DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a continuation (CON) application of U.S. Application Serial Number 16/098,330, filed 11/01/2018, which is a 371 of PCT/US2017/030592, filed 5/02/2017. This application claims benefit to U.S. Provisional Application Serial Number 62/330,520, filed 5/02/2016. Claims 17, 20-22 and 28-32 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 17 and 20-22 in the reply filed on 5/11/2026 is acknowledged. New claims 28-32 depend from claim 17 and all claims drawn to non-elected inventions have been canceled; thus, Group III, claims 17, 20-22 and 28-32 have been examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 20-22 and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al., US 2015/0265685 (cite A, attached PTO-892; herein “Chen”) in view of Kumamoto et al., US Patent 7067254 (US Patent cite, IDS, 9/19/2024; herein “Kumamoto”).
Chen teaches methods of treating subjects with fibroproliferative disease wherein the disease is pulmonary arterial hypertension (PAH) by administering apyrases, such as CD39 apyrase; diagnosing the subject by assaying compounds in biological fluids and comparing to normal controls (Abst.; [0043]) wherein the PAH can be scleroderma-associated PAH [0011].
Chen teaches that extracellular ATP and ADP mediate inflammation in PAH [0063] and teaches that apyrase therapy, such as administration of CD39, reduces the extracellular ATP and ADP [0063].
Chen does not specifically teach administering a selective P2X1 antagonist to the subject; however, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to administer the P2X1 antagonist pyridoxalphosphate-6-azophenyl-2',4'-disulfonic acid (PPADS) or MRS 2159 to the subject in view of the disclosure of Kumamoto.
Kumamoto, like Chen, teaches administering nucleoside triphosphate diphosphohydrolases (NTPDases) to treat inflammatory responses associated with hyperactive immune conditions which elevate extracellular nucleotides (Abst.) wherein the NTPDase can be CD39 (col. 3, ll. 18-25).
Kumamoto further discloses that the inflammatory responses associated with hyperactive immune conditions which elevate extracellular nucleotides can be treated with P2X1 antagonists wherein the P2X1 antagonist can be PPADS or MRS2179 (col. 8, ll. 13-28).
Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method of Chen wherein the subject suffering from scleroderma-associated PAH is administered PPADS or MRS2179 in addition to the apyrase with a reasonable expectation of success because Kumamoto teaches that administering the P2X1 antagonists PPADS and/or MRS2179 treats the same inflammatory responses associated with hyperactive immune conditions which elevate extracellular nucleotides that are treated by the administration of apyrases; therefore, claims 17 and 20-21 are prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 22, Kumamoto discloses that the P2X pathway can alternatively be inhibited by an anti-P2-receptor antibody (col. 8, ll. 13-28); hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to practice the method made obvious by Chen in view of Kumamoto wherein the selective P2X1 antagonist is an antibody or antibody fragment; therefore, claim 22 is prima facie obvious.
As mentioned above, Chen teaches that extracellular ATP and ADP mediate inflammation in PAH [0063] and that CD39 reduces the extracellular ATP and ADP [0063]. Kumamoto discloses quantifying the expression of CD39 in samples from subjects (Figs. 2b-d; col. 9, ll. 51-67) and quantifying the levels of ATP and ADP in samples from subjects (Fig. 3b; col. 10, ll. 1-19).
Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious that subjects suffering from scleroderma-associated PAH would have a decreased level of CD39 expression and an elevated level of extracellular ATP and would find it obvious to assess CD39 expression and plasma ATP:adenosine ratio in the subject prior to administering the P2X1 antagonist in order to verify that the subject would benefit from selective P2X1 antagonist therapy; therefore, claims 29-32 are prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TRENT R CLARKE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1651
/DAVID W BERKE-SCHLESSEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1651