DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-23, 27-32 and 36-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farley et al. (3,320,727).
Regarding claims 19, 28 and 37 (addressed together due to only slightly varying language), Farley discloses a vacuum cleaner comprising:(a) an air flow path extending from a dirty air inlet (19) to a clean air outlet (21); (b) first housing (11; claims 28 and 37) comprising a chamber (within housing 11; claim 37) with a cyclone (23/27) that is positioned downstream of the dirty air inlet, the cyclone/chamber comprising a cyclone/chamber air inlet (20), a cyclone/chamber air outlet (25) and a cyclone axis of rotation (A; see annotated Fig. 2 below) defining a direction that air flows through the chamber (particularly in the air outlet 25 and dirty air outlet 29); (c) a second housing (18; claims 28 and 37) that is laterally spaced from the first housing in a forward/rearward direction (X) that is transverse to the cyclone axis and direction that air flows through the chamber, the second housing comprising a pre-motor filter (46) that is positioned in the air flow path downstream of the cyclone, the pre-motor filter is laterally spaced from the cyclone in a forward/rearward direction that is transverse to the cyclone axis of rotation; (d) a suction motor (33) that is positioned in the air flow path downstream of the pre- motor filter, the suction motor is laterally spaced from the cyclone in a direction transverse to the cyclone axis of rotation; (e) an end portion (13) moveable between a closed position, in which the end position overlies the cyclone and the pre-motor filter and the cyclone axis of rotation extends through the end portion (as seen in Fig. 2) and the first and second housing are closed (claims 28 and 37), and an open position in which the pre-motor filter is accessible (Col. 3, lines52-53) and the first and second housing are open (claims 28 and 37); and, (f) a handle (66), which is mounted to the vacuum cleaner at a first location and a second location that is rearward of the first location, wherein a first plane (B), which is parallel to the cyclone axis of rotation and which is also laterally spaced from the cyclone axis of rotation in the forward/rearward direction, extends through the suction motor, the pre-motor filter and the handle.
Regarding the amended limitations of each of claims 19, 28 and 37, the end portion (13) of Farley is disclosed to include member (54) “cemented’ to horizontal portion (52) (Col. 2, lines 67-69) that is part of end portion (13), with member (54) including stepped sections (57, 58 and 61), which may be considered to define an end wall of the cyclone (when viewed from the external/upper end, and clearly defining the outlet of the cyclone, which is part of the cyclone) at a first/upper end of the cyclone. Further, due to being “cemented” to the removable end portion (13), the end wall is understood to be moveable between the open and closed positions as claimed, and when in the open position the pre-motor filter is accessible and the first end of the cyclone is opened (at least upper end of sleeve 25 is considered to be more opened from the closed position, similar to the outlet being opened for the current invention via the sleeve 36 when closed, but more opened when the end portion is in the open position).
Regarding claims 20 and 29 (claims 24 and 33 depending from claims addressed below), Farley further discloses a second plane (C1 or C2), which is transverse to the cyclone axis of rotation, extends through the cyclone and the pre-motor filter.
Regarding claims 21, 30 and 38, Farley further discloses a third plane (D), which is transverse to the cyclone axis of rotation extends through the cyclone and the suction motor and wherein the third plane is axially spaced from the second plane in a direction of the cyclone axis of rotation.
Regarding claims 22 and 31, Farley further discloses that the cyclone air inlet and the cyclone air outlet are at a common end of the cyclone.
Regarding claims 23 and 32, Farley further discloses that the cyclone air inlet and the cyclone air outlet are located adjacent the end portion.
Regarding claims 27 and 36, Farley further discloses that the dirty air inlet is located adjacent the end portion.
Regarding claims 39-41, Farley further discloses a dirt collection region (space external to cyclone section 27 and within base container 12) in fluid flow communication with the cyclone, and wherein the second (C2) and third (D) planes each extend through the dirt collection region (portion external to cyclone portion 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 42-44 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Farley et al. (3,320,727), as applied to claims 19, 28 and 37, and in view of Eriksson et al. (3,877,902).
Farley discloses that the first location at which the handle is mounted is on an upper end of the vacuum cleaner , but fails to disclose that when the vacuum cleaner is oriented with the handle at the upper end of the vacuum cleaner, an inlet end of the suction motor in the air flow path faces downwardly. Eriksson discloses a very similar suction cleaner, also having a cyclone, pre-motor filter and suction motor with a removable upper end portion (39), and teaches that the airflow from the pre-motor filter to the suction motor may include a path that changes direction by 180 degrees and also allows the air to exit the cleaner via a series of openings (19) in an annular part (13), which is understood to anyone of ordinary skill in the art to reduce noise created by the vacuum by providing the sinuous path to the suction motor and the plurality of annularly spaced outlets. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a similar air flow path from the pre-motor filter to the suction motor and to a plurality of exhaust openings, as taught by Eriksson, to reduce noise from the cleaner, and which will orient an inlet of the suction motor to face downwardly when the vacuum cleaner is oriented with the handle at the upper end of the vacuum cleaner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the Conrad (2008/0216282 and 2008/0134460) references are also considered to anticipate all pending claims. The Farley reference is applied above as a better prior art due to being an older reference with no common assignee or inventor.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN R MULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 22 October 2026