DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This Office Action is filed in response to Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination dated September 9, 2026. Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 are currently amended and claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 remain pending in the application and have been fully considered by Examiner.
The 35 USC 112(b) deficiencies suffered by claims 6-7 and 16-17 have been corrected and the rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been considered, but are not persuasive, as detailed below in the Prior Art Argument - Rejections section.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 1, lines 15-19 now recite, with emphasis added, “wherein the test environment is generated by instantiating components represented in the subset of the production environment using … relationships among the instantiated components identified using the configuration details, the components and the relationships being affected by the security policy update”. The most relevant portion of the original disclosure appears at paragraph [0062], which recites “the validation module may generate a test environment based on the identified attributes and configuration details. In some embodiments, the generation may be by controlling a continuous deployment system (e.g., CD system 204). The test environment may be identical to a portion of the production environment”. However, neither this portion of the original application nor any other portion discloses, either explicitly, implicitly, or inherently, “relationships among the instantiated components” or anything that could be construed as meaning the claimed “relationships”. Furthermore, even if such “relationships among the instantiated components” were disclosed in the originally filed application, which Examiner does not concede, it does not disclose that the test environment is generated “using … relationships among the instantiated components” or that the “relationships among the instantiated components” are “identified using the configuration details”. It also follows that as there is no disclosure of “the relationships being affected by the security policy update”, as claimed. Accordingly, claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC 112(a).
With respect to claim 11, the claim recites limitations similar to those identified above with respect to claim 1 and thus claim 1 is also rejected pursuant to 35 USC 112(a).
With respect to all remaining dependent claims, each inherits the 35 US 112(a) deficiency of its respective base claim (see the 35 USC 112(a) rejections of claims 1 and 11 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chawla et al. (US 20100082316, hereinafter Chawla), in view of Talmor et al. (US 9553845, hereinafter Talmor), Chewe, “Hybrid Cloud Infrastructure Security: Security Automation Approaches for Hybrid IT” (hereinafter Chewe), and Musani et al. (US 20180113728, hereinafter Musani).
With respect to claim 1, Chawla discloses An apparatus (e.g., Figs. 2-3 and associated text, e.g., [0007], Embodiments of the present invention are directed to a … system … to facilitate testing policy changes associated with a production network.) comprising:
a processor (e.g., Fig. 2 and associated text, e.g., [0024], the computing device 200 includes a central processing unit (CPU) 202.);
a memory coupled with the processor (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and associated text, e.g., [0026] Storage 208 can include such technologies as a floppy drive, hard drive, tape drive, Flash drive, optical drive, read only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), and the like.), the memory storing instructions for validating network security policy updates prior to deploying the updates to a production environment (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and associated text, e.g., [0020], network virtualization and testing environment (hereinafter "environment") to test policy changes prior to implementation of the policies in a production network … Policies … can include security policies; [0026], Applications 210, such as the environment 100, can be resident in the storage 208.), the instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
i) identify a security policy update from a (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 7 along with associated text, e.g., [0040], desired policy changes are identified (step 700); [0042], the policy change can be to the customer security policy that would be implemented in the security appliance.), the identified security policy update being a candidate for deployment to the production environment having a plurality of attributes (e.g., Figs. 1, 5, and 7 and associated text, e.g., [0043], If the changed policy set produces the expected results and behavior (step 745), the policy changes can be deployed in the production system (step 750); [0031], The virtual network can be formed by virtualization of the physical elements in the gateway 400. Information about the network elements of the production network can be gathered (step 500). Such information can include hardware (H/W) specifications … software (S/W) specifications … network performance and test data.);
ii) identify the identified security policy update (e.g., [0040], desired policy changes are identified (step 700); [0042], the policy change can be to the customer security policy.) and configuration details of the production environment (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4-7 along with associated text, e.g., [0031], Information about the network elements of the production network [configuration details] can be gathered (step 500). Such information can include hardware (H/W) specifications (customer H/W specifications and/or vendor H/W specifications), software (S/W) specifications (customer S/W specifications and/or vendor S/W specifications), network performance and test data (customer, testing organizations, etc), customer production network architecture, current policy configurations implemented by the customer, and the like);
iii) generate, based on and the configuration details, a test environment (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4-6 and associated text, e.g., [0031], Information about the network elements of the production network can be gathered (step 500). Information about the network elements of the production network [configuration details] can be gathered (step 500). Such information can include hardware (H/W) specifications (customer H/W specifications and/or vendor H/W specifications), software (S/W) specifications (customer S/W specifications and/or vendor S/W specifications), network performance and test data (customer, testing organizations, etc), customer production network architecture, current policy configurations implemented by the customer, and the like; [0033], develop a virtual representation of the production network such that inputs to the virtual network [test environment] are processed by virtual elements (e.g., software models) that provide a virtual model of the production network (step 520). In the virtual network, software modules replace physical network elements of the production network. … The virtual network can be used to accurately simulate the production network and can precisely clone a logical functionality of the production network.), the test environment corresponding to the production environment associated with the security policy update (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4-6 and associated text, e.g., [0007], testing policy changes associated with a production network; [0025], deploying policy changes in a virtualized network [test environment] to test the policy changes prior to deployment in a production network [the production environment associated with the security policy update] modeled by the virtualized network; [0033], In the virtual network [test environment], software modules replace physical network elements of the production network. … The virtual network can be used to accurately simulate the production network and can precisely clone a logical functionality of the production network.), wherein the test environment is generated by instantiating components represented in the production environment using and relationships among the instantiated components identified using the configuration details (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4-6 and associated text, e.g., [0021], The generator 110 can generate a virtual network [test environment] that is a software replication of a physically implemented hardware-based production network. The generator 110 generates the virtualized network [test environment] using information about elements of the production network [configuration details], such as hardware (H/W) specifications (customer H/W specifications and/or vendor H/W specifications), software (S/W) specifications (customer S/W specifications and/or vendor S/W specifications), network performance and test data (customer, testing organizations, etc), customer production network architecture, current policy configurations implemented by the customer, and the like The generator 110 can determine how the physical elements of the production network interact and can model communication between the elements based on a model such interaction [test environment is generated by instantiating components represented in the … production environment using … relationships among the instantiated components identified using the configuration details]; [0033], develop a virtual representation of the production network such that inputs to the virtual network [test environment] are processed by virtual elements (e.g., software models) [components] that provide a virtual model of the production network (step 520). In the virtual network, software modules replace physical network elements of the production network. … The virtual network can be used to accurately simulate the production network and can precisely clone a logical functionality of the production network; see also [0031].), the components and the relationships being affected by the security policy update (e.g., Fig. 7 and associated text, e.g., [0020], Policies govern operations of a network, a network device, an interaction between network devices, and the like, and can include security policies; [0042], Desired changes to the current customer policy set can be deployed in the virtual network [test environment]. For example, the policy change can be to the customer security policy that would be implemented in the security appliance; [0043], Desired policy changes are deployed in the virtual network (step 725).);
iv) following deployment of the identified security policy update to the test environment (e.g., Fig. 7 and associated text, e.g., [0042], Desired changes to the current customer policy set can be deployed in the virtual network [test environment]. For example, the policy change can be to the customer security policy that would be implemented in the security appliance; [0043], Desired policy changes are deployed in the virtual network (step 725).), perform a validation to check for security exceptions or availability exceptions using the test environment (e.g., Fig. 7 and associated text, e.g., [0030], security appliance 410b is a firewall that applies security policies … For example, the security appliance 410b can control the exclusion or inclusion of incoming and outgoing information; [0043], verify the policy changes (step 740) … If the testing produces unexplained results or unexpected behavior [check for security exception] (step 745), the process repeats from step 725.); and
v) validation results based on a result of the check (e.g., Fig. 7 and associated text, e.g., [0043], verify the policy changes (step 740) … If the changed policy set produces the expected results and behavior (step 745), the policy changes can be deployed in the production system (step 750). If the testing produces unexplained results or unexpected behavior (step 745), the process repeats from step 725.).
Although Chawla discloses validating network security policy updates and validation results (see above), it does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous art, Talmor: incrementally (e.g., Figs. 3, particularly the depicted loop, and fig. 5 along with associated text, col. 5:57-59, the staged firewall policy is a new policy and/or a modified version of the enforced firewall policy to be deployed; col. 7:37-38, In step 308 … determines whether the staged firewall policy is valid; col. 8:23-24, repeat steps 302-308 in an attempt to validate the modified staged firewall policy.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Chawla with the invention of Talmor, such that policy updates are validated incrementally, so that “firewall administrators can more effectively validate and test firewall policies to mitigate disruption in user experience and more quickly debug user issues,” as suggested by Talmor (see col. 10:43-46).
Chawla does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous are Chewe: security as code repository (e.g., p. 23, Fig. 14 and § 3.3 Security Architecture with Security as Code (SaC); p. 43, Figure 31 and last para., The security definition of an environment generally includes … security policies etcetera. What is required is a code description of where and what is the desired security state … This information is scriptable in code and can then be stored into a version control system.) … defined by an infrastructure as code repository (e.g., p., 20, last para., Applying security as code is efficient when applied on infrastructure described in code; p. 31, IaC should be used in network construction (artifacts, secrets, and configuration). They should be saved in source-code repositories; p. 32, Figure 31, Step 2 Describe Infrastructure as Code; p. 44, Fig. 4 and last para., test environment is created automatically using IaC such as Terraform or Cloud Formation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Chawla with the technique of Chewe, such that SaC and IaC are used, because “Implementing security as code can [sic] is one of the best approaches for an enterprise scale deployment security orchestration,” and “applying security as code is efficient when applied on infrastructure described in code,” as suggested by Chewe (see p. 23, § 3.3 Security Architecture with Security as Code (SaC); see p. 20, last para.).
Although Chawla discloses the identified security policy update, the production environment having a plurality of attributes, and generating a test environment (see above), it does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous art, Musani: attributes of the plurality of attributes that correspond to (e.g., Figs. 1 and 3 and associated text, e.g., [0037], perform an inventory-downsize operation (313) based on the system inventory [plurality of attributes] collected from the production system 120; [0038] the upgrade simulator 112 may determine a minimum set of OS and software applications for the downsized inventory 322 [identifying attributes]. For example … the upgrade simulator 112 may determine that only the OS and virtualization software applications may be related [identifying attributes of the plurality of attributes that correspond to] to a …upgrade.) … the identified attributes (e.g., Figs. 1 and 3-4 and associated text, e.g., [0024], construct the simulated system 130 based on the downsized inventory [generate a test environment based on the identified attributes].) … a subset of … the subset of (e.g., Figs. 1 and 3-4 and associated text, e.g., [0050], configure a simulated system having a downsized inventory … the downsized inventory may include a subset of the production system's hardware configuration, software configuration; [0037], the upgrade simulator 112 may perform an inventory-downsize operation (313) based on the system inventory collected from the production system 120; [0038] the upgrade simulator 112 may determine a minimum set of OS and software applications for the downsized inventory 322. For example … the upgrade simulator 112 may determine that only the OS and virtualization software applications may be related to a …upgrade; see also [0039].) … the identified attributes (e.g., Figs. 1 and 3 and associated text, e.g., [0037], perform an inventory-downsize operation (313) based on the system inventory [plurality of attributes] collected from the production system 120; [0038] the upgrade simulator 112 may determine a minimum set of OS and software applications for the downsized inventory 322 [identified attributes].).
Although Chawla discloses validation results (see above), it does not appear to disclose the following, which is further taught in Musani: output (e.g., Figs. 1 and 3-4 along with associated text, e.g., [0056], generate upgrade reports, and inform the administrator.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Chawla with the invention of Musani, such that (1) a virtual test environment simulates only a minimum subset of a production environment related to an update being validated and (2) results are reported to an administrator, because it would provide a more efficient use of resources than simply mirroring the entire production environment, which would be needlessly wasteful, and it would allow a human administrator to use their experience and judgment to determine what action to take in response to the validation results.
With respect to claim 3, Musani further teaches wherein the identified attributes are identified from the plurality of attributes (e.g., Figs. 1 and 3 and associated text, e.g., [0037], perform an inventory-downsize operation (313) based on the system inventory [plurality of attributes] collected from the production system 120; [0038] the upgrade simulator 112 may determine a minimum set of OS and software applications for the downsized inventory 322 [identified attributes].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Chawla with the invention of Musani for the same reasons set forth above.
With respect to claim 4, Chawla in view of Talmor, Chewe, and Musani, as applied to claim 1 above, discloses wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to … the steps i) through v) (see the rejection of claim 1 above) and Talmor further teaches repeat … for a next security policy update (e.g., Figs. 3, particularly the depicted loop, and fig. 5 along with associated text, col. 5:57-59, the staged firewall policy is a new policy and/or a modified version of the enforced firewall policy to be deployed; col. 7:37-38, In step 308 … determines whether the staged firewall policy is valid; col. 8:8-24, In step 312 … modifies the staged firewall policy … Additionally, a new staged firewall policy can also be provided … subsequent to modifying the staged firewall policy … repeat steps 302-308 in an attempt to validate the modified staged firewall policy.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chawla with the inventions of Talmor, Chewe, and Musani for the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1 and also because “Over time, there is generally a need to update or modify a deployed firewall policy,” and thus future policy updates will require validation (see Talmor at col. 1:36-37.).
With respect to claim 6, Chawla also discloses wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to identify configuration details of a production environment (please note the 35 USC 112(b) rejection and interpretation above; e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 5 along with associated text, e.g., [0031], Information about the network elements of the production network can be gathered (step 500).) and Chewe further teaches using the infrastructure as code repository (e.g., p., 20, last para., Applying security as code is efficient when applied on infrastructure described in code; p. 31, IaC should be used in network construction (artifacts, secrets, and configuration). They should be saved in source-code repositories; p. 44, Fig. 4 and last para., test environment is created automatically using IaC such as Terraform or Cloud Formation.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Chawla with the invention of Chewe for the same reason set forth above.
With respect to claim 8, Chawla also discloses wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: deploy the security policy update to the test environment (e.g., Fig. 7 and associated text, e.g., [0042], Desired changes to the current customer policy set can be deployed in the virtual network. For example, the policy change can be to the customer security policy that would be implemented in the security appliance; [0043], Desired policy changes are deployed in the virtual network (step 725).).
With respect to claim 9, Chawla also discloses wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to determine whether to deploy the security policy update to the production environment based on results of the check (e.g., Fig. 7 and associated text, e.g., [0043], verify the policy changes (step 740) … If the changed policy set produces the expected results and behavior (step 745), the policy changes can be deployed in the production system (step 750).).
With respect to claim 10, Chawla also discloses wherein the security policy update is deployed (e.g., Fig. 7 and associated text, e.g., [0043], verify the policy changes (step 740) … If the changed policy set produces the expected results and behavior (step 745), the policy changes can be deployed in the production system (step 750).) and Chewe further teaches using a continuous deployment (CD) pipeline (e.g., Fig. 30 and associated text on p. 42, e.g., Figure 30 illustrates a model infrastructure orchestration that can be adapted for delivering security as code across infrastructure elements in an enterprise environment using common DevOps tools such as Visual studio Code, it and CI/CD pipelines; Fig. 34 and text on p. 46, Security as Code therefore also becomes a continuous deliverable process which can be aided by DevOps automation workflows for security compliance.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Chawla with the invention of Chewe for the same reason set forth above.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chawla in view of Talmor, Chewe, and Musani, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Scheib et al. (US 20160359697, hereinafter Scheib).
With respect to claim 5, Chawla also discloses wherein the test environment includes one or more having configuration details that correspond to configuration details of one or more corresponding of the production environment (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4-5 along with associated text, e.g., [0025], deploying policy changes in a virtualized network [test environment] to test the policy changes; [0033], The virtual network can be used to accurately simulate the production network and can precisely clone a logical functionality of the production network.).
Although Chawla discloses a test environment having configuration details that correspond to configuration details of a production environment (see above), it does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous art, Scheib: functional domains … functional domains (e.g., Fig. 1 and associated text, e.g., [0022], Within each context 106 are objects called endpoint groups (EPGs) [functional domains] … The EPGs 108 can be a collection of similar endpoints representing an application tier or set of services; [0023], The EPGs 108 are collections of one or more endpoints that provide a logical grouping for objects that require similar policy; [0112], the network may apply … changes to EPGs to a simulated network environment that mirrors the actual network.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Chawla with the invention of Scheib, such that a simulated test environment and a production environment includes EPGs, because “The EPGs 108 can act as a single policy enforcement point for a group of network elements. This can simplify configuration of the policies 110 and ensure their consistency,” as suggested by Scheib (see [0024]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chawla in view of Talmor, Chewe, and Musani, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Albano et al. (US 20130325433, hereinafter Albano).
With respect to claim 7, Chawla also discloses wherein the configuration details are physical information about the production environment (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 5 along with associated text, e.g., [0031], Information about the network elements of the production network can be gathered (step 500).).
Although Chawla discloses the configuration details and physical information about the production environment (see above), it does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous art, Albano: based on a repository containing (e.g., Figs. 3-5 and associated text, e.g., [0058], an associated database 410 which stores data about the managed infrastructure; [0030], an automated discovery run against the real managed infrastructure (servers, networking, storage, etc), and the discovered data is stored in a database, where most other components use this data; [0012], populates the infrastructure management software with metadata from an infrastructure database sufficient to allow the infrastructure management software to simulate the infrastructure.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Chawla with the invention of Albano, such that configuration information details are populated from a database storing physical information about a production environment in order to construct a simulated test environment, because “The data population helps to simulate the managed infrastructure for IaaS software, thereby resulting in the following: (i) eliminating the need and cost of investment required for managed infrastructure; (ii) eliminating the time to do a setup for managed infrastructure; (iii) lowering runtime costs; and (iv) helping run tests for end-to-end integration,” as suggested by Albano (see [0059]).
Claims 11, 13, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chawla in view of Chewe and Musani.
With respect to claim 11, Chawla discloses A method (e.g., [0007], Embodiments of the present invention are directed to a method … to facilitate testing policy changes associated with a production network.), comprising:
i) identifying a security policy update from a (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 7 along with associated text, e.g., [0040], desired policy changes are identified (step 700); [0042], the policy change can be to the customer security policy that would be implemented in the security appliance.), the identified security policy update being a candidate for deployment to a production environment having a plurality of attributes (e.g., Figs. 1, 5, and 7 and associated text, e.g., [0043], If the changed policy set produces the expected results and behavior (step 745), the policy changes can be deployed in the production system (step 750); [0031], The virtual network can be formed by virtualization of the physical elements in the gateway 400. Information about the network elements of the production network can be gathered (step 500). Such information can include hardware (H/W) specifications … software (S/W) specifications … network performance and test data.);
ii) identifying the identified security policy update (e.g., [0040], desired policy changes are identified (step 700); [0042], the policy change can be to the customer security policy.) and configuration details of the production environment (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4-7 along with associated text, e.g., [0031], Information about the network elements of the production network [configuration details] can be gathered (step 500). Such information can include hardware (H/W) specifications (customer H/W specifications and/or vendor H/W specifications), software (S/W) specifications (customer S/W specifications and/or vendor S/W specifications), network performance and test data (customer, testing organizations, etc), customer production network architecture, current policy configurations implemented by the customer, and the like);
iii) generating, based on and the configuration details, a test environment (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4-6 and associated text, e.g., [0031], Information about the network elements of the production network can be gathered (step 500). Information about the network elements of the production network [configuration details] can be gathered (step 500). Such information can include hardware (H/W) specifications (customer H/W specifications and/or vendor H/W specifications), software (S/W) specifications (customer S/W specifications and/or vendor S/W specifications), network performance and test data (customer, testing organizations, etc), customer production network architecture, current policy configurations implemented by the customer, and the like; [0033], develop a virtual representation of the production network such that inputs to the virtual network [test environment] are processed by virtual elements (e.g., software models) that provide a virtual model of the production network (step 520). In the virtual network, software modules replace physical network elements of the production network. … The virtual network can be used to accurately simulate the production network and can precisely clone a logical functionality of the production network.), the test environment corresponding to the production environment that is associated with the security policy update (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4-6 and associated text, e.g., [0007], testing policy changes associated with a production network; [0025], deploying policy changes in a virtualized network [test environment] to test the policy changes prior to deployment in a production network [the production environment associated with the security policy update] modeled by the virtualized network; [0033], In the virtual network [test environment], software modules replace physical network elements of the production network. … The virtual network can be used to accurately simulate the production network and can precisely clone a logical functionality of the production network.), wherein the test environment is generated by instantiating components represented in the production environment using and relationships among the instantiated components identified using the configuration details (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4-6 and associated text, e.g., [0021], The generator 110 can generate a virtual network [test environment] that is a software replication of a physically implemented hardware-based production network. The generator 110 generates the virtualized network [test environment] using information about elements of the production network [configuration details], such as hardware (H/W) specifications (customer H/W specifications and/or vendor H/W specifications), software (S/W) specifications (customer S/W specifications and/or vendor S/W specifications), network performance and test data (customer, testing organizations, etc), customer production network architecture, current policy configurations implemented by the customer, and the like The generator 110 can determine how the physical elements of the production network interact and can model communication between the elements based on a model such interaction [test environment is generated by instantiating components represented in the … production environment using … relationships among the instantiated components identified using the configuration details]; [0033], develop a virtual representation of the production network such that inputs to the virtual network [test environment] are processed by virtual elements (e.g., software models) [components] that provide a virtual model of the production network (step 520). In the virtual network, software modules replace physical network elements of the production network. … The virtual network can be used to accurately simulate the production network and can precisely clone a logical functionality of the production network; see also [0031].), the components and the relationships being affected by the security policy update (e.g., Fig. 7 and associated text, e.g., [0020], Policies govern operations of a network, a network device, an interaction between network devices, and the like, and can include security policies; [0042], Desired changes to the current customer policy set can be deployed in the virtual network [test environment]. For example, the policy change can be to the customer security policy that would be implemented in the security appliance; [0043], Desired policy changes are deployed in the virtual network (step 725).);
iv) following deployment of the identified security policy update to the test environment (e.g., Fig. 7 and associated text, e.g., [0042], Desired changes to the current customer policy set can be deployed in the virtual network [test environment]. For example, the policy change can be to the customer security policy that would be implemented in the security appliance; [0043], Desired policy changes are deployed in the virtual network (step 725).), performing a validation to check for security exceptions or availability exceptions using the test environment (e.g., Fig. 7 and associated text, e.g., [0030], security appliance 410b is a firewall that applies security policies … For example, the security appliance 410b can control the exclusion or inclusion of incoming and outgoing information; [0043], verify the policy changes (step 740) … If the testing produces unexplained results or unexpected behavior [check for security exception] (step 745), the process repeats from step 725.); and
vi) validation results based on a result of the check (e.g., Fig. 7 and associated text, e.g., [0043], verify the policy changes (step 740) … If the changed policy set produces the expected results and behavior (step 745), the policy changes can be deployed in the production system (step 750). If the testing produces unexplained results or unexpected behavior (step 745), the process repeats from step 725.).
Chawla as modified does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous are Chewe: security as code repository (e.g., p. 23, Fig. 14 and § 3.3 Security Architecture with Security as Code (SaC); p. 43, Figure 31 and last para., The security definition of an environment generally includes … security policies etcetera. What is required is a code description of where and what is the desired security state … This information is scriptable in code and can then be stored into a version control system.) … defined by an infrastructure as code repository (e.g., p., 20, last para., Applying security as code is efficient when applied on infrastructure described in code; p. 31, IaC should be used in network construction (artifacts, secrets, and configuration). They should be saved in source-code repositories; p. 32, Figure 31, Step 2 Describe Infrastructure as Code; p. 44, Fig. 4 and last para., test environment is created automatically using IaC such as Terraform or Cloud Formation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chawla with the invention of Chewe, such that SaC and IaC are used, because “Implementing security as code can is one of the best approaches for an enterprise scale deployment security orchestration,” and “applying security as code is efficient when applied on infrastructure described in code,” as suggested by Chewe (see p. 23, § 3.3 Security Architecture with Security as Code (SaC); see p. 20, last para.).
Although Chawla discloses the identified security policy update, the production environment having a plurality of attributes, and generating a test environment (see above), it does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous art, Musani: attributes of the plurality of attributes that correspond to (e.g., Figs. 1 and 3 and associated text, e.g., [0037], perform an inventory-downsize operation (313) based on the system inventory [plurality of attributes] collected from the production system 120; [0038] the upgrade simulator 112 may determine a minimum set of OS and software applications for the downsized inventory 322 [identifying attributes]. For example … the upgrade simulator 112 may determine that only the OS and virtualization software applications may be related [identifying attributes of the plurality of attributes that correspond to] to a …upgrade.) … the identified attributes (e.g., Figs. 1 and 3-4 and associated text, e.g., [0024], construct the simulated system 130 based on the downsized inventory [generate a test environment based on the identified attributes].) … a subset of … the subset of (e.g., Figs. 1 and 3-4 and associated text, e.g., [0050], configure a simulated system having a downsized inventory … the downsized inventory may include a subset of the production system's hardware configuration, software configuration; [0037], the upgrade simulator 112 may perform an inventory-downsize operation (313) based on the system inventory collected from the production system 120; [0038] the upgrade simulator 112 may determine a minimum set of OS and software applications for the downsized inventory 322. For example … the upgrade simulator 112 may determine that only the OS and virtualization software applications may be related to a …upgrade; see also [0039].) … the identified attributes (e.g., Figs. 1 and 3 and associated text, e.g., [0037], perform an inventory-downsize operation (313) based on the system inventory [plurality of attributes] collected from the production system 120; [0038] the upgrade simulator 112 may determine a minimum set of OS and software applications for the downsized inventory 322 [identified attributes].).
Although Chawla discloses validation results (see above), it does not appear to disclose the following, which is further taught in Musani: outputting (e.g., Figs. 1 and 3-4 along with associated text, e.g., [0056], generate upgrade reports, and inform the administrator.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Chawla with the invention of Musani, such that (1) a virtual test environment simulates only a minimum subset of a production environment related to an update being validated and (2) results are reported to an administrator, because it would provide a more efficient use of resources than simply mirroring the entire production environment, which would be needlessly wasteful, and it would allow a human administrator to use their experience and judgment to determine what action to take in response to the validation results.
With respect to claim 13, Musani further teaches wherein the identified attributes are identified from the plurality of attributes (e.g., Figs. 1 and 3 and associated text, e.g., [0037], perform an inventory-downsize operation (313) based on the system inventory [plurality of attributes] collected from the production system 120; [0038] the upgrade simulator 112 may determine a minimum set of OS and software applications for the downsized inventory 322 [identified attributes].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Chawla with the invention of Musani for the same reasons set forth above.
With respect to claim 16, Chawla also discloses identifying configuration details of a production environment (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 5 along with associated text, e.g., [0031], Information about the network elements of the production network [configuration details] can be gathered (step 500). Such information can include hardware (H/W) specifications (customer H/W specifications and/or vendor H/W specifications), software (S/W) specifications (customer S/W specifications and/or vendor S/W specifications), network performance and test data (customer, testing organizations, etc), customer production network architecture, current policy configurations implemented by the customer, and the like.) and Chewe further teaches using the infrastructure as code repository (e.g., p., 20, last para., Applying security as code is efficient when applied on infrastructure described in code; p. 31, IaC should be used in network construction (artifacts, secrets, and configuration). They should be saved in source-code repositories; p. 44, Fig. 4 and last para., test environment is created automatically using IaC such as Terraform or Cloud Formation.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Chawla with the invention of Chewe for the same reason set forth above.
With respect to claim 18, Chawla also discloses deploying the security policy update to the test environment (e.g., Fig. 7 and associated text, e.g., [0042], Desired changes to the current customer policy set can be deployed in the virtual network. For example, the policy change can be to the customer security policy that would be implemented in the security appliance; [0043], Desired policy changes are deployed in the virtual network (step 725).).
With respect to claim 19, Chawla also discloses determining whether to deploy the security policy update to the production environment based on results of the check (e.g., Fig. 7 and associated text, e.g., [0043], verify the policy changes (step 740) … If the changed policy set produces the expected results and behavior (step 745), the policy changes can be deployed in the production system (step 750).).
With respect to claim 20, Chawla also discloses wherein the security policy update is deployed (e.g., Fig. 7 and associated text, e.g., [0043], verify the policy changes (step 740) … If the changed policy set produces the expected results and behavior (step 745), the policy changes can be deployed in the production system (step 750).) and Chewe further teaches using a continuous deployment (CD) pipeline (e.g., Fig. 30 and associated text on p. 42, e.g., Figure 30 illustrates a model infrastructure orchestration that can be adapted for delivering security as code across infrastructure elements in an enterprise environment using common DevOps tools such as Visual studio Code, it and CI/CD pipelines; Fig. 34 and text on p. 46, Security as Code therefore also becomes a continuous deliverable process which can be aided by DevOps automation workflows for security compliance.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Chawla with the invention of Chewe for the same reason set forth above.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chawla in view of Chewe and Musani, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Talmor.
With respect to claim 14, Chawla in view Chewe and Musani, as applied to claim 1 above, discloses the steps i) through v) (see the rejections of claims 1 and 11 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chawla with the inventions of Chewe and Musani for the same reason set forth above.
Chawla in view of Chewe and Musani does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous art, Talmor: repeating … for a next security policy update (e.g., Figs. 3, particularly the depicted loop, and fig. 5 along with associated text, col. 5:57-59, the staged firewall policy is a new policy and/or a modified version of the enforced firewall policy to be deployed; col. 7:37-38, In step 308 … determines whether the staged firewall policy is valid; col. 8:8-24, In step 312 … modifies the staged firewall policy … Additionally, a new staged firewall policy can also be provided … subsequent to modifying the staged firewall policy … repeat steps 302-308 in an attempt to validate the modified staged firewall policy.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Chawla with the invention of Talmor, such that the process for validating a policy update is repeated for additional policy updates, so that “firewall administrators can more effectively validate and test firewall policies to mitigate disruption in user experience and more quickly debug user issues,” as suggested by Talmor (see col. 10:43-46) and also because “Over time, there is generally a need to update or modify a deployed firewall policy,” and thus future policy updates will require validation (see Talmor at col. 1:36-37).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chawla in view of Chewe and Musani, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Scheib.
With respect to claim 15, Chawla also discloses wherein the test environment includes one or more having configuration details that correspond to configuration details of one or more corresponding of the production environment (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4-5 along with associated text, e.g., [0025], deploying policy changes in a virtualized network [test environment] to test the policy changes; [0033], The virtual network can be used to accurately simulate the production network and can precisely clone a logical functionality of the production network.).
Although Chawla discloses a test environment having configuration details that correspond to configuration details of a production environment (see above), it does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous art, Scheib: functional domains … functional domains (e.g., Fig. 1 and associated text, e.g., [0022], Within each context 106 are objects called endpoint groups (EPGs) [functional domains] … The EPGs 108 can be a collection of similar endpoints representing an application tier or set of services; [0023], The EPGs 108 are collections of one or more endpoints that provide a logical grouping for objects that require similar policy; [0112], the network may apply … changes to EPGs to a simulated network environment that mirrors the actual network.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Chawla with the invention of Scheib, such that a simulated test environment and a production environment includes EPGs, because “The EPGs 108 can act as a single policy enforcement point for a group of network elements. This can simplify configuration of the policies 110 and ensure their consistency,” as suggested by Scheib (see [0024]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chawla in view of Chewe and Musani, as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Albano.
With respect to claim 17, Chawla also discloses wherein the configuration details are physical information about the production environment (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 5 along with associated text, e.g., [0031], Information about the network elements of the production network can be gathered (step 500).).
Although Chawla discloses the configuration details and physical information about the production environment (see above), it does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous art, Albano: based on a repository containing (e.g., Figs. 3-5 and associated text, e.g., [0058], an associated database 410 which stores data about the managed infrastructure; [0030], an automated discovery run against the real managed infrastructure (servers, networking, storage, etc), and the discovered data is stored in a database, where most other components use this data; [0012], populates the infrastructure management software with metadata from an infrastructure database sufficient to allow the infrastructure management software to simulate the infrastructure.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Chawla with the invention of Albano, such that configuration information details are populated from a database storing physical information about a production environment in order to construct a simulated test environment, because “The data population helps to simulate the managed infrastructure for IaaS software, thereby resulting in the following: (i) eliminating the need and cost of investment required for managed infrastructure; (ii) eliminating the time to do a setup for managed infrastructure; (iii) lowering runtime costs; and (iv) helping run tests for end-to-end integration,” as suggested by Albano (see [0059]).
Prior Art Arguments – Rejections
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered by Examiner, but they are not persuasive, as follows:
With respect to claim 1, Applicant first argues that “Chawla does not teach generating the test environment by using identified attributes to instantiate components represented in a subset of the production environment and using configuration details to identify relationships among those instantiated components. Nor does Chawla teach or suggest an update-driven relationship in which a particular security policy update determines or affects both the components and the component relationships instantiated in the test environment. Accordingly, Chawla does not teach or suggest at least the above-noted distinguishing features of independent claims 1 and 11, as amended.”1 In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Here, Chawla was not cited as teaching “a subset of” the production environment or “identified attributes”.
Examiner further notes that the claim does not recite “generating the test environment by using identified attributes to instantiate components represented in a subset of the production environment and using configuration details to identify relationships among those instantiated components”2, as argued by Applicant. However, Applicant appears to reference the limitation, “the test environment is generated by instantiating components represented in the subset of the production environment using the identified attributes and relationships among the instantiated components identified using the configuration details”. Except for “the subset of” and “the identified attributes”, which are taught by Musanai, this is taught be Chawla. Specifically, Chawla teaches generating, using information about the production network [configuration details], a virtualized network [test environment], which comprises models of production elements [components], and the virtualized network models communication between the component [test environment is generated by instantiating components represented in … production environment using … relationships among the instantiated components identified using the configuration details]3.
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “an update-driven relationship in which a particular security policy update determines or affects both the components and the component relationships instantiated in the test environment”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Nonetheless, Examiner notes that Chawla teaches that security policies “govern operations of a network, a network device, an interaction between network devices”4 and further teaches deploying security policy changes [security policy update] to a virtual network [test environment] that models communications between elements [components and the relationships being affected by the security policy update] based on model of interactions between elements of the production network5.
Applicant next argues that the above recited limitations are not cited by Chewe or Talmor6. However, these references are not cited as teaching these limitations.
Applicant next argues “Musani does not teach or suggest the above-recited features of claim 1, as amended. Musani merely determines a downsized inventory of hardware and software resources for evaluating a software upgrade. In contrast, amended claim 1 recites generating a test environment by ‘instantiating components represented in the subset of the production environment using the identified attributes and relationships among the instantiated components identified using configuration details [in which] the components and relationships [are] affected by the security policy update.’ Musani neither teaches nor suggests using identified attributes to identify components represented in an update-specific subset of a production environment, using configuration details to identify relationships among those components, or instantiating such components and relationships to generate the test environment based on a security policy update. Musani does not provide such claimed linkage between the security policy update, the identified attributes, the configuration details, the subset of the production environment, and the generated test environment. Accordingly, Musani does not teach or suggest at least the above-noted distinguishing features of independent claims 1 and 11, as amended.”7 In response, Examiner again notes that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. Contrary to the suggestion of Applicant, it is Chawla that teaches “using configuration details to identify relationships among those components, or instantiating such components and relationships to generate the test environment based on a security policy update”, as detailed above. Furthermore, Musani does teach “using identified attributes to identify components represented in an update-specific subset of a production environment”. Specifically, Musani teaches identifying a minimal inventory of a production environment related to an upgrade8, i.e., “using identified attributes to identify components represented in an update-specific subset of a production environment”
For the reasons set forth above, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
With respect to all other claims, Applicant references the argument made with respect to claim 19, which is unpersuasive for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Specifically, Eckhart et al. “Towards Security-Aware Virtual Environments for Digital Twins” teaches automated generation of digital twins and the monitoring of security and safety rules.
/STEPHEN D BERMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2192
1 See Remarks at p. 9.
2 See Remarks at p. 9.
3 See Figs. 1 and 4-6 along with associated text, e.g., [0021], [0031], and [0033].
4 See [0020].
5 See [0021]
6 See Remarks at pp. 9-10.
7 See Remarks at p. 11.
8 See [0037].
9 See Remarks at p. 11.