CTFR 18/657,454 CTFR 98060 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments, see page 1, filed 04/07/2026, with respect to claims 1-7, and 11-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC § 102 Claim Rejections of claims 1-7, and 11-18 have been withdrawn. Applicant’s amendment to claim 8 merely incorporates the cooling fan limitation previously recited in former dependent claim 2 into independent form. However, the cooling fan limitation was previously addressed and taught by Antunes in the prior Office Action. The amended claim 8does not incorporate any of the limitations previously indicated as allowable subject matter, including, for example, the plurality of lateral heatsink fins, plurality of arch fins, or plurality of brace elbows. Accordingly, amended claim 8 and depending claims 9 and 10 f remains fully met by Antunes. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Antunes (US 20220247276 A1) . Claim 8/2/1 Antunes teaches: An integrated motor-drive comprising: an electric motor (200) defining a drive end (end where shaft is exposed) and a non-drive end (opposing end of where shaft is exposed), the electric motor (200) including: a motor frame (201) having a first end shield (labeled ‘FES’) at the drive end (end where shaft is exposed), a second end shield (210) at the non-drive end (opposing end of where shaft is exposed), and a stator sleeve (labeled “SS”) extending between the first end shield (labeled ‘FES’) and the second end shield (210); a motor shaft (drive shaft illustrated in Fig. 1) extending between and rotatably supported by first end shield (labeled ‘FES’) and the second end shield (210), the motor shaft (drive shaft illustrated in Fig. 1) defining a rotational axis of the electric motor (200); a cooling fan unit (220) axially mounted to the second end shield (210) and axially opposite the stator sleeve ( SS ); a drive unit (311, 700) including a plurality of electrical components for regulating electrical operation of the electric motor (200); and a cantilevered heatsink (100) including a drive platform (100, 150) for mounting the drive unit (311, 700) on and a heatsink support (140) physically connecting the drive platform (100, 150) to the second end shield (210) so that the drive platform (100, 150) is cantilevered over and separated from the motor frame (201) by an heatsink air gap; wherein the heatsink support (141) includes a plurality of airflow channels (120) in fluid communication with the heatsink air gap (labeled gap above in annotated figure 3) to receive airflow directed from the cooling fan unit (220). Claim 9/8/2/1 Antunes teaches: The integrated motor-drive of claim 8, wherein the heatsink support (140, 141) includes an abutment edge (edge of 141 transcribing 210) adjacently interfacing with a circular peripheral rim of the second end shield (210). Claim 10/9/8/2/1 Antunes teaches: The integrated motor-drive of claim 9, wherein the heatsink support (140, 141) is configured as a brace segment (individual 141) including a plurality of segment posts (plural side flaps 141, para. 0053) that spatially separate (as illustrated in Fig. 2) each of the plurality of airflow channels (120) . Allowable Subject Matter Claim 1 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim 1 is allowed. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As for claim 1, Antunes teaches: An integrated motor-drive comprising: an electric motor (200) defining a drive end (end where shaft is exposed) and a non-drive end (opposing end of where shaft is exposed), the electric motor (200) including: a motor frame (201) having a first end shield (labeled ‘FES’) at the drive end (end where shaft is exposed), a second end shield (210) at the non-drive end (opposing end of where shaft is exposed), and a stator sleeve (labeled “SS”) extending between the first end shield (labeled ‘FES’) and the second end shield (210); a motor shaft (drive shaft illustrated in Fig. 1) extending between and rotatably supported by first end shield (labeled ‘FES’) and the second end shield (210), the motor shaft (drive shaft illustrated in Fig. 1) defining a rotational axis of the electric motor (200); a cooling fan unit (220) axially mounted to the second end shield (210) and axially opposite the stator sleeve ( SS ) a drive unit (311, 700) including a plurality of electrical components for regulating electrical operation of the electric motor (200); and a cantilevered heatsink (100) including a drive platform (100, 150) for mounting the drive unit (311, 700) on and a heatsink support (140) physically connecting the drive platform (100, 150) to the second end shield (210) so that the drive platform (100, 150) is cantilevered over and separated from the motor frame (201) by an heatsink air gap (portions of heatsink 100 not in contact with motor frame 201 such as ‘Gap’ labeled below). PNG media_image1.png 965 1108 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 868 944 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 828 1078 media_image3.png Greyscale The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest, alone or in obvious combination, inter alia: wherein the drive platform has a planar surface rectangular in shape and situated in a plane offset and parallel to the rotational axis; wherein the drive platform includes an arcuate arch curved away from the planar surface and curving parallel with a circular peripheral rim of the second end shield; and wherein the drive platform includes a plurality of lateral heatsink fins parallel with the planar surface and extending laterally form the arcuate arch. Employing heat sink fins, brace elbows, and arch fins as described would require a complete redesign of Antunes’s device that would not have been obvious to implement before the filing of the claimed invention by a person of ordinary skill in the art and would teach away from Antunes’s compact drive construction as disclosed in Antunes’s para. 0007-0010 . 13-03 Claims 2-7, and 12 stand allowed over all prior art based on their virtue of depending on claim 5. Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 11/8/2/1 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim 11 is allowed. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As for claim 11, Antunes teaches: The integrated motor-drive of claim 8; The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest, alone or in obvious combination, inter alia: wherein the heatsink support includes a plurality of brace elbows that are parallel and spaced apart with each other and the airflow channels disposed between the brace elbows. Employing brace elbows as described would require a complete redesign of Antunes’s device that would not have been obvious to implement before the filing of the claimed invention by a person of ordinary skill in the art and would teach away from Antunes’s compact drive construction as disclosed in Antunes’s para. 0007-0010 . 13-03 Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Claim 13 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim 13 is allowed. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As for claim 13, Antunes teaches: A cantilevered heatsink (100) for attaching an electric motor (200) and a drive unit (311, 700) in an integrated motor-drive comprising: a drive platform (100, 150) including a rectangular planar surface for mounting the drive unit (311, 700) to and an arcuate arch (provided by 141) curving away from the rectangular planar surface to delineate a heatsink air gap with a motor frame (201) when attached with the electric motor (200); and the heatsink support (140, 141) having a curved abutment edge (edge of 141 transcribing 210) to interface with a circular peripheral rim of the motor frame (201) of the electric motor (200), the heatsink support (140, 141) further having a plurality of airflow channels (120, para. 0034) disposed therein establishing fluid (air drainage, para. 0034) communication with the heatsink air gap (labeled gap) delineated by the arcuate arch. The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest, alone or in obvious combination, inter alia: wherein the drive platform includes a plurality of arch fins depending from the arcuate arch, the plurality of arch fins parallel and spaced apart with respect to each other. Employing arch fins as described would require a complete redesign of Antunes’s device that would not have been obvious to implement before the filing of the claimed invention by a person of ordinary skill in the art. Antunes’s device does not comprise arch fins as described. A complete reconfiguration of Antunes’s heat sink would have to be performed in order to satisfy the limitation which would ultimately teach away from Antunes’s compact drive construction as disclosed in Antunes’s para. 0007-0010 . 13-03 Claims 15, 16, and 18 stands allowed over all prior art based on their virtue of depending on claim 13. Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Claim 17 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim 17 is allowed. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As for claim 17, Antunes teaches: A cantilevered heatsink (100) for attaching an electric motor (200) and a drive unit (311, 700) in an integrated motor-drive comprising: a drive platform (100, 150) including a rectangular planar surface for mounting the drive unit (311, 700) to and an arcuate arch (provided by 141) curving away from the rectangular planar surface to delineate a heatsink air gap with a motor frame (201) when attached with the electric motor (200); and the heatsink support (140, 141) having a curved abutment edge (edge of 141 transcribing 210) to interface with a circular peripheral rim of the motor frame (201) of the electric motor (200), the heatsink support (140, 141) further having a plurality of airflow channels (120, para. 0034) disposed therein establishing fluid (air drainage, para. 0034) communication with the heatsink air gap (labeled gap) delineated by the arcuate arch. The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest, alone or in obvious combination, inter alia: wherein the heatsink support includes a plurality of brace elbows that are parallel and spaced apart with each other and the airflow channels disposed between the brace elbows. Employing brace elbows as described would require a complete redesign of Antunes’s device that would not have been obvious to implement before the filing of the claimed invention by a person of ordinary skill in the art and would teach away from Antunes’s compact drive construction as disclosed in Antunes’s para. 0007-0010. Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AHMED F SECK whose telephone number is (571)272-4638. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 7:30 am - 4:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Koehler can be reached at (571) 272-3560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AHMED F SECK/Examiner, Art Unit 2834 /CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/657,454 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/657,454 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/657,454 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/657,454 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/657,454 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/657,454 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/657,454 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/657,454 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/657,454 Page 10 Art Unit: 2834