Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2024/0155887).
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches a display panel (Fig. 1-3B and 5-11, [0050-0093, 0103]) comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 1-3B and 5-11, [0049-0050]) including an active area (112 in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10) on which a plurality of subpixels are arranged (Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) and a non-active area (the area corresponding to 116 and 114 in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10) including a pad area (the area corresponding to 114 in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10) located in a column direction (the vertical direction in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10) from the active area (112 in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10);
a substrate (Fig. 2, 8, 16, 18-19, 21, 25 and 31, Fig. 41 and 28-29) including an active area (the display area 1 in Fig. 2) on which a plurality of subpixels (Fig. 4, and 35-36, Fig. 41 and 28-29) are arranged and a non-active area (the non-display area outside 1 in Fig. 2) including a pad area (the area corresponding to 15 in Fig. 11, 13, 15-16 and 18) located in a column direction (the vertical direction in Fig. 2, 11, 13, 15-16 and 18) from the active area (the display area 1 in Fig. 2);
a plurality of data lines (131 and 132 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) in the active area (112 in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10), each data line (131 and 132 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) extending in the column direction (the vertical direction in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10);
a plurality of pads (the portions/pads of 141 and 142 within the region of 114 in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10) in the pad area (the area corresponding to 114 in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10); and
a plurality of link lines (the lines corresponding to 141 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) electrically connecting the plurality of pads (the portions/pads of 141 and 142 within the region of 114 in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10) and the plurality of data lines (131 and 132 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10),
wherein each of the plurality of link lines (the lines corresponding to 141 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) including a row-direction link line part (the part corresponding to 141A in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) extending in the row direction (the horizontal direction in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10) and a column-direction link line part (the part corresponding to 141B in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) extending in the column direction (the vertical direction in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10),
wherein the row-direction link line part (the part corresponding to 141A in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) included in each of the plurality of link lines (the lines corresponding to 141 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) is in the active area (112 in Fig. 1), and at least a portion of the column-direction link line part (the part corresponding to 141B in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) included in each of the plurality of link lines (the lines corresponding to 141 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) is in the active area (112 in Fig. 1),
wherein row-direction link line parts (the part corresponding to 141A in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) included in the plurality of link lines (the lines corresponding to 141 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) have lengths corresponding to each other ([0016, 0084]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2024/0155887) in view of Ma (US 2023/0207572)
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a display device (Fig. 1-3B and 5-11, [0050-0093, 0103]) comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 1-3B and 5-11, [0049-0050]) including an active area (112 in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10) on which a plurality of subpixels are arranged (Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) and a non-active area (the area corresponding to 116 and 114 in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10) including a pad area (the area corresponding to 114 in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10) located in a column direction (the vertical direction in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10) from the active area (112 in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10);
a plurality of gate lines (192B in Fig. 3B, [0070-0071]) in the active area (112 in Fig. 1), each gate line extending in a row direction (the horizontal direction in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10);
a plurality of data lines (131 and 132 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) in the active area (112 in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10), each data line (131 and 132 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) extending in the column direction (the vertical direction in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10);
a plurality of pads (the portions/pads of 141 and 142 within the region of 114 in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10) in the pad area (the area corresponding to 114 in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10); and
a plurality of link lines (the lines corresponding to 141 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) electrically connecting the plurality of pads (the portions/pads of 141 and 142 within the region of 114 in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10) and the plurality of data lines (131 and 132 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10), each of the plurality of link lines (the lines corresponding to 141 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) including a row-direction link line part (the part corresponding to 141A in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) extending in the row direction (the horizontal direction in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10) and a column-direction link line part (the part corresponding to 141B in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) extending in the column direction (the vertical direction in Fig. 1, 3A-3B, 7 and 10),
wherein the row-direction link line part (the part corresponding to 141A in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) included in each of the plurality of link lines (the lines corresponding to 141 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) is in the active area (112 in Fig. 1), and at least a portion of the column-direction link line part (the part corresponding to 141B in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) included in each of the plurality of link lines (the lines corresponding to 141 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) is in the active area (112 in Fig. 1),
Wang teaches that lengths of row-direction link line parts (the lengths of 141A in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) included the plurality of link lines (the lines corresponding to 141 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) correspond to each other (Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10, [0016, 0084]). Wang does not teach that the row-direction link line part included in each of the plurality of link lines vertically overlaps at least one gate line among the plurality of gate lines, and overlapping areas between row-direction link line parts included the plurality of link lines and the at least one gate line correspond to each other.
Ma teaches that (Fig. 41, Fig. 2, 8, 16, 18-19, 21, 25 and 31, [0118, 0139]) a row-direction link line part (the horizontal portion of 6 in Fig. 41, Fig. 2, 8, 16, 18-19, 21, 25 and 31, [0118, 0139]) vertically overlaps (Fig. 41, [0118, 0139]) at least one gate line (Scan2 in Fig. 41, [0139, 0118]), and overlapping areas (Fig. 41) between the row-direction link line part (the horizontal portion of 6 in Fig. 41, Fig. 2, 8, 16, 18-19, 21, 25 and 31, [0118, 0139]) and the at least one gate line (Scan2 in Fig. 41, [0139, 0118]) correspond to the length of the row-direction link line part (Fig. 41).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Ma for the row-direction link line part included in each of the plurality of link lines in the system of Wang such that in the system of Wang, the row-direction link line part included in each of the plurality of link lines vertically overlaps at least one gate line among the plurality of gate lines, and overlapping areas between row-direction link line parts included the plurality of link lines and the at least one gate line correspond to each other. The motivation is to reduce an influence of a voltage jump of the gate lines and improve stability of the driving transistor in the operation state (Ma, [0139]).
Regarding claims 2, Wang also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 2) row-direction link line parts (the part corresponding to 141A in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) included in the plurality of link lines (the lines corresponding to 141 in Fig. 3A-3B, 7 and 10) have lengths corresponding to each other ([0016, 0084])
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Ma as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 2024/0363048) and Li (US 2017/0287947).
Regarding claim 16, Wang does not teach the following elements.
Zhang teaches the following elements (Fig. 1-2 and 4-10, [0044-0046, 0058-0060]):
(Claim 16) a column-direction link line part (L12 in Fig. 1 and 10) is located in a third metal layer (M3 in Fig. 10) same as a plurality of data lines (121 and 122 in Fig. 1 and 10), and a row-direction link line part (L11 in Fig. 1 and 9) is located in a second metal layer (M2 in Fig. 9) different from the plurality of data lines (121 and 122 in Fig. 1 and 10).
Li teaches the following elements ([0109-0111]):
(Claim 16) a third metal layer and a second metal layer have different materials ([0111, 0109]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Zhang and Li for the system of Wang in view of Ma such that in the system of Wang in view of Ma,
(Claim 16) the column-direction link line part includes a same material as the plurality of data lines, and the row-direction link line part includes a different material from the plurality of data lines.
The motivation is that the probability of signal coupling or crosstalk may be relatively low, and it may be beneficial to improve the accuracy and stability of the signal transmitted by the data line, thus, the overall display effect of the display panel may be improved (Zhang, [0060]), and it helps to provide wiring layout method/design having desired flexibility and simplicity (Li, [0116]).
Regarding claim 17, Wang does not teach the following elements.
Zhang teaches the following elements (Fig. 1-2 and 4-10, [0044-0046, 0058-0060]):
(Claim 17) a first insulating film (A1 in Picture 1) on the substrate (Picture 1); a first gate line (G1 in Picture 1) on the first insulating film (A1 in Picture 1); a second insulating film (A2 in Picture 1) on the first gate line (G1 in Picture 1); a second gate line (G2 in Picture 1) on the second insulating film (A2 in Picture 1); a third insulating film (A3 in Picture 1) on the second gate line (G2 in Picture 1); a first planarization layer (P1 in Picture 1) on the third insulating film (A3 in Picture 1); and a second planarization layer (P2 in Picture 1) on the first planarization layer (P1 in Picture 1), wherein the row-direction link line part (L11 in M2 layer in Fig. 1 and 9) is between the third insulating film (A3 in Picture 1) and the first planarization layer (P1 in Picture 1), and the column-direction link line part (L12 in M3 layer in Fig. 1 and 10) is between the first planarization layer (P1 in Picture 1) and the second planarization layer (P3 in Picture 1), wherein at least a portion of the row-direction link line part vertically overlaps with at least a portion of at least one of the first gate line and the second gate line.
Ma teaches the following elements (Fig. 41, Fig. 2, 8, 16, 18-19, 21, 25 and 31, [0118, 0139])
(Claim 17) at least a portion of a row-direction link line part (the horizontal portion of 6 in Fig. 41, Fig. 2, 8, 16, 18-19, 21, 25 and 31, [0118, 0139]) vertically overlaps (Fig. 41, [0118, 0139]) at least a portion of at least one of a first gate line and a second gate line (Scan2 in Fig. 41, [0139, 0118]), and overlapping areas (Fig. 41) between the row-direction link line part (the horizontal portion of 6 in Fig. 41, Fig. 2, 8, 16, 18-19, 21, 25 and 31, [0118, 0139]) and the at least one gate line (Scan2 in Fig. 41, [0139, 0118]) correspond to the length of the row-direction link line part (Fig. 41).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Zhang and Ma for the system of Wang in view of Ma, Zhang and Li such that in the system of Wang in view of Ma, Zhang and Li,
(Claim 17) a first insulating film on the substrate; a first gate line on the first insulating film; a second insulating film on the first gate line; a second gate line on the second insulating film; a third insulating film on the second gate line; a first planarization layer on the third insulating film; and a second planarization layer on the first planarization layer, wherein the row-direction link line part is between the third insulating film and the first planarization layer, and the column-direction link line part is between the first planarization layer and the second planarization layer, wherein at least a portion of the row-direction link line part vertically overlaps with at least a portion of at least one of the first gate line and the second gate line.
The motivation is that the probability of signal coupling or crosstalk may be relatively low, and it may be beneficial to improve the accuracy and stability of the signal transmitted by the data line, thus, the overall display effect of the display panel may be improved (Zhang, [0060]), and it helps to reduce an influence of a voltage jump of the gate lines and improve stability of the driving transistor in the operation state (Ma, [0139]).
Picture 1, from Fig. 4 of Zhang (US 2024/0363048)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 2024/0363048) and Li (US 2017/0287947).
Regarding claim 20, Wang does not teach the following elements.
Zhang teaches the following elements (Fig. 1-2 and 7-10, [0044-0046, 0058-0060]):
(Claim 20) a column-direction link line part (L12 in Fig. 1 and 10) is located in a third metal layer (M3 in Fig. 10) same as a plurality of data lines (121 and 122 in Fig. 1 and 10), and a row-direction link line part (L11 in Fig. 1 and 9) is located in a second metal layer (M2 in Fig. 9) different from the plurality of data lines (121 and 122 in Fig. 1 and 10).
Li teaches the following elements ([0109-0111]):
(Claim 20) a third metal layer and a second metal layer have different materials ([0111, 0109]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Zhang and Li for the system of Wang such that in the system of Wang,
(Claim 20) the column-direction link line part includes a same material as the plurality of data lines, and the row-direction link line part includes a different material from the plurality of data lines.
The motivation is that the probability of signal coupling or crosstalk may be relatively low, and it may be beneficial to improve the accuracy and stability of the signal transmitted by the data line, thus, the overall display effect of the display panel may be improved (Zhang, [0060]), and it helps to provide wiring layout method/design having desired flexibility and simplicity (Li, [0116]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-15 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art of record discloses or suggests all the combination of a display device or a display panel as set forth in claims 3-15 and 19.
Regarding claims 3-15, none of the prior art discloses or suggests a display device recited in claim 1, wherein “the plurality of data lines include a first data line and a second data line, and the plurality of pads include a first pad and a second pad, wherein the plurality of link lines include a first link line electrically connecting the first data line and the first pad and a second link line electrically connecting the second data line and the second pad, wherein the first link line includes a first row-direction link line part and a first column-direction link line part, and the first row-direction link line part electrically connects the first data line and the first column-direction link line part, and the first column-direction link line part electrically connects the first row-direction link line part and the first pad, wherein the second link line includes a second row-direction link line part and a second column-direction link line part, and the second row-direction link line part electrically connects the second data line and the second column-direction link line part, and the second column-direction link line part electrically connects the second row-direction link line part and the second pad, wherein a first area overlapping the first row-direction link line part and at least one first gate line is equal to a second area overlapping the second row-direction link line part and at least one second gate line” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Regarding claim 19, none of the prior art discloses or suggests a display panel recited in claim 18, wherein “a plurality of gate lines in the active area, each gate line extending in a row direction; wherein the row-direction link line part included in each of the plurality of link lines vertically overlaps at least one gate line among the plurality of gate lines, wherein overlapping areas between the row-direction link line parts included in each of the plurality of link lines and the at least one gate line are equal to each other” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Conclusion
/Shan Liu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871