DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1, Figures 1-3; and claims 1-5, 10 in the reply filed on 09/05/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "radially extending leg" of claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Note: If Applicant meant for this leg to be the same as the radially extending leg of claim 1 then this objection will be withdrawn.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “a radially extending leg”. It is not clear whether the intention of this claim is to set forth a completely separate/distinct radially extending leg than the one already recited in claim 1. The drawings, especially for the embodiment selected, do not show another radially extending leg. Therefore, it is confusing why the claim is written in a manner which seemingly introduces another leg. If the intention is to just further define the already recited leg of claim 1, then appropriate correction is required. For purpose of examination the claim is being treated as intended to further define the leg of claim 1 (note correction is still required if this is the case).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by S.A. McGavern et al. (USP 3440899), hereinafter referred to as McGavern.
Regarding claim 1, McGavern discloses a dual shear disk crankshaft damper, comprising:
a disk (fig.2, 13) defining a central opening (seen in fig.1) and having an outer portion that extends radially inwardly from a periphery of the disk (seen in fig.2);
an elastomeric ring (fig.2, 24) defining a slot (space between that receives the disk, seen in fig.2) that receives the outer portion of the disk;
an inertia ring (fig.2, 14 reads on this) disposed on a first radially extending side of the elastomeric ring (seen in fig.2), the inertia ring having an annular recess (the chamfered or recessed portion that receives the bent portion of cup 26 in an analogous fashion to Applicant’s figures reads on this) defined at a circumferentially extending radially outer periphery of the inertia ring (seen in fig.2); and
a cup (fig.2, 26) including an annular radially extending leg (fig.2, vertical leg portion) and an annular axially extending leg (fig.2, axial or horizontally extending leg portion), wherein the annular radially extending leg is disposed on a second radially extending side of the elastomeric ring that faces away from the first radially extending side of the elastomeric ring (seen in fig.2), and wherein the cup includes a rim (bent portion of the cup that is fit to the recess reads on this, seen in fig.2) that is received in the annular recess.
Regarding claim 2, McGavern discloses the dual shear crankshaft disk damper of claim 1 wherein the cup compresses elastomeric ring (evident from fig.2, the cup would compress the ring; also mentioned in col.2, lines 48-50).
Regarding claim 3, McGavern discloses the dual shear crankshaft disk damper of claim 1 further comprising: a plurality of radially extending grooves (fig.1 and fig.2; the grooves between fins 19) provided on an outer side of the inertia ring facing away from the first radially extending side of the elastomeric ring.
Regarding claim 4, McGavern discloses the dual shear crankshaft disk damper of claim 1 wherein the inertia ring extends radially inwardly relative to an inner diameter of the elastomeric ring (seen in fig.2, the leg extends radially inwardly relative to the inner diameter of the ring even if it is a small amount and in addition 15 could be considered part of the inertia ring, this is analogous to Applicant’s arrangement).
Regarding claim 5, McGavern discloses the dual shear crankshaft disk damper of claim 1 wherein the cup has a radially extending leg (the leg extends radially inward as seen in fig.2) extending radially inwardly from an inner diameter of the elastomeric ring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGavern et al. (USP 3440899), hereinafter referred to as McGavern, in view of IE 50591 B1.
Regarding claim 10, McGavern fails to explicitly disclose the dual shear crankshaft disk damper of claim 1, wherein the elastomeric ring defines a plurality of V-shaped notches at an inner diameter of the elastomeric ring with the widest end of the V-shaped notches being provided at the inner diameter of the elastomeric ring.
IE 50591 B1 teaches and/or suggests the concept of utilizing a plurality V-shaped notches on an elastomeric ring utilized on vibration dampers, wherein an inner diameter of the elastomeric ring with the widest end of the V-shaped notches being provided at the inner diameter of the elastomeric ring (partially seen in fig.2) for the purpose of allowing the elastomeric ring to be assembled with less tendency of jamming (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the elastomeric ring in McGavern, in accordance with the teachings of IE 50591 B1, to have said V-shaped notches for the purpose of allowing the elastomeric ring to be assembled with less tendency of jamming (abstract in IE ‘591).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Contains similar prior art to the invention and/or other potential teaching references for various disclosed aspects of the invention.
/THOMAS C DIAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617