DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Goos (US 5,956,627).
Referring to Claim 1, Goos teaches a directional coupler 20 (fig. 2) comprising:
an input terminal (see RFIN to line 28 in fig. 2);
an output terminal (see RFOUT from line 28 in fig. 2);
a first detection terminal 22 (fig. 2);
a main line coupled to the input terminal and to the output terminal (see line 28 in fig. 2);
a first sub-line 30 (fig. 2); and
a first capacitive circuit element 50 (fig. 2), wherein the first sub-line and the main line are arranged in a manner that enables magnetic field coupling and electric field coupling therebetween (see col. 4, lines 39-54 which shows magnetic coupling between lines 28 and 30 in fig. 2), wherein the first sub-line is coupled to a first end of the first capacitive circuit element and to the first detection terminal (see sub-line 30 connect ed to detecting terminal 22 and to capacitor 50 in fig. 2), and wherein a second end of the first capacitive circuit element is coupled to ground (see capacitor 50 coupled to ground in fig. 2).
Referring to Claim 12, Goos teaches a directional coupler 20 (fig. 2) comprising:
an input terminal (see RFIN to line 28 in fig. 2);
an output terminal (see RFOUT from line 28 in fig. 2);
a first detection terminal 22 (fig. 2);
a main line coupled to the input terminal and to the output terminal (see line 28 in fig. 2);
a first sub-line 30 (fig. 2); and
a first capacitive circuit element 50 (fig. 2), wherein the first sub-line and the main line are at least partially adjacent to each other (see adjacent lines 28 and 30 in fig. 2), wherein the first sub-line is coupled to a first end of the first capacitive circuit element and to the first detection terminal (see sub-line 30 connect ed to detecting terminal 22 and to capacitor 50 in fig. 2), and wherein a second end of the first capacitive circuit element is coupled to ground (see capacitor 50 coupled to ground in fig. 2).
Referring to Claim 13, Goos teaches a directional coupler 20 (fig. 2) comprising:
an input terminal (see RFIN to line 28 in fig. 2);
an output terminal (see RFOUT from line 28 in fig. 2);
a first detection terminal 22 (fig. 2);
a main line coupled to the input terminal and to the output terminal (see line 28 in fig. 2);
a first sub-line 30 (fig. 2); and
a first capacitive circuit element 50 (fig. 2), wherein there is no interconnection between the first sub-line and the main line (see no connection between lines 28 and 30 in fig. 2), wherein the first sub-line is coupled to a first end of the first capacitive circuit element and to the first detection terminal (see sub-line 30 connect ed to detecting terminal 22 and to capacitor 50 in fig. 2), and wherein a second end of the first capacitive circuit element is coupled to ground (see capacitor 50 coupled to ground in fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11 and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 2, Hayata (US 2007/0069820) teaches a second sub-line (see MS1, MS4 and MS5 in fig. 1), wherein the second sub-line and the main line are arranged in a manner that enables magnetic field coupling and electric field coupling therebetween (see coupling between MS4 and MS5 and MS1 in fig. 1). Goos and Hayata do not teach, alone nor in combination, the combination of:
a second capacitive circuit element in series in a first path connecting the main line and ground; a third capacitive circuit element in series in the first path, between the second capacitive circuit element and the main line; a second detection terminal; and a third detection terminal, wherein the second sub-line is coupled to a first end of the first capacitive circuit element and to the second detection terminal, and wherein the third detection terminal is coupled to a connection point of the second capacitive circuit element and the third capacitive circuit element in the first path.
Claims 3-11, and 20 depend on claim 2.
Regarding Claims 14 and 15, Hayata (US 2007/0069820) teaches a second sub-line (see MS1, MS4 and MS5 in fig. 1), wherein the second sub-line and the main line are at least partially adjacent to each other (see adjacent lines MS4 and MS5 and MS1 in fig. 1). Goos and Hayata do not teach, alone nor in combination, the combination of:
a second capacitive circuit element in series in a first path connecting the main line and ground; a third capacitive circuit element in series in the first path, between the second capacitive circuit element and the main line; a second detection terminal; and a third detection terminal, wherein the second sub-line is coupled to a first end of the first capacitive circuit element and to the second detection terminal, and wherein the third detection terminal is coupled to a connection point of the second capacitive circuit element and the third capacitive circuit element in the first path.
Claims 16 and 18 depend on claim 14.
Claims 17 and 19 depend on claim 15.
Conclusion
/EUGENE YUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648