DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed recently have been fully considered and the following points were brought to the examiner’s attention:
None of the cited prior fart provided the disclosure in regard to : the fabric slidably contacts the grille along a perimeter of each of the holes.
Motives or reasons for having such arrangement as in above are related to sound distortion.
Although, Garfio et al. did explicitly disclose that that the speaker comprising a grill defining a plurality of holes and cavities and a fabric covering the grilled and the fabric slidably contacts throughout the grille which encompassed the overall holes (fig.6 (12 & 14); col.2 line 35-67; col.10 line 15-45/the grilled served as a frame to allow securing of the fabric after sliding said fabric into the grille).
Nonetheless, Garfio never limit such contact of the fabric to the grille along a perimeter of each holes, but again , One of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the fabric being in contact with grille as mentioned according to any varying configuration and including if desired as to implement such fabric being configured to along a perimeter of each of the holes for achieving the same expected result as to secure the fabric to the grill accordingly while providing the visual effect and covering the speaker.
Thus, although, the prior art don’t anticipate the overall claim language, ones need to consider whether the combination of references render the claim obvious, especially when combined would have been predictable or expected.
The motives may differ what really matter is whether one may discern the novelty or the non-obviousness aspect of the invention, in that case, securing a fabric to the grilled which enable such fabric to cover and provide visual and aesthetic effect is commonly known, the way of securing either via molding or a particular type of attachment on the perimeter of hole of grill would have been obvious as per engineering for achieving the same effect.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garfio et al. (US 9,641,921 B2) and Stewart (US 7,866,438 B2).
An audio system, comprising: a speaker assembly (fig.4B; fig.6), comprising: a grille defining a plurality of holes, wherein: the grille at least partly defines a cavity and the grill of a certain shape (fig.4B & fig.6 (12); col.10 line 25-30).
But, but Garfio et al. never specify of the grill wherein a center point of the grille is convex from a perimeter of the grille. But it shall be noted Stewart disclose of a certain speaker assembly wherein the general grilled being a convex structure (St- col.16 line 65-col.17 line 5). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the general speaker system by adding such convex structure being included as part of the grill so as to conform to the desired shape of the driver.
Thus, although, Steward never specify of the convex grilled as a center point of the grille is convex from a perimeter of the grille, but again , one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the shaping configuration of the grill to any desired specification including having such particular convex grilled as a center point of the grille is convex from a perimeter of the grille as per engineering preference for achieving the same expected result as to conform to the desired shape of the driver.
Garfio et al. further disclose of the system comprising: a fabric, covering the grille , wherein: the holes of the grille expose the fabric to the cavity (G-fig.4A & 6 (14); col.10 line 25-45), and the fabric slidably contacts the grille accordingly (fig.6 (12 & 14); col.2 line 25-67; col.10 line 15-45).
But, Garfio never specify of the system comprising: the fabric being configured to along a perimeter of each of the holes. One of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the fabric being in contact with grille as mentioned according to any varying configuration and including if desired as to implement such fabric being configured to along a perimeter of each of the holes for achieving the same expected result as to secure the fabric to the grill accordingly while providing the visual and covering said system.
The audio system of claim 1, wherein the fabric being permeable (col.10 line 25-30), although, none of the prior art mentioned of an air permeability of the fabric is less than 100 cm3/s/cm2.
But one of the ordinary skills in the art could have configured the fabric which is permeable to being of any particular specification regarding the air permeability and If desired having such an air permeability of the fabric is less than 100 cm3/s/cm2 so as to determine the amount of audio which may be pass through the surface.
5. The audio system of claim 1, wherein a cross-section of the grille is curved (St- col.16 line 65-col.17 line 5).
6. The audio system of claim 1, wherein the center point of the grille is according to the perimeter of the grille as mentioned beforehand, However, none of the mentioned prior art further mentioned of such center point as being greater than 0.5 mm convex from the perimeter of the grille.
but again , one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the shaping configuration of the grill to any desired specification including having such center point as being greater than 0.5 mm convex from the perimeter of the grille as per engineering preference for achieving the same expected result as to obtained the desired shape of the grille in conformity to the driver.
7. The audio system of claim 1, wherein the audio system is integrated into a speaker device (Gaf-fig.1; col.5 line 50-67).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garfio et al. (US 9,641,921 B2) and Stewart (US 7,866,438 B2) and Feng et al. (US 9,520,737 B2).
8. The audio system of claim 7, but none of the mentioned prior art specify as wherein the speaker device is a dock of a home assistant device.
However, Feng et al. disclose of a speaker device being of a dock of a home assistant device (fig.1 (100); col.4 line 20-45). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such a speaker device being of a dock of a home assistant device so as to provide mean to hold external device in upright configuration while charging.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garfio et al. (US 9,641,921 B2) and Stewart (US 7,866,438 B2) and Vuine (US 2024/0284114 A1).
The audio system of claim 1, wherein the fabric contacts the grille along a perimeter of each of the holes as mentioned, However, none of the prior art further elaborate to the concept related to while the speaker assembly generates a 75 dB sound output at 1 meter distance from the speaker assembly.
However, Vuine disclose of the general concept related to a speaker assembly generates a particular dB sound output at certain meter distance from the speaker assembly (col.3 line 35-45). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such aspect related to a speaker assembly generates a particular dB sound output at certain meter distance from the speaker assembly so as to provide the audio signal at a particular level for audible warning to a listener.
Thus, although, Vuine never specify of the generates a 75 dB sound output at 1 meter distance from the speaker assembly, but one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the sound output according to one’s desired configuration and including generates a 75 dB sound output at 1 meter distance from the speaker assembly for achieving the same expected result as to provide the audio signal at a particular level for audible warning to a listener.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garfio et al. (US 9,641,921 B2) and Stewart (US 7,866,438 B2) and Carps (US 2009/0100654 A1).
The audio system of claim 1, although, none of the prior art specify as wherein a tension of the fabric is less than about 30 N.
However, Carps disclose of the similar concept related to a tension of the fabric (par [20]). Thus ,one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such aspect related to a tension of the fabric so as to allow stretchability and elasticity of the fabric.
Although, the art never mentioned of the fabric is less than about 30 N, but one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the tension associated with the fabric to any desired range if desire by adding such fabric is less than about 30 N for yielding same result as to allow stretchability and elasticity of the fabric.
Claim(s) 9-11, 13-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US 9,520,737) and Vuine (US 2024/0284114 A1) and Stewart (US 7,866,438 B2) and Garfio et al. (US 9,641,921 B2).
Claim 9, Feng et al. disclose of a computer system comprising: a tablet computer (fig.1 (920); col.4 line 20-26); a dock (fig.1/6 (100/600); col.6 line 20-22), comprising: a processing module, for receiving audio data information, wherein the processing module generates an audio signal based at least partly on the received audio data information (fig.2 (210); col.5 line 5-25) ; a speaker driver, communicatively coupled to the processing module to receive the audio signal and to generate a driving signal in response to the audio signal (fig.2 (250); col.6 line 25-30); and a speaker assembly (col.4 line 10-15) comprising: a grille defining a plurality of holes (fig.1 (120)).
However, Feng et al. never specify of the speaker assembly comprising: a diaphragm for generating sound waves in response to the audio signal. However, Vuine disclose of a speaker assembly comprising: a diaphragm for generating sound waves in response to the audio signal (par [132-133]). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such noted diaphragm for generating sound waves in response to the audio signal so as to generate the audio signal accordingly.
Vuine et al. further disclose of wherein the grille and the diaphragm collectively at least partly define a cavity therebetween (V-fig.1 (130/170); par [157-158]).
Although, none of the mentioned prior art disclose as wherein a center point of the grille is convex from a perimeter of the grille.
But it shall be noted Stewart disclose of a certain speaker assembly wherein the general grilled being a convex structure (St- col.16 line 65-col.17 line 5). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the general speaker system by adding such convex structure being included as part of the grill so as to conform to the desired shape of the driver.
Thus, although, Steward never specify of the convex grilled as a center point of the grille is convex from a perimeter of the grille, but again , one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the shaping configuration of the grill to any desired specification including having such particular convex grilled as a center point of the grille is convex from a perimeter of the grille as per engineering preference for achieving the same expected result as to conform to the desired shape of the driver.
In addition, none of the art disclose of a fabric associated with grille such that the fabric, covering the grille, wherein the holes of the grille expose the fabric to the cavity.
Garfio et al. further disclose of the system comprising: a fabric, covering the grille , wherein: the holes of the grille expose the fabric to the cavity (G-fig.4A & 6 (14); col.10 line 25-45), thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such noted aspect related to system comprising: a fabric, covering the grille , wherein: the holes of the grille expose the fabric to the cavity so as to provide protection and aesthetic pleasing outer look to the speaker device.
Thus, the art would have further disclose of wherein the fabric slidably contacts the grille (fig.6 (12 & 14); col.2 line 25-67; col.10 line 15-45).
But, Garfio never specify of the system comprising: the fabric being configured to along a perimeter of each of the holes. One of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the fabric being in contact with grille as mentioned according to any varying configuration and including if desired as to implement such fabric being configured to along a perimeter of each of the holes for achieving the same expected result as to secure the fabric to the grill accordingly while providing the visual effect and covering the system.
Feng would have further disclose as wherein the tablet computer is removably dockable from the dock (Feng-fig.1/6 (100/600); col.4 line 20-25).
10. The system of claim 9, wherein the fabric contacts the grille along a perimeter of each of the holes while the speaker generates a sound output at a distance from the speaker (Vuine-col.3 line 35-45). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such aspect related to a speaker assembly generates a particular dB sound output at certain meter distance from the speaker assembly so as to provide the audio signal at a particular level for audible warning to a listener.
Thus, although, Vuine never specify of the generates a 75 dB sound output at 1 meter distance from the speaker assembly, but one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the sound output according to one’s desired configuration and including generates a 75 dB sound output at 1 meter distance from the speaker assembly for achieving the same expected result as to provide the audio signal at a particular level for audible warning to a listener.
.
11. The system of claim 9, wherein an air permeability of the fabric is mentioned (G-col.10 line 25-30), although, none of the prior art mentioned of an air permeability of the fabric is less than 100 cm3/s/cm2.
But one of the ordinary skills in the art could have configured the fabric which is permeable to being of any particular specification regarding the air permeability and If desired having such an air permeability of the fabric is less than 100 cm3/s/cm2 so as to determine the amount of audio which may be pass through the surface.
13. The system of claim 9, wherein a cross-section of the grille is curved (St- col.16 line 65-col.17 line 5).
14. The system of claim 9, wherein the center point of the grille is according to the perimeter of the grille as mentioned beforehand, However, none of the mentioned prior art further mentioned of such center point as being greater than 0.5 mm convex from the perimeter of the grille.
but again , one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the shaping configuration of the grill to any desired specification including having such center point as being greater than 0.5 mm convex from the perimeter of the grille as per engineering preference for achieving the same expected result as to obtained the desired shape of the grille in conformity to the driver.
Claim 15, Feng disclose of a method of operating an electronic speaker device comprising: receiving input from a user at a tablet computer docked to a dock (fig.1/6 (100/600); col.6 line 20-22), wherein the dock comprises an audio system comprising: a processing module, for receiving audio input from the user, wherein the processing module generates an audio signal based at least partly on the received audio input from the user information (fig.2 (210); col.5 line 5-25); a speaker driver, communicatively coupled to the processing module to receive the audio signal and to generate a driving signal in response to the audio signal (fig.2 (250); col.6 line 25-30);; and a speaker assembly, comprising: a grille defining a plurality of holes (fig.1 (120); col.4 line 10-15).
However, Feng et al. never specify of the speaker assembly comprising: a diaphragm for generating sound waves in response to the audio signal. However, Vuine disclose of a speaker assembly comprising: a diaphragm for generating sound waves in response to the audio signal (par [132-133]). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such noted diaphragm for generating sound waves in response to the audio signal so as to generate the audio signal accordingly.
Vuine further disclose as wherein the grille and the diaphragm collectively at least partly define a cavity therebetween(V-fig.1 (130/170); par [157-158]).
In addition, none of the art disclose of a fabric associated with grille such that the fabric, covering the grille, wherein the holes of the grille expose the fabric to the cavity.
Garfio et al. further disclose of the system comprising: a fabric, covering the grille , wherein: the holes of the grille expose the fabric to the cavity (G-fig.4A & 6 (14); col.10 line 25-45), thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such noted aspect related to system comprising: a fabric, covering the grille , wherein: the holes of the grille expose the fabric to the cavity so as to provide protection and aesthetic pleasing outer look to the speaker device.
Thus, the art would have further disclose of wherein the fabric slidably contacts the grille (fig.6 (12 & 14); col.2 line 25-67; col.10 line 15-45).
But, Garfio never specify of the system comprising: the fabric being configured to along a perimeter of each of the holes. One of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the fabric being in contact with grille as mentioned according to any varying configuration and including if desired as to implement such fabric being configured to along a perimeter of each of the holes for achieving the same expected result as to secure the fabric to the grill accordingly while providing the visual effect and covering the system.
Thus, although, none of the prior art mentioned limit the aspect regarding the center point of the grille is greater than 0.5mm convex from a perimeter of the grille.
But it shall be noted Stewart disclose of a certain speaker assembly wherein the general grilled being a convex structure (St- col.16 line 65-col.17 line 5). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the general speaker system by adding such convex structure being included as part of the grill so as to conform to the desired shape of the driver.
Thus, although, Steward never specify of the a center point of the grille is greater than 0.5mm convex from a perimeter of the grille, but again , one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the shaping configuration of the grill to any desired specification including having such particular the a center point of the grille is greater than 0.5mm convex from a perimeter of the grille as per engineering preference for achieving the same expected result as to conform to the desired shape of the driver.
Feng further disclose of generating audio output in response to the input from the user; and generating sound waves from the dock for outputting the audio output, the sounds waves based at least in part on the audio signal and the driving signal (F-fig.2 (250); col.4 line 10-15 & col.5 line 5-30 & col.6 line 25-30), wherein the fabric and the grille of the dock remain in contact as the sound waves are generated (G-fig.6 (12 & 14); col.10 line 15-45).
The method of claim(s) 16-17, 19 which in substance disclose of the same feature as noted in claim(s) 10-11, 13 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
20. The method of claim 15, wherein the tablet computer is removably dockable to the dock (Feng-fig.1 (920);1/6 (100/600); col.4 line 20-26).
Claim(s) 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US 9,520,737) and Vuine (US 2024/0284114 A1) and Stewart (US 7,866,438 B2) and Garfio et al. (US 9,641,921 B2) and Carps (US 2009/0100654 A1).
The system of claim 9, although, none of the prior art specify as wherein a tension of the fabric is less than about 30 N.
However, Carps disclose of the similar concept related to a tension of the fabric (par [20]). Thus ,one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such aspect related to a tension of the fabric so as to allow stretchability and elasticity of the fabric.
Although, the art never mentioned of the fabric is less than about 30 N, but one of the ordinary skills in the art could have varied the tension associated with the fabric to any desired range if desire by adding such fabric is less than about 30 N for yielding same result as to allow stretchability and elasticity of the fabric.
The claim(s) 18 which in substance disclose of the same feature as in claim(s) 12 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/DISLER PAUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695