DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This is a Non-Final Action for Request for Continued Examination (RCE) application Serial No. 18/657,621. Claim(s) 1-20 have been examined and fully considered.
Claim(s) 19-20 are newly added, where claim(s) 1-20 are pending in Instant Application.
Response to Arguments/Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 06/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) of pending application.
I. Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Per remarks, Applicant remarks states, amended independent claim 1 recites, in part, to "determine whether a velocity of a host vehicle is lower than a predetermined velocity when the host vehicle is driving on an outermost lane of a driving road" and "in response to determining that the velocity of the host vehicle is lower than the predetermined velocity, initiate a determination of determining whether one or more entrance or exit lanes are present within a predetermined distance in a driving direction of the host vehicle." Amended independent claims 9 and 17 contain similar limitations.
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fei, Xian-song (CN-109664888-B; the NPL citations are based on the provided English Translation) hereinafter, referred to as “Fei” in view of Saikyo et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0263411; previous recorded), hereinafter, referred to as “Saikyo”, and in view of Meyhofer et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0259753), hereinafter, referred to as “Meyhofer”, and in view of Lee (Pub. No.: US 2022/0101722; previously recorded).
Regarding [claim 1], An apparatus for assisting in driving a vehicle in an entrance or exit lane (see, Abstract; and Paragraph [0090]: “As can be seen in the advanced driver assistance system 100 shown in Figure 1, the advanced driver assistance system 100 includes a high-speed function automatic switching system 10, which enables the host vehicle to automatically enter and exit highway ramps and change lanes on the road.”), the apparatus comprising a controller (see, Paragraph “a signal processing module 2”,; Paragraph [n0082]: “These functional entities can be implemented in software, in one or more hardware modules or integrated circuits, or in different network and/or processor devices and/or microcontroller devices.”),
wherein the controller is an entrance/exit lane determination unit configured to (“signal processing module 2”):
determine …velocity when the host vehicle is driving on …lane of a driving road (see, Paragraph [0094]: “the longitudinal road distance between the host vehicle and the highway ramp entry/exit point accurately located by the vehicle positioning module 1 is greater than a first preset value and less than a second preset value, wherein the first preset value and the second preset value are predetermined by taking into account the current speed information of the host vehicle and the lane information of the distance from the target lane”);
…
…determine whether one or more entrance or exit lanes are present within a predetermined distance in a driving direction of the host vehicle (see, Paragraph [n0093]: “the signal processing module 2 determines, based on the information determined by the vehicle positioning module 1 and the path navigation information, whether the host vehicle has arrived at or is in the prompt area of the highway ramp entrance/exit point.”);
set a driving route of the host vehicle on the basis of traffic information around the entrance or exit lane and driving route information of another vehicle preceding the host vehicle (see, Paragraph [0094]: “Specifically, when the signal processing module 2 needs to enter or exit a highway ramp based on the route navigation information, it determines that the host vehicle has arrived at or is in the prompt area of the highway ramp entry/exit point under the following conditions and displays the corresponding prompt area signal: the longitudinal road distance between the host vehicle and the highway ramp entry/exit point accurately located by the vehicle positioning module 1 is greater than a first preset value and less than a second preset value, wherein the first preset value and the second preset value are predetermined by taking into account the current speed information of the host vehicle and the lane information of the distance from the target lane. Meanwhile, the switching prompt module will issue a switching prompt signal only when it determines that it can merge into the adjacent lane based on the current lane information and current speed information of the host vehicle, the distance information and speed information of the vehicles in front, and the distance information and speed information of the vehicles in front and behind in the adjacent lanes of the target lane where the host vehicle is located. In other words, the switching prompt module 3 will only make a positive judgment on the prompt area of the host vehicle arriving at or being at the entrance/exit point of the highway when all of the above conditions are met simultaneously.”; and [n0115]: “It should be explained here that in order to obtain the first and second preset values, a large number of simulation or modeling tests are required, taking into account the vehicle's motion characteristics and the surrounding traffic flow. Based on these experiments, the first and second preset values are stored in advance. Specifically, taking into account the current speed information of the host vehicle and the lane information of the distance from the target lane, the first preset value represents the minimum distance that the host vehicle can normally enter and exit the highway ramp.”);
share the set driving route of the host vehicle (see, Paragraph [n0092]: “the signal processing module 2 processes the information and, under the condition of implementing a certain algorithm, determines the state of the host vehicle and transmits the information to other modules of the advanced driver assistance system 100.”) , and
control the host vehicle based on the set driving route (see, Paragraph [n0096]: “Meanwhile, in order for the advanced driver assistance system 100 to enable the host vehicle to automatically enter and exit ramps more reliably and with less interference to the driver, the signal processing module 2 also needs to determine whether the host vehicle can merge into the adjacent lane under the current dynamic environment in order to further approach the target lane.”).
Fei does not explicitly disclose (se italicized portion):
…
determine whether a velocity of a host vehicle is lower than a predetermined velocity when the host vehicle is driving on an outermost lane of a driving road; in response to determining that the velocity of the host vehicle is lower than the predetermined velocity, initiate a determination of determining whether one or more entrance or exit lanes are present within a predetermined distance in a driving direction of the host vehicle;
…
However, additionally and/or alternatively Saikyo teaches
…
wherein the controller (see, “vehicle control device 10”) is configured to:
determine whether a velocity of a host vehicle is lower than a predetermined velocity when the host vehicle is driving on an outermost lane (see, “the leftmost lane in the travel direction is a car pool lane (specified lane) 102a, and the remaining three lanes are general lanes 102b to 102d . Rhombus shaped road markings 104 which indicate the existence of the car pool lane 102a are provided in the car pool lane 102a.” of paragraph [0050]) of a driving road (see, Fig. 3 and 4; Paragraphs [0043]-[0045] and [0049]; and [0052]-[0055]: “More specifically, the host vehicle position recognition unit 62 (see FIG. 2) acquires (recognizes) the host vehicle position P0 and the planned travel route 106 on the basis of the output information of the map information DB 22 and the navigation device 24. Further, the host vehicle position recognition unit 62 specifies the position of the exit 108 on the basis of the output information of the map information DB 22. Consequently, on the basis of the specified position of the exit 108 and the vehicle position P0, the host vehicle position recognition unit 62 is capable of calculating the remaining distance Ls.” ****Is notes that there is extensive discussion about a vehicle traveling from an outermost lane of a highway to an exit lane, with consideration of threshold distances, relative velocities, etc. expressed in the reference**** also see, Figures 3 and 7; and Paragraph [0083]: “In steps S6 to S8, the control condition setting unit 80 (see FIG. 2) may set the first to third conditions while taking into consideration a threshold value of a difference between the average velocity of the host vehicle lane L1 (see FIGS. 4 to 6) and the average velocity of the adjacent lane L2. In this case, if both the host lane L1 and the adjacent lane L2 are the general lanes 102b to 102d, and the difference in velocity is less than or equal to the threshold value, the > S6 process steps are executed sequentially in the order of steps S5 > S9, and the lane change control is performed by the vehicle control unit 68…” [0090]; and [0097]-[0099] ****Is notes that there is extensive discussion about a vehicle traveling from an outermost lane of a highway to an exit lane, with consideration of threshold distances, relative velocities, etc. expressed in the reference****),
…
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify how to enable the host vehicle to change lanes smoothly from the host vehicle lane to the adjacent lane as taught by Saikyo. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to solve the aforementioned problems, and has the object of providing a vehicle control device which is capable of smoothly performing a lane change while taking into consideration a tendency of the flow of traffic (see, Paragraph [0008]).
However, additionally and/or alternatively Meyhofer teaches
…
…a controller (see, “AV control system 220”)…
determine whether a velocity of a host vehicle is lower than a predetermined velocity …(see, Paragraph [0076]: “Accordingly, in many examples, the AV control system can activate the stereo camera(s) 427 when certain conditions are met (e.g., when the AV’s sped id below a certain threshold, or when driving through dense road and/or pedestrian traffic)”);
in response to determining that the velocity of the host vehicle is lower than the predetermined velocity, initiate a determination (see, Paragraph [0082] “However, if one or more object (s) are detected in the camera data 237 (514), then the AV control system 220 can determine whether an avoidance maneuver is possible (520) to circumvent the detected object (s) In many aspects, the AV control system 220 can determine a position and / or distance to any detected objects in the camera data 237, and determine whether the operative parameters of the AV 200 (e.g., wheelbase, turn radius, length, and width of the AV 200) enable the AV control system 220 to avoid the object (s)”);
I would be obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to activate sensor systems, such as a camera system, based on detected velocity to improve the AV monitoring capabilities in various situational environments along a given route (see [0001]) to improve safety and maneuverability.
As Fei discloses when the host vehicle arrives at or is in a prompt area of a ramp entrance-exit point of a highway, the switching prompt module sends a switching prompt signal under the following conditions: according to the current lane information and the current speed information of the host vehicle; and judging that the distance information and the speed information of the front vehicle and the rear vehicle which are close to the target lane and are adjacent to the lane where the host vehicle is positioned can be merged into the adjacent lane.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further modify how the AV approaches an intersection and decelerates below a first threshold, the stereo camera system can automatically activate. When the AV accelerates through the intersection and above a second threshold, the stereo camera system can deactivates taught by Meyhofer. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to prevent potential incidents when, for example, the AV is performing low speed and compact maneuvering. In many examples, the camera data can originate from one or more stereo cameras and thus provide depth of field information in order to detect a position of a potential hazard, identify the hazard, maneuver around the hazard, and/or resolve the hazard (see, Paragraph [0013]).
Additionally, Lee teaches
set a driving route of the host vehicle on the basis of traffic information around the entrance or exit lane and driving route information of another vehicle preceding the host vehicle (see, Paragraph [0026]: “setting a detour route by using a navigation that sets a driving path of the vehicle, in response to determining that the traffic condition of the side lane is congested; and controlling driving of the vehicle based on the detour path”; [0060]: “The sensing unit 10 may sense the position information or the movement information of the external obstacle 200 through the camera sensor 11 or the radar sensor 12 or sense the position information or the movement information of the external obstacle 200 by being connected to the infrastructure 13 or the external obstacle 200 via wireless communication, and the determining unit 20 may set a vehicle collision index based on the position information or the movement information of the external obstacle 200 sensed by the sensing unit 10 from the camera sensor 11, the radar sensor 12, the infrastructure 13, or the external obstacle 200”; [0061]: “The determining unit 20 may set the vehicle collision index calculated by numerically calculating the possibility of collision between the vehicle 100 and the external obstacle 200 based on the position information or the movement information of the external obstacle 200, sensed by the sensing unit 10” ;[0062]-[0063]; [0077] and [0089]); and
share the set driving route of the host vehicle (see “sensing the position information or the movement information of the external obstacle 200 by being connected to the infrastructure or the external vehicle via wireless communication, and determining operation S200 may include setting a vehicle collision index based on the position information or the movement information of the external obstacle 200 sensed in sensing operation Sl00 from the camera sensor, the radar sensor, the infrastructure, or the external vehicle”; and “Determining operation S200 may include, when setting the vehicle collision index based on a connection state of wireless communication with the infrastructure or the external vehicle, a sensing state of the sensor, or a position state of the external obstacle 200, setting a weight value for information of the external obstacle 200, sensed by the sensor, or information of the external obstacle 200, transmitted via wireless communication” Paragraphs [0084]-[0085]).
Lee teaches a road entry system and method for a vehicle, and more particularly, to a technique for controlling driving of a vehicle according to a traffic condition of an entrance lane, and determining of whether the entrance lane is congested may include, when setting the vehicle collision index based on a connection state of wireless communication with the infrastructure or the external vehicle, a sensing state of the camera sensor or the radar sensor.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further implement the advanced driver assistance system taught by Fei and combining, and the one or more processors, may further cause the autonomous vehicle controller to, based on the steering wheel being manipulated at the entry point of the ramp by less than a threshold angle of rotation and further based on unavailability of information about the lane: set the route of the first vehicle to include the ramp; and reduce the speed of the first vehicle according to a first speed associated with the ramp. as taught by Meyhofer, and a road entry system of a vehicle utilizing a technique for controlling driving of a vehicle according to a traffic condition of an entrance lane as taught by Lee. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey that the many advanced driver assistance features, the ability to automatically switch between highway ramps can greatly reduce the driver's workload on highways and improve the overall vehicle safety when changing ramps (see, Fei). And utilizing Lee, to make this modification in order to convey in response to the vehicle entering an entrance lane; determining whether the entrance lane is congested, based on the position information or the movement information of the external obstacle, as sensed in the sensing operation; and controlling driving of the vehicle based on a result of the determining of whether the entrance lane is congested, and safely enter the entrance lane when entering the entrance lane (see, Paragraph [0018]; and [0053]).
As to [claim 2], the combination of Fei, Saikyo, and Meyhofer teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Fei discloses
wherein the controller determines whether the entrance or exit lane is present on the basis of a combination of information received from a navigation system and information received from a camera (see, Paragraph [n0098]: “the advanced driver assistance system 100 further includes a path planning module 7. When the route planning module 7 needs to enter or exit the highway ramp based on the route navigation information, and the vehicle positioning module 1 accurately locates the road distance between the host vehicle and the highway ramp entry/exit point, which is less than the first preset value, the route planning module 7 can replan the route and generate new route navigation information.”, and [n0088]: “For example, one or more of the following components or modules may be installed on the host vehicle: camera, radar sensor, ultrasonic sensor, IMU, high-precision map engine, ACC (Adaptive Cruise Control), LKS (Lane Keep System), LDW (Lane Departure Warning), TSR (Traffic Sign Recognition), AHBC (Adaptive High-Beam Control), and ALC (Active Lane Control). The advanced driver assistance system 100 can be connected to sensors, actuators, or controllers of modules such as cameras, radar sensors, ultrasonic sensors, IMU, high-precision map engines, ACC, LKS, LDW, TSR, AHBC, and ALC via, for example, through a CAN bus, thereby facilitating information exchange.”
Regarding [claim 9], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 1, therefore claim 9 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 10], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 2, therefore claim 10 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
Regarding [claim 17], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim(s) 1 and 9, therefore claim 17 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above. Lee teaches an apparatus (see, Abstract; “A road entry system”) comprising:
a memory into which a program for assisting in driving a vehicle in an entrance or exit lane is loaded; and one or more processors configured to execute the program for assisting in driving a vehicle in an entrance or exit lane, the program being loaded into the memory, wherein the program for assisting in driving a vehicle in an entrance or exit lane (see, Paragraph [0027]: “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method described above”; and [0041]: “A sensing unit 10, a determining unit 20, and a control unit 30 according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention may be implemented through nonvolatile memory (not shown) configured to store data regarding an algorithm for controlling operations of various components of a vehicle or software instructions for reproducing the algorithm and a processor (not shown) configured to perform operations described below by using the data stored in the memory. Herein, the memory and the processor may be implemented as separate chips. Alternatively, the memory and the processor may be implemented as an integrated single chip. The processor may have a form of one or more processors.”) comprises:
…
Claim(s) 3-8, 11-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fei, Saikyo, Meyhofer, and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoon et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0047771; previously recorded), hereinafter, referred to as “Yoon”.
As to [claim 3], the combination of Fei, Saikyo, Meyhofer, and Lee teaches the apparatus of claim 1. As Fei discloses “Figures 2 and 3 of this invention, it is also feasible to determine whether the host vehicle has arrived at or is in the prompt area of the highway ramp entrance/exit point based on the precise positioning information combined with the path navigation information A2 and A'1.”, Lee teaches wherein through V2X communication, the controller receives information on whether another vehicle enters the entrance or exit lane and receives information on whether traffic congestion occurs around the entrance or exit lane (see, Paragraph [0063]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to further implement the advanced driver assistance system taught by Fei and combining a road entry system of a vehicle utilizing a technique for controlling driving of a vehicle according to a traffic condition of an entrance lane as taught by Lee. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey that the many advanced driver assistance features, the ability to automatically switch between highway ramps can greatly reduce the driver's workload on highways and improve the overall vehicle safety when changing ramps (see, Fei). And utilizing Lee, to make this modification in order to convey in response to the vehicle entering an entrance lane; determining whether the entrance lane is congested, based on the position information or the movement information of the external obstacle, as sensed in the sensing operation; and controlling driving of the vehicle based on a result of the determining of whether the entrance lane is congested, and safely enter the entrance lane when entering the entrance lane (see, Paragraph [0018]; and [0053\).
Additional, Yoon further teaches wherein through V2X communication (see, Paragraph [0004]), the controller receives information on whether another vehicle enters the entrance or exit lane and receives information on whether traffic congestion occurs around the entrance or exit lane (see, Paragraph [0041]: “the vehicle A may recognize at least one external vehicle by using vehicle to-something (V2X) technology (e.g., dedicated short-range communications (DSRC) or wireless access in vehicular environments (WAVE)). For example, the vehicle A may receive a packet broadcasted or advertised by the at least one external vehicle in a certain time cycle, and determine a relative location of the at least one external vehicle by analyzing the received packet.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to implement a communication unit to sharing route information with nearby vehicle(s) via V2X as taught by Yoon. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey a driving status or a status of traffic of a road ahead may be provided to nearby vehicles based on, for example, V2V communication. As such, traffic may be improved overall and thus traffic congestion may be rapidly solved (see, Paragraph [0178]).
As to [claim 4], the combination of Fei, Saikyo, Meyhofer, and Lee and Yoon teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Fei discloses wherein the controller changes the set driving route of the host vehicle on the basis of object information detected by a camera and a radar (see, “Therefore, the advanced driver assistance system 100 can collect or gather the required data from the various components installed on the host vehicle. For example, one or more of the following components or modules may be installed on the host vehicle: camera, radar sensor, ultrasonic sensor, IMU, high-precision map engine, ACC (Adaptive Cruise Control), LKS (Lane Keep System), LDW (Lane Departure Warning), TSR (Traffic Sign Recognition), AHBC (Adaptive High-Beam Control), and ALC (Active Lane Control). The advanced driver assistance system 100 can be connected to sensors, actuators, or controllers of modules such as cameras, radar sensors, ultrasonic sensors, IMU, high-precision map engines, ACC, LKS, LDW, TSR, AHBC, and ALC via, for example, through a CAN bus, thereby facilitating information exchange. It should be noted that the components installed on the host vehicle are not limited to the examples above. Depending on the need for automatic switching of the high-speed function of the advanced driver assistance system 100, corresponding components (such as sensors) can be selected and set.”).
Yoon further teaches wherein the driving route setting unit changes the set driving route of the host vehicle on the basis of object information detected by a camera and a radar (see. Yoon Paragraph [0154]: “In FIG. 14, when the vehicle A is located at a first distance from a monitored area ahead, the vehicle A may sense objects near the vehicle A, e.g., obtain first sensing information (operation 1401)”; [0155]: “ The vehicle A may determine a first operating mode among a plurality of operating modes of the vehicle A by using first surrounding area information based on the sensed values of the first sensing information (operation 1402).”; and [0156]: “The vehicle A may change at least one of a speed or a direction of the vehicle A to drive toward the monitored area based on the determined first operating mode (operation 1403).”;n see also Lee, [0010], [0012], [0054]-[0056], [0060], [0082]).
As to [claim 5], the combination of Fei, Saikyo, Meyhofer, and Lee and Yoon teaches the apparatus of claim 4. Yoon further teaches wherein each time the driving route of the host vehicle is set or changed, the controller transmits the set driving route of the host vehicle or the changed driving route of the host vehicle to another vehicle positioned within a predetermined distance from the host vehicle. (see, Paragraphs [0156]: “The vehicle A may change at least one of a speed or a direction of the vehicle A to drive toward the monitored area based on the determined first operating mode (operation 1403).”; [0157] “When the vehicle A drives toward the monitored area and is located at a second distance less than the first distance from the monitored area, the vehicle A may sense objects near the vehicle A, e.g., obtain second sensing information (operation 1404).”; [0158]: “The vehicle A may determine a second operating mode among the plurality of operating modes of the vehicle A by using second surrounding area information based on the sensed values of the second sensing information (operation 1405).”; and [0159]: “The vehicle A may change at least one of the speed or the direction of the vehicle A to pass through the monitored area based on the determined second operating mode (operation 1406)”.
As to [claim 6]: the combination of Fei, Saikyo, Meyhofer, Lee and Yoon teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Yoon teaches wherein when it is determined that another vehicle is scheduled to enter the entrance or exit lane, the host vehicle is not scheduled to enter the entrance or exit lane, and there is no traffic congestion around the entrance or exit lane, the controller sets a driving route so that the host vehicle changes the lane on which the host vehicle travels and moves ahead of another vehicle (see, Paragraphs [0114]; [0122]; [0136]; [0176]: “the electronic device 100 may set a driving route of the vehicle A based on information sensed by the sensor 11. The electronic device 100 may control the driving unit 16 based on the set driving route. According to an embodiment, the vehicle A may autonomously change lanes or control speed without intervention of a driver.”; and [0177]: “According to embodiments, because a driving route of a vehicle may be proactively set in consideration of a traffic congestion status of a monitored area ( e.g., an intersection) to which the vehicle is scheduled to drive, the vehicle may rapidly enter the monitored area and a driving route for bypassing the monitored area may be set depending on a situation.”).
As to [claim 7], the combination of Fei, Saikyo, Meyhofer, Lee and Yoon teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Yoon teaches wherein when it is determined that another vehicle and the host vehicle are scheduled to enter the entrance or exit lane, the controller sets a driving route so that the host vehicle keeps traveling along the lane on which the host vehicle travels (see, Paragraphs [0114]; [0122]; [0136]; [0176]: “the electronic device 100 may set a driving route of the vehicle A based on information sensed by the sensor 11. The electronic device 100 may control the driving unit 16 based on the set driving route. According to an embodiment, the vehicle A may autonomously change lanes or control speed without intervention of a driver.”; and [0177]: “According to embodiments, because a driving route of a vehicle may be proactively set in consideration of a traffic congestion status of a monitored area ( e.g., an intersection) to which the vehicle is scheduled to drive, the vehicle may rapidly enter the monitored area and a driving route for bypassing the monitored area may be set depending on a situation.”)..
As to [claim 8], the combination of Fei, Saikyo, Meyhofer, and Lee teaches the apparatus of claim 1. As Fei discloses “when the signal processing module 2 needs to enter or exit a highway ramp based on the route navigation information, it determines that the host vehicle has arrived at or is in the prompt area of the highway ramp entry/exit point under the following conditions and displays the corresponding prompt area signal” and “the lane change command module 4 can operatively issue a lane change command after issuing a switching prompt signal. Here, "operatively" can be understood as the driver operating a lever or the like. For example, after receiving a switching prompt signal, the driver can issue a lane change command through the host vehicle's human-machine interface, such as by operating the lane change lever of the lane change command module 4.”, see Paragraph [n0094].
However, Yoon further teaches wherein controller is configured to control a display of the host vehicle to displays a screen, which indicates the set driving route of the host vehicle (see, Paragraph [0128]: “When the vehicle A waits without entering the intersection, for following vehicles which cannot identify the status of the traffic light, as illustrated in FIG. l0C, the electronic device 100 may notify the status of the vehicle A or the status of the intersection through a display of the vehicle A. For example, the electronic device 100 may provide a notification 1002 of 'Cannot enter intersection due to traffic congestion' through the display of the vehicle A”; [0131] and [0170]: “The display may display information processed by the electronic device 100. For example, the display may display a map including a driving route, display driving information, display locations of nearby vehicles, display a driving status, or display notification information for receiving a confirmation for an operating mode or a driving route of the vehicle A”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to implement a communication unit to sharing route information with nearby vehicle(s) as taught by Yoon. One would be motivated to make this modification in order to convey a driving status or a status of traffic of a road ahead may be provided to nearby vehicles based on, for example, V2V communication. As such, traffic may be improved overall and thus traffic congestion may be rapidly solved (see, Paragraph [0178]).
As to [claim 11], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 3, therefore claim 11 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 12], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 4, therefore claim 12 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 13], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 5, therefore claim 13 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 14], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 6, therefore claim 14 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 15], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 7, therefore claim 15 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 16], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 8, therefore claim 16 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
As to [claim 18], recites analogous limitations that are present in claim 3, therefore claim 18 would be rejected for the same/similar premise above.
Possible Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Upon review of the evidence at hand, it is hereby concluded that the evidence obtained and made of record, alone or in combination, neither anticipates, reasonably teaches, nor renders obvious all the features of applicant’s invention as the features amount to more than a predictable use of elements in the prior art.
With respect to the independent claim(s) 19 the claim features below are rendered to be novel and non-obvious. In light of the prior art of record, either individually, in combination and/or dependently on other prior art does not teach the claim features
wherein in case that a plurality of entrance lanes or a plurality of exit lanes are present within the predetermined distance in the driving direction of the host vehicle, the controller is configured to calculate the number of the present entrance or exit lanes and assign different identification numbers to the plurality of entrance lanes or the plurality of exit lanes
With respect to the independent claim(s) 20 the claim features below are rendered to be novel and non-obvious. In light of the prior art of record, either individually, in combination and/or dependently on other prior art does not teach the claim features
wherein in case that one of lanes disposed at two opposite sides of a lane along which the host vehicle currently travels disappears, the controller is configured to:
recognize a distant lane existing at a disappearing side or a non-disappearing side by using captured image information received from a camera installed at the host vehicle;
calculate a vehicle approach rate, which is a rate of change at which the distant lane approaches the host vehicle, or calculate a vehicle separation rate, which is a rate of change at which the distant lane moves away from the host vehicle; and
determine whether the entrance or exit lane is present forward of the host vehicle based on the vehicle approach rate or the vehicle separation rate.
While the aforementioned references disclose each of the elements of the invention, the combination of references does not fully capture the structure and interplay of the elements as recited in the claims. Therefore, upon review of the evidence at hand, it is hereby concluded that the evidence obtained and made of record, alone or in combination, neither anticipates, reasonably teaches, nor renders obvious all the features of applicant’s invention as the features amount to more than a predictable use of elements in the prior art.
Relative Prior Art
Prior art, McDonough (Patent No.: US 6,278,942) teaches a navigation system to provide guidance to a driver of a vehicle when the vehicle departs from a route to a destination for which route guidance was being provided by the navigation system. Intersections that can be reached by the vehicle while calculation of a new solution route to the destination is being performed are identified.
Prior art, Raghu et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0176341) teaches systems, components, and methodologies are provided for determining a position of a vehicle on a roadway having exits.
Conclusion
/B.U./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663