Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-25, 27-34, 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Freda et al (US 2015/0181546) (hereinafter Freda).
Regarding claim 21, Freda discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see Fig. 1 A, e.g., UE), the WTRU comprising: a processor, the processor configured to:
determine that uplink data is available for transmission to a base station (e.g., eNB 114) (see Freda, Fig. 20, p. [0334]; e.g., In step 2003, the eNB verifies the availability of one or more DSS band channels from the geolocation database and any coexistence management entities to which it may subscribe);
determine a measurement associated with a received power level (see Freda, p. [0212], e.g., The transmit power could be the maximum transmit power with which the UE could transmit based on the information from the geolocation database);
send a transmission to the base station when the measurement exceeds a threshold, wherein the transmission comprises a preamble and at least a portion of the uplink data (see Freda, Fig. 20, p. [0334-0338], e.g., the UE will then transmit the RACH preamble until a response is received or until the maximum transmit power is reached (2015). If the RACH procedure times out, the eNB assumes that the UE cannot use the UL-only cell and deactivates it for that UE (2017)); and
receive a message from the base station in response to the transmission, wherein the message indicates the synchronization information (see Freda, Fig. 20, p. [0334-0338], e.g., If, the RACH procedure is successful, the eNB determines (from the first power headroom report) whether to keep the UL-only cell configured for this UE or to deactivate it and try another frequency, and Fig. 18, p. [0269-0270], e.g., The eNB would then send the offset or feedback to the UE through a synchronization sequence response message).
Regarding claim 22, Freda discloses the WTRU of claim 21, wherein the processor being configured to send the transmission to the base station when the measurement exceeds the threshold comprises the processor being configured to send the transmission to the base station before receiving the synchronization information from the base station (see Freda, Fig. 20, p. [0335], e.g., assuming a channel is available, the eNB configures a UL-only cell, e.g., using RRC signalling (2007), which includes sending the UE the following parameters: frequency of cell, power control related parameters, and Fig. 18, p. [0269-0270]).
Regarding claim 23, Freda discloses the WTRU of claim 21, wherein the processor is further configured to determine a random access procedure when the measurement exceeds a threshold (see Freda, Fig. 20, p. [0336-0337], e.g., The UE will then transmit the RACH preamble until a response is received or until the maximum transmit power is reached (2015)).
Regarding claim 24, Freda discloses the WTRU of claim 23, wherein the processor is further configured to send the transmission in accordance with the determined random access procedure (see Freda, Fig. 20, p. [0336-0337], e.g., The UE will then transmit the RACH preamble).
Regarding claim 25, Freda discloses the WTRU of claim 21, wherein the synchronization information indicates a timing advance command (TAC) and wherein the processor is further configured to receive data in accordance with a timing reference indicated by the TAC (see Freda, p. [0285], e.g., the UE will transmit a synchronization sequence that could be transmitted in addition to the RACH sequence required at the expiring of the timing alignment timer).
Regarding claim 27, Freda discloses the WTRU of claim 21, wherein the processor is further configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message, wherein the RRC message indicates configuration information for a random access procedure (see Freda, Fig. 17A, p. [0258], e.g., the UE 170B initiates the Random Access procedure by sending a Random Access Preamble 1705 in the uplink to the eNB 1701 using the Random Access Channel).
Regarding claim 28, Freda discloses the WTRU of claim 27, wherein the configuration indicates a reception window, and wherein the message is received during a duration of time indicated by the reception window (see Freda, p. [0322], e.g., the eNB that is expecting to receive the RACH, the eNB will wait for the RACH from the UE following a PDCCH order for a specific time window. If the RACH is not received by the eNB during that time window, the eNB will assume that the UL operation cannot be established for that particular cell based on the interference on that channel and/or the power limitations imposed on the UE on that particular channel).
Regarding claim 29, Freda discloses the WTRU of claim 21, wherein the WTRU is in at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state, an RRC active state, an RRC idle state, an RRC connected state (see Fig. 15 A, p. [0236], e.g., The two peer UEs 1503, 1505 may be connected to an eNB 1501 on a specific band), or an unsynchronized state.
Regarding claim 30, Freda discloses a method for sending data performed by wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see Fig. 1 A, e.g., UE), the method comprising:
determining that uplink data is available for transmission to a base station (e.g., eNB 114) (see Freda, Fig. 20, p. [0334]; e.g., In step 2003, the eNB verifies the availability of one or more DSS band channels from the geolocation database and any coexistence management entities to which it may subscribe);
determining a measurement associated with a received power level (see Freda, p. [0212], e.g., The transmit power could be the maximum transmit power with which the UE could transmit based on the information from the geolocation database);
sending a transmission to the base station when the measurement exceeds a threshold, wherein the transmission comprises a preamble and at least a portion of the uplink data (see Freda, Fig. 20, p. [0334-0338], e.g., the UE will then transmit the RACH preamble until a response is received or until the maximum transmit power is reached (2015). If the RACH procedure times out, the eNB assumes that the UE cannot use the UL-only cell and deactivates it for that UE (2017)); and
receiving a message from the base station in response to the transmission, wherein the message indicates the synchronization information (see Freda, Fig. 20, p. [0334-0338], e.g., If, the RACH procedure is successful, the eNB determines (from the first power headroom report) whether to keep the UL-only cell configured for this UE or to deactivate it and try another frequency, and Fig. 18, p. [0269-0270], e.g., The eNB would then send the offset or feedback to the UE through a synchronization sequence response message)..
Regarding claim 31, Freda discloses the method of claim 30, wherein sending the transmission to the base station when the measurement exceeds the threshold comprises sending the transmission to the base station before receiving the synchronization information from the base station when the pathloss exceeds the threshold (see Freda, p. [0148], [0319-0320], Fig. 20, p. [0335], e.g., assuming a channel is available, the eNB configures a UL-only cell, e.g., using RRC signalling (2007), which includes sending the UE the following parameters: frequency of cell, power control related parameters, and Fig. 18, p. [0269-0270]).
Regarding claim 32, Freda discloses the method of claim 31, wherein the method further comprises determining a random access procedure when the pathloss measurement exceeds a threshold (see Freda, Fig. 20, p. [0336-0337], e.g., The UE will then transmit the RACH preamble until a response is received or until the maximum transmit power is reached (2015)).
Regarding claim 33, Freda discloses the method of claim 32, wherein the method further comprises sending the transmission in accordance with the determined random access procedure (see Freda, Fig. 20, p. [0336-0337], e.g., The UE will then transmit the RACH preamble).
Regarding claim 34, Freda discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the synchronization information indicates a timing advance command (TAC) and wherein the method further comprises receiving data in accordance with a timing reference indicated by the TAC (see Freda, p. [0285], e.g., the UE will transmit a synchronization sequence that could be transmitted in addition to the RACH sequence required at the expiring of the timing alignment timer).
Regarding claim 36, Freda discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the method further comprises receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message, and wherein the RRC message indicates configuration information for a random access procedure (see Freda, Fig. 17A, p. [0258], e.g., the UE 170B initiates the Random Access procedure by sending a Random Access Preamble 1705 in the uplink to the eNB 1701 using the Random Access Channel).
Regarding claim 37, Freda discloses the method of claim 36, wherein the configuration indicates a reception window, and wherein the message is received during a duration of time indicated by the reception window (see Freda, p. [0322], e.g., the eNB that is expecting to receive the RACH, the eNB will wait for the RACH from the UE following a PDCCH order for a specific time window. If the RACH is not received by the eNB during that time window, the eNB will assume that the UL operation cannot be established for that particular cell based on the interference on that channel and/or the power limitations imposed on the UE on that particular channel).
Regarding claim 38, Freda discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the WTRU is in at least one of a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state, an RRC active state, an RRC idle state, an RRC connected state (see Fig. 15 A, p. [0236], e.g., The two peer UEs 1503, 1505 may be connected to an eNB 1501 on a specific band), or an unsynchronized state.
Regarding claim 39, Freda discloses a network device, the network device (see Freda, Fig. 1, e.g., eNB 114) comprising: a processor, the processor configured to: receive a transmission from a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see Freda, Fig. 20, p. [0334-0338], e.g., step 2013), wherein the transmission indicates that a measurement exceeds a threshold and comprises a preamble and at least a portion of uplink data, and wherein the measurement is associated with a received power level (see Freda, Fig. 20, p. [0334-0338], e.g., step 2015, The UE will then transmit the RACH preamble until a response is received or until the maximum transmit power is reached);
determine synchronization information associated with the WTRU; and send a message to the WTRU in response to the transmission, wherein the message indicates the synchronization information (see Freda, Fig. 20, p. [0334-0338], e.g., If, the RACH procedure is successful, and Fig. 18, p. [0269-0270], e.g., The eNB would then send the offset or feedback to the UE through a synchronization sequence response message).
Regarding claim 40, Freda discloses the network device of claim 39, wherein the synchronization information indicates a timing advance command (TAC) and wherein the processor is further configured to send data in accordance with a timing reference indicated by the TAC (see Freda, p. [0285], e.g., the UE will transmit a synchronization sequence that could be transmitted in addition to the RACH sequence required at the expiring of the timing alignment timer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda in view of Kwon et al (US 2012/0276897) (hereinafter Kwon).
Regarding claim 26, Freda discloses at paragraph [0266] that the RACH procedure in LTE is used specifically to address timing alignment. In particular, a RACH is triggered when the timing alignment timer has expired, in which case an RRC connection needs to be re-established. However, Freda does not expressly disclose the WTRU of claim 21, wherein the uplink data comprises a radio resource control (RRC) re- establishment request.
Kwon discloses the above recited limitations (see Kwon, Fig. 6, p. [0104-0110], e.g., an RRC connection re-establishment procedure).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kwon’s teachings into Freda. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide an RRC connection re-establishment procedure to improve network quality and UE mobility as suggested by Kwon).
Regarding claim 35, the combined teaching of Freda and Kwon disclose the method of claim 30, wherein the uplink data comprises a radio resource control (RRC) re- establishment request (see Kwon, Fig. 6, p. [0104-0110], e.g., an RRC connection re-establishment procedure).
Conclusion
/MINH TRANG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477