DETAILED ACTION
A. This action is in response to the following communications: Transmittal of New Application filed 05/07/2025.
B. Claims 1-20 remains pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shaojun, Chen et al. (CN 115729392 A), herein referred to as “Shaojun”.-Machine translation provided from Google
As for claims 18, 14 and 1, Shaojun teaches. A method and corresponding device of 14 and method of 1 in an electronic device, the method comprising: a user interface; a communication device; (par. 154 As shown in FIG1, the communication system 10 includes multiple terminal devices, which may include the mobile phone 101, smartwatch 102, laptop 103, tablet computer 104, smart bracelet 105, earphone 106, smart TV (also known as smart screen, large screen, etc.) 107, smart speaker 108, etc; fig. 5 is a user interface of 505 mobile phone);
receiving, by a user interface, a swipe gesture defining a directional vector extending from the electronic device to a companion electronic device operating in an environment of the electronic device (par. 284; fig. 5-6 user interface shows the users communication device represented as “mobile phone icon 505”, this is the ‘core’ device and other devices (companion devices) and names of said devices are displayed as icons surrounding the mobile phone icon 505 to show what devices are in the vicinity; such that only devices that are in location to the user are presented here on the user interface; par. 297 and 301 user can swipe icon 702 to icon 505 to interact with the application associated with smartwatch, so figure 5 is the main interface, figure 6 is the user swiping icon 702 to 505 and figure 7 is brining the smart watch application to the forefront at 705 as described in par. 342);
in response to the swipe gesture causing, by one or more processors using a communication device, operation of a foreground application of an application stack to be transferred to the companion electronic device identified by the directional vector (par. 342 application specific information function icons displayed on user interface at 705 in fig. 7); and
surfacing, by the one or more processors, operation of a penultimate application of the application stack as a new foreground application after the causing (par. 365 fig. 7 shows the application specific button that are brought to the forefront, in which user selects menu 707 in which the sports page overlays the 501 interface page to bring sport page to forefront as can be shown in figure 8 the transition between fig. 7 interface to figure 8 to then the interface being transferred to smart watch).
As for claim 2, Shaojun teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the swipe gesture identifies the companion electronic device when a swipe direction of motion across the user interface occurs in a direction toward the companion electronic device (par. 439 Referring to the embodiment shown in FIG6, the user can select the smartwatch icon 506 corresponding to the smartwatch on the super terminal interface and drag the smartwatch icon 506 close to the phone icon 505).
As for claim 3, Shaojun teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the swipe gesture identifies the companion electronic device when a swipe direction of motion across the user interface defines a directional vector extending from the electronic device to the companion electronic device (par. 439 When the distance between the smartwatch icon 506 and the phone icon 505 is less than or equal to the second distance (R2 as shown in FIG6), or when the smartwatch icon 506 enters the designated area (the annular area formed by the nearest circle around the phone icon in FIG6, that is, the circular area with radius R centered on the phone icon 505), the user releases his finger, and the device connection status illustration 701 shown in FIG7 will be displayed, in which the smartwatch icon 702 is attached to the edge of the phone icon 505).
As for claim 4 and 19. The method of claim 1 and 18, wherein the companion electronic device comprises one of a plurality of companion electronic devices operating within the environment of the electronic device (par. 284; fig. 5-6 user interface shows the users communication device represented as “mobile phone icon 505”, this is the ‘core’ device and other devices (companion devices) and names of said devices are displayed as icons surrounding the mobile phone icon 505 to show what devices are in the vicinity).
As for claim 5, Shaojun teaches. The method of claim 4, further comprising determining, by the one or more processors, a location of each companion electronic device of the plurality of companion electronic devices within the environment relative to the electronic device (par. 432 The device connection status diagram can indicate the connection relationship, relative position relationship, signal strength relationship, etc. between the core device and the associated device).
As for claim 6, Shaojun teaches. The method of claim 5, wherein the determining occurs using one of an ultra-wide band ranging process or a Bluetooth channel sounding process (par. 435 the distance between the associated device icon and the core device icon in the interface can indicate the signal strength of the associated device detected by the core device, such as the Bluetooth signal strength or WiFi signal strength).
As for claim 7, Shaojun teaches. The method of claim 5, further comprising correlating a direction of movement of the swipe gesture across the user interface with locations of the plurality of companion electronic devices to identify the companion electronic device identified by the swipe gesture (fig. 6 movement of icon 506 and the R1 distance and R2 distance).
As for claim 8, Shaojun teaches. The method of claim 7, wherein the determining occurs prior to the receiving (par. 285 For example, the relative position of the associated device icon and the core device icon displayed in the device connection status diagram 504 can indicate the positional relationship between the associated device and the core device in real space, such as relative orientation information, relative distance information, etc., which is helpful for users Quickly find and distinguish individual electronic devices).
As for claim 9, Shaojun teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the transferring occurs only when the swipe gesture is received while the electronic device is in an unlocked condition (par. 232, 235 and 237 examples of unlocking state).
As for claim 10, Shaojun teaches. The method of claim 1, wherein the application operating on the one or more processors comprises a foreground application operating on an application stack, further comprising surfacing a penultimate application of the application stack on the user interface as a new foreground application after the transferring (par. 342 application specific information function icons displayed on user interface at 705 in fig. 7); and
surfacing, by the one or more processors, operation of a penultimate application of the application stack as a new foreground application after the causing (par. 365 fig. 7 shows the application specific button that are brought to the forefront, in which user selects menu 707 in which the sports page overlays the 501 interface page to bring sport page to forefront as can be shown in figure 8 the transition between fig. 7 interface to figure 8 to then the interface being transferred to smart watch).
As for claim 11, Shaojun teaches. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
also receiving, by the user interface after the transferring, a predefined gesture;
recalling, by the one or more processors using the communication device in response to the predefined gesture, the operation of the application from the companion electronic device; and resuming, by the one or more processors, the operation of the application on the one or more processors of the electronic device (par. 47 When a user drags the second control from different directions or areas to attach it to the first control, the resulting effects and triggered services may differ; also par. 56).
As for claim 12, Shaojun teaches. The method of claim 11, wherein the predefined gesture comprises one of a tap gesture or a double-tap gesture (par. 229 pressure sensor 180a detects various pressures and amount of pressures for different input detections which would encompass tapping).
As for claim 13, Shaojun teaches. The method of claim 11, wherein:
the companion electronic device comprises one of a plurality of companion electronic devices operating within the environment of the electronic device; and
the predefined gesture identifies the companion electronic device from which the operation of the application should be withdrawn (par. 56 disconnection of the connected device through gesture of the user interaction with the user interface).
As for claim 15, Shaojun teaches. The electronic device of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors further cause the communication device to recall the operation of the foreground application from the companion electronic device in response to the user interface receiving another gesture input (par. 56 In conjunction with the first aspect, in some embodiments, the fourth user operation can be an operation whereby a user selects a second control and drags the second control away from the first control until it moves out of a designated area, and then releases the second control. The second control returns to its previous unconnected position, releasing the adsorption state. The second device also disconnects from the first device, and the atomization service provided by either the first or second device terminates. Alternatively, when a user clicks the second control in a connected state, or when a user presses and holds the second and first controls and drags them in opposite directions to separate them, the first and second devices can also disconnect. This is reflected on the interface as the second control separating from the first control and returning to its unconnected position).
As for claim 16, Shaojun teaches. The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the another gesture input comprises a reverse swipe gesture defining a reverse directional vector identifying the companion electronic device (par. 56 user reverse direction of swiping icon).
As for claim 17, Shaojun teaches. The electronic device of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors cause an animation of a graphical user interface of the foreground application to move on the user interface along the directional vector while the communication device transfers the operation of the foreground application operating on the one or more processors to the companion electronic device identified by the swipe (fig. 7 icon animates from a starting position to a final position which then causes an application to be brought to the foreground as mentioned in claim 18 analysis).
As for claim 20, Shaojun teaches. The method of claim 18, further comprising animating, by the one or more processors, movement of a graphical user interface of the foreground application out of the application stack during the causing (fig. 7 icon animates from a starting position to a final position which then causes an application to be brought to the foreground as mentioned in claim 18 analysis)..
(Note :) It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MULTITASKING VIEWS FOR SMALL SCREEN DEVICES
Document ID
US 20100138784 A1
Date Published
2010-06-03
Abstract
A system and method that includes providing content items to be displayed on a display of a device, determining a relevance of each content item with respect to each other content item, and organizing the content items on the display of the device along a scattered continuum, wherein more contextually relevant content is located closer to a center area of the display and less contextually relevant content is located away from the center area.
DEVICE, METHOD, AND STORAGE MEDIUM STORING PROGRAM
Document ID
US 20130162571 A1
Date Published
2013-06-27
Abstract
According to an aspect, a device includes a touch screen display and a controller. The touch screen display displays a lock screen provided with a display area in which any of a plurality of icons is displayed. The controller displays any of the icons in the display area according to a first touch gesture detected through the touch screen display while the lock screen is displayed.
USER INTERFACE FOR TOUCH AND SWIPE NAVIGATION
Document ID
US 20130212529 A1
Date Published
2013-08-15
Abstract
A method and device to create a user interface for touch and swipe navigation in a touch sensitive mobile device is provided. A touch action performed by a user is identified on the touch screen display, a context related to the touch action is identified, a menu is displayed based on the identified context, and a menu option corresponding to direction of swipe performed onto the menu is selected from among options of the menu, without removing the touch.
Inquires
/NICHOLAS AUGUSTINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 April 15, 2026