DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2024, 10/29/2024, 6/10/2024 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1: Claim(s) 6-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0319255 A1 Smits et al in view of USPN 12,586,197 B2 Dacosta.
2: As for Claim 6, Smits et al teaches a system for 3D and 4D (video) data capture comprising: a plurality of sensor modules (camera pod 903) (depicted in Figures (9B and 9C) and teaches in Paragraph [0148], each said sensor modules (903) comprising: an RGB camera (Paragraphs 0143 and 0183 teaches capturing RGB color information using a color camera), a depth camera (Paragraph [0144] teach stereo cameras are used for stereometric matching for 3D measurements), an IR camera (Paragraph [0070] teaches the system can include cameras that capture Infrared video), a microphone (Paragraph [0163]). Smits et al teaches in Paragraph [0148] each of the camera pods (903) include LED lighting elements (906) as a light source. However, is silent as to if the light source is a polarized on non-polarized light source.
Dacosta teaches on Column 15, Lines 39-55 a camera system for capturing 3D video and teaches using a light source that is non-polarized. Dacosta teaches it is advantageous to use a non-polarized light source in order to improve image quality.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a non-polarized light source as taught by Dacosta for the light sources of Smits et al in order to improve image quality.
3: As for Claim 7, Smits et al further teaches in Paragraph [0146 and 0178] wherein each sensor module (camera pod 903) further comprises a computer- based device (each pod is connected wirelessly to a computer network for controlling the elements of the camera pod. Therefore, the camera pods include computer circuitry to receive and transmit information to the remote computers) for controlling the RGB camera, the depth camera, the IR camera, the microphone, and the non-polarized light source.
4: As for Claim 8, Smits et al further teaches in Paragraph [0103] and depicts in Figures 1 and 4 comprising a computer-based server (402) in communication with each computer-based device (CPU associated with sensing systems).
5: As for Claim 9, Smits et al teaches in Paragraph [0152] and depicts in Figures 9A and 9B further comprising: a stage frame (901) for supporting the plurality of sensor modules (903), the stage frame defining a capture volume.
6: As for Claim 10, Smits et al teaches in Paragraph [0152] wherein the stage frame is transportable (movable with wheels).
7: As for Claim 11, Smits et al teaches in Paragraph [0168] and depicts in Figure 11A wherein at least one of the plurality of sensor modules (camera pods 903) is mounted to an actor, the actor being a human or a robot (flying drone 1110 is viewed as a robot).
8: As for Claim 12, Smits et al teaches in Paragraph [0152] and depicts in Figures 9A and 9B further comprising: a stage frame (901) for supporting the plurality of sensor modules (903), the stage frame defining a capture volume.
9: As for Claim 13, Smits et al teaches in Paragraph [0152] wherein the stage frame is transportable (movable with wheels).
10: As for Claim 14, Smits et al further teaches in Paragraph [0146 and 0178] wherein each sensor module (camera pod 903) further comprises a computer- based device (each pod is connected wirelessly to a computer network for controlling the elements of the camera pod. Therefore, the camera pods include computer circuitry to receive and transmit information to the remote computers) for controlling the RGB camera, the depth camera, the IR camera, the microphone, and the non-polarized light source.
11: As for Claim 15, Smits et al further teaches in Paragraph [0103] and depicts in Figures 1 and 4 comprising a computer-based server (402) in communication with each computer-based device (CPU associated with sensing systems).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach a translucent front panel attached to said front side of said module frame, said front panel comprising an RGB camera, a depth camera, an IR camera, and a microphone; a back panel attached to said back side of said module frame, said back panel supporting a lighting array; and a plurality of second sensor modules mounted to said stage frame, each said second sensor module comprising: an elongated frame having a front side toward said chamber and a back side toward the exterior of said stage; and a translucent elongated front panel attached to said front side of said elongated frame, said elongated front panel comprising at least one RGB camera when taken in combination with all the limitations of the independent claim.
Conclusion
/JAMES M HANNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639
JMH
March 25, 2026