DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9-14, filed 6/5/2026 with respect to 35 USC §103 rejection of claims 1,24 been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection and the arguments were directed towards the claims as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 4-25,27-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20200058152 A1) in view of Petrangeli et al (US 20210304706 A1) and Lord (US 20150016661 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an apparatus for image processing ([0032] methods and apparatus for providing mixed reality views to users through wireless connections), the apparatus comprising:
at least one memory ([0071] Memory 330 may include any type of memory, such as dynamic random access memory (DRAM);
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory ([00069] uniprocessor system including one processor, or a multiprocessor system), the at least one processor configured to:
receive, from an image frame buffer, a first portion of first image data ([0063] content of the images in a region around the location at which the user's eyes are currently looking may be rendered with more detail) in response to the first portion being stored in the image frame buffer ([0057] sensors may include one or more scene cameras 220 (e.g., RGB (visible light) video cameras) that capture high-quality video of the user's environment that may be used to provide the user, , [0141] write the compressed current frame to a previous frame buffer and pass the compressed current frame to the current frame decoder to decompress and process the current frame); and
based on the first portion of first image data including at least the predetermined amount of the first image data stored in the image frame buffer ([0082] rather than rendering entire frames in the base station and transmitting the rendered frames to the device, the base station may render parts of frames (referred to as slices) and transmit the rendered slices to the device as they are read),
output the processed first portion for display ([0057] rendered frames may then be compressed and transmitted to the device via the wireless connection for display to the user ); and
an image processor configured to:
receive second image data, the second image data being different from the first image data ([0063] content of images in regions at which the user is not looking may be compressed more than content of the region around the point at which the user is currently looking); and
process the second image data ([0040] the peripheral region may be pre-filtered to reduce information based on knowledge of the human vision system)
Petrangeli discloses process the first portion of the first image data as a second portion of the first image data stored in the image frame buffer ([0072] augmented reality system can identify relative positions of objects within a first field of view at a first time and relative positions of augmented reality objects within a second field of view at a second time)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify mixed reality views of Zhang to include process the first portion of the first image data as a second portion of the first image data stored in the image frame buffer as described by Petrangeli.
The motivation for doing so would have been for low-latency adaptive streaming of augmented reality scenes (Zhang, [0004]).
Lord discloses a determination, based on metadata in a region of the image frame buffer, that the first portion includes at least a predetermined amount of the first image data for display ([0044] process of extracting information may include extracting auxiliary data (e.g., embedded by one or more digital watermark embedding processes), content fingerprint extraction and matching, or the like or any combination thereof. It is preferably accompanied by obtaining other context information about the capture and user from the mobile device from which the content was captured.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify mixed reality views of Zhang to include determination, based on metadata in a region of the image frame buffer, that the first portion includes at least a predetermined amount of the first image data for display as described by Lord.
The motivation for doing so would have been for processing an item of content to extract a first digital watermark layer from the item of content; and, by reference to the extracted first digital watermark, embedding a second digital watermark layer into the item of content. (Lord, [0009]).
Zhang, Petrangeli and Lord are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang, Petrangeli and Lord to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses wherein the first image data is a first image frame and wherein the second image data is a second image frame ([0055] base station 260 may render frames (each frame including a left and right image) that include virtual content based at least in part on the various inputs obtained from the sensors via the wireless connection).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses wherein determine the first portion of the first image data has been stored in the image frame buffer based on detecting a lack of metadata in the region of the image frame buffer ([0063] content of images in regions at which the user is not looking).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses wherein determine the region stores additional data that is different than the metadata ([0040] peripheral region may be pre-filtered to reduce information based on knowledge of the human vision system, for example by filtering high frequency information and/or increasing color compression).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
determine that the first portion of the first image data includes at least a predetermined amount of the first image data based on a determination that the region stores the additional data that is different than the metadata ([0040] peripheral region may be pre-filtered to reduce information based on knowledge of the human vision system, for example by filtering high frequency information and/or increasing color compression); and
output the first portion of the first image data corresponding to the predetermined amount of the first image data ([0040] Pre-filtering of the peripheral region may result in improved compression of the frame. Alternatively, a higher compression ratio may be used in the peripheral region).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses wherein the additional data is the first portion of the first image data ([0040] peripheral region)
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses wherein the metadata includes a pattern of colors ([0040] peripheral region may be pre-filtered to reduce information based on knowledge of the human vision system, for example by filtering high frequency information and/or increasing color compression).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses wherein the metadata includes a frame identifier associated with the first image data ([0082] latency and memory impact as each frame needs to be completed, stored, and then transmitted to the next stage of the mixed reality system).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses wherein the image processor includes a first portion and a second portion, and wherein, to process the second image data, the image processor is configured to:
process the second image data using the first portion of the image processor to generate processed second image data ([0093] the resolution of the rendered frame outside of the foveated region (referred to as the peripheral region) may be reduced, for example by applying a filter (e.g., a band pass filter) to the peripheral region); and
process the processed second image data using the second portion of the image processor to generate further processed second image data ([0094] Since the user does not resolve the peripheral region as well as the foveated region, it may be possible to update the peripheral region less frequently than the foveal region without the user noticing much difference.).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses wherein the image processor is configured to:
process the first portion of the first image data using the first portion of the image processor ([0091] . A region of the frame that corresponds to the fovea (referred to as the foveated region 702) may be estimated from the determined gaze direction) and
output the processed first portion of the first image data to the second portion of the image processor for processing ([0091] The human eye 792 can perceive higher resolution at the fovea 794 than in the peripheral region).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses wherein the image processor is configured to:
output the further processed second image data for display ([0093] foveated region may be estimated from the determined gaze direction and known parameters (e.g., eye parameters and distance from the eye to the display)).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from the image frame buffer, the second portion of the first image data after processing at least part of the first portion of the first image data ([0098] monitor the output frame rate, an output buffer amount for a frame being rendered may be monitored to insure that the rendering application is going to complete the frame in time for the frame to be transmitted to the device and displayed by the device in sufficient time);
process the second portion of the first image data ([0040] peripheral region may be pre-filtered to reduce information based on knowledge of the human vision system, for example by filtering high frequency information and/or increasing color compression); and
output the processed second portion for display ([0093] foveated region may be estimated from the determined gaze direction and known parameters (e.g., eye parameters and distance from the eye to the display)).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
cause the first image data to be displayed based on outputting the processed second portion for display ([0093] foveated region may be estimated from the determined gaze direction and known parameters (e.g., eye parameters and distance from the eye to the display)).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
cause the first portion of the first image data to be displayed prior to display of the second portion of the first image data ([0091] the peripheral region 704 outside the foveated region 702 of the frames may be transmitted over the wireless connection at a lower frame rate than the foveated region).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses further comprising: a display configured to display the first image data ([0047] base station 160 may render frames for display by the device).
Regarding claim 17 Zhang discloses wherein:
to process the first portion of the first image data, the at least one processor is configured to composite virtual content with the first portion of the first image data ([0047] base station 160 may render frames for display by the device 100 that include virtual content 110 based at least in part on the various information obtained from the sensors).
Regarding claim 18 Zhang discloses further comprising an image sensor configured to obtain the first image data, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
render the virtual content based on a pose of the image sensor ([0060] more than one world mapping sensor may be used, and world mapping sensor(s) may be positioned at other locations).
Regarding claim 19 Zhang discloses wherein, to output the processed first portion for display, the at least one processor is configured to output the processed first portion to a display buffer ([0070] a GPU may be configured to render objects to be displayed into a frame buffer).
Regarding claim 20 Zhang discloses wherein, to process the first portion of the first image data, the at least one processor is configured to modify at least some of the first portion of the first image data using at least one of a distortion, a distortion compensation, or a warping ([0038] warp space rendering method, instead of the rendering engine of the base station performing a rectilinear projection when rendering a frame, which tends to oversample the edges of the image especially in wide FOV frames, a transform is applied that transforms the frame into a warp space.).
Regarding claim 21 Zhang discloses further comprising: an image sensor configured to obtain the first image data ([0057] one or more scene cameras 220 (e.g., RGB (visible light) video cameras) that capture high-quality video of the user's environment).
Regarding claim 22 Zhang discloses further comprising: the image frame buffer ([0070] a GPU may be configured to render objects to be displayed into a frame buffer).
Regarding claim 23 Zhang discloses wherein the apparatus is a head-mounted display ([0046] Device 100 may, for example be a head-mounted device (HMD) such as a headset, helmet, goggles, or glasses that may be worn by a user)
Regarding claim 24 Zhang discloses a method of image processing ([0032] methods and apparatus for providing mixed reality views to users through wireless connections), the method comprising:
receiving, by at least one processor from an image frame buffer, a first portion of first image data ([0063] content of the images in a region around the location at which the user's eyes are currently looking may be rendered with more detail) in response to the first portion being stored in the image frame buffer ([0057] sensors may include one or more scene cameras 220 (e.g., RGB (visible light) video cameras) that capture high-quality video of the user's environment that may be used to provide the user, [0141] write the compressed current frame to a previous frame buffer and pass the compressed current frame to the current frame decoder to decompress and process the current frame);
based on the first portion of first image data including at least the predetermined amount of the first image data stored in the image frame buffer ([0082] rather than rendering entire frames in the base station and transmitting the rendered frames to the device, the base station may render parts of frames (referred to as slices) and transmit the rendered slices to the device as they are read),
output the processed first portion for display ([0057] rendered frames may then be compressed and transmitted to the device via the wireless connection for display to the user );;
receiving, by an image processor, second image data, the second image data being different from the first image data; ([0063] content of images in regions at which the user is not looking may be compressed more than content of the region around the point at which the user is currently looking) and
processing, by the image processor, the second image data ([0040] the peripheral region may be pre-filtered to reduce information based on knowledge of the human vision system).
Petrangeli discloses processing, by the at least one processor, the first portion of the first image data as a second portion of the first image data is stored in the image frame buffer ([0072] augmented reality system can identify relative positions of objects within a first field of view at a first time and relative positions of augmented reality objects within a second field of view at a second time)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify mixed reality views of Zhang to include processing, by the at least one processor, the first portion of the first image data as a second portion of the first image data is stored in the image frame buffer as described by Petrangeli.
The motivation for doing so would have been for low-latency adaptive streaming of augmented reality scenes (Zhang, [0004]).
Lord discloses a determination, based on metadata in a region of the image frame buffer, that the first portion includes at least a predetermined amount of the first image data for display ([0044] process of extracting information may include extracting auxiliary data (e.g., embedded by one or more digital watermark embedding processes), content fingerprint extraction and matching, or the like or any combination thereof. It is preferably accompanied by obtaining other context information about the capture and user from the mobile device from which the content was captured.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify mixed reality views of Zhang to include determination, based on metadata in a region of the image frame buffer, that the first portion includes at least a predetermined amount of the first image data for display as described by Lord.
The motivation for doing so would have been for processing an item of content to extract a first digital watermark layer from the item of content; and, by reference to the extracted first digital watermark, embedding a second digital watermark layer into the item of content. (Lord, [0009]).
Zhang, Petrangeli and Lord are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang, Petrangeli and Lord to obtain the invention as specified in claim 24.
Regarding claim 25, Zhang discloses wherein the first image data is a first image frame and wherein the second image data is a second image frame ([0055] base station 260 may render frames (each frame including a left and right image) that include virtual content based at least in part on the various inputs obtained from the sensors via the wireless connection).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang discloses wherein the image processor includes a first portion and a second portion, and wherein processing the second image data by the image processor comprises:
processing the second image data using the first portion of the image processor to generate processed second image data ([0093] the resolution of the rendered frame outside of the foveated region (referred to as the peripheral region) may be reduced, for example by applying a filter (e.g., a band pass filter) to the peripheral region); and
processing the processed second image data using the second portion of the image processor to generate further processed second image data ([0094] Since the user does not resolve the peripheral region as well as the foveated region, it may be possible to update the peripheral region less frequently than the foveal region without the user noticing much difference.).
Regarding claim 28, Zhang discloses processing the first portion of the first image data using the first portion of the image processor ([0091] . A region of the frame that corresponds to the fovea (referred to as the foveated region 702) may be estimated from the determined gaze direction) and
outputting the processed first portion of the first image data to the second portion of the image processor for processing ([0091] The human eye 792 can perceive higher resolution at the fovea 794 than in the peripheral region).
Regarding claim 29, Zhang discloses outputting the further processed second image data for display ([0093] foveated region may be estimated from the determined gaze direction and known parameters (e.g., eye parameters and distance from the eye to the display)).
Regarding claim 30, Zhang discloses receiving, by the at least one processor from the image frame buffer, the second portion of the first image data after processing at least part of the first portion of the first image data ([0098] monitor the output frame rate, an output buffer amount for a frame being rendered may be monitored to insure that the rendering application is going to complete the frame in time for the frame to be transmitted to the device and displayed by the device in sufficient time)
processing, by the at least one processor, the second portion of the first image data ([0040] peripheral region may be pre-filtered to reduce information based on knowledge of the human vision system, for example by filtering high frequency information and/or increasing color compression); and
outputting the processed second portion for display ([0093] foveated region may be estimated from the determined gaze direction and known parameters (e.g., eye parameters and distance from the eye to the display)).
Regarding claim 31, Zhang is silent to determining that the first portion of the first image data includes at least the predetermined amount of the first image data based on determining the region stores additional data that is different than the metadata; and outputting the first portion of the first image data corresponding to the predetermined amount of the first image data.
Lord discloses determining that the first portion of the first image data includes at least the predetermined amount of the first image data based on determining the region stores additional data that is different than the metadata; and outputting the first portion of the first image data corresponding to the predetermined amount of the first image data ([0045] a second-stage data aggregation process may be implemented to use data aggregated in the first-stage data aggregation process to index into one or more source databases (which may be the or different from the source databases indexed into during the first-stage data aggregation process) and recover therefrom uploaded content, metadata, etc., that is associated with the data recovered in the first-stage aggregation process.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify mixed reality views of Zhang to include determining that the first portion of the first image data includes at least the predetermined amount of the first image data based on determining the region stores additional data that is different than the metadata; and outputting the first portion of the first image data corresponding to the predetermined amount of the first image data as described by Lord.
The motivation for doing so would have been for processing an item of content to extract a first digital watermark layer from the item of content; and, by reference to the extracted first digital watermark, embedding a second digital watermark layer into the item of content. (Lord, [0009]).
Zhang, Petrangeli and Lord are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang, Petrangeli and Lord to obtain the invention as specified in claim 31.
Regarding claim 32, Zhang is silent to wherein the metadata includes at least one of a pattern of colors or a frame identifier associated with the first image data.
Lord discloses wherein the metadata includes at least one of a pattern of colors or a frame identifier associated with the first image data ([0044] , the extracted information (e.g., identifying information, synchronization information, etc.) can be used to identify one or more items of metadata associated with the particular instance of uploaded content, and the identified item(s) of metadata can then be correlated (112) with any other instance(s) of uploaded content, with metadata associated with the other uploaded content)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify mixed reality views of Zhang to include wherein the metadata includes at least one of a pattern of colors or a frame identifier associated with the first image data as described by Lord.
The motivation for doing so would have been for processing an item of content to extract a first digital watermark layer from the item of content; and, by reference to the extracted first digital watermark, embedding a second digital watermark layer into the item of content. (Lord, [0009]).
Zhang, Petrangeli and Lord are combinable because they are from the same field of invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Zhang, Petrangeli and Lord to obtain the invention as specified in claim 32.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVANG I PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615