DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 11, 12, 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12,004,032 in view of Deng (Pub No.: 2023/0370909).
Instant Application
Patent No. 12,004,032
1. An apparatus for wireless communications, the apparatus comprising: memory comprising instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: obtain configuration information configuring the apparatus for conditional handover (CHO) from a source master node (S-MN) to a target master node (T-MN) and for conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) change (CPC); and in accordance with the configuration information: evaluate conditions associated with both the CHO and the CPC; initiate a CHO procedure in parallel with a CPC procedure based on the evaluation; and notify the T-MN of at least one target secondary node (T-SN) cell identity based on the initialization or a completion of the CPC procedure.
1. An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: a memory comprising instructions; and one or more processors coupled with the memory and configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: receive configuration information configuring the apparatus for conditional handover (CHO) from a source master node (S-MN) to a target master node (T-MN) and for conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition or change (CPAC); and perform a nested procedure based on an evaluation of conditions for both CHO and CPAC in accordance with the configuration information, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: initiate a CHO procedure in parallel with a CPAC procedure if the evaluation of the conditions triggers both the CHO procedure and the CPAC procedure; perform the CPAC procedure, if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CPAC procedure is triggered before a CHO procedure, without regard to a radio link failure (RLF) at the S-MN; perform the CPAC procedure even if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CHO procedure is triggered; perform the CHO procedure if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CHO procedure is triggered while the CPAC procedure is in progress; and recover a primary cell (PCell) using master cell group (MCG) failure information if the RLF is detected during the CPAC procedure.
Regarding claim 1, the claim 1 of the Patent discloses all the limitations of claim 1 with the exception of to notify the T-MN of at least one target secondary node (T-SN) cell identity based on the initialization or a completion of the CPC procedure.
Deng et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature to notify the T-MN (read as the MN in fig. 2) of at least one target secondary node (T-SN) cell identity (read as the target PSCell for change) based on the initialization or a completion of the CPC procedure (Deng et al. see fig. 2, steps 7-10; para. 0033-0036; In step 9, the UE finds that at least one potential PSCell meets the trigger condition for change. If there are multiple potential PSCells that meet the trigger condition for PSCell change, the UE may select the potential PSCell with highest signal quality as a target PSCell for change. In step 10, the UE indicates to the MN the determined target PSCell, i.e., the target PSCell to be accessed by the UE. The UE may indicate to the MN the determined target PSCell, for example, an identity of the target PSCell, through RRC signaling.). Thus, based on the signaling for CPC condition initiation, the UE finds at least one potential PSCell meets the condition and notifies the MN (e.g., T-MN) of the target PSCell for change.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of the Patent and to implement with the feature as taught by Deng such that the UE may notify the MN of at least one target PSCell for change based on CPC condition initiation.
The motivation would be to improve transmission reliability.
Claim 25 is rejected similarly to claim 1.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus further to receive additional configuration information configuring the apparatus for conditional PSCell addition (CPA).
1. … receive configuration information configuring the apparatus for conditional handover (CHO) from a source master node (S-MN) to a target master node (T-MN) and for conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition or change (CPAC);
3. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus further to perform the CPC procedure or a CPA procedure based on the evaluation indicating the CPC procedure or the CPA procedure is triggered before the CHO procedure, without regard to a radio link failure (RLF) at the S-MN.
1. …perform the CPAC procedure, if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CPAC procedure is triggered before a CHO procedure, without regard to a radio link failure (RLF) at the S-MN;
4. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus further to perform the CPC procedure or a CPA procedure even when the evaluation indicates the CHO procedure is triggered.
1. … perform the CPAC procedure even if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CHO procedure is triggered.
5. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus further to perform the CHO procedure based on the evaluation indicating the CHO procedure is triggered while the CPC procedure or a CPA procedure is in progress.
1. … perform the CHO procedure if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CHO procedure is triggered while the CPAC procedure is in progress;
6. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus further to recover a primary cell (PCell) by using master cell group (MCG) failure information based on a radio link failure (RLF) occurring during the CPC procedure or a CPA procedure.
1. … recover a primary cell (PCell) using master cell group (MCG) failure information if the RLF is detected during the CPAC procedure.
7. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus further to perform the CHO procedure based on the evaluation indicating the CHO procedure is triggered before the CPC procedure or a CPA procedure is triggered.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors being configured to perform the nested procedure comprises the one or more processors being configured to at least one of: complete the CHO procedure if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CHO procedure is triggered before the CPAC procedure is triggered; or complete the CPAC procedure if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CPAC procedure is triggered before the CHO procedure is triggered.
8. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus further to perform the CPC procedure or a CPA procedure based on the evaluation indicating the CPC procedure or the CPA procedure is triggered before the CHO procedure is triggered.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors being configured to perform the nested procedure comprises the one or more processors being configured to at least one of: complete the CHO procedure if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CHO procedure is triggered before the CPAC procedure is triggered; or complete the CPAC procedure if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CPAC procedure is triggered before the CHO procedure is triggered.
9. The apparatus of claim 2, wherein at least one of: the configuration information or the additional configuration information is obtained via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message.
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to receive the configuration information comprises the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message with a CPAC configuration and a CHO configuration containing a conditional PSCell change (CPC) configuration.
11. The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: pause or suspend the second CPC procedure or the CPA procedure; and perform the second CHO procedure while the second CPC procedure or the CPA procedure is paused or suspended.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein prioritizing the CHO procedure comprises: pausing or suspending the CPAC procedure; and performing the CHO procedure while the CPAC procedure is paused or suspended.
12. The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver configured to receive the configuration information, wherein the apparatus is configured as a user equipment (UE).
8. A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving configuration information configuring the UE for conditional handover (CHO) from a source master node (S-MN)…
Regarding claim 12, Although the claimed invention of the patent application is directed to a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), however the claimed invention of the patent application is an obvious variant of the claimed invention.
Claims 13-21, 23, 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 12,004,032 in view of Ali et al. (Pub No.: 2024/0205779).
Instant Application
Patent No. 12,004,032
13. An apparatus for wireless communications, the apparatus comprising: memory comprising instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: obtain configuration information configuring the apparatus for conditional handover (CHO) from a source master node (S-MN) to a target master node (T-MN) and for conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition (CPA); and in accordance with the configuration information: evaluate conditions associated with both the CHO and the CPA; initiate a CHO procedure in parallel with a CPC procedure based on the evaluation; and notify the T-MN of at least one target secondary node (T-SN) cell identity based on the initialization or a completion of the CPA procedure.
1. An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: a memory comprising instructions; and one or more processors coupled with the memory and configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: receive configuration information configuring the apparatus for conditional handover (CHO) from a source master node (S-MN) to a target master node (T-MN) and for conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition or change (CPAC); and perform a nested procedure based on an evaluation of conditions for both CHO and CPAC in accordance with the configuration information, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: initiate a CHO procedure in parallel with a CPAC procedure if the evaluation of the conditions triggers both the CHO procedure and the CPAC procedure; perform the CPAC procedure, if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CPAC procedure is triggered before a CHO procedure, without regard to a radio link failure (RLF) at the S-MN; perform the CPAC procedure even if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CHO procedure is triggered; perform the CHO procedure if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CHO procedure is triggered while the CPAC procedure is in progress; and recover a primary cell (PCell) using master cell group (MCG) failure information if the RLF is detected during the CPAC procedure.
Regarding claim 13, the claim 1 of the Patent discloses all the limitations of claim 1 with the exception to notify the T-MN of at least one target secondary node (T-SN) cell identity based on the initialization or a completion of the CPA procedure.
Ali et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature to notify the T-MN of at least one target secondary node (T-SN) cell identity based on the initialization or a completion of the CPA procedure (Ali et al. see para. 0114; when the UE initiates CPA recovery after the first failure, the UE may inform the master node about the identity of the target PSCell (either by providing an identity of the PSCell and/or by an identity of the CPA configuration that is executed by the UE after the first CPA failure).). Thus, based on CPA initiation, the UE may inform the master node about the identity of the target PSCell.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of the Patent and to implement with the feature as taught by Ali et al. such that the UE may notify the master node of at least one identity of the target PSCell based on CPA initiation.
The motivation would be to improve transmission reliability.
14. The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus further to receive additional configuration information configuring the apparatus for conditional PSCell change (CPC).
1. … receive configuration information configuring the apparatus for conditional handover (CHO) from a source master node (S-MN) to a target master node (T-MN) and for conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition or change (CPAC);
15. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus further to perform the CPA procedure or a CPC procedure based on the evaluation indicating the CPA procedure or the CPC procedure is triggered before the CHO procedure, without regard to a radio link failure (RLF) at the S-MN.
1. …perform the CPAC procedure, if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CPAC procedure is triggered before a CHO procedure, without regard to a radio link failure (RLF) at the S-MN;
16. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus further to perform the CPA procedure or a CPC procedure even when the evaluation indicates the CHO procedure is triggered.
1. … perform the CPAC procedure even if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CHO procedure is triggered.
17. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus further to perform the CHO procedure based on the evaluation indicating the CHO procedure is triggered while the CPA procedure or a CPC procedure is in progress.
1. … perform the CHO procedure if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CHO procedure is triggered while the CPAC procedure is in progress;
18. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus further to recover a primary cell (PCell) by using master cell group (MCG) failure information based on a radio link failure (RLF) occurring during the CPA procedure or a CPC procedure.
1. … recover a primary cell (PCell) using master cell group (MCG) failure information if the RLF is detected during the CPAC procedure.
19. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus further to perform the CHO procedure based on the evaluation indicating the CHO procedure is triggered before the CPA procedure or a CPC procedure is triggered.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors being configured to perform the nested procedure comprises the one or more processors being configured to at least one of: complete the CHO procedure if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CHO procedure is triggered before the CPAC procedure is triggered; or complete the CPAC procedure if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CPAC procedure is triggered before the CHO procedure is triggered.
20. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus further to perform the CPA procedure or a CPC procedure based on the evaluation indicating the CPA procedure or the CPC procedure is triggered before the CHO procedure is triggered.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors being configured to perform the nested procedure comprises the one or more processors being configured to at least one of: complete the CHO procedure if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CHO procedure is triggered before the CPAC procedure is triggered; or complete the CPAC procedure if the evaluation of the conditions indicates the CPAC procedure is triggered before the CHO procedure is triggered.
21. The apparatus of claim 14, wherein at least one of: the configuration information or the additional configuration information is obtained via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message.
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to receive the configuration information comprises the one or more processors being configured to cause the apparatus to receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message with a CPAC configuration and a CHO configuration containing a conditional PSCell change (CPC) configuration.
23. The apparatus of claim 22, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to: pause or suspend the second CPA procedure or the CPC procedure; and perform the second CHO procedure while the second CPA procedure or the CPC procedure is paused or suspended.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein prioritizing the CHO procedure comprises: pausing or suspending the CPAC procedure; and performing the CHO procedure while the CPAC procedure is paused or suspended.
24. The apparatus of claim 13, further comprising a transceiver configured to receive the configuration information, wherein the apparatus is configured as a user equipment (UE).
8. A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving configuration information configuring the UE for conditional handover (CHO) from a source master node (S-MN)…
Regarding claim 24, Although the claimed invention of the patent application is directed to a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), however the claimed invention of the patent application is an obvious variant of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9-12, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deenoo et al. (Pub No.: 2022/0394583) in view of Deng (Pub No.: 2023/0370909).
Regarding claim 1, Deenoo et al. discloses an apparatus (see WTRU in fig. 5) for wireless communications, the apparatus comprising: memory (see memories 130, 132 in fig. 1b) comprising instructions; and one or more processors (see processor 118 in fig. 1b) configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
obtain configuration information configuring the apparatus for conditional handover (CHO) from a source master node (S-MN) (read as source MCG in fig. 5) to a target master node (T-MN) (read as candidate MCG in fig. 5) and for conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) change (CPC) (Deenoo et al. see fig. 5, WTRU, Source MCG and Candidate MCG; para. 0073, 0148, 0149; the WTRU may be configured to receive and/or store the CPAC and CHO configurations, and to monitor the trigger conditions associated with both CPAC and CHO configurations). The UE obtains the configurations for CHO and CPAC from source MCG to candidate MCG; and
in accordance with the configuration information:
evaluate conditions associated with both the CHO and the CPC (Deenoo et al. see para. 0148, 0150-0153; For example, the WTRU may be configured to perform one or more actions associated with a CPAC configuration based on the status of one or more trigger conditions associated with a CHO configuration. The WTRU may be configured with one or more of the following behaviors.). The UE evaluates/monitors the conditions associated with the CHO and CPAC;
initiate a CHO procedure in parallel with a CPC procedure based on the evaluation (Deenoo et al. see para. 0150, 0153; The WTRU may support concurrent execution of CHO and CPC (e.g., instead of prioritizing one over the other), including triggering or performing CHO and CPAC, e.g., simultaneously.).
However, Deenoo et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature to notify the T-MN of at least one target secondary node (T-SN) cell identity based on the initialization or a completion of the CPC procedure.
Deng et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature to notify the T-MN of at least one target secondary node (T-SN) cell identity based on the initialization or a completion of the CPC procedure (Deng et al. see fig. 2, steps 7-10; para. 0033-0036; In step 9, the UE finds that at least one potential PSCell meets the trigger condition for change. If there are multiple potential PSCells that meet the trigger condition for PSCell change, the UE may select the potential PSCell with highest signal quality as a target PSCell for change. In step 10, the UE indicates to the MN the determined target PSCell, i.e., the target PSCell to be accessed by the UE. The UE may indicate to the MN the determined target PSCell, for example, an identity of the target PSCell, through RRC signaling.). Thus, based on the signaling for CPC condition initiation, the UE finds at least one potential PSCell meets the condition and notifies the MN (e.g., T-MN) of the target PSCell for change.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Deenoo et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Deng such that the UE may notify the MN (e.g., T-MN) of at least one target PSCell for change based on CPC condition initiation.
The motivation would be to improve transmission reliability.
Claim 25 is rejected similarly to claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Deenoo et al. discloses the feature wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus further to receive additional configuration information configuring the apparatus for conditional PSCell addition (CPA) (Deenoo et al. see para. 0147-0149; the WTRU may be configured to receive and/or store both CPAC and CHO configurations.). The WTRU receives configuration for CPA, CPC and CHO.
Regarding claim 4, Deenoo et al. discloses the feature to perform the CPC procedure or a CPA procedure even when the evaluation indicates the CHO procedure is triggered (Deenoo et al. see para. 0153; The WTRU may support concurrent execution of CHO and CPC (e.g., instead of prioritizing one over the other), including triggering or performing CHO and CPAC, e.g., simultaneously. For example, the WTRU may trigger a CHO while a CPAC is ongoing or the WTRU may trigger a CHO while a CPAC is ongoing.). The CPAC can be perform while the CHO is triggered.
Regarding claim 5, Deenoo et al. discloses the feature to perform the CHO procedure based on the evaluation indicating the CHO procedure is triggered while the CPC procedure or a CPA procedure is in progress (Deenoo et al. see para. 0150, 0153; triggering or performing CHO and CPAC, e.g., simultaneously. For example, the WTRU may trigger a CHO while a CPAC is ongoing or the WTRU may trigger a CHO while a CPAC is ongoing..). Thus, the CHO is performed while the CPAC is ongoing.
Regarding claim 7, Deenoo et al. discloses the feature to perform the CHO procedure based on the evaluation indicating the CHO procedure is triggered before the CPC procedure or a CPA procedure is triggered (Deenoo et al. see para. 0150, 0153; The WTRU may prioritize a CHO over a CPAC. For example, the WTRU may be configured to prioritize a CHO over a CPAC if one or more trigger conditions associated with both CHO and CPAC are satisfied (e.g., at the same time). The CHO is prioritized even if the CPAC condition is triggered.
Regarding claim 9, Deenoo et al. discloses the feature wherein at least one of: the configuration information or the additional configuration information is obtained via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (Deenoo et al. see para. 0146; the WTRU may receive an RRC configuration or reconfiguration message associated with CPAC (e.g., associated with a CPAC configuration).
Regarding claim 10, Deenoo et al. discloses the feature to initiate a second CPC procedure or a CPA procedure based on a second evaluation of the conditions indicating the second CPC procedure or the CPA procedure is triggered before a second CHO procedure; and prioritize the second CHO procedure based on the second evaluation of the conditions indicating the second CHO procedure is triggered after the second CPC procedure or the CPA procedure (Deenoo et al. see para. 0150, 0153; The WTRU may prioritize a CHO over a CPAC. For example, the WTRU may be configured to prioritize a CHO over a CPAC if one or more trigger conditions associated with both CHO and CPAC are satisfied (e.g., at the same time). The CHO is prioritized even if the CPAC condition is triggered.
Regarding claim 11, Deenoo et al. discloses the feature to pause or suspend the second CPC procedure or the CPA procedure; and perform the second CHO procedure while the second CPC procedure or the CPA procedure is paused or suspended (Deenoo et al. see para. 0151; the WTRU may be configured to prioritize a CHO over a CPAC if one or more trigger conditions associated with both CHO and CPAC are satisfied (e.g., at the same time). In examples, the WTRU may abort an ongoing CPAC action).
Regarding claim 12, Deenoo et al. discloses the feature to receive the configuration information, wherein the apparatus is configured as a user equipment (UE) (Deenoo et al. see fig. 5, WTRU; para. 0146.).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deenoo et al. (Pub No.: 2022/0394583) in view of Deng (Pub No.: 2023/0370909) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Selvaganapathy et al. (EP 3 972 338) of which the filing date: 09/18/2020 is replied on (application no.: EP20196944.1), a translated copy is provided for the applicant’s consideration.
Regarding claim 8, Deenoo et al. in view of Deng does not explicitly disclose the feature to perform the CPC procedure or a CPA procedure based on the evaluation indicating the CPC procedure or the CPA procedure is triggered before the CHO procedure is triggered.
Selaganapathy et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature to perform the CPC procedure or a CPA procedure based on the evaluation indicating the CPC procedure or the CPA procedure is triggered before the CHO procedure is triggered (Selvaganapathy et al. see fig. 8, step 810-812; page 24, lines 24-26).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Deenoo et al. in view of Deng and to implement with the feature as taught by Selvaganapathy et al. to perform CPC or CPA procedure before the CHO procedure is triggered.
The motivation would be to reduce transmission error.
Claim(s) 13, 14, 16, 17, 19, 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deenoo et al. (Pub No.: 2022/0394583) in view of Ali et al. (Pub No.: 2024/0205779).
Regarding claim 13, Deenoo et al. discloses an apparatus (see WTRU in fig. 5) for wireless communications, the apparatus comprising: memory (see memories 130, 132 in fig. 1b) comprising instructions; and one or more processors (see processor 118 in fig. 1b) configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to:
obtain configuration information configuring the apparatus for conditional handover (CHO) from a source master node (S-MN) (read as source MCG in fig. 5) to a target master node (T-MN) (read as candidate MCG in fig. 5) and for conditional primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition (CPA) (Deenoo et al. see fig. 5, WTRU, Source MCG and Candidate MCG; para. 0073, 0148, 0149; the WTRU may be configured to receive and/or store the CPAC and CHO configurations, and to monitor the trigger conditions associated with both CPAC and CHO configurations). The UE obtains the configurations for CHO and CPAC from source MCG to candidate MCG; and
in accordance with the configuration information:
evaluate conditions associated with both the CHO and the CPA (Deenoo et al. see para. 0148, 0150-0153; For example, the WTRU may be configured to perform one or more actions associated with a CPAC configuration based on the status of one or more trigger conditions associated with a CHO configuration. The WTRU may be configured with one or more of the following behaviors.). The UE evaluates/monitors the conditions associated with the CHO and CPAC;
initiate a CHO procedure in parallel with a CPC procedure based on the evaluation (Deenoo et al. see para. 0150, 0153; The WTRU may support concurrent execution of CHO and CPC (e.g., instead of prioritizing one over the other), including triggering or performing CHO and CPAC, e.g., simultaneously.).
However, Deenoo et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature to notify the T-MN of at least one target secondary node (T-SN) cell identity based on the initialization or a completion of the CPA procedure.
Ali et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature to notify the T-MN of at least one target secondary node (T-SN) cell identity based on the initialization or a completion of the CPA procedure (Ali et al. see para. 0114; when the UE initiates CPA recovery after the first failure, the UE may inform the master node about the identity of the target PSCell (either by providing an identity of the PSCell and/or by an identity of the CPA configuration that is executed by the UE after the first CPA failure).). Thus, based on CPA initiation, the UE may inform the master node about the identity of the target PSCell.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Deenoo et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Ali et al. such that the UE may notify the master node of at least one identity of the target PSCell based on CPA initiation.
The motivation would be to improve transmission reliability.
Regarding claim 14, Deenoo et al. discloses the feature to receive additional configuration information configuring the apparatus for conditional PSCell change (CPC) (Deenoo et al. see para. 0147-0149; the WTRU may be configured to receive and/or store both CPAC and CHO configurations.). The WTRU receives configuration for CPA, CPC and CHO.
Regarding claim 16, Deenoo et al. discloses the feature to perform the CPA procedure or a CPC procedure even when the evaluation indicates the CHO procedure is triggered (Deenoo et al. see para. 0153; The WTRU may support concurrent execution of CHO and CPC (e.g., instead of prioritizing one over the other), including triggering or performing CHO and CPAC, e.g., simultaneously. For example, the WTRU may trigger a CHO while a CPAC is ongoing or the WTRU may trigger a CHO while a CPAC is ongoing.). The CPAC can be perform while the CHO is triggered.
Regarding claim 17, Deenoo et al. discloses the feature to perform the CHO procedure based on the evaluation indicating the CHO procedure is triggered while the CPA procedure or a CPC procedure is in progress (Deenoo et al. see para. 0150, 0153; triggering or performing CHO and CPAC, e.g., simultaneously. For example, the WTRU may trigger a CHO while a CPAC is ongoing or the WTRU may trigger a CHO while a CPAC is ongoing..). Thus, the CHO is performed while the CPAC is ongoing.
Regarding claim 19, Deenoo et al. discloses the feature to perform the CHO procedure based on the evaluation indicating the CHO procedure is triggered before the CPA procedure or a CPC procedure is triggered (Deenoo et al. see para. 0150, 0153; The WTRU may prioritize a CHO over a CPAC. For example, the WTRU may be configured to prioritize a CHO over a CPAC if one or more trigger conditions associated with both CHO and CPAC are satisfied (e.g., at the same time). The CHO is prioritized even if the CPAC condition is triggered.
Regarding claim 21, Deenoo et al. discloses the feature wherein at least one of: the configuration information or the additional configuration information is obtained via a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message (Deenoo et al. see para. 0146; the WTRU may receive an RRC configuration or reconfiguration message associated with CPAC (e.g., associated with a CPAC configuration).
Regarding claim 22, Deenoo et al. discloses the feature to initiate a second CPA procedure or a CPC procedure based on a second evaluation of the conditions indicating the second CPA procedure or the CPC procedure is triggered before a second CHO procedure; and prioritize the second CHO procedure based on the second evaluation of the conditions indicating the second CHO procedure is triggered after the second CPA procedure or the CPC procedure (Deenoo et al. see para. 0150, 0153; The WTRU may prioritize a CHO over a CPAC. For example, the WTRU may be configured to prioritize a CHO over a CPAC if one or more trigger conditions associated with both CHO and CPAC are satisfied (e.g., at the same time). The CHO is prioritized even if the CPAC condition is triggered.
Regarding claim 23, Deenoo et al. discloses the feature to pause or suspend the second CPA procedure or the CPC procedure; and perform the second CHO procedure while the second CPA procedure or the CPC procedure is paused or suspended (Deenoo et al. see para. 0151; the WTRU may be configured to prioritize a CHO over a CPAC if one or more trigger conditions associated with both CHO and CPAC are satisfied (e.g., at the same time). In examples, the WTRU may abort an ongoing CPAC action).
Regarding claim 24, Deenoo et al. discloses the feature to receive the configuration information, wherein the apparatus is configured as a user equipment (UE) (Deenoo et al. see fig. 5, WTRU; para. 0146.).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deenoo et al. (Pub No.: 2022/0394583) in view of Ali et al. (Pub No.: 2024/0205779) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Selvaganapathy et al. (EP 3 972 338) of which the filing date: 09/18/2020 is replied on (application no.: EP20196944.1), a translated copy is provided for the applicant’s consideration.
Regarding claim 20, Deenoo et al. in view of Ali et al. does not explicitly disclose the feature to perform the CPA procedure or a CPC procedure based on the evaluation indicating the CPA procedure or the CPC procedure is triggered before the CHO procedure is triggered.
Selvaganapathy et al. from the same or similar fields of endeavor discloses the feature to perform the CPA procedure or a CPC procedure based on the evaluation indicating the CPA procedure or the CPC procedure is triggered before the CHO procedure is triggered (Selvaganapathy et al. see fig. 8, step 810-812; page 24, lines 24-26).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosure of Deenoo et al. in view of Ali et al. and to implement with the feature as taught by Selvaganapathy et al. to perform CPC or CPA procedure before the CHO procedure is triggered.
The motivation would be to reduce transmission error.
Examiner's Note
The Applicant is welcome to request a telephonic interview if the Applicant has any questions or requires any additional information that would further or expedite the prosecution of the application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 15, 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hwang (Pub No.: 2024/0187956) discloses an embodiment of the present disclosure, a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system is provided. The method according to the embodiment includes evaluating a mobility execution condition based on first conditional mobility configuration information among a plurality of conditional mobility configuration information received from a network, executing conditional mobility based on the first conditional mobility configuration information when the mobility execution condition based on the first conditional mobility configuration information is satisfied, and releasing second conditional mobility configuration information different from the first conditional mobility configuration information from among the stored plurality of conditional mobility configuration information.
Da Silva et al. (Pub No.: 2023/0199577) discloses techniques for conditional reconfiguration in a multi-connectivity scenario. In an example method, a first network node, configured to operate as a master node, MN, for multi-connectivity operation of a wireless device along with a second network node operating as a secondary node, SN, for the wireless device, determines (810) to configure the wireless device with a conditional reconfiguration and transmits (820) a handover request message to a third network node, the handover request message including an indication that the handover request message is for conditional handover. The first network node receives (830) an acknowledgment of the handover request message and, in response, delays (840) transmission of a release message to the second network node until the first network node receives an indication that the conditional handover is executed.
/KAN YUEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464