DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is a non-final office action for application 18/657,408 filed on 05/07/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2023-0133092 filed on 10/06/2023.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-9 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6 introduced "first busbars" and "second busbars", however, when these structures are referenced in dependent claims 7-9 they are referred to as "the first busbar" and "the second busbar". This singular/plural terminology should be fixed to remain consistent throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 10 and 18 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting
as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 18/769,838.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each
other because:
Regarding Claim 1, claim 4 of copending application ’838, through its dependency on claims 3 and 1, recites the following claim limitations: a battery module comprising a battery cell; a side plate facing a side surface of the battery cell and comprising a protruding portion having a first opening; a cell terminal protruding from the battery cell toward the side plate; a busbar holder coupled to the side plate and arranged between the side plate and the battery cell, the busbar holder comprising a second opening communicating with the first opening; and a busbar supported by the busbar holder, covering the second opening, and connected to the cell terminal.
This corresponds directly to the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application. Although claim 1 of the copending application additionally requires the side plate to have a protruding portion, claim 1 of the instant application does not exclude this structure. The battery module recited in claim 4 of the copending application therefore satisfies each limitation of claim 1 of the instant application. Accordingly, claim 1 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 4 of copending application ’838.
Regarding Claim 2, claim 2 of copending application ’838 recites that the side plates, cell terminals and busbar holders are provided as respective pairs symmetrically arranged at opposite sides of the battery cell. This corresponds directly to the additional limitations of claim 2 of the instant application.
Although claim 2 of the copending application does not depend on claim 4, both claims further define the battery module of claim 1 of the copending application. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the communicating openings and covering busbar recited in claim 4 in the paired arrangement recited in claim 2, thereby providing the same terminal connection structure on opposite sides of the battery cell. This combination would retain the respective functions of the openings, busbars and paired components. Accordingly, claim 2 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claims 2 and 4 of copending application ’838.
Regarding Claim 10, claim 5 of copending application ’838 recites a flexible substrate included in the busbar holder and electrically connected to the busbar. This corresponds to the additional limitation of claim 10 of the instant application, which requires a flexible substrate on the busbar holder and electrically connected to the busbar.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the flexible substrate recited in claim 5 in the battery module recited in claim 4 of the copending application to provide an electrical connection to the busbar through the flexible substrate. Both claims concern the same busbar and busbar holder arrangement, and incorporating the flexible substrate would retain its electrical connection function while retaining the communicating openings and covering busbar. Accordingly, claim 10 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claims 4 and 5 of copending application ’838.
Regarding Claim 18, claim 6 of copending application ’838 recites an end plate facing each of the front and rear surfaces of the battery cell. This corresponds directly to the additional limitation of claim 18 of the instant application, which requires end plates facing a front and a rear of the battery cell.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the end plates recited in claim 6 in the battery module recited in claim 4 of the copending application to provide plate coverage at the front and rear of the battery cell in addition to the side plate. The end plates occupy different faces of the battery cell and would retain their covering function without changing the communicating openings and busbar arrangement. Accordingly, claim 18 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claims 4 and 6 of copending application ’838.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 13, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo et al. (US-20230291026-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoo discloses a battery module (see e.g. "sub-modules (e.g., 200 in FIG. 3 )" in paragraph [0068] and part number 200 in FIGs. 4 and 5) comprising:
a battery cell (see e.g. "battery cell 2100 a" in paragraph [0148] and part number 2100a in FIG. 6);
a side plate facing a side of the battery cell (see e.g. "a side cover 5400" in paragraph [0201] and part number 5400 in FIG. 18) and comprising a first opening portion (see e.g. "second venting hole 5410 " in paragraph [0205] and part number 5410 in FIG. 19);
a cell terminal protruding from the battery cell toward the side plate (see e.g. "a plurality of lead tabs 2130" in paragraph [0114] and part number 2130 in FIGs. 7 and 17);
a busbar holder (see e.g. " the cover frame 5100 and the busbar frame 4200 may be hooked to each other" in paragraph [0211] and part numbers 5100 and 4100 in FIG. 18; the busbar holder is the coupled busbar frame 4200 and cover frame 5100) coupled to the side plate (see e.g. "a side cover 5400 coupled to the external side of the cover frame 5100" in paragraph [0201] and FIG. 19), located between the side plate and the battery cell (see e.g. part numbers 4200 and 5100 between the battery cells 2000 and side plate 5400 in FIG. 18), and comprising a second opening portion (see e.g. "first venting hole 5110" in paragraph [0205] and part number 5110 in FIGs. 18 and 19) in communication with the first opening portion (see e.g. "Gas generated in the cell stack 1000 may be discharged to the outside of the sub-module 200 through the first venting hole 5110 of the cover frame 5100 and the second venting hole 5410 of the side cover 5400" in paragraph [0205] and part numbers 5110 and 5410 in FIG. 19); and
a busbar supported by the busbar holder (see e.g. "busbar 4100" in paragraph [0205] and part number 4100 in FIGs. 18 and 19), covering the second opening portion (see e.g. part number 4100 in FIG. 19; the busbar 4100 covers the second opening portion part number 5110), and connected to the cell terminal (see e.g. " lead tab 2130 of the battery cell assembly 2000 may be electrically connected to the busbar 4100" in paragraph [0184]).
Regarding Claim 2, Yoo discloses the battery module of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Yoo further discloses that the side plate, the cell terminal, and the busbar holder are provided as a pair of side plates, a pair of cell terminals, and a pair of busbar holders, respectively, which are symmetrically arranged on both sides of the battery cell (see e.g. FIGs. 4, 5, and 6; these figures show side plates, cell terminals and busbar holders on both sides of the battery cell).
Regarding Claim 3, Yoo discloses the battery module of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Yoo further discloses that the busbar and the cell terminal are melt-joined by welding (see e.g. 'at least a portion of the lead tab 2130 of the battery cell assembly 2000 may be disposed to oppose the busbar 4100, may be bonded to each other by a process such as laser welding, and may be electrically connected to the busbar 4100" in paragraph [0184]; laser welding melts material at the joint to form the welded connection). Regarding Claim 4, Yoo discloses the battery module of claim 3 (see e.g. claim 3 rejection above).
Yoo discloses that the busbar and the cell terminal are laser-welded (see e.g. 'at least a portion of the lead tab 2130 of the battery cell assembly 2000 may be disposed to oppose the busbar 4100, may be bonded to each other by a process such as laser welding, and may be electrically connected to the busbar 4100" in paragraph [0184]).
Yoo, however, does not explicitly disclose that the busbar and the cell terminal are laser-welded through the first opening portion and the second opening portion. Claim 4, however, is directed to the resulting battery module and under MPEP 2113 patentability is determined from the product, including any structure imparted by the recited process. In this case the claimed product is defined by the process used to produce it; however, under the principles of product-by-process claims, patentability is determined based on the product itself, not the method of production. Accordingly, the resulting battery module reasonably appears structurally the same as the claimed module. Directing the laser through the openings describes the manufacturing access path and does not establish an additional structural distinction. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 5, Yoo discloses the battery module of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Yoo further discloses that the busbar holder comprises:
a busbar support portion supporting the busbar (se e.g.. " busbar frame 4200" in paragraph [0187] ); and
a busbar seating portion protruding from the busbar support portion and on which the busbar is seated (see e.g. " plurality of busbars 4100 may be disposed side by side with a predetermined distance in the stacking direction of the battery cell assembly 2000 on a seating portion 4210 formed on the busbar frame 4200" in paragraph [0181] and part number 4210 in FIG. 15).
Regarding Claim 6, Yoo discloses the battery module of claim 5 (see e.g. claim 5 rejection above).
Yoo further discloses that the busbar comprises:
first busbars arranged on one side or both sides of the busbar holder in a longitudinal direction (see e.g. the outermost busbars 4100 having connection terminals 4120 in FIG. 15 and paragraph [0185]); and
second busbars arranged to be spaced apart from each other in the longitudinal direction (see e.g. intermediate busbars 4100 between the outermost busbars arranged in a predetermined distance along the z-axis in FIG. 15 and paragraph [0181]).
Regarding Claim 7, Yoo discloses the battery module of claim 6 (see e.g. claim 6 rejection above).
Yoo further discloses that the busbar support portion comprises a holder ring portion around the first busbar (see e.g. the surrounding rails, end wall and separation wall 4220 around the outermost busbar in FIG. 15).
Regarding Claim 13, Yoo discloses the battery module of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Yoo further discloses that the battery module comprises a first insulating member on the side plate (see e.g. " heat insulating member 5200 may be disposed between the cover frame 5100 and the busbar assembly 4000" in paragraph [0206] and part number 5200 in FIG. 18) and covering the first opening portion (see e.g. part number 5200 in FIG. 19; part number 5200 covers the first opening part number 5410).
Regarding Claim 18, Yoo discloses the battery module of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Yoo further discloses that the battery module comprises end plates facing a front and a rear of the battery cell (see e.g. 'end plates 300" in paragraph [0084] and part number 300 in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 20, Yoo discloses the battery module of claim 18 (see e.g. claim 18 rejection above).
Yoo further discloses that the battery module further comprises a second insulating member between the battery cell and an end plate of the end plates (see e.g. "first heat insulating member 320 may be disposed between the end plate 300 and the sub-module 200" in paragraph [0091] and part number 320 in FIG. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (US-20230291026-A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Yoo discloses the battery module of claim 6 (see e.g. claim 6 rejection above).
Yoo does not explicitly disclose that the busbar support portion comprises a locking member to fixedly lock the second busbar.
Yoo, however, does disclose cylindrical pins on the seating portion of the busbar support portion aligned with the corresponding holes in the busbars (see e.g. part numbers 4210 and 4100 in FIG. 15), and also discloses fixing the busbars to busbar support portion by thermal fusion (see e.g. paragraph [0183]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, that the pins are used to hold the second busbars in fixed positions during the thermal fusion process disclosed in paragraph [0183], thereby maintaining alignment while securing the busbars to the busbar support portion. Regarding Claim 9, Yoo discloses the battery module of claim 8 (see e.g. claim 8 rejection above).
Yoo further discloses that the second busbar comprises:
a busbar body portion fixed to the busbar support portion by the locking member and in contact with the cell terminal (see e.g. "the busbar 4100 may include one or more guide grooves 4110" and "A welding line for welding the connection portions 2131 a and 2132 a of the two lead tabs 2131 and 2132 and the busbar 4100 may be formed along the guide groove 4110."in paragraph [0193] and part number 4110 in FIG. 15 and annotated figure below); and
a busbar extension portion extending from the busbar body portion and accommodated in the busbar seating portion (see e.g. part 4100 in FIG. 18 and annotated figure below).
Yoo, figure 15, annotated for illustration
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (US-20230291026-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pak et al. (US-20230082883-A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Yoo discloses the battery module of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Yoo does not disclose that the battery module further comprises a flexible substrate on the busbar holder and electrically connected to the busbar.
Pak, however, in the same field of endeavor, battery modules, discloses a battery module that comprises a flexible substrate (see e.g. "circuit member 131 may be formed of a printed circuit board (PCB), but may include a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB)" and part number 131 in FIG. 2 of Pak) on a busbar holder (see e.g. "insulating support plate 121 on which the busbar 125 is supported and installed" in paragraph [0045] and part number 121 in FIG. 2 of Pak) that electrically connected to a busbar (see e.g. 'voltage sensing terminal 132 is attached to the busbar 125 through welding or the like" in paragraph [0054] and paragraphs [0051]-[0054] of Pak; the flexible substrate is electrically connected to the busbar via voltage sensing terminal 132).
Pak also teaches that by including the flexible substrate on the busbar holder specie utilization of the battery module may increase and energy may be improved in comparison to other battery modules in the art (see e.g. paragraph [0056] of Pak). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Yoo et al. such that it further comprises a flexible substrate on the busbar holder and electrically connected to the busbar as taught by Pak et al. in order to better utilize space in the battery module as suggested by Pak.
Regarding Claim 11, Yoo in view of Pak disclose the battery module of claim 10 (see e.g. claim 10 rejection above).
Yoo does not disclose that the flexible substrate comprises: a substrate main body coupled to the busbar holder; and a sensor unit extending from the substrate main body and in contact with the busbar.
Pak, however, discloses that the flexible substrate comprises:
a substrate main body coupled to the busbar holder (see e.g. "circuit member 131" in paragraph [0051] and part number 131 in FIG. 3 of Pak); and
a sensor unit extending from the substrate main body and in contact with the busbar (see e.g. "voltage sensing terminal 132 is attached to the busbar 125" in paragraph [0054] and part number 132 in FIG. 3 of Pak).
Pak also teaches that by including the flexible substrate on the busbar holder specie utilization of the battery module may increase and energy may be improved in comparison to other battery modules in the art (see e.g. paragraph [0056] of Pak). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Yoo et al. such that the flexible substrate comprises: a substrate main body coupled to the busbar holder; and a sensor unit extending from the substrate main body and in contact with the busbar as taught by Pak et al. in order to better utilize space in the battery module as suggested by Pak.
Regarding Claim 12, Yoo in view of Pak discloses the battery module of claim 11 (see e.g. claim 11 rejection above).
Yoo does not disclose that the sensor unit is joined to the busbar by welding.
Pak, however, discloses that the sensor unit is joined to the busbar by welding (see e.g. "The voltage sensing terminal 132 is attached to the busbar 125 through welding or the like" in paragraph [0054] of Pak).
Pak also teaches that by including the flexible substrate on the busbar holder specie utilization of the battery module may increase and energy may be improved in comparison to other battery modules in the art (see e.g. paragraph [0056] of Pak). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Yoo et al. such that the sensor unit is joined to the busbar by welding as taught by Pak et al. in order to better utilize space in the battery module as suggested by Pak.
Claim 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (US-20230291026-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US-20170187084-A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Yoo discloses the battery module of claim 1 (see e.g. claim 1 rejection above).
Yoo further discloses that the busbar holder comprises a protrusion protruding along an edge of the second opening portion (see e.g. "second hook 4240" in paragraph [0189] and part number 4240 in FIG. 18; second hooks 4240 when connected to 5100 to form the busbar holder would be along the upper and lower edge of the second opening).
Yoo does not disclose that the protrusion is inserted into the first opening.
Park, however, in the same field of endeavor battery modules, discloses a battery module in which a protrusion (see e.g. " fitting member 136 protruding" in paragraph [0083] and part number 136 in FIG. 8 of Park) protruding along an edge of a second opening portion (see e.g. "a fitting member 136 protruding from an inlet of one side portion of the through hole 135" in paragraph [0083] and part numbers 135 and 136 in FIG. 8) is inserted in a first opening portion (see e.g. "An external diameter of the fitting member 136 may be smaller than a diameter of the other side portion of the through hole 135. The through hole 135 and the fitting member 136 may fit-couple the two adjacent battery cartridges 150 " in paragraph [0084] and part numbers 135 and 136 in FIGs. 8 and 9 of Park).
Park also teaches this is a functional method for connecting and arranging components of a battery module together (see e.g. paragraphs [0015] and [0124] of Park). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of he claimed invention, to modify the connection of the busbar holder to the side plate of Yoo et al. such that busbar holder comprises a protrusion protruding along an edge of the second opening portion and inserted in the first opening portion as taught by Park et al. in order to functional connect and arrange components of a battery module as suggested by Park.
Regarding Claim 15, Yoo in view of Park discloses the battery module of claim 14 (see e.g. claim 14 rejection above).
Yoo further discloses that the protrusion comprises a coupling member to be caught on and coupled to the side plate (see e.g. "second hook 4240" in paragraph [0189] and part number 4240 in FIGs. 18 and 19). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the second hooks of Yoo would engage with the cover frame 5100 to form the busbar holder and then also engage with the unmarked slots on the side cover 5400 in order to couple the busbar holder to the side plate.
Regarding Claim 16, Yoo in view of Park discloses the battery module of claim 15 (see e.g. claim 15 rejection above).
Yoo further discloses that the side plate comprises a coupling groove recessed in an edge of the first opening portion (see e.g. annotated figure below); and
the coupling groove comprises a locking protrusion to catch the coupling member (see e.g. annotated figure below).
Yoo, figure 18, annotated for illustration
Regarding Claim 17, Yoo in view of Park discloses the battery module of claim 16 (se e.g. claim 16 rejection above).
Yoo further discloses that the coupling member comprises a hook portion to be caught on the locking protrusion.(see e.g. "second hook 4240" in paragraph [0189] and part number 4240 in FIGs. 18 and 19). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the second hooks of Yoo would engage with the cover frame 5100 to form the busbar holder and then also engage with the unmarked slots on the unmarked locking protrusion on side cover 5400 to couple the busbar holder to the side plate (see e.g. annotated figure above).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (US-20230291026-A1) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Morisato et al. (US-20190341594-A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Yoo discloses the battery module of claim 18 (see e.g. claim 18 rejection above).
Yoo does not disclose that the side plate and the end plates are melt-joined by welding.
Morisato, however, in the same field of endeavor, battery modules, discloses a battery module the side plate and the end plates are melt-joined by welding (see e.g. "The pair of side plates 123 are welded to the pressure-applying plate 121 and the pressure-applying plate 122." in paragraph [0062] and paragraphs [0101]-[0103] of Morisato; here side plates 123 are welded to pressure applying plates (end plates) 121 and 122 which occupy opposite ends of the cell stack).
Morisato also teaches that by welding the end plates and side plates together pressure can be applied to the stack which applies pressure to power generation elements (see e.g. paragraphs [0060]-[0062] of Morisato). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery module of Yoo et al. such that the side plate and the end plates are melt-joined by welding as disclosed by Morisato et al. in order to continually apply pressure to the power generation elements within the battery module as suggested by Morisato.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure:
Hostler et al. (US-20100247998-A1)
Rath et al. (US-20200381694-A1)
Park et al. (US-20150079447-A1)
Oshiba et al. (US-20140370363-A1)
/J.J.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723