Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 02/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. New grounds of rejections necessitated by amendments are discussed below.
Claim Interpretation
The limitations of “formed by laser micromachining” (claim 5) are interpreted as a product-by-process limitation (see MPEP 2113), wherein determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renna et al. (US 20110291026 A1; cited in the IDS 02/07/2025) in view of Sywe et al. (US 20130126757 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Renna teaches an optical biosensing cartridge (Fig. 9; abstract) for an interferometric reflectance imaging sensor (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; the optical biosensing cartridge of Fig. 9 is structurally capable of being used for an interferometric reflectance imaging sensor at a later time), the cartridge comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 9, substrate 4) with through holes as ports (inlet hole 14, outlet hole 16) to facilitate liquid flow (Fig. 9 and paragraph [0053]),
a cover window (Fig. 9, cover layer 18) having a transparent portion (paragraph [0048] teaches the cover layer 18 is transparent to light, therefore comprises a transparent portion),
a spacer (interpreted as the elements between elements 6 and 18, i.e. element 8) separating the cover window from the substrate by a predefined distance (Fig. 9),
a channel (Fig. 9, channel 10) extending from one port to a different port (Fig. 9), the channel defined by the substrate, spacer and cover window (Fig. 9), and
a detection region (Fig. 9, interpreted as the region in channel 10 above element 4) on the substrate at least partially in the channel (Fig. 9 shows the region in channel 10 above element 4 is on the substrate 4 and at least partially in channel 10), wherein the detection region includes at least one dielectric layer (Fig. 9, compatible layer 6; paragraph [0028] teaches compatible layer can include silicon oxide, which is a dielectric) having a predefined uniform thickness (Fig. 9; paragraph [0034]), wherein the substrate (Fig. 9, substrate 4) comprises a first reflective surface (paragraph [0037] teaches light reflects at the interface, i.e. first reflective surface, between substrate 4 and layer 6; therefore, substrate 4 has a first reflective surface) and the at least one dielectric layer (Fig. 9, compatible layer 6) comprises a second reflective surface (paragraphs [0035],[0037] teaches light is reflected by the compatible layer 6; therefore, layer 6 has a second reflective surface), the dielectric layer configured to provide a spectral signature for the interferometric reflectance imaging sensor (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; paragraphs [0035],[0037] teaches light is reflected by the compatible layer 6, therefore the compatible layer 6 is capable of providing a spectral signature since it is capable of reflecting light).
While Renna teaches reading of light radiation by a means of a microscope that is focused on the surface of the channel (paragraph [0060]), Renna fails to teach: the detection region including at least one pattern formed in a surface of the at least one dielectric layer, the pattern including one or more reflective reference regions or autofocus regions.
Sywe teaches calibration apparatuses for fluorescent microscopy instruments (abstract). Sywe teaches the invention evaluates the performance of the instrument and identifies potential needs of the instrument for adjustment, calibration, or component replacement (paragraph [0010]). Sywe teaches a need and benefit of calibration, auto-focusing, and positioning adjustments by using a reflective layer or fiducial markers on a substrate (paragraph [0046]). Sywe teaches embodiments of built-in reflective layers or fiducial markers for calibration (paragraph [0046]).
Since Sywe teaches optical microscopy, similar to Renna, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the detection region of Renna to incorporate the teachings of built-in reflective layers or fiducial markers for calibration and auto-focusing of Sywe (paragraphs [0010],[0046]) to provide: the detection region including at least one pattern formed in a surface of the at least one dielectric layer, the pattern including one or more reflective reference regions or autofocus regions. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving microscopy of a target in the detection region via calibration, auto-focusing, and positioning adjustments as taught by Sywe (paragraphs [0010],[0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Renna further teaches wherein the substrate comprises silicon (paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 3, Renna further teaches wherein the at least one dielectric layer includes a layer of silicon oxide on the substrate (Fig. 9, compatible layer 6 on silicon substrate 4; paragraph [0028] teaches the compatible layer includes silicon oxide).
Regarding claim 5, note the limitation of “wherein the through holes are formed by laser micromachining” is interpreted as a product-by-process limitation (see MPEP 2113), wherein determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.
Renna teaches through holes (Fig. 9), thus, Renna teaches all of the claimed limitation of claim 5.
Note that Renna teaches the substrate can be etched with a laser (paragraph [0072]).
Regarding claim 6, Renna further teaches wherein the through holes include one through hole for liquid inlet (Fig. 9, inlet 14) and one through hole for liquid outlet (outlet 16).
Regarding claim 7, Renna further teaches wherein the spacer comprises an adhesive (Fig. 9, shows the spacer, interpreted as the elements between elements 6 and 18, bound together; paragraph [0049] teaches the cover layer 18 comprises an adhesive to seal the channel 10; therefore an adhesive is present between elements 18 and 6).
Regarding claim 9, Renna further teaches wherein the cover window comprises an optical grade transparent material (paragraph [0050], “polyethylene, glass, Plexiglas, polycarbonate, polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS)”). Modified Renna fails to teach: the optical grade transparent material comprising quartz or borosilicate glass.
Sywe teaches a substrate can include channels and flow cells, wherein the substrate can include materials such as glass, quartz, polycarbonate (paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical grade transparent material of modified Renna to incorporate the teachings of known substrate materials of Sywe (paragraph [0042]) to provide: the optical grade transparent material comprising quartz or borosilicate glass. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully providing a transparent material as the cover window.
Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements (i.e. the optical grade transparent material comprising quartz or borosilicate glass) by known methods with no change in their respective functions (i.e. a transparent material), and the combinations yielded nothing more than predictable results (i.e. providing the optical grade transparent material comprising quartz or borosilicate glass would yield nothing more than the obvious and predictable result of enabling transparent viewing through the cover window). See MPEP 2143(A).
Regarding claim 10, Renna further teaches wherein the detection region includes one or more of identification regions or alignment marks for robotic spotting (Fig. 9 shows identification regions 12; paragraph [0054]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renna in view of Sywe as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Cao et al. (US 20110296903 A1; cited in the IDS filed 02/07/2025).
Regarding claim 4, modified Renna fails to teach wherein the at least one dielectric layer includes a layer of silicon nitride on the substrate.
Cao teaches a fluidic system comprising substrates and channels (paragraphs [0012]-[0013]). Cao teaches embodiments comprising a silicon substrate (Figs. 18-19) and a silicon oxide or silicon nitride coating (Figs. 18-19), and a transparent substrate (Figs. 18-19). Cao teaches that thin film materials can be applied to reduce background signal of a channel (paragraph [0138]) wherein the thin film material can be silicon oxide or silicon nitride (paragraph [0142]). Cao teaches that a silicon oxide thin film was replaced with a silicon nitride thin film, since silicon nitride is a dielectric material commonly used in the semiconductor industry and thus is widely available (paragraph [0170]).
Since Cao teaches a silicon substrate can include silicon oxide or silicon nitride and their functions are known (paragraph [0142]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the detection region of modified Renna to incorporate the teachings of a fluidic system comprising a silicon substrate and replacing a silicon oxide thin with a silicon nitride film of Cao (paragraphs [0012]-[0013], [0170]; Figs. 18-19) to provide wherein the at least one dielectric layer includes a layer of silicon nitride on the substrate. Doing so would be a simple substitution of one known material (silicon oxide of Renna) with another (silicon nitride of Cao), which would have a reasonable expectation of successfully insulating the channel to reduce background signal as taught by Cao (paragraph [0170]). MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renna in view of Sywe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takayama (US 20050229696 A1; cited in the IDS filed 02/07/2025).
Regarding claim 8, Renna further teaches wherein the cover window is glass (paragraph [0050]). Modified Renna fails to teach wherein the cover window includes an anti-reflection coating on a top surface.
Takayama teaches an analytical chip comprising a flow channel (abstract; Figs. 50a-50d). Takayama teaches a cover member (Figs. 50a-50d, element 2), wherein the cover member includes an anti-reflection layer (25a), wherein the anti-reflection layer prevents reflection of light transmitted through the outer surface of the cover member (paragraphs [0439]-[0440]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cover window of modified Renna to incorporate the teachings of an anti-reflection layer of a cover member of Takayama (paragraphs [0439]-[0440]) to provide wherein the cover window includes an anti-reflection coating on a top surface. Doing so would improve transparency of the cover window by preventing reflection of light as taught by Takayama (paragraphs [0439]-[0440]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renna in view of Sywe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McDevitt et al. (US 20110251075 A1; cited in the IDS filed 02/07/2025) and Takayama (US 20050229696 A1; cited in the IDS filed 02/07/2025)
Regarding claim 11, Renna further teaches wherein the substrate is a silicon chip (paragraphs [0027], [0062], “silicon”),
wherein the ports comprise a first port and a second port (Fig. 9 shows a first port 14 and a second port 16),
the spacer comprises an adhesive (Fig. 9, teaches the spacer, interpreted as the elements between elements 6 and 18, bound together; paragraph [0049] teaches the cover layer 18 comprises an adhesive to seal the channel 10; therefore, an adhesive is present between elements 18 and 6),
the at least one dielectric layer comprises a layer of silicon oxide or silicon nitride between 50-200 nm thick (Fig. 9, compatible layer 6 on silicon substrate 4; paragraph [0028] teaches compatible layer can include silicon oxide; paragraph [0034] teaches the silicon oxide layer is about 68-70 nm thick), and
the cover window comprises silicate glass (paragraphs [0050] teaches the cover layer comprises glass, wherein glass is interpreted as a silicate glass since glass is made of silicates).
Modified Renna fails to explicitly teach the spacer includes a pressure sensitive adhesive and the cover window comprises silicate glass having one surface comprising an anti-reflective coating.
McDevitt teaches a device for detection of analytes in fluids (abstract), wherein the device comprises channels formed between a silicon wafer and transparent cover plate (paragraph [0127]). McDevitt teaches that the cover is attached to the sensor array using a pressure sensitive adhesive (paragraphs [0523], [0570]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spacer of modified Renna to incorporate the teachings of pressure sensitive adhesives to attach a cover to a sensor array of McDevitt (paragraphs [0523], [0570]) to provide wherein the spacer includes a pressure sensitive adhesive. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully attaching the cover window to the substrate as taught by McDevitt (paragraphs [0523], [0570]).
Modified Renna fails to teach: the cover window comprises silicate glass having one surface comprising an anti-reflective coating.
Takayama teaches an analytical chip comprising a flow channel (abstract; Figs. 50a-50d). Takayama teaches a cover member (Figs. 50a-50d, element 2), wherein the cover member includes an anti-reflection layer (25a), wherein the anti-reflection layer prevents reflection of light transmitted through the outer surface of the cover member (paragraphs [0439]-[0040]). Takayama teaches the cover member comprises transparent materials, such as borosilicate glass (paragraphs [0173], [0405], [0504]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cover window of modified Renna to incorporate the teachings of an anti-reflection layer of a cover member of Takayama (paragraphs [0439]-[0440]) to provide the cover window comprises silicate glass having one surface comprising an anti-reflective coating. Doing so would improve transparency of the cover window by preventing reflection of light as taught by Takayama (paragraphs [0439]-[0440]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renna in view of Sywe as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Altendorf et al. (US 5726751 A; cited in the IDS filed 02/07/2025).
Regarding claim 12, Renna teaches an apparatus (Figs. 9 and 11) comprising:
the optical biosensing cartridge according to claim 1 (see above claim 1; Figs. 9 and 11 teaches a diagnostic device 50) and a holder (Fig. 11 shows a base supporting diagnostic device 50);
wherein the through holes of the cartridge include a first port (Fig. 9, inlet 14) and a second port (outlet 16) and
the channel extends between the first port and the second port (Fig. 9),
wherein the holder includes,
a base (Fig. 11 shows a base supporting diagnostic device 50).
Modified Renna fails to teach: the base having a first fluid conduit coupled to a first port, and a second fluid conduit coupled to a second port, a clamping element for removably fastening the cartridge to the base; wherein the first conduit, the first port, the channel, the second port and the second conduit define a fluid flow path from the first fluid conduit to the second fluid conduit.
Altendorf teaches a flow cytometer comprising a flow channel for optical analysis (abstract). Altendorf teaches an apparatus (Fig. 3) comprising a cartridge (flow module comprising silicon wafer 10 and cover plate 20) and a holder (30), wherein the cartridge comprises ports (13,14) and a channel (15, 11, 16). Altendorf teaches the holder (Fig. 3, element 30) comprises a base (body of element 30) having a first fluid conduit coupled to a first port and a second fluid conduit coupled to a second port (Fig. 3 shows holder 30 comprises fluidic conduits coupled to respective fluid ports 13,14 of the silicon wafer 10), a clamping element (clamps 33) for removably fastening the cartridge to the base (Fig. 3 and column 5, lines 46-47 teaches clamps 33 attach the flow module to holder 30, which is interpreted as removably fastening the cartridge to the base); wherein the first conduit, the first port, the channel, the second port and the second conduit define a fluid flow path from the first fluid conduit to the second fluid conduit (Fig. 3 shows a fluid flow path from elements 41 to elements 50 through the respective conduits, ports, and channel). Altendorf teaches for replacing the flow modules, the silicon wafer preferably includes a means for detachably coupling the flow module with a flow cytometer optical head with reproducible alignment (column 6, lines 22-25). Altendorf teaches an advantage of separation of elements that are disposable, such as easily replacing elements (column 2, lines 31-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Renna to incorporate Altendorf’s teachings of a cartridge mounted on a holder with a clamp, and the ports of the cartridge are fluidly connected to conduits of the holder for a fluid path (Fig. 3) and advantages of separable elements (column 2, lines 31-47; column 6, lines 22-25) to provide: the base having a first fluid conduit coupled to a first port, and a second fluid conduit coupled to a second port, a clamping element for removably fastening the cartridge to the base; wherein the first conduit, the first port, the channel, the second port and the second conduit define a fluid flow path from the first fluid conduit to the second fluid conduit. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving mounting, connecting, and securing the cartridge with fluidic components as taught by Altendorf (Fig. 3) and allows for easy replacement of elements (Altendorf, column 2, lines 31-47; column 6, lines 22-25).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, the closest prior art of Renna et al. (US 20110291026 A1; cited in the IDS 02/07/2025) fails to teach: a removable cartridge; the base having a first fluid conduit coupled to the first port, and a second fluid conduit coupled to the second port, a clamping element for removably fastening the cartridge to the base, the clamping element including a clamping bar for engaging the cartridge and compressing the cartridge against the base, the clamping bar having an aperture in alignment with at least a portion of the transparent portion of the cover film; wherein the clamping element includes a platform supporting the base, a rotary cam mounted to the platform and engaging a bottom platform through a cam follower mounted on the bottom platform, wherein the rotary cam has a loading position and a clamped position, wherein when the rotary cam is in the clamped position the clamping bar provides a compressive force against the cartridge, and when the rotary cam is in the loading position the cartridge can be disengaged and removed from the base; wherein the first conduit, the first port, the channel, the second port and the second conduit define a fluid flow path from the first fluid conduit to the second fluid conduit.
A reference Cappi et al. (US 20200353467 A1; effectively filed 07/12/2017) teaches the support mechanism comprises a base structure and said clamping mechanism, the clamping mechanism comprising a clamping plate provided with a window to allow viewing of the biological sample through the transparent substrate with a microscope (paragraph [0046],[0076]). However Cappi fails to teach or suggest all of the limitations of claim 13.
A reference Dong (CN 108940390 A; see machine translation) teaches a microfluidic chip stabilization device (Figs. 1-5; paragraph [0002]) comprising a stabilization mechanism (7) with springs (705) and fixed plate (6). Dong teaches movement of the sponge plates 706 allows for stabilizing the chip body (paragraph [0049]). However, Dong fails to teach or suggest all of the limitations of claim 13.
A reference Hajipouran et al. (US 20200055054 A1, effectively filed 12/04/2015) teaches a clamping system for a microfluidic device including a compression plate engaging a side of a microfluidic device (abstract; Fig. 3). Hajipouran teaches the clamping system (Fig. 3) comprise a platform (base 370), clamping bar (compression plate 314), guide rails (posts 330,340) and springs (317,318). Hajipouran teaches side support structures are rotated so that a compression plate swings onto and engages the top surface of the microfluidic device to clamp the microfluidic device (paragraph [0079]). However, Hajipouran fails to teach or suggest all of the limitations of claim 13.
A reference Zhang et al. (CN 107321403 A) teaches a rotatable clamp (Figs. 1-4, element 50) to clamp a microfluidic chip (60). However, Zhang fails to teach or suggest all of the limitations of claim 13.
A reference Chen et al. (US 20050103632 A1) teaches a clamping assembly including clips and a rotating knobs that allow for clamping of carriers (abstract; Figs. 1-5; paragraph [0024]). However, Chen fails to teach or suggest all of the limitations of claim 13.
None of the prior art teaches or fairly suggests, alone or in combination, all of the limitations of claim 13, specifically the claimed clamping element. Therefore, claim 13 is deemed allowable. Claims 14-20 are deemed allowable based on their dependency on claim 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 02/27/2026, with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of 12/01/2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7 and 10-11, filed 02/27/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 13-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 13-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 of 12/01/2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 02/27/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-12 under 35 U.S.C. 103, specifically regarding claim 1, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Note that in view of amended claim 1, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Renna et al. (US 20110291026 A1; cited in the IDS 02/07/2025) in view of Sywe et al. (US 20130126757 A1).
In response to applicant’s argument that Renna does not relate to a cartridge for an interferometric reflectance imaging sensor and does not disclose a substrate and a detection region that is on the substrate and includes at least one dielectric layer, wherein the substrate comprises a first reflective surface and the at least one dielectric layer comprises a second reflective surface, the dielectric layer configured to provide a spectral signature for the interferometric reflectance imaging sensor (Remarks, pages 8-9), the examiner disagrees.
Renna teaches an optical biosensing cartridge (Fig. 9; abstract) for an interferometric reflectance imaging sensor (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; the optical biosensing cartridge of Fig. 9 is structurally capable of being used for an interferometric reflectance imaging sensor at a later time), the cartridge comprising: a substrate (Fig. 9, substrate 4); a detection region (Fig. 9, interpreted as the region in channel 10 above element 4) on the substrate at least partially in the channel (Fig. 9 shows the region in channel 10 above element 4 is on the substrate 4 and at least partially in channel 10), wherein the detection region includes at least one dielectric layer (Fig. 9, compatible layer 6; paragraph [0028] teaches compatible layer can include silicon oxide, which is a dielectric) having a predefined uniform thickness (Fig. 9; paragraph [0034]), wherein the substrate (Fig. 9, substrate 4) comprises a first reflective surface (paragraph [0037] teaches light reflects at the interface, i.e. first reflective surface, between substrate 4 and layer 6; therefore, substrate 4 has a first reflective surface) and the at least one dielectric layer (Fig. 9, compatible layer 6) comprises a second reflective surface (paragraphs [0035],[0037] teaches light is reflected by the compatible layer 6; therefore, layer 6 has a second reflective surface), the dielectric layer configured to provide a spectral signature for the interferometric reflectance imaging sensor (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; paragraphs [0035],[0037] teaches light is reflected by the compatible layer 6, therefore the compatible layer 6 is capable of providing a spectral signature since it is capable of reflecting light).
Note that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The limitations of “for an interferometric reflectance imaging sensor” and “the dielectric layer configured to provide a spectral signature for the interferometric reflectance imaging sensor” are interpreted as intended uses and functional limitations. See MPEP 2114. As discussed above, Renna teaches an optical biosensing cartridge (Fig. 9; abstract) for an interferometric reflectance imaging sensor (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; the optical biosensing cartridge of Fig. 9 is structurally capable of being used for an interferometric reflectance imaging sensor at a later time); and the dielectric layer configured to provide a spectral signature for the interferometric reflectance imaging sensor (interpreted as a functional limitation, see MPEP 2114; paragraphs [0035],[0037] teaches light is reflected by the compatible layer 6, therefore the compatible layer 6 is capable of providing a spectral signature since it is capable of reflecting light). Additionally, the substrate and dielectric layer of Renna is identical to the presently claimed structure. Modified Renna discloses the claimed substrate and dielectric layer and therefore, would have the ability to perform the uses or functional limitations recited in the claim. See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
It is suggested to incorporate additional structures to claim 1 to differentiate the claims from the prior art, such as incorporating limitations of the holder, base, and clamping element, of amended claim 13.
Conclusion
/HENRY H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758