DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Amendment filed 8/27/2026 wherein claims 2-7 are canceled and claim 1 is presented for examination.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 8/27/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“During” (Claim 1, line 37) is believed to be in error for - - during - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the junction" in line 30. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "it" in line 32. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the above process" in line 37. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kiyohiko (JP 2009022848 A).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Kiyohiko teaches (Figures 1-8) a water outlet control structure (1, 3) of a water spray gun (A; see Figure 1), comprising: a water spray gun head (1); and a pressing handle (3), the water spray gun head (1) being configured to spray water flow (from 1a), the pressing handle (3) being configured to control a switch of the water flow (via 2c), and the water spray gun head (1) being rotatably connected to (see Figures 1 and 4-6) the pressing handle (3), wherein the pressing handle (3) is movably connected to a clamping piece (5); the water spray gun head (1) is provided with a moving groove (4a, 4b, 4c; “the cam 4 is provided on either the nozzle body 1 or the operating member 3, and the follower 5a is provided on the other, and these are disposed so as to face each other across the space between them” – Paragraph 0014) at a side wall (see Figures 1 and 4-6); the moving groove (4a, 4b, 4c) comprises: a first sliding groove (annotated below), a second sliding groove (annotated below), a third sliding groove (annotated below), a fourth sliding groove (annotated below), a first limiting block (annotated below), and a second limiting block (annotated below); and the clamping piece (5) covers the moving groove (4a, 4b, 4c) in a reset state (when clamping piece 5 is moved between 4b and 4a, the clamping piece 5 will overlap the moving groove; see Figures 1-8 and annotation below) and is slidably connected to (via 5a) the moving groove (4a, 4b, 4c);
the clamping piece (5) comprises: a clamping piece body (5; see Figure 3a); a sliding portion (5a); and a clamping portion (5b), the sliding portion (5a) is fixedly connected to a head portion (at the left side of 5 in Figures 5a and 6a) of the clamping piece body (5; see Figure 3a); the sliding portion (5a) is slidably connected to (see Figure 3b) the moving groove (4a, 4b, 4c); the clamping portion (5b) is fixedly connected to a tail portion (the right side of 5 in Figures 5a and 6a) of the clamping piece body (5; see Figure 3a); and the clamping piece body (5) is movably connected to (see Figure 4a) the pressing handle (3) via the clamping portion (5b);
the first sliding groove (annotated below) is in communication with (see arrows in Figure 3b) the second sliding groove (annotated below); the first sliding groove (annotated below) is in communication with (see arrows in Figure 3b) the third sliding groove (annotated below); the third sliding groove (annotated below) is in communication with (see arrows in Figure 3b) the fourth sliding groove (annotated below); the fourth sliding groove (annotated below) is in communication with (see arrows in Figure 3b) the second sliding groove (annotated below); the first limiting block (annotated below) is configured to guide extension directions (see Figure 3b) of the first sliding groove (annotated below) and the second sliding groove (annotated below); the second limiting block (annotated below) is configured to guide extension directions (see Figure 3b) of the third sliding groove (annotated below), the fourth sliding groove (annotated below), and the first limiting block (annotated below); and the first limiting block (annotated below) and the second limiting block (annotated below) are both fixedly connected to (see Figures 1 and 4-6) the water spray gun head (1);
the pressing handle (3) is movably connected to the clamping portion (5b), the clamping piece body (5; see figure 3a) and the sliding portion (5a) are driven to slide to the right (when viewed from the opposite side of Figure 3b) in the moving groove (4a, 4b, 4c; “the cam 4 is provided on either the nozzle body 1 or the operating member 3, and the follower 5a is provided on the other, and these are disposed so as to face each other across the space between them” – Paragraph 0014), when the pressing handle (3) is continuously pressed (when 4a is pushed toward 5a; see Figures 3a-4b), the sliding portion (5a) slides from left to right (when viewed from the opposite side shown in Figure 3b) along the first sliding groove (annotated below), and when the sliding portion (5a) slides to the junction of the first sliding groove (annotated below) and the second sliding groove (annotated below), the sliding portion (5a) continues to slide along the first sliding groove (annotated below), when the clamping piece (5b) is in contact with the water spray gun head (1), it cannot be pressed anymore (via 6; see Figures 4a-4b), and at this time, the sliding portion (5a) just slides from the first sliding groove (annotated below) into the third sliding groove (annotated below), when the pressing handle (3) is released (when 4a is moved away from 5a after being pushed toward 5a; see arrows in Figure 3b), the pressing handle (3) moves in a direction away from the water spray gun head (1) to drive the clamping piece (5) to slide to the left (when viewed from the opposite side of Figure 3b), the sliding portion (5a) slides along the third sliding groove (annotated below) until sliding into the fourth sliding groove (annotated below), during the above process, as the sliding portion (5a) moves, the water spray gun head (1) continues to spray water (due to the handle being pressed; see Figures 1-3b), when the sliding portion (5a) gets stuck between the fourth sliding groove (annotated below) and the first limiting block (annotated below), the water spray gun head (1) will also continue to spray water (Paragraph 0018).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/27/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach “when the clamping piece is in contact with the water spray gun head, it cannot be pressed anymore, and at this time, the sliding portion just slides from the first sliding groove into the third sliding groove, when the pressing handle is released, the pressing handle moves in a direction away from the water spray gun head to drive the clamping piece to slide to the left, the sliding portion slides along the third sliding groove until sliding into the fourth sliding groove, during the above process, as the sliding portion moves, the water spray gun head continues to spray water, when the sliding portion gets stuck between the fourth sliding groove and the first limiting block, the water spray gun head will also continue to spray water. In response and as discussed in the body of the rejection above, Kiyohiko teaches when the clamping piece (5b) is in contact with the water spray gun head (1), it cannot be pressed anymore (via 6; see Figures 4a-4b), and at this time, the sliding portion (5a) just slides from the first sliding groove (annotated below) into the third sliding groove (annotated below), when the pressing handle (3) is released (when 4a is moved away from 5a after being pushed toward 5a; see arrows in Figure 3b), the pressing handle (3) moves in a direction away from the water spray gun head (1) to drive the clamping piece (5) to slide to the left (when viewed from the opposite side of Figure 3b), the sliding portion (5a) slides along the third sliding groove (annotated below) until sliding into the fourth sliding groove (annotated below), during the above process, as the sliding portion (5a) moves, the water spray gun head (1) continues to spray water (due to the handle being pressed; see Figures 1-3b), when the sliding portion (5a) gets stuck between the fourth sliding groove (annotated below) and the first limiting block (annotated below), the water spray gun head (1) will also continue to spray water (Paragraph 0018).
Applicant also argues that Kiyohiko teaches that the cam 4 which includes moving grooves 4a, 4b, 4c is provided on the operating member 3, therefore, it cannot clearly indicate that the clamping piece can contact the water spray gun head. Applicant further argues that the technical features that can be directly and unambiguously derived from the drawings are that the cam 4 is installed on the operating member 3, rather than on the water spray gun head, which is completely different from the overall structure of the water spray gun head in the present application, and also results in a completely different working motion trajectory and working state when the water spray gun is in use. In response, it is noted that Kiyohiko teaches that “the cam 4 is provided on EITHER the nozzle body 1 or the operating member 3, and the follower 5a is provided on the other, and they are arranged to face each other across the space between them” (Paragraph 0014 of Kiyohiko). Therefore, Applicant’s argument is refuted by the reference. In addition, it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741