay status for different radio bearers or logical channels.)
As per claim 11, Ye teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to transmit the report, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the report indicative of the delay status of the first logical channel after a time delay based at least in part on the traffic pattern, wherein the traffic pattern comprises a medium access control (MAC)-control element (CE), upper-layer traffic in a MAC transport block (TB), or both associated with a higher priority level than a priority level of the report (Ye, see paragraph [0047], The UE device 105 may also include a second buffer size information to indicate the buffer size of the delayed data. In some embodiments, the DSR MAC CE has a higher priority than data from other logical channels. For example, when assembling a MAC PDU, the UE device 105 may include the DSR MAC CE first in the MAC PDU. In some cases, the DSR MAC CE may include delay information (e.g., remaining time) associated with data volume information (e.g., data volume to be transmitted).).
As per claim 13, Ye teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the report comprises a medium access control (MAC)-control element (CE) (Ye, see paragraph [0060], the UE device 105 stops the second timer when the UE device 105 receives a command, from the RAN 112, requesting the UE to stop second timer (not shown). For example, the command may be a MAC CE with a unique logical channel to distinguish itself from other MAC CEs).
As per claim 14, Ye teaches a network entity, (Ye, see paragraph [0007], the more the UE devices) comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (Ye, see paragraph [0073], a processing device, a central processing unit (CPU),) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
output a delay status reporting configuration comprising an indication of a plurality of triggering events associated with a delay status reporting for one or more logical channels of a user equipment (UE); (Ye, see paragraph [0044], the delay status report 105 and transmits 230 the DSR to the network entity 112. The trigger depends on various conditions, which may be configured by the network entity 112. In some cases, the triggering conditions avoid wasting uplink resources when the DSR, though generated, may not be sufficient to inform the network entity 112 to update resource allocation) and
obtain, in accordance with the delay status reporting configuration, a report indicative of a delay status of a first logical channel of the one or more logical channels based at least in part on a first triggering event of the plurality of triggering events being satisfied, (Ye, see figure 2, message 230 and fig 3 message “330 transmit DSR upon triggering conditions met”. Also see paragraph [0055], when the delay has reached 324 (YES branch) the delay threshold(s), the operation of the UE device 105 proceeds to 326a-b and 328. As shown, the generation of the DSR at 326a or 326b may take place either before or after the determination 328 of triggering conditions satisfaction, depending on the implementation) wherein the first triggering event is selected from the plurality of triggering events based at least in part on a radio condition associated with the UE, a traffic pattern associated with the first logical channel, or both. (Ye, see paragraph [0066], the triggering conditions are associated with other uplink transmissions, such as a buffer status report For example, when the UE device 105 triggers a buffer status report, the buffer status report trigger automatically triggers a DSR transmission and the UE device 105 correspondingly generates a DSR transmission).
As per claim 15, Ye teaches the network entity of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: receive a second report indicative of one or more performance indicators associated with the delay status reporting, wherein outputting the delay status reporting configuration is based at least in part on receiving the second report. (Ye, see paragraph [0066], the triggering conditions are associated with other uplink transmissions, such as a buffer status report For example, when the UE device 105 triggers a buffer status report, the buffer status report trigger automatically triggers a DSR transmission and the UE device 105 correspondingly generates a DSR transmission)
As per claim 17, Ye teaches the network entity of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: output a scheduling grant based at least in part on the one or more performance indicators, wherein the report is received based at least in part on transmission of the scheduling grant. (Ye, see paragraph [0061], regardless of the configuration of the third timer, the UE device 105 may not transmit another (or a) DSR immediately following a most recent DSR transmission when the UE device receives a new uplink grant from the RAN 112).
As per claim 18, Ye teaches the network entity of claim 15, wherein: the one or more performance indicators comprise a quantity of instances any triggering event of the plurality of triggering events are satisfied, (Ye, see paragraph [0066], the triggering conditions are associated with other uplink transmissions, such as a buffer status report For example, when the UE device 105 triggers a buffer status report, the buffer status report trigger automatically triggers a DSR transmission and the UE device 105 correspondingly generates a DSR transmission) a quantity of instances the delay status reporting is triggered, a scheduling request success rate, an average quantity of scheduling request transmissions before transmitting a scheduling grant, a quantity of instances the delay status reporting is canceled, an effective packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) discard metric, or any combination thereof. (Ye, see paragraph [0043], under packet data convergence protocol (PDCP), the UE device 105 may associate and start a timer for each arriving PDCP service data unit (SDU))
As per claim 19,
[Rejection rational for claims 1 and 14 is applicable].
As per claim 20, Ye teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising: monitoring one or more performance indicators associated with the delay status reporting, wherein the one or more performance indicators comprise a quantity of instances wherein any triggering event of the plurality of triggering events is satisfied, (Ye, see paragraph [0066], the triggering conditions are associated with other uplink transmissions, such as a buffer status report For example, when the UE device 105 triggers a buffer status report, the buffer status report trigger automatically triggers a DSR transmission and the UE device 105 correspondingly generates a DSR transmission) a quantity of instances wherein the delay status reporting is triggered, a scheduling request success rate, an average quantity of scheduling request transmissions before receiving a scheduling grant, a quantity of instances the delay status reporting is canceled, an effective packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) discard metric, or any combination thereof. (Ye, see paragraph [0043], under packet data convergence protocol (PDCP), the UE device 105 may associate and start a timer for each arriving PDCP service data unit (SDU)).
Conclusion
/HERMON ASRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449