DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farley et al. (3,320,727).
Regarding claims 19, 28 and 37 (addressed together due to only slightly varying language), Farley discloses a vacuum cleaner comprising:(a) an air flow path extending from a dirty air inlet (19) to a clean air outlet (21); (b) first housing (11; claims 28 and 37) comprising a chamber (within housing 11; claim 37) with a cyclone (23/27) that is positioned downstream of the dirty air inlet, the cyclone/chamber comprising a cyclone/chamber air inlet (20), a cyclone/chamber air outlet (25) and a cyclone axis of rotation (A; see annotated Fig. 2 below) defining a direction that air flows through the chamber (particularly in the air outlet 25 and dirty air outlet 29); (c) a second housing (18; claims 28 and 37) that is laterally spaced from the first housing in a forward/rearward direction (X) that is transverse to the cyclone axis and direction that air flows through the chamber, the second housing comprising a pre-motor filter (46) that is positioned in the air flow path downstream of the cyclone, the pre-motor filter is laterally spaced from the cyclone in a forward/rearward direction that is transverse to the cyclone axis of rotation; (d) a suction motor (33) that is positioned in the air flow path downstream of the pre- motor filter, the suction motor is laterally spaced from the cyclone in a direction transverse to the cyclone axis of rotation; (e) an end portion (13) moveable between a closed position, in which the end position overlies the cyclone and the pre-motor filter and the cyclone axis of rotation extends through the end portion (as seen in Fig. 2) and the first and second housing are closed (claims 28 and 37), and an open position in which the pre-motor filter is accessible (Col. 3, lines52-53) and the first and second housing are open (claims 28 and 37); and, (f) a handle (66), which is mounted to the vacuum cleaner at a first location and a second location that is rearward of the first location, wherein a first plane (B), which is parallel to the cyclone axis of rotation and which is also laterally spaced from the cyclone axis of rotation in the forward/rearward direction, extends through the suction motor, the pre-motor filter and the handle.
Regarding claims 20, 24, 29 and 33 (claims 24 and 33 depending from claims to be addressed below), Farley further discloses a second plane (C), which is transverse to the cyclone axis of rotation, extends through the cyclone and the pre-motor filter.
Regarding claims 21, 25, 30, 34 and 38, Farley further discloses a third plane (D), which is transverse to the cyclone axis of rotation extends through the cyclone and the suction motor and wherein the third plane is axially spaced from the second plane in a direction of the cyclone axis of rotation.
Regarding claims 22 and 31, Farley further discloses that the cyclone air inlet and the cyclone air outlet are at a common end of the cyclone.
Regarding claims 23 and 32, Farley further discloses that the cyclone air inlet and the cyclone air outlet are located adjacent the end portion.
Regarding claims 26, 27, 35 and 36, Farley further discloses that the dirty air inlet is located adjacent the end portion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the Conrad (2008/0216282 and 2008/0134460) references are also considered to anticipate all pending claims and Eriksson et al. (3,877,902) provides similar structure as well. The Farley reference is applied above as a better prior art due to being an older reference with no common assignee or inventor.
/BRYAN R MULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 20 May 2026