DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Greenleaf (US 2009/0044671).
With regards to claim 1, Greenleaf discloses a secondary battery case manufacturing device comprising:
a die (22) comprising a first surface and a second surface that are opposite to each other;
a punch hole (not labeled, as seen in at least Figure 1) extending through the first surface and the second surface;
a punch (28) arranged to face the first surface and configured to press a workpiece toward the punch hole in a first direction;
a knockout member (20) arranged to face the second surface and configured to press the workpiece in a second direction opposite to the first direction; and
a stamp member (36) on the knockout member and configured to imprint a pattern on the workpiece as the knockout member comes into contact with the workpiece, as seen in Figures 1-2.
With regards to claim 2, Greenleaf discloses wherein the knockout member comprises:
a knockout body (not labeled, as seen in Figure 1 facing the second surface and configured to move along the first direction or the second direction; and
a knockout pad (20) reciprocally movable with respect to the knockout body along the first direction and the second direction and configured to contact the workpiece, and
the stamp member is selectively contactable with the workpiece according to a moving direction of the knockout pad.
With regards to claim 3, Greenleaf discloses wherein the knockout pad (20) is insertable in the punch hole as the knockout body is moved along the second direction, as seen in Figure 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenleaf.
Greenleaf further discloses wherein the stamp member comprises: a stamp hole (unlabeled, as seen in Figure 1) extending through the knockout pad (20) and facing the punch hole and a stamp rod (36) extending from the knockout body toward the stamp hole, as seen in Figure 1. Greenleaf’s first embodiment discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for a stamp extending from the stamp rod and arranged inside the stamp hole, and the stamp protrudes out of the stamp hole as the knockout pad is moved relative to the knockout body in the first direction. Another of Greenleaf’s embodiments, described in paragraphs 0035-0036 and shown in Figures 8 and 9, show a stamp (110’ or 118’) extending from the stamp rod (102). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a protruding stamp as described in Greenleaf's embodiments because combining prior art elements according to known methods yields predictable results [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
With regards to claims 5-6, Greenleaf further discloses wherein the stamp extends along the second direction from an end of the stamp rod, as seen in Figures 8 and 9 and wherein the stamp member further comprises a support member between the knockout body and the stamp rod and configured to support the stamp rod with respect to the knockout body.
With regards to claim 7, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the particularly claimed material composition of the support member since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of mechanically efficiency. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and further show the state of the art: US Patent 4,800,745 and US 2019/0184442.
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725