DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The office action is responding to the amendments filed on 06/01/2026. Claims 1 and 8 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOFLEMING et al. [US 2022/0283948 A1] in view of RANGARAJAN et al. [US 2020/0133862 A1] and in further view of MATHEWSON et al. [US 2021/0103493 A1].
Claim 14 is rejected over CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN and MATHEWSON.
CHOFLEMING teaches “A computing apparatus comprising: a main memory configured to store a first data;” as “tag and metadata bits stored in SRAM are the primary tags, and the SRAM can be referred to as the primary tag memory. The tag and metadata bits stored in the DRAM are the secondary tags, and the DRAM can be referred to as the secondary tag memory.” [¶0016]
“a memory controller coupled to the main memory and the system cache,” as [Fig. 5, element 523]
“the memory controller configured to: store the first data in the data cache portion of a first cache line of the plurality of cache lines;” as “The cache management receives a cache tag for reading data from the cache memory. ” [¶0015]
“store a first allocation tag (AT) associated with the first MT data, in the tag cache portion of the first cache line,” as “If the cache management searched all cache lines 158 without any secondary tag hit, it starts cache replacement 199.” [¶0027]
“store a plurality of second ATs in a second cache line of the plurality of cache lines.” as “If the cache management searched all cache lines 158 without any secondary tag hit, it starts cache replacement 199.” [¶0027]
CHOFLEMING does not explicitly teach a system cache comprising a plurality of cache lines, each cache line comprising a data cache portion and a tag cache portion; and
the first AT configured to protect a memory location of the main memory for storing the first data; and
However, RANGARAJAN teaches “a system cache comprising a plurality of cache lines, each cache line comprising a data cache portion and a tag cache portion; and” as “tag cache 200 is used as a tag cache (e.g., for a data cache) that includes 4 memory banks shown as Bank 0 through Bank 3, though the cache 200 may include a different number of memory banks.” [¶0027]
CHOFLEMING and RANGARAJAN are analogous arts because they teach storage system and cache management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of CHOFLEMING and RANGARAJAN before him/her, to modify the teachings of CHOFLEMING to include the teachings of RANGARAJAN with the motivation of the design depicted in FIG. 3 provides several benefits including one or more of faster access, reduced power consumption, simplified processing, etc., since the address 320 is not unnecessarily accessed. [RANGARAJAN, ¶0032]
The combination of CHOFLEMING and RANGARAJAN does not explicitly teach the first AT configured to protect a memory location of the main memory for storing the first data; and
However, MATHEWSON teaches “the AT configured to protect access of the main memory and the system cache using memory tagging; and” as “One approach for protecting against the types of memory usage errors as discussed above may be to provide allocation tags which are stored in the memory system in association with corresponding blocks of addresses.” [¶0045]
CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN and MATHEWSON are analogous arts because they teach storage system and cache management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN and MATHEWSON before him/her, to modify the teachings of combination of CHOFLEMING and RANGARAJAN to include the teachings of MATHEWSON with the motivation of when the passed allocation tag is clean, then although it may benefit other requesters to allocate the clean allocation tag into the downstream cache, it is not essential for the entity controlling the downstream cache to do so, as the allocation tag is clean and so can be discarded without risk of losing the most up to date value of the allocation tag available in the system as a whole. [MATHEWSON, ¶0059]
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOFLEMING et al. [US 2022/0283948 A1] in view of RANGARAJAN et al. [US 2020/0133862 A1] in further view of MATHEWSON et al. [US 2021/0103493 A1] and yet in further view of Durham et al. [US 2020/0379902 A1].
Claim 15 is rejected over CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN, MATHEWSON and Durham.
The combination of CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN and MATHEWSON does not explicitly teach a sub-cache portion configured to cache the plurality of second ATs in a single prefetch operation of the main memory.
However, Durham teaches “a sub-cache portion configured to cache the plurality of second ATs in a single prefetch operation of the main memory.” as “the processor can cache one tag/bounds per allocation, making caching far more effective and reducing memory lookups to fetch metadata form the midpoint of the allocation's power of two bounding box.” [¶0015]
CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN, MATHEWSON and Durham are analogous arts because they teach storage system and cache management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN, MATHEWSON and Durham before him/her, to modify the teachings of combination of CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN and MATHEWSON to include the teachings of Durham with the motivation of architecture supports Scale-Index-Base (SIB)+displacement memory operand, which allows us to avoid branches (which can be slow) when emulating the systems and methods described above in a compiler. [Durham, ¶0049]
Claim 16 is rejected over CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN, MATHEWSON and Durham.
CHOFLEMING teaches “a cache controller configured to control access of the system cache; and” as “In response to receiving a cache access signal, controller 523 selects a cache line from cache memory 570.” [¶0048]
“a memory tagging unit (MTU) configured to implement memory tagging functions in cooperation with the cache controller using the tag cache portion, the data cache portion, and the sub-cache portion.” as “Based on the hash index stored in hash index memory 575 of the selected cache line, controller 523 selects a computed primary lookup tag to be primary lookup tag 535.” [¶0048]
Claim 17 is rejected over CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN, MATHEWSON and Durham.
The combination of CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN and MATHEWSON does not explicitly teach wherein the memory controller is further configured to change a size of the tag cache portion in response to caching operations of the tag cache portion.
However, Durham teaches “wherein the memory controller is further configured to change a size of the tag cache portion in response to caching operations of the tag cache portion.” as “When allocating memory, MALLOC( )/NEW will simply account for the metadata in the middle of the memory allocation, increasing the allocation size (e.g. by one byte, or two bytes, or more depending on the size of the power of two bounding box and associated metadata size), and setting the tag value in the middle of the memory allocation's power of two bounding box.” [¶0016]
Claim 18 is rejected over CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN, MATHEWSON and Durham.
CHOFLEMING teaches “retrieve the plurality of the second ATs from the second cache line, in response to a cache miss of the tag cache portion; and” as “ If the selected primary lookup tag and primary tag 166 do not match, it is a tag miss indicating that it is not possible that the selected cache line contains the data associated with memory address 105 and the cache management triggers cache miss 195.” [¶0026]
The combination of CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN and MATHEWSON does not explicitly teach allocate one or more of the plurality of second ATs in the tag cache portion, each second AT being allocated in a same cache line with a corresponding data.
However, Durham teaches “allocate one or more of the plurality of second ATs in the tag cache portion, each second AT being allocated in a same cache line with a corresponding data.” as “perform a memory allocation operation based on the memory allocation request to obtain a memory allocation; increase a requested memory allocation size based on the memory allocation request by at least one byte; assign tag data to memory allocated based on the memory allocation request; determine a mid-point address of the memory allocation; store the tag data and metadata at the mid-point address of the memory allocation; and communicate the tag data to the processor circuitry.” [¶0017]
Claim 19 is rejected over CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN, MATHEWSON and Durham.
CHOFLEMING teaches “retrieve the plurality of second ATs from the main memory in a single fetch operation; and” as “when all primary tags in primary tag memory 165 are compared against primary lookup tags 140 without any match, the cache management initiates cache replacement 199 processes. ” [¶0026]
“store the plurality of second ATs in the second cache line for later allocation in the tag cache portion.” as “If the cache management searched all cache lines 158 without any secondary tag hit, it starts cache replacement 199.” [¶0027]
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOFLEMING et al. [US 2022/0283948 A1] in view of RANGARAJAN et al. [US 2020/0133862 A1] in further view of MATHEWSON et al. [US 2021/0103493 A1] and yet in further view of Granovsky et al. [US 2022/0365881 A1].
Claim 20 is rejected over CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN, MATHEWSON and Granovsky.
The combination of CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN and MATHEWSON does not explicitly teach merge a plurality of AT write operations into a single operation at the system cache; or merge a plurality of AT evict operations into a single operation at the system cache.
However, Granovsky teaches “merge a plurality of AT write operations into a single operation at the system cache; or merge a plurality of AT evict operations into a single operation at the system cache.” as “ cache controller circuit 101 performs a read-modify-write operation to merge the modified second sub-portion of portion 120a with values from memory 145.” [¶0052]
CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN, MATHEWSON and Granovsky are analogous arts because they teach storage system and cache management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN, MATHEWSON and Granovsky before him/her, to modify the teachings of combination of CHOFLEMING, RANGARAJAN and MATHEWSON to include the teachings of Granovsky with the motivation of a scalable solution enabling use of one or more integrated circuits to provide a suitable combination of performance, cost, and power consumption may be beneficial. [Granovsky, ¶0096]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/01/2026 in regards to claim 14 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that CHOFLEMING does not appear to teach “store a plurality of second ATs in a second cache line of the plurality of cache lines.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. A cache line inherently stores multiple data elements or fields, and storing multiple address translation/mapping entries within a cache line would have been an obvious design choice for improving cache utilization and spatial locality.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Independent claims 1 and 8 recites the following allowable subject matter: “retrieve the first AT from the plurality of ATs stored in the second cache line; and align the first AT and the first data in a third cache line of the plurality of cache lines.”
The prior art of record, including Chofleming et al. (US 2022/0283948 A1), Rangarajan et al. (US 2020/0133862 A1), and Mathewson et al. (US 2021/0103493 A1), fails to teach or suggest the claimed arrangement in which a selected AT is retrieved from that cache line, and the retrieved AT is subsequently aligned together with corresponding data within a third cache line.
Chofleming generally discloses caching and management of translation-related information, but does not disclose reorganizing cache-line contents such that a retrieved AT and associated data are co-located or aligned within another cache line. Rangarajan describes cache management and memory access techniques, but does not teach retrieving a translation entry from a cache line containing multiple translation entries and aligning that translation entry with corresponding data in a different cache line. Mathewson discloses memory and cache optimization mechanisms, yet likewise fails to disclose the claimed cache-line alignment operation that combines a selected AT and associated data into a third cache line.
More particularly, the cited references do not recognize or suggest a cache-line restructuring operation in which translation metadata stored separately from data is selectively retrieved and then aligned with corresponding data in another cache line to facilitate subsequent access operations. The claimed organization and alignment of the retrieved AT and data within a third cache line therefore provides a specific cache-line arrangement not taught or suggested by the cited art, either individually or in any combination.
Accordingly, the limitation of retrieving a first AT therefrom, and aligning the first AT with first data in a third cache line is considered novel and non-obvious over the applied prior art and is a basis for allowance. Therefore claims 1-13 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MASUD K KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2132