DETAILED ACTION
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “outer surface of the side wall presenting decorative reliefs or depressions” in claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the removable fixing means" in line 22 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-12 depend from claim 1 and thus inherit the deficiencies thereof.
The “removable fixing means” in claim 1 are interpreted as being the same as the “removable fastening means” which are interpreted as a magnetic coupling, recited in claim 1, and is examined as such in this Action.
Claim Interpretation
The “coupling means” in claim 6 is interpreted as “the coupling means between the neck 62 of the inner container and the cup 61 can, alternatively, be threaded 72 or can feature a snap-fastening (not shown)” as presented on page 8, lines 1-3 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moretti (U.S. Pub 2023/008418) in view of Litten, et al. (“Litten”) (U.S Pat. 8,636,039).
Regarding claim 1, Moretti discloses a dispensing device of a fluid substance, comprising an outer container (1) that is cup shaped and made of glass, metal, ceramic or wood (¶ [0044]), the outer container presenting a bottom (seen in Fig. 1) and a side wall (seen in Fig. 1), the side wall presenting a free end (top of the outer container) defining an opening of the outer container, the free end of the container being stably attached to a collar (9), the device further comprising a plastic intermediate member (4, 104) supporting at least one inner container (5, 116) and, directly or indirectly, a hand pump (6) coupled to the inner container, for dispensing a substance contained therein, between the collar (9) and the intermediate element (4) being provided removable fastening means (Figs. 2A, 2B: 9K) (Figs. 4A, 4B: 8D), so that, after the fluid substance has been completely dispensed, a user can disengage the collar from the intermediate element together with the inner container and pump, and can replace them with a new intermediate element with pump and inner container filled with fluid substance to be dispensed to be re-coupled to the collar and therefore to the outer container (¶ [0041])
Moretti discloses that the removable fastening means may be “for example, a removable connection of the bayonet-like type” (¶ [0041]) but does not mention a magnetic coupling.
Litten discloses a refillable pump dispenser which uses first and second cooperating magnetic coupling members to removably couple an actuator from a parent reservoir.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute Moretti’s removable fastening means with Litten’s removable fastening means, which uses first and second magnetic cooperating coupling members to removably couple an actuator from a parent reservoir, since doing so would be a mere substitution of one known removable fastening means for another known removable fastening means with the expected results that the substituted removable fastening means would allow a user to disengage and re-couple the collar from the intermediate element together with the inner container and pump (see MPEP 2143 I B).
Regarding claim 2, the combination discloses at least one magnetic element (40) is coupled to the collar and at least one ferromagnetic element (70) is coupled to the intermediate element. (Litten: col. 4, line 61 – col. 5, line 21)
Regarding claim 3, the combination discloses wherein the opening and consequently a passage of the collar are configured to allow an inner container filled with fluid substance to be dispensed to be inserted into the outer container. (seen in Fig. 7 of Moretti)
Regarding claim 4, Moretti discloses wherein the intermediate element defines a neck (8) having a smaller diameter than the diameter of the opening defined by the free end of said side wall, the neck being provided with a free end (8E) on which rests a first flange (5D) of the inner container (5) that is a deformable bag housed in the outer container (1), to the first flange (5D) resting on a second flange (6C) of the pump (6), the device further comprising a nut (7, 107) locked to the neck, the first flange and the second flange being sandwiched tightly between the free end and the nut.
Regarding claim 5, Moretti discloses that the nut is locked to the neck by means of a snap coupling. (¶ [0032])
Regarding claim 9, Moretti discloses wherein the collar (9) has, in cross-section, a groove (seen in Fig. 3B) in which the free edge of said side wall fits.
Regarding claim 10, Moretti discloses wherein an outer skirt (9D) of the collar (9) is crimped to an outer surface of said side wall, at an annular groove of said side wall, or wherein the side wall is inserted with interference irremovably into said groove. (seen in Fig. 3B, ¶ [0039])
Regarding claim 11, Moretti discloses wherein said side wall of the outer container is cylindrical or polygonal (¶ [0043]).
Moretti does not mention that the outer surface of the side wall presenting decorative reliefs or depressions, however, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include decorative reliefs or depressions in the outer surface of the sidewall of the outer container, since such decorative elements have not been shown to be critical to its operation. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) MPEP 2144.04 IV. B.
Regarding claim 12, Moretti discloses wherein the side wall is made in a single piece with the bottom of the outer container (1). (seen in Fig. 1)
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moretti and Litten as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee, et al. (“Lee”) (U.S. Pub. 2023/0022130).
Regarding claim 6, Moretti discloses that the intermediate element (4, 104) defines a cup (cup shape seen in Fig. 9A), on an inner wall thereof, but does not mention coupling means for engaging with a neck of the inner container.
Lee discloses a similar apparatus with an intermediate element (130) which defines a cup (cup shape seen in Fig. 3), coupling means (¶ [0038]: “neck 113 is sealed by means of coupling”) for engaging with a neck (113) of an inner container (110), the neck being housed in a cup. (seen in Fig. 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to borrow the teaching of Lee by using coupling means to avoid leaking by “sealing”. (¶ [0038])
Regarding claim 7, Moretti discloses that wherein the top of the cup is defined by a flange wall (8E), to the flange wall resting a second flange (part of 6, seen in Fig. 6A) of the pump, to the second flange of the pump, on the opposite side from the flange wall resting the free end (5D) of a deformable bag (105) housed in the inner container (116).
Regarding claim 7, the combination, as modified by Lee, discloses that the coupling means comprise a snap-coupling (¶ [0045]: “a coupling protrusion and a coupling groove and/or stepped projection may be formed on the inner peripheral surface of the first coupling member 132 and/or the outer peripheral surface of the neck 113, but they are just exemplary. Therefore, various structures may be provided to perform such coupling.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892, attached.
/MICHAEL J. MELARAGNO/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/PAUL R DURAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754 January 23, 2026