DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to original application filed on 5-7-24. Claims 1-16 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b) (3). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2021/0111443 to WANG et al. (“WANG”) in view of US 2021/0376387 to LIANG et al. (“LIANG”).
Regarding claim 1, WANG discloses an electric vehicle comprising:
wherein the battery system includes a plurality of battery modules ([0020-0022], each a battery cell with sensors housed in the battery pack); one or more thermistors ([0120], thermistor is a temperature sensor) attached to each battery module ([0007], method for detecting battery thermal runaway, including: obtaining an output signal of an air pressure sensor located in a battery pack), each thermistor ([0012], a time in which a highest temperature of a battery cell in the battery pack is greater than a predetermined temperature threshold exceeds a first time threshold) configured to measure a temperature of air (([0020-0022], predetermined temperature detection time) and [0119], thermal runaway in the battery pack may be as shown in FIG. 6.) around the battery module to which the thermistor is attached; and a controller configured to determine, based on temperatures measured ([0020-0022], predetermined detection time) by the one or more thermistors at different times ([0014], a time in which a difference between a highest temperature and a lowest temperature of a battery cell in the battery pack is greater than a predetermined difference threshold exceeds a third time threshold), a rate of change of a temperature ([0120], In FIG. 6, T max is the highest temperature of the battery cell, dT/dt is the temperature rise rate of the battery cell over time) of the air around the battery module and configured to generate, in response to a determined rate of change that exceeds a threshold rate of change ([0013], a time in which a temperature rise rate of a battery cell in the battery pack over time is greater than a predetermined rise rate threshold exceeds a second time threshold), a signal ([0019], the generating an alarm signal indicating occurrence of thermal runaway in the battery pack based on the state information of the air pressure sensor and the parameter information of the battery pack includes).
But, WANG does not discloses an electric motor configured for powering the electric vehicle; a battery system configured for supplying power to the electric motor,
However, LIANG disclose an electric motor (fig. 1, battery electric vehicle 100) configured for powering the electric vehicle; a battery system ([0053], a battery electric vehicle) configured for supplying power to the electric motor ([0053], the battery pack 200 can satisfy power demands of the vehicle during starting, navigation and operation of the vehicle 100),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WANG by adding electric vehicle as part of its configuration as taught by LIANG, in order use the electric vehicle using plurality of batteries have large capacity or power to run the motor and the electric vehicle can charge the battery.
Regarding claim 2, WANG discloses each thermistor includes a negative thermal coefficient thermistor ([0120], Vmin is the lowest voltage of the battery cell, and the negative temperature coefficient (Negative Temperature Coefficient, NTC for short) thermistor is a temperature sensor).
Regarding claim 3, WANG discloses each thermistor includes a positive thermal coefficient thermistor ([0120], In FIG. 6, Tmax is the highest temperature of the battery cell, dT/dt is the temperature rise rate of the battery cell over time, coefficient (Positive Temperature Coefficient, NTC for short) thermistor is a temperature sensor).
Regarding claim 4, WANG discloses the battery system includes at least 16 battery modules ([0014-0028], a battery cell in the battery pack).
Regarding claim 5, WANG discloses the rate of change of the temperature is determined over a time interval of at least one second ([0013], a time in which a temperature rise rate of a battery cell in the battery pack over time is greater than a predetermined rise rate threshold exceeds a second time threshold).
Regarding claim 6, WANG discloses two or more thermistors are attached to each battery module ([0020-0022], each battery cell with sensors housed in the battery pack).
Regarding claim 7, WANG discloses the controller is configured to determine, based on temperatures measured ([0020-0022], predetermined detection time) by a first one of the thermistors at different times ([0020]), a first rate of change ([0021], a time in which a temperature rise rate of a battery cell in the battery pack over time is greater than the predetermined rise rate threshold exceeds the second time threshold) of a temperature of the air around the battery module, which exceeds the threshold rate of change ([0013], a time in which a temperature rise rate of a battery cell in the battery pack over time is greater than a predetermined rise rate threshold exceeds a second time threshold) and to determine, based on temperatures measured ([0020-0022], predetermined detection time) by a second one of the thermistors at different times ([0013], a time in which a temperature rise rate of a battery cell in the battery pack over time is greater than a predetermined rise rate threshold exceeds a second time threshold), a second rate of change of a temperature of the air around the battery module, which exceeds the threshold rate of change ([0013], a time in which a temperature rise rate of a battery cell in the battery pack over time is greater than a predetermined rise rate threshold exceeds a second time threshold), and configured to generate, in response to a determined first and second rates of change ([0013], a time in which a temperature rise rate of a battery cell in the battery pack over time is greater than a predetermined rise rate threshold exceeds a second time threshold), the signal.
Regarding claim 8, WANG discloses a plurality of thermistor housings ([0020-0022], each a battery cell with sensor housed in the battery pack), each thermistor housing containing a thermistor of the thermistors, each thermistor housing including a first portion configured for mechanical attachment to a battery module housing (it is known in the art to use a battery cell arranged side by side in the battery pack housing) and a second portion configured to position the thermistor contained within the thermistor housing adjacent to an exterior wall (it is known in the art to use each battery cell arranged side by side in the battery pack housing) the battery module housing when the first portion is mechanically attached to the battery module housing ([0020-0022], each a battery cell with sensors housed in the battery pack).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses the thermistor housing to the second portion of the thermistor housing.
Wang does not disclose “the thermistor housing to the second portion of the thermistor housing”. However, Wang does disclose thermistor is a temperature sensor which is the temperature sensors within a same module of the battery pack, and it is known in the art to use thermistor for each battery cell arranged side by side in the battery pack housing. It has previously been held that “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close”. See MPEP 2144.05.I. It has further been held that Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the workable arrangement of housing by routine experimentation." See MPEP 2144.05.II.A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have provided the thermistor housing to the second portion of the thermistor housing of Wang without established criticality of thermistor housing, and/or as the mere discovery or workable housing by routine experimentation within prior art conditions.
But, WANG does not discloses a polymer material that secures the thermistor,
However, LIANG discloses a polymer material that secures the thermistor ([0086], polymer matrix in the present embodiment plays a role of a positive temperature coefficient (PTC for short) thermistor layer),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WANG by adding polymer materials as part of its configuration as taught by LIANG, in order to use as protective layer can be an insulating layer and response temperature and response speed of the PTC effect due to different materials of the binder and PTC matrix, and on the other hand being beneficial for preparing a thin protective layer .
Regarding claim 12, WANG discloses the first portion of the thermistor housing includes a first portion ([0131], temperature sensors within the same module of the battery pack and [0140]) of a snap-fit assembly for engaging with a second portion of the snap-fit assembly located on the battery module housing ([0020-0022], each a battery cell with sensors housed in the battery pack), wherein the snap-fit mechanically attaches the thermistor housing to the battery module housing ([0140]).
Regarding claim 14, WANG discloses a method comprising: attaching a plurality of thermistors ([0020-0022], each a battery cell with sensor housed in the battery pack) to a battery system ([0011], the generating an alarm signal indicating occurrence of thermal runaway in the battery pack based on the state information of the air pressure sensor and the parameter information of the battery pack includes: when the air pressure sensor is in an air pressure alarm state), wherein the battery system supplies power to an electric motor of the electric vehicle, wherein the battery system includes a plurality of battery modules ([0020-0022], each a battery cell with sensor housed in the battery pack) and one or more thermistors of the plurality of thermistors are attached to each battery module ([0007], air pressure sensor based on the output signal of the air pressure sensor; generating an alarm signal indicating occurrence of thermal runaway in the battery pack based on the state information of the air pressure sensor and the parameter information of the battery pack); measuring ([0020-0022], predetermined detection time), with one or more thermistors attached to battery module, a temperature of air (([0020-0022], predetermined temperature detection time) around the battery module to which the one or more thermistors are attached; determining, based on temperatures measured by the one or more thermistors at different times, a rate of change of a temperature of the air around the battery module; and generating, in response to a determined rate of change that exceeds a threshold rate of change ([0013], a time in which a temperature rise rate of a battery cell in the battery pack over time is greater than a predetermined rise rate threshold exceeds a second time threshold), a signal ([0019], the generating an alarm signal indicating occurrence of thermal runaway in the battery pack based on the state information of the air pressure sensor and the parameter information of the battery pack includes).
But, WANG does not disclose of an electric vehicle,
However, LIANG discloses an electric vehicle (fig. 1, battery electric vehicle 100),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WANG by adding electric vehicle as part of its configuration as taught by LIANG, in order use the electric vehicle using plurality of batteries have large capacity or power to run the motor and the electric vehicle can charge the battery.
Regarding claim 15, WANG discloses the rate of change of the temperature is determined over a time interval of at least one second ([0013], a time in which a temperature rise rate of a battery cell in the battery pack over time is greater than a predetermined rise rate threshold exceeds a second time threshold).
Regarding claim 16, WANG discloses determining, based on temperatures measured by a first one of the thermistors at different times ([0020]-[0022]), a first rate of change of a temperature ([0021], a time in which a temperature rise rate of a battery cell in the battery pack over time is greater than the predetermined rise rate threshold exceeds the second time threshold) of the air around the battery module, which exceeds the threshold rate of change ([0013], a time in which a temperature rise rate of a battery cell in the battery pack over time is greater than a predetermined rise rate threshold exceeds a second time threshold); determining, based on temperatures measured by a second one of the thermistors at different times ([0013], a time in which a temperature rise rate of a battery cell in the battery pack over time is greater than a predetermined rise rate threshold exceeds a second time threshold), a second rate of change of a temperature of the air around the battery module, which exceeds the threshold rate of chang e ([0013], a time in which a temperature rise rate of a battery cell in the battery pack over time is greater than a predetermined rise rate threshold exceeds a second time threshold); and generating, in response to a combination of the determined first and second rates of change ([0013], a time in which a temperature rise rate of a battery cell in the battery pack over time is greater than a predetermined rise rate threshold exceeds a second time threshold), the signal.
Claims 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2021/0111443 to WANG et al. (“WANG”) in view of US 2021/0376387 to LIANG et al. (“LIANG”).
Regarding claim 10, WANG discloses the claimed invention except for “the polymer material has a dielectric breakdown voltage of at least 10 kV per millimeter”.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that the particular polymer dielectric breakdown voltage used would depend on the desired polymer voltage of the particular system/components used.
Since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 11, WANG discloses the claimed invention except for “the polymer material has a thermal conductivity of at least 0.8 W/m-K”.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that the particular polymer material thermal conductivity used would depend on the desired polymer thermal conductivity of the particular system/components used.
Since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 13, WANG discloses the claimed invention except for “the threshold rate of change is at least 3 °C”.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that the particular threshold rate of change used would depend on the desired threshold rate of change of the particular system/components used.
Since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mische US 11,569,535 Bl- Systems and methods for identifying thermal run-away events in a battery pack can include using sensing circuits made up of series- or parallel-linked thermistors to measure subsets of the individual battery cells in a battery pack. Using multiple sensing circuits, a monitoring system can positively identify when a threshold temperature of any single battery cell has been reached even though individual temperatures are not monitored and can generate a signal indicative of a thermal run-away event based on the detected temperature.
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 /Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2836