Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2025, 03/23/2026 have been placed in the record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG et al. (US 2023/0379705 A1; hereinafter “JUNG”), in view of CHAKI et al. (US 2018/0098208 A1; hereinafter “CHAKI”).
Regarding claim 1, JUNG teaches a home appliance (FIG. 1 electronic device 101; [0089] The electronic devices include a home appliance) comprising: a wireless transceiver (FIG. 1 communication module 190) for short-distance communication; and a processor (FIG. 1 processor 120) configured to: communicate with an access point (AP) (FIG. 17 AP 1720) ([0245] discloses that a network manager sets up an AP and manages network access of client device with the AP, [0256] discloses that an AP may be a DPP device in the network),
transmit a discovery signal for checking whether a host device is present in a local network based on the AP ([0119] discloses transmitting a discovery beacon frame for discovery of a NAN cluster, [0224] discloses transmitting a subscribe message to search for a service and a publish message for service discovery),
perform control to operate as a client device in the local network in response to the discovery response signal corresponding to the discovery signal being received ([0224] discloses receiving a publish message corresponding to the transmitted subscribe message, [0256] discloses enrollment of a client DPP device with an AP DPP device, thereby teaching operation as a client device upon successful discovery).
However, JUNG does not teaches perform control to operate as the host device in the local network in response to a discovery response signal corresponding to the discovery signal not being received.
In an analogous art, CHAKI teaches perform control to operate as the host device in the local network in response to a discovery response signal corresponding to the discovery signal not being received ([0030] discloses performing device discovery and handling connection failure or timeout when a neighboring group is unavailable, [0042] discloses discovery response information carried in probe response and beacon frames, [0047] discloses that a Group Owner (GO) operates as the host device for the local Wi-Fi Direct group, thereby teaching operation of the host device responsive to unsuccessful discovery of another group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a group owner as taught by CHAKI within the system of JUNG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to overcome the group-size limitation of P2P network with an efficient transmission scheduling (CHAKI [0013]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of JUNG and CHAKI, specifically JUNG teaches wherein the processor (FIG. 1 processor 120) is further configured to: control short-distance communication access to the AP based on AP information of the AP, received from a mobile terminal (FIG. 17; [0269] discloses providing Wi-Fi network information to an enrollee, [0270] discloses using the provided information to discover and connect to a Wi-Fi network through an AP, [0272]-[0273] disclose that a smart phone operating as a configurator provides the Wi-Fi network information).
Regarding claim 3, JUNG teaches wherein, based on the home appliance not being capable of accessing the AP through short-distance communication based on the AP information ([0270] discloses that the enrollee uses provisioned Wi-Fi network information to discover and connect to a Wi-Fi network, [0301]-Table 9 disclose STATUS_NO_AP indicating that the enrollee failed to discover the access point despite the provisioned information), the processor (FIG. 1 processor 120) is further configured to:
receive AP information of an external home appliance connected to the AP via short-distance communication, from the mobile terminal ([0267]-[0269] disclose that a configurator device, such as a smartphone, obtains information of an enrollee and provisions Wi-Fi network information for connection to an AP, [0272] discloses that the smartphone operating as the configurator provides provisioning information to the enrollee),
access the external home appliance through short-distance communication based on the received AP information of the external home appliance ([0269] discloses providing Wi-Fi network information to the enrollee, [0270] discloses that the enrollee uses the provided Wi-Fi network information to discover and connect to the Wi-Fi network).
However, JUNG does not teach perform control communication with the AP through the external home appliance.
In an analogous art, CHAKI teaches perform control communication with the AP through the external home appliance ([0030] discloses exchanging group operation control messages through a Delivery Node connected to a neighboring GO, [0036] discloses relaying switching schedules and group information between groups through the Delivery Node).
Regarding claim 4, JUNG teaches wherein, based on the home appliance operating as the host device ([0254] discloses that a DPP device may operate as a configurator serving as a central configuration point of the network, [0272] discloses that a device such as a smartphone may operate as the configurator), the processor (FIG. 1 processor 120) is further configured to:
However, JUNG does not teach perform control to configure a network topology for a plurality of home appliances in the local network, wherein the plurality of home appliances includes the home appliance and at least one external home appliance.
In an analogous art, CHAKI teaches perform control to configure a network topology for a plurality of home appliances in the local network ([0030] discloses that a P2P GO prepares a switching schedule that serves as an inter-group connection topology map and assigns clients to connect neighboring groups, [0043] discloses that the shared switching schedules serve as a topology map depicting connectivity among groups, [0054] discloses exchanging topology-related information and switching schedules among connected groups),
wherein the plurality of home appliances includes the home appliance and at least one external home appliance ([0030] discloses a GO managing multiple client devices in a group, [0054] discloses exchanging topology-related information and switching schedules among connected groups).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of JUNG and CHAKI, specifically CHAKI teaches wherein the processor (FIG. 2 processor 204) is further configured to:
receive first network information from a first external home appliance of the at least one external home appliance ([0036] discloses collecting information from a visited group and sharing the collected information with the parent group),
calculate a network topology for the first external home appliance based on the first network information ([0030] discloses generating a switching schedule based on discovered neighboring-group information, [0043] discloses that the switching schedules collectively form a topology map), and
perform control to request the first external home appliance to configure the calculated network topology ([0030] discloses assigning switching tasks according to the switching schedule, [0035] discloses directing designated clients to establish the scheduled inter-group connections).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of JUNG and CHAKI, specifically CHAKI teaches wherein, based on the configuration of the network topology by the first external home appliance being completed ([0030] discloses establishment and sharing of a topology map through completion of a switching event, [0036] discloses returning to the parent group after the topology information exchange is completed), the processor (FIG. 2 processor 204) is further configured to:
perform control to notify each of the at least one external home appliance of completion of the configuration of the network topology by the first external home appliance ([0030] discloses sharing the switching schedule and topology map with neighboring groups during switching events, and [0036] discloses sharing collected topology information with the parent group after rejoining the group).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of JUNG and CHAKI, specifically CHAKI teaches wherein, based on a network topology reconfiguration event occurring ([0030], [0036]), the processor (FIG. 2 processor 204) is further configured to:
receive separate network information from each of the at least one external home appliance ([0035] discloses that clients perform neighbor discovery and report discovered neighboring GO information to the GO, [0031] discloses sharing discovered group information and topology information among groups),
calculate a network topology for each of the at least one external home appliance based on the corresponding separate network information ([0030] discloses that the GO prepares a switching schedule and topology map based on discovery results reported by clients, [0043] discloses that the shared switching schedules serve as a topology map depicting inter-group connections), and
perform control to request at least some of the at least one external home appliance to reconfigure a network topology according to the calculated network topology ([0030] discloses that the GO assigns selected clients to periodically disconnect form their current group and join neighboring groups according to a switching schedule, [0035] discloses delegating switching tasks to designated clients based on the calculated schedule).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of JUNG and CHAKI, specifically CHAKI teaches wherein the network topology reconfiguration event includes at least one of arrival of a certain period, arrival of a certain time zone, reduction in a total amount of communication data in the local network to a certain level or less ([0030] discloses topology changes according to scheduled switching times and switching frequency, [0056] discloses topology adjustments based on traffic thresholds and traffic demand), or receiving of a user command desiring to reconfigure the network topology.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of JUNG and CHAKI, specifically CHAKI teaches wherein, based on a host role transfer event occurring ([0047] discloses that the GO maintains backup leader nodes and, in case the GO leaves, client nodes reconnect to a backup leader so that the group is not disrupted), the processor (FIG. 2 processor 204) is further configured to:
request a first external home appliance of the at least one external home appliance to receive transfer of a host role ([0035] discloses selecting backup nodes to take over switching responsibilities when an assigned node becomes unavailable, [0047] discloses transfer of leadership to a backup leader), and
control the home appliance to operate as the client device ([0047] discloses that nodes may operate as either GO or Client and reconnect to a backup leader acting as the new GO).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of JUNG and CHAKI, specifically CHAKI teaches wherein the host role transfer event includes at least one of completion of the reconfiguration of the network topology ([0030] discloses that a GO prepares and updates a switching schedule and topology map, [0036] discloses completion of topology information exchange and updating of the switching schedule after switching operations are completed) or receiving, from the mobile terminal, of a user command desiring to transfer the host role.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of JUNG and CHAKI, specifically CHAKI teaches wherein the processor (FIG. 2 processor 204) is further configured to: provide information about the network topology to the mobile terminal ([0030] discloses sharing an inter-group topology map, [0036] discloses sharing collected topology information with the parent group), and
perform control to request a second external home appliance of the at least one external home appliance to receive transfer of the host role according to the user command desiring to transfer the host role ([0030] discloses that the P2P Group Owner (GO) instructs its group members and assigns clients to perform switching tasks according to a prepared switching schedule, thereby teaching requesting another device to receive a designated network role, [0041] discloses that a GO designates one of its clients as a Delivery Node and changes the client’s category from Client to Delivery Node, [0060] discloses converting a client node into a Delivery Node, thereby transferring the designated network function to another device).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of JUNG and CHAKI, specifically JUNG teaches wherein the processor (FIG. 1 processor 120) is further configured to:
control each of the at least one external home appliance to periodically notify that the home appliance currently operates as the host device ([0152] discloses transmitting NAN availability information to neighboring NAN devices, [0154] discloses transmitting the information in beacon frames and other management frames, [0165] discloses a Period field specifying repeated intervals for the transmitted availability information).
Regarding claim 13, JUNG teaches wherein, based on the home appliance operating as the client device ([0256] discloses that a smart home applicant may operate as an enrollee, [0264] discloses that the client enrollee discovers and connects to a DPP network through an AP), the processor (FIG. 1 processor 120) is further configured to:
transmit network information of the home appliance to the host device in the local network ([0269] discloses that a configurator configures Wi-Fi network information to an enrollee through a secure channel, [0270] discloses that the enrollee uses the provided Wi-Fi network information to join the network),
receive target AP information from the host device ([0269] discloses that the configurator provides Wi-Fi network information to an enrollee, [0270] discloses that the enrollee receives and uses the provided Wi-Fi network information to discover and select a Wi-Fi network).
However, JUNG does not teach perform control to access a target external home appliance corresponding to the target AP information through short-distance communication.
In an analogous art, CHAKI teaches perform control to access a target external home appliance corresponding to the target AP information through short-distance communication ([0051] discloses that designated switching nodes disconnect from a parent group and connect to a specified neighboring GO according to shared group information and switching schedules, [0062] discloses communication among P2P groups based on the shared information).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of JUNG and CHAKI, specifically CHAKI teaches wherein the network information includes AP information of a network node that the home appliance currently and directly accesses through short-distance communication and AP information of a network node discovered around the home appliance ([0051] discloses sharing information of the parent group and other groups discovered by or known to the parent group, thereby teaching information of a currently connected network node and information of discovered neighboring network nodes).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of JUNG and CHAKI, specifically CHAKI teaches wherein the AP information of the network node includes service set identifier (SSID) information of the network node and quality information of a signal received from the network node ([0044] discloses that Delivery Nodes carry Group ID information (e.g., BSSID) in Probe Request/Response frames, thereby teaching AP identification information corresponding to the network identifier of the network node, [0051] discloses received signal strength (RSS) of neighboring GOs, [0038] further discloses selecting a delivery node based on higher RSS from a neighboring GO, thereby teaching quality information of a signal received from the network node).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of JUNG and CHAKI, specifically CHAKI teaches wherein the processor (FIG. 2 processor 204) is further configured to:
perform control to notify the host device that the access to the target external home appliance through short-distance communication is successful ([0051] discloses that a switching node connects to a neighboring GO, collects information from the visited group, rejoins the parent GO, and shares the collected information within the parent group, thereby indicating successful access to the neighboring device).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of JUNG and CHAKI, specifically CHAKI teaches wherein the processor (FIG. 2 processor 204) is further configured to
set the home appliance as a new host device according to a request of the host device ([0047] discloses that the GO maintains a list of backup leader nodes and that client nodes reconnect to a backup leader when the GO leaves, thereby teaching transfer of the host/leader role to another device, [0038] further discloses that the GO may reassign a network role to another P2P client and update the switching schedule accordingly), and perform control to notify each external home appliance in the local network that the home appliance becomes the new host device ([0039] discloses that updated switching schedules are shared with other groups, [0051] discloses that collected information and switching schedules are shared within the parent group, thereby teaching notification of updated role information to other devices in the network).
Regarding claim 20, a method (FIG. 12) performed by a home appliance (FIG. 1 electronic device 101; [0089] The electronic devices include a home appliance), the method comprising:
communicating with an access point (AP) (FIG. 17 AP 1720) ([0245] discloses that a network manager sets up an AP and manages network access of client device with the AP, [0256] discloses that an AP may be a DPP device in the network);
transmitting a discovery signal for checking whether a host device is present in a local network based on the AP ([0119] discloses transmitting a discovery beacon frame for discovery of a NAN cluster, [0224] discloses transmitting a subscribe message to search for a service and a publish message for service discovery);
performing control to operate as the host device in the local network in response to a discovery response signal corresponding to the discovery signal not being received ([0224] discloses receiving a publish message corresponding to the transmitted subscribe message, [0256] discloses enrollment of a client DPP device with an AP DPP device, thereby teaching operation as a client device upon successful discovery).
However, JUNG does not teach performing control to operate as a client device in the local network in response to the discovery response signal corresponding to the discovery signal being received.
In an analogous art, CHAKI teaches performing control to operate as a client device in the local network in response to the discovery response signal corresponding to the discovery signal being received ([0030] discloses performing device discovery and handling connection failure or timeout when a neighboring group is unavailable, [0042] discloses discovery response information carried in probe response and beacon frames, [0047] discloses that a Group Owner (GO) operates as the host device for the local Wi-Fi Direct group, thereby teaching operation of the host device responsive to unsuccessful discovery of another group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a group owner as taught by CHAKI within the system of JUNG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to overcome the group-size limitation of P2P network with an efficient transmission scheduling (CHAKI [0013]).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG, in view of CHAKI, and further in view of GALLAGHER et al. (US 2022/0015102 A1; hereinafter “GALLAGHER”).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of JUNG and CHAKI, specifically CHAKI teaches wherein the processor (FIG. 2 processor 204) is further configured to:
perform control to notify each external home appliance in the local network that the home appliance becomes the new host device ([0047] discloses that client nodes reconnect to a backup leader when the GO leaves, thereby informing group members of the newly assumed leader role, [0051] discloses sharing group information among group members through switching nodes).
However, the combination of JUNG and CHAKI does not teach receive a host alive signal indicating an expiration time from the host device, set the home appliance as a new host device based on a new host alive signal not being received from the host device by the expiration time.
In an analogous art, GALLAGHER teaches receive a host alive signal indicating an expiration time from the host device ([0160] discloses KEEP-ALIVE control messages exchanged between stations to maintain the communications link alive, [0167] discloses keep-alive timers having expiration values and being reset upon reception of a keep-alive message, thereby teaching receipt of a host alive signal indicating an expiration time),
set the home appliance as a new host device based on a new host alive signal not being received from the host device by the expiration time ([0167] discloses that reception of a keep-alive message resets a keep-alive timer and that upon expiration of the timer without receipt of a keep-alive message, the device determines that the connection is no longer maintained and changes its operating state, thereby teaching setting a new host device when a new host alive signal is not received by the expiration time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a keep-alive message as taught by GALLAGHER within the system of JUNG and CHAKI. One would have been motivated to do so in order to determine whether a connected device remains available and to trigger appropriate recovery procedures when connectivity is lost (GALLAGHER [0167]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of JUNG and CHAKI does not teach wherein the processor is assigned an Internet protocol (IP) address from the AP for a third external home appliance that attempts short-distance communication access to the home appliance and is further configured to perform control to provide the IP address to the third external home appliance.
In an analogous art, GALLAGHER teaches wherein the processor is assigned an Internet protocol (IP) address from the AP for a third external home appliance that attempts short-distance communication access to the home appliance and is further configured to perform control to provide the IP address to the third external home appliance ([0318] discloses that a peer-to-peer group owner operates as an access point and that a peer-to-peer device attaches to the group owner, including IP allocation, thereby teaching assignment and provision of an IP address by the AP to a device accessing through short-distance communication).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a peer-to-peer device as taught by GALLAGHER within the system of JUNG and CHAKI. One would have been motivated to do so in order to facilitate network access and communication for newly connected devices through IP address allocation (GALLAGHER [0318]).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2017/0041954 A1 (Tsai et al.) discloses methods for selecting available channels free of radar signals from a plurality of 5 GHz radio frequency channels.
US 2022/0317290 A1 (KOSTANIC et al.) discloses the L-band Digital Aeronautical Communications System (LDACS).
US 2023/0020832 A1 (Hotchkiss et al.) discloses Network Operation Center (NOC) dashboard systems and methods for cloud-based Wi-Fi systems.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/REDENTOR PASIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413