DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Application No. 18439780. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims share the following limitations:
Instant Application: 18657507
Conflicting application: 18908434
Claim 1: An electric machine
{ fluid cooling system, comprising:
an air vent in fluidic communication with a radial coolant passage;
a rotor shaft coolant passage that extends through a rotor shaft; and
an inlet coolant passage that is positioned in a rotor shaft;
wherein the radial coolant passage is in fluidic communication with:
the rotor shaft coolant passage; and
the inlet coolant passage. } 1
Claim 9: The electric machine fluid cooling system of claim 1, { wherein the radial coolant passages are inlet radial coolant passages and the electric machine fluid cooling system further comprises outlet radial coolant passages that are fluidly connected to the inlet radial coolant passages via axial coolant passages and wherein the inlet radial coolant passages and the outlet radial coolant passages are symmetric. } 2
Claim 10: The electric machine fluid cooling system of claim 1, { wherein a central axis of the air vent is parallel to a rotational axis of a rotor.} 3
Claim 1: A shaft
{ fluid cooling system, comprising:
one or more air vents in fluidic communication with one or more radial cooling passages;}wherein the one or more radial cooling passages are in fluidic communication with:
one or more rotor shaft cooling passages that extend axially through a rotor shaft; and
an inlet cooling passage that extends through the rotor shaft. } 1
Claim 5: The shaft fluid cooling system of claim 1, { wherein the one or more radial cooling passages comprise one or more inlet side radial cooling passages and one or more outlet side radial cooling passages, wherein the one or more inlet side radial cooling passages and the one or more outlet side radial cooling passages are symmetric. } 2
Claim 13: The method of claim 12, { wherein:
a central axis of the air vent is parallel to a rotational axis of a rotor; } 3 and
{a central axis of the inlet coolant passage is coaxial to the rotational axis of the rotor. } 6
Claim 16: An electric machine { fluid cooling system, comprising:
a plurality of air vents in direct fluidic communication with a plurality of radial coolant passages;
wherein the plurality of radial coolant passages are each in direct fluidic communication with one of a plurality of rotor shaft coolant passages;
wherein each of the plurality of radial coolant passages are in direct fluidic communication with an inlet coolant passage;} 4 and
wherein each of the plurality of radial coolant passages are in direct fluidic communication with an outlet coolant passage.
Claim 17: The electric machine { fluid cooling system of claim 16, wherein the plurality of radial coolant passages are equally spaced with regard to a radial plane. } 5
Claim 18: The electric machine fluid cooling system of claim 16, { wherein:
a central axis of the plurality of air vents are parallel to a rotational axis of a rotor;} 3
{a central axis of the inlet coolant passage is coaxial to the rotational axis of the rotor;} 6 and
a central axis of the outlet coolant passage is coaxial to the rotational axis of the rotor.
Claim 10: An electric machine { fluid cooling system, comprising:
one or more air vents in direct fluidic communication with a plurality of radial cooling passages,
wherein the plurality of radial cooling passages are each in direct fluidic communication with one of a plurality of rotor shaft cooling passages and
wherein each of the plurality of radial cooling passages are in direct fluidic communication with an inlet cooling passage.} 4
Claim 11: The electric machine { fluid cooling system of claim 10, wherein the plurality of radial cooling passages are equally spaced with regard to a radial plane. } 5
Claim 15: The method of claim 13, wherein the one or more radial cooling passages are
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9-13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weidman (US 6772504 B2) in view of Huber (US 4026315 A).
Claim 1
As for claim 1, Weidman teaches: An electric machine fluid cooling system, comprising:
a radial coolant passage (passage extending from pump 148 into 112 and 138);
a rotor shaft (108) coolant passage (108b) that extends through a rotor shaft (108); and
an inlet coolant passage (112) that is positioned in a rotor shaft (108);
wherein the radial coolant passage (passage extending from pump 148 into 112 and 138) is in fluidic communication with:
the rotor shaft (108) coolant passage (108b); and
the inlet coolant passage (112).
\
Weidman is silent to:
an air vent in fluidic communication with a radial coolant passage;
Huber conversely teaches an air ventilation system for a rotating cooling system including inlet openings (11’/12’/13’) positioned near the axis of rotation where air accumulates, a bypass/vent path (11/12/13) that transports air or gas bubbles, an outlet structure (11”/12”/13”) that vents the air into another flow passage (e.g. a discharge duct 4), and specifically describes radial ducts (9) adjacent to axial ducts (1) in a rotating coolant system. Huber also teaches that air or gas bubbles naturally accumulate at low-pressure (para. 7) near the rotational axis, and teaches providing a vent path (bypass) in fluidic communication with coolant passages removes such air to prevent overheating and flow blockage (para. 33).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) during the time of the claimed invention to modify the cooling system of Weidman to include an air vent in fluidic communication with the radial coolant passage as taught by Huber. A PHOSITA would recognize that the cooling system of Weidman, which includes rotating coolant passages (including radial passages), would be subject to the same problem of trapped air or gas bubbles causing localized overheating and flow blockage as taught by Huber. Incorporating an air vent to be in fluidic communication with a radial coolant passage would be advantageous since doing so ensures effective removal of air throughout the system to improve cooling efficiency, prevent overheating, and enhance reliability of the rotating electric machine.
Claim 2/1
The electric machine fluid cooling system of claim 1, wherein the air vent (11/12/13 of Huber modified into Weidman’s rotor shaft 108) is in fluidic communication with a cavity (108b) that is positioned radially inward from a rotor shaft bearing (104).
Claim 9/1
The electric machine fluid cooling system of claim 1, wherein the radial coolant passages (passage extending from pump 148 into 112 and 138) are inlet radial coolant passages and the electric machine fluid cooling system further comprises outlet radial coolant passages (138b and passage from 111 to heat exchanger 150) that are fluidly connected to the inlet radial coolant passages (138 and passage from pump 148 to 112) via axial coolant passages (124, 126) and wherein the inlet radial coolant passages (138 and passage from pump 148 to 112) and the outlet radial coolant passages (138b and passage from 111 to heat exchanger 150) are symmetric (at least 138a and 138b).
Claim 10/1
The electric machine fluid cooling system of claim 1, wherein a central axis (symmetrical axis parallel to rotation) of the air vent (11/12/13; Huber) is parallel to a rotational axis of a rotor (110; Huber).
Claim 11/1
The electric machine fluid cooling system of claim 1, wherein a central axis (19; Huber) of the air vent (11/12/13; Huber) is angled (90 degrees) in relation to a rotational axis of a rotor (110; Huber).
Claim 12
As for claim 12, Weidman teaches: A method for operation of an electric machine fluid cooling system (100), comprising:
an inlet coolant passage (112);
wherein the electric machine fluid cooling system includes:
a rotor shaft (108) coolant passage (108b) that extends through a rotor shaft (108); and
an inlet coolant passage (112) that is positioned in a rotor shaft (108);
wherein the radial coolant passage (passage extending from pump 148 into 112 and 138) is in fluidic communication with:
the rotor shaft (108) coolant passage (108b); and that extends through a rotor shaft (108); and
the inlet coolant passage (112).
Weidman is silent to:
an air vent in fluidic communication with a radial coolant passage;
Huber conversely teaches an air ventilation system for a rotating cooling system including inlet openings (11’/12’/13’) positioned near the axis of rotation where air accumulates, a bypass/vent path (11/12/13) that transports air or gas bubbles, an outlet structure (11”/12”/13”) that vents the air into another flow passage (e.g. a discharge duct 4), and specifically describes radial ducts (9) adjacent to axial ducts (1) in a rotating coolant system. Huber also teaches that air or gas bubbles naturally accumulate at low-pressure (para. 7) near the rotational axis, and teaches providing a vent path (bypass) in fluidic communication with coolant passages removes such air to prevent overheating and flow blockage (para. 33).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) during the time of the claimed invention to modify the cooling system of Weidman to include an air vent in fluidic communication with the radial coolant passage as taught by Huber. A PHOSITA would recognize that the cooling system of Weidman, which includes rotating coolant passages (including radial passages), would be subject to the same problem of trapped air or gas bubbles causing localized overheating and flow blockage as taught by Huber. Incorporating an air vent to be in fluidic communication with a radial coolant passage would be advantageous since doing so ensures effective removal of air throughout the system to improve cooling efficiency, prevent overheating, and enhance reliability of the rotating electric machine.
Claim 13/12
The method of claim 12, wherein: a central axis (symmetrical axis parallel to rotation) of the air vent (11/12/13; Huber) is parallel to a rotational axis of a rotor (110; Huber); and a central axis (19; Huber) of the inlet coolant passage is coaxial to the rotational axis of the rotor (110; Huber).
Claim 16
As for claim 16, Weidman teaches: An electric machine fluid cooling system (100), comprising:
a plurality of radial coolant passages (passage extending from pump 148 into 112 and 138)
wherein the plurality of radial coolant passages (passage extending from pump 148 into 112 and 138) are each in direct fluidic communication with one of a plurality of rotor shaft (108) coolant passages (108b);
wherein each of the plurality of radial coolant passages (passage extending from pump 148 into 112 and 138) are in direct fluidic communication with an inlet coolant passage (112); and
wherein each of the plurality of radial coolant passages (passage extending from pump 148 into 112 and 138) are in direct fluidic communication with an outlet coolant passage (passage extending from 111 to heat exchanger and 111).
Weidman is silent however to teaching:
a plurality of air vents in direct fluidic communication with a plurality of radial coolant passages;
Huber conversely teaches an air ventilation system for a rotating cooling system including inlet openings (12’/13’) positioned near the axis of rotation where air accumulates, a bypass/vent path (12/13) that transports air or gas bubbles, an outlet structure (12”/13”) that vents the air into another flow passage (e.g. a discharge duct 4), and specifically describes radial ducts (9) adjacent to axial ducts (1) in a rotating coolant system. Huber also teaches that air or gas bubbles naturally accumulate at low-pressure (para. 7) near the rotational axis, and teaches providing a vent path (bypass) in fluidic communication with coolant passages removes such air to prevent overheating and flow blockage (para. 33).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) during the time of the claimed invention to modify the cooling system of Weidman to include plurality of air vents in direct fluidic communication with a plurality of radial coolant passages. A PHOSITA would recognize that the cooling system of Weidman, which includes rotating coolant passages (including radial passages), would be subject to the same problem of trapped air or gas bubbles causing localized overheating and flow blockage as taught by Huber. Incorporating an air vent to be in fluidic communication with a radial coolant passage would be advantageous since doing so ensures effective removal of air throughout the system to improve cooling efficiency, prevent overheating, and enhance reliability of the rotating electric machine.
Claim 17/16
The electric machine fluid cooling system of claim 16, wherein the plurality of radial coolant passages (passage extending from pump 148 into 112 and 138) are equally spaced with regard to a radial plane.
Claim 18/16
The electric machine fluid cooling system of claim 16, wherein: a central axis of the plurality of air vents (12/13; Huber) are parallel to a rotational axis of a rotor (110; Huber); a central axis (19; Huber) of the inlet coolant passage is coaxial to the rotational axis of the rotor; and a central axis (19; Huber) of the outlet coolant passage is coaxial to the rotational axis of the rotor (110; Huber).
Claim(s) 7-8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weidman as modified by Huber in view of Daimler (DE 29924452 U1).
Claim 7/1
The electric machine fluid cooling system of claim 1, but is silent to teaching:
further comprising an outlet coolant passage in fluidic communication with a gearbox.
Daimler conversely teaches an electric machine (1) comprising a fluid cooling system, wherein the electric machine (1) further comprises of outlet coolant passages (5, 14, and 16) in fluidic communication with a gearbox (2).
A person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have found it obvious to further modify Weidman as modified by Huber to include an outlet coolant passage in fluidic communication with a gearbox, as taught by Daimler, because integrating cooling systems across mechanically coupled components is a well-established design consideration in the art. Daimler demonstrates that routing coolant to a gearbox provides predictable benefits, such as improved heat dissipation, enhanced lubrication performance, and increased overall system reliability. A PHOSITA would have been motivated to implement such a modification to optimize thermal efficiency and reduce component wear in systems where an electric machine is operatively coupled to a gearbox.
Claim 8/7/1
The electric machine fluid cooling system of claim 7, wherein an electric machine housing (3; Daimler) is directly coupled to a gearbox housing (4; Daimler).
Claim 15/12
The method of claim 12, but is silent to: further comprising flowing coolant from an outlet coolant passage to a gearbox, wherein the outlet coolant passage is included in the electric machine fluid cooling system.
Daimler conversely teaches an electric machine (1) comprising a fluid cooling system, wherein the electric machine (1) further comprises of outlet coolant passages (5, 14, and 16) in fluidic communication with a gearbox (2).
A person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would have found it obvious to further modify Weidman as modified by Huber to include an outlet coolant passage in fluidic communication with a gearbox, as taught by Daimler, because integrating cooling systems across mechanically coupled components is a well-established design consideration in the art. Daimler demonstrates that routing coolant to a gearbox provides predictable benefits, such as improved heat dissipation, enhanced lubrication performance, and increased overall system reliability. A PHOSITA would have been motivated to implement such a modification to optimize thermal efficiency and reduce component wear in systems where an electric machine is operatively coupled to a gearbox.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 14, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims.
Claim 3/2/1
Claim 3 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As for claim 3, Weidman as modified by Huber teaches:
The electric machine fluid cooling system of claim 2;
The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest, alone or in obvious combination, inter alia:
a bearing nozzle that extends from the cavity to a bearing cavity that is axially adjacent to the rotor shaft bearing.
3. Claims 4-6 stand allowed over all prior art based on their virtue of depending on claim 3.
Claim 14/12
Claim 14 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As for claim 14, Weidman as modified by Huber teaches:
The method of claim 12;
The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest, alone or in obvious combination, inter alia:
the electric machine fluid cooling system further includes a bearing nozzle that extends from a cavity to a bearing cavity that is axially adjacent to a rotor shaft bearing; and the bearing nozzle is radially aligned.
Claim 19/16
Claim 19 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As for claim 19, Weidman as modified by Huber teaches:
The electric machine fluid cooling system of claim 16;
The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest, alone or in obvious combination, inter alia:
a bearing nozzle that extends from a cavity to a bearing cavity that is axially adjacent to a rotor shaft bearing.
3. Claim 20 stands allowed over all prior art based on their virtue of depending on claim 19.
Conclusion
/AHMED F SECK/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834