Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al. (US-20230344027-A1), hereinafter Kang.
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a battery module comprising: battery cells (fig. 2; [0071]; 140a and 140b); busbars electrically connecting the battery cells (busbar 171 is electrically connected to electrode leads of the battery cells; [0081]); a circuit board (circuit board 210 fig. 3; [0085]; alternatively connection member 220 including a flexible printed circuit board in [0128]; alternatively the connection member 270 in [0143] and [0146]-[0148] in figs. 15 to 17) comprising a temperature sensor assembly ([0015] and [0146]-[0148] sensing module 200), and electrically connected to the busbars ([0120]; figs. 15-17); and a busbar holder (busbar support member 175; [0081]; [0151]) for supporting the busbars, defining a receiving hole for receiving the temperature sensor assembly ([0079]; [0151]; sensor installation opening SH), and comprising a first fastening portion adjacent to the receiving hole ([0085] fastening hole CH1; alternatively, [0152] coupling part PC), wherein the temperature sensor assembly comprises: a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one of the battery cells ([0122] temperature sensor 230; [0146] temperature sensor 230a); a temperature sensor cover comprising a second fastening portion configured to be fastened to the first fastening portion (fig. 15-17; [0146]-[0152] sensor fixing member 240a or 241a; fastening part 242a); and an elastic member between the circuit board and the temperature sensor cover ([0021] elastic pad on extended body of sensor fixing member; [0154] elastic pad 245a in figs. 15-17).
Regarding claim 2, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Kang also teaches wherein the temperature sensor assembly is fixed to the busbar holder via the first fastening portion and the second fastening portion ([0151]-[0152]; fig 17).
Regarding claim 3, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Kang also teaches wherein the second fastening portion has a protruding shape (fig. 16; 242 is a protruding hook; [0152] it is possible that the fastening part 242 has a protruding shape), wherein the first fastening portion has a recessed shape corresponding to the protruding shape of the second fastening portion, such that the second fastening portion is configured to be fitted into and fastened to the first fastening portion (figs. 15-17; [0151]-[0152] wherein the coupling part PC has a groove shape).
Regarding claim 4, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 3. Kang also wherein the second fastening portion comprises a stepped protruding hook (figs. 15-17 and [0151]-[0152]; it is possible that the fastening part 242 has a protruding shape; see also fig. 11), and wherein the first fastening portion has a shape of a stepped recess configured to receive the second fastening portion ([0151]-[0152] wherein the coupling part PC has a groove shape).
Regarding claim 5, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Kang also teaches wherein the first fastening portion has a hook shape having one or more angles (figs. 15-17 and [0151]-[0152]; it is possible that the fastening part 242 has a protruding shape; see also fig. 11), wherein the second fastening portion defines a through-hole ([0151]-[0152]; figs. 15-17 show that the recess of 242a is a through hole, such that when the roles are reversed as detailed in [0151]-[0152], the recess would also be a through hole), and wherein the first fastening portion is configured to extend through, to be fitted into, and to be fastened to the second fastening portion ([0151]-[0152]; figs. 15-17).
Regarding claim 11, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Kang also teaches wherein the elastic member defines a through-hole for receiving the temperature sensor therethrough ([0135] the elastic pad includes an opening 246 that can surround all four sides of the temperature sensor, therefore defining a through-hole; [0154] elastic pad 245a has the same detailed configuration as elastic pad 245).
Regarding claim 12, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Kang also teaches wherein the temperature sensor does not directly contact the elastic member, the busbar holder, or the temperature sensor cover (see fig. 17; the sensor 230a does not contact the elastic member 245a, the busbar holder 175, nor the temperature sensor cover 240a/241a).
Regarding claim 13, Kang teaches a busbar holder assembly comprising: a circuit board (circuit board 210 fig. 3; [0085]; alternatively connection member 220 including a flexible printed circuit board in [0128]; alternatively the connection member 270 in [0143] and [0146]-[0148] in figs. 15 to 17) electrically connected to busbars (busbar 171 is electrically connected to electrode leads of the battery cells; [0081]), and comprising a temperature sensor assembly ([0015] and [0146]-[0148] sensing module 200); and a busbar holder for supporting the busbars ([0081]; [0151]; busbar support member 175), defining a receiving hole configured to receive the temperature sensor assembly ([0079]; [0151]; sensor installation opening SH), and comprising a first fastening portion adjacent to the receiving hole ([0085] fastening hole CH1; [0085]; alternatively, [0152] coupling part PC), wherein the temperature sensor assembly comprises: a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one battery cell ([0122] temperature sensor 230; [0146] temperature sensor 230a); a temperature sensor cover comprising a second fastening portion for being fastened to the first fastening portion (fig. 15-17; [0146]-[0152] sensor fixing member 240a or 241a; fastening part 242a), and an elastic member between the circuit board and the temperature sensor cover ([0021] elastic pad on extended body of sensor fixing member; [0154] elastic pad 245a in figs. 15-17).
Regarding claim 14, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 13. Kang also teaches wherein the first fastening portion and the second fastening portion are fastened to each other so that the temperature sensor assembly is fixed to the busbar holder ([0151]-[0152]; fig 17).
Regarding claim 15, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 13. Kang also teaches wherein the second fastening portion of the temperature sensor cover has a protruding shape (fig. 16; 242 is a protruding hook; [0152] it is possible that the fastening part 242 has a protruding shape), wherein the first fastening portion has a recessed shape corresponding to the protruding shape of the second fastening portion, and wherein the second fastening portion is fitted into and fastened to the first fastening portion (figs. 15-17; [0151]-[0152] wherein the coupling part PC has a groove shape).
Regarding claim 16, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 13. Kang also teaches wherein the first fastening portion has a hook shape having one or more angles (figs. 15-17 and [0151]-[0152]; it is possible that the fastening part 242 has a protruding shape; see also fig. 11), wherein the second fastening portion comprises a through-hole ([0151]-[0152]; figs. 15-17 show that the recess of 242a is a through hole, such that when the roles are reversed as detailed in [0151]-[0152], the recess would also be a through hole), and wherein the first fastening portion extends through, is fitted into, and is fastened to the second fastening portion ([0151]-[0152]; figs. 15-17).
Regarding claim 17, Kang teaches a method of manufacturing a busbar holder assembly, the method comprising: forming a temperature sensor assembly ([0015] and [0146]-[0148] sensing module 200) by attaching an elastic member to an upper surface of a temperature-sensor-connecting portion of a circuit board that is coupled to a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of at least one battery cell ([0021] elastic pad on extended body of sensor fixing member; [0154] elastic pad 245a in figs. 15-17), and by attaching a temperature sensor cover to an upper surface of the elastic member (fig. 15-17; [0146]-[0152] sensor fixing member 240a or 241a; fastening part 242a); providing the temperature sensor assembly above a busbar holder so that the temperature sensor assembly is received in a receiving hole defined by the busbar holder ([0081]; [0151]; busbar support member 175; [0079]; [0151] sensor installation opening SH); and fastening a first fastening portion, which is adjacent to the receiving hole of the busbar holder ([0085] fastening hole CH1; [0085]; alternatively, [0152] coupling part PC), to a second fastening portion provided in the temperature sensor cover by pressing the temperature sensor assembly in a direction of the busbar holder (fig. 15-17; [0146]-[0152] sensor fixing member, interpreted as the temperature sensor cover, 240a or 241a; fastening part 242a interpreted as the second fastening portion) wherein the circuit board is configured to be electrically connected to busbars ([0006]; [0081]).
Regarding claim 18, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 17. Kang also teaches wherein the second fastening portion of the temperature sensor cover has a protruding shape (fig. 16; 242 is a protruding hook; [0152] it is possible that the fastening part 242 has a protruding shape), wherein the first fastening portion has a recessed shape for receiving the second fastening portion, and wherein the fastening comprises fitting the second fastening portion into the first fastening portion by pressing the temperature sensor assembly in the direction of the busbar holder (figs. 15-17; [0151]-[0152] wherein the coupling part PC has a groove shape).
Regarding claim 19, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 17. Kang also teaches wherein the second fastening portion comprises a stepped protruding hook angles (figs. 15-17 and [0151]-[0152]; it is possible that the fastening part 242 has a protruding shape; see also fig. 11), wherein the first fastening portion has a shape of a stepped recess for receive the second fastening portion, and wherein the fastening comprises fitting the second fastening portion into the first fastening portion by pressing the temperature sensor assembly in the direction of the busbar holder ([0151]-[0152] wherein the coupling part PC has a groove shape).
Regarding claim 20, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 17. Kang also teaches wherein the first fastening portion has a hook shape having one or more angles (figs. 15-17 and [0151]-[0152]; it is possible that the fastening part 242 has a protruding shape; see also fig. 11), wherein the second fastening portion defines a through-hole ([0151]-[0152]; figs. 15-17 show that the recess of 242a is a through hole, such that when the roles are reversed as detailed in [0151]-[0152], the recess would also be a through hole), and wherein the fastening comprises causing the second fastening portion to extend through, to be fitted into, and to be fastened to, the second fastening portion by pressing the temperature sensor assembly in the direction of the busbar holder ([0151]-[0152]; figs. 15-17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kojima et al. (US 20220200063 A1), hereinafter Kojima.
Regarding claim 6, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Kang also teaches that the busbar holder is formed of an electrically insulating material ([0081]). Kang is silent as to the material of the temperature sensor cover. Therefore, Kang fails to teach wherein the temperature sensor cover comprises a same material as the busbar holder.
Kojima is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery sensor units ([0004]-[0007]). Like Kang, Kojima also teaches that the busbar holder is formed of an insulating material ([0032]). Kojima also teaches wherein the temperature sensor cover comprises a same material as the busbar holder ([0032] plate member 400, interpreted as the busbar holder, is formed of a resin plate having insulation property and heat resistance; [0056] cover member 700, interpreted as the temperature sensor cover, is formed of a resin).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang and defined the material of the temperature sensor cover such that the temperature sensor cover comprises a same material as the busbar holder. Doing so is known in the art and additionally, when the temperature sensor cover is also a resin, allows for precision in temperature detection (Kojima [0056]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takase et al. (US 20210148766 A1), hereinafter Takase.
Regarding claim 7, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Kang fails to teach wherein the temperature sensor cover is fixed to an upper surface of the elastic member using adhesive.
Takase is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sensor units including elastic members ([0008]-[0010]). Takase teaches wherein the temperature sensor cover is fixed to an upper surface of the elastic member using adhesive ([0069]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang such that the temperature sensor cover is fixed to an upper surface of the elastic member using adhesive. Doing so is a known way of securing the temperature sensor cover to a surface of the elastic member. In addition, the use of an adhesive allows for the temperature sensor and the elastic member to be less likely to be contacted with other components and damaged (Takase [0069]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kojima et al. (US 20220200063 A1), hereinafter Kojima, and Yoshihara et al. (US 20190064000 A1), hereinafter Yoshihara.
Regarding claim 8, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Kang fails to teach wherein the temperature sensor cover comprises an injection molded material.
Kojima is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery sensor units ([0004]-[0007]). Kojima teaches that the temperature sensor cover is formed of a resin material ([0056] cover member 700, interpreted as a temperature sensor cover, is formed of a resin). It is commonly known in the art that resin materials are commonly injection molded.
For example, Yoshihara is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of temperature sensors (Title). Yoshihara teaches a resin housing for a temperature sensor that is injection molded ([0002]). This allows for the use of resin rather than a more expensive metal ([0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang such that the temperature sensor cover comprises an injection molded material, such as resin, as is shown in Kojima and Yoshihara. Doing so is known in the art and would constitute a simple substitution to produce an expected result. Additionally, when the temperature sensor cover is an injection molded resin, it allows for precision in temperature detection (Kojima [0056]) and allows for a more inexpensive material (Yoshihara [0002]).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kojima et al. (US 20220200063 A1), hereinafter Kojima, and Takase et al. (US 20210148766 A1), hereinafter Takase.
Regarding claim 9, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Kang also teaches wherein the circuit board comprises a flexible circuit board comprising a temperature-sensor-connecting portion ([0128]; [0143] flexible printed circuit board 220 or 270; [0146] connection member 270 is connected to the connector 260 and temperature sensor 230a).
Kang fails to teach wherein the temperature sensor assembly further comprises a metal tab for contacting the temperature sensor and the at least one of the battery cells, the metal tab being fixed to a lower surface of the temperature-sensor-connecting portion via an adhesive, and wherein the elastic member is fixed to an upper surface of the temperature-sensor-connecting portion via an adhesive.
Kojima is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery sensor units ([0004]-[0007]). Kojima teaches wherein the temperature sensor assembly further comprises a metal tab for contacting the temperature sensor and the at least one of the battery cells ([0052] plate-like member 560 composed of aluminum), the metal tab being fixed to a lower surface of the temperature-sensor-connecting portion ([0052]; fig. 7 plate-like member 560), and wherein the elastic member is fixed to an upper surface of the temperature-sensor-connecting portion (fig. 7; elastic body 740; [0053]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang such that the temperature sensor assembly further comprises a metal tab for contacting the temperature sensor and the at least one of the battery cells, the metal tab being fixed to a lower surface of the temperature-sensor-connecting portion, and wherein the elastic member is fixed to an upper surface of the temperature-sensor-connecting portion via an adhesive. Doing so improves heat conductivity and facilitates mounting of the thermistor element on the flexible circuit board (Kojima [0052]).
Modified Kang also fails to teach the metal tab being fixed to a lower surface of the temperature-sensor-connecting portion via an adhesive, and the elastic member is fixed to an upper surface of the temperature-sensor-connecting portion via an adhesive. However, fixing via an adhesive is common in the art.
For example, Takase is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sensor units including elastic members ([0008]-[0010]). Takase teaches wherein the elastic member is fixed to an upper surface of the temperature-sensor-connecting portion via an adhesive ([0069]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kang such that teach the metal tab being fixed to a lower surface of the temperature-sensor-connecting portion via an adhesive, and the elastic member is fixed to an upper surface of the temperature-sensor-connecting portion via an adhesive. The usage of adhesive as a fixing element is common in the art. In addition, the use of an adhesive allows for the temperature sensor and the elastic member to be less likely to be contacted with other components and damaged (Takase [0069]).
Regarding claim 10, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 9. Kang also teaches wherein the elastic member is pressed between the temperature sensor cover and the metal tab (Kojima fig. 7; [0052]-[0054]).
Conclusion
/M.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722