DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lehue (US 20170225668).
In Re claim 1, Lehue discloses a coil assembly comprising: a bobbin (20) having a hole at a center thereof; a first coil (50); a second coil (60); an armature (30); an insulator (90) between the first and second coil; and a coil case (81, 82).
In Re claims 2 and 9, although not shown, the coils inherently necessarily include coil terminals (par. 0014) to receive an electrical current and properly function.
In Re claim 4, the examiner points out that the coil terminals must necessarily exit the coil case in order to be electrically connected with their respective components and function properly; and electrical wires are inherently covered in a jacket to protect and insulate the electrical wires from moisture, chemicals, friction, and short-circuit.
In Re claims 6 and 13, see fig. 2.
In Re claims 7 and 14, see Abstract.
In Re claim 8, Lehue discloses a hydraulic valve of a brake system (pars. 0001-0002), comprising: a bobbin (20) having a hole at a center thereof; a movable armature (30); a first coil (50); a second coil (60); an insulator (90) between the first and second coil; and a coil case (81, 82).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 10/20230036710) in view of Kuhl et al. (US 2021/0284119) and Lehue (US 2017/0225668).
In Re claim 1, Lee et al. disclose a coil assembly comprising: a bobbin (33) having a hole at a center thereof; a first coil (31); a second coil (32); an armature (22); and a coil case (35). Lee et al. fail to teach that the coils have different winding diameters and an insulator between the coils.
Kuhl et al. is related to the art of coil assemblies, and teaches providing a compact radially overlapping of the solenoid coils (320, 322), allowing for a greater net force and more compact design than positioning them longitudinally. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coils of Lee et al. to be radially overlapping, as taught by Kuhl et al. to provide the benefit of allowing for a greater net force and more compact design.
Lehue is related to the art of art of coil assemblies, and teaches providing an insulator (90) between adjacent radially positioned first and second coils (50, 60), in order to electrically insulate them from one another and thus prevent any risk of short circuit (par. 0036). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coil assembly to include an insulator, as taught by Lehue, in order to electrically insulate the coils from one another and thus prevent any risk of short circuit.
In Re claims 2, 3, 9, 10, and 20, see fig. 4 of Lee et al..
In Re claims 4, 11, and 19, the examiner points out that the coil terminals must necessarily exit the coil case in order to be electrically connected with their respective components and function properly; and electrical wires are inherently covered in a jacket to protect and insulate the electrical wires from moisture, chemicals, friction, and short-circuit.
In Re claims 5, 12, and 16, see first electronic controller (100) and second electronic controller (200) of Lee et al..
In Re claims 6 and 13, see fig. 1 of Kuhl et al., and fig. 2 of Lehue.
In Re claims 7 and 14, see Abstract of Lee et al..
In Re claims 8 and 14, Lee et al. disclose a hydraulic valve of an electric brake system (Abstract), comprising: a bobbin (33) having a hole at a center thereof; a movable armature (22); a first coil (31); a second coil (32); and a coil case (35). Lee et al. fail to teach that the coils have different winding diameters and an insulator between the coils.
Kuhl et al. is related to the art of brake valve coil assemblies, and teaches providing a compact radially overlapping of the solenoid coils (320, 322), allowing for a greater net force and more compact design than positioning them longitudinally. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coils of Lee et al. to be radially overlapping, as taught by Kuhl et al. to provide the benefit of allowing for a greater net force and more compact design.
Lehue is related to the art of art of brake valve coil assemblies, and teaches providing an insulator (90) between adjacent radially positioned first and second coils (50, 60), in order to electrically insulate them from one another and thus prevent any risk of short circuit (par. 0036). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coil assembly to include an insulator, as taught by Lehue, in order to electrically insulate the coils from one another and thus prevent any risk of short circuit.
In Re claims 17 and 18, Lee et al. disclose that the second coil acts to ensure redundancy within the hydraulic valve if there is a failure in the other circuit/coil.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616