DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 introduces the limitation “blocking region”, however the metes and bounds of this term are not defined. It is not clear what features of a microfluidic chip card read on this limitation, especially given that the instruments responsible for creating a seal or blockage are not positively recited in the claims. Essentially any fluidic portion of a microfluidic chip card may theoretically be acted on by an external blocking instrument (e.g., a heated element), and thereby be considered a “blocking region”.
Claim 1 introduces the limitation “extrusion deformation”. The metes and bounds of this limitation are unclear, as there is no art-recognized definition for this term. It is unclear how a microfluidic channel may be blocked via an “extrusion” operation.
Claim 4 introduces the limitation “a second flow channel” in line 13. Claims 1 and 4, however, do not require “a first flow channel”, and therefore it is unclear why the flow channel in claim 4 is labeled as the second flow channel. Claim 2 includes a limitation drawn to a first flow channel, but claim 4 is not dependent on claim 2. It is unclear how many flow channels are required by claim 4.
Claim 7 introduces the limitation “a second liquid storage chamber” in line 12. Claims 1 and 7, however, do not require “a first liquid storage chamber”, and therefore it is unclear why the liquid storage chamber in claim 7 is labeled as the second liquid storage chamber. Claim 4 includes a limitation drawn to a first liquid storage chamber, but claim 7 is not dependent on claim 4. It is unclear how many flow channels are required by claim 7.
Claim 7 introduces the limitation “a third flow channel” in line 13. Claims 1 and 7, however, do not require “a first flow channel” and “a second flow channel”, and therefore it is unclear why the flow channel in claim 7 is labeled as the third flow channel. Claim 2 includes a limitation drawn to a first flow channel, and claim 4 includes a limitation drawn to a second flow channel, but claim 7 is not dependent on either claim 2 or claim 4. It is unclear how many flow channels are required by claim 7.
Claim 7 introduces the limitation “a third exhaust flow channel” in lines 14-15. Claims 1 and 7, however, do not require “a second exhaust flow channel”, and therefore it is unclear why the exhaust flow channel in claim 7 is labeled as the third exhaust flow channel. Claim 4 includes a limitation drawn to a second exhaust flow channel, but claim 7 is not dependent on claim 4. It is unclear how many exhaust flow channels are required by claim 7.
Claim 7 introduces the limitation “a third air-permeable water barrier member” in line 15. Claims 1 and 7, however, do not require “a second air-permeable water barrier member”, and therefore it is unclear why the air-permeable water barrier member in claim 7 is labeled as the third air-permeable water barrier member. Claim 4 includes a limitation drawn to a second air-permeable water barrier member, but claim 7 is not dependent on claim 4. It is unclear how many air-permeable water barrier members are required by claim 7.
Claim 8 introduces the limitation “a fourth flow channel” in line 4. Claims 1 and 8, however, do not require “a first flow channel”, “a second flow channel” or a “third flow channel”, and therefore it is unclear why the flow channel in claim 8 is labeled as the fourth flow channel. Claims 2, 4 and 7 include limitations drawn to flow channels, but claim 8 is not dependent on any of these claims. It is unclear how many flow channels are required by claim 8.
Claim 8 introduces the limitation “a fourth air-permeable water barrier member” in line 9. Claims 1 and 8, however, do not require “a second air-permeable water barrier member” or “a third air-permeable water barrier member”, and therefore it is unclear why the air-permeable water barrier member in claim 8 is labeled as the fourth air-permeable water barrier member. Claims 4 and 7 include limitations drawn to second and third air-permeable water barrier members, but claim 8 is not dependent on either of these claims. It is unclear how many air-permeable water barrier members are required by claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ran (CN 115463697)1 in view of Wernerehl (US 20220347680) and Lipshutz (US 5856174).
With respect to claim 1, Ran discloses a quantitative polymerase chain reaction microfluidic chip card comprising a microfluidic chip body (Figure 3:101). The chip body includes a sample pretreatment portion comprising chambers (Figure 3:112, 113, 114, 115) for receiving a lysis buffer, a wash buffer and an elution solution. A mixing portion (Figure 4:104) is disposed in the microfluidic chip body and is in communication with the sample pretreatment portion and is configured for sample lysis and a nucleic acid extraction. Ran teaches that a plurality of reaction chambers (Figure 3:120) are in communication with the mixing portion and a corresponding exhaust flow channel (Figure 3:121) for discharging gas to an outside location. A first air-permeable water barrier member (Figure 1:122) is provided and is configured to prevent a reaction solution in the reaction chamber from being discharged to the outside. It is unclear, however, if the air-permeable water barrier member is located between the exhaust flow channel and the reaction chamber.
Lipshutz discloses a quantitative polymerase chain reaction microfluidic chip test card comprising a microfluidic chip body (Figure 2A:102) and a reaction chamber (Figure 2A:104). An air-permeable water barrier member (Figure 2B:120) is disposed between the reaction chamber and an exhaust flow channel (Figure 2B:118) to prevent a reaction solution in the reaction chamber from being discharged to an external location. This is described in at least column 16, line 3 to column 17, line 16.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that the Ran air-permeable water barrier member is located between the reaction chamber and the exhaust flow channel. This would have provided the desirable function of preventing reaction fluid from flowing into any part of the exhaust channel. As evidenced by Lipshutz, it would have been obvious to consider different locations along the length of the exhaust flow channel for positioning the air-permeable water barrier member. A mere rearrangement of parts (here, the location of the Ran air-permeable water barrier member) that is recognized in the art and provides a minimal or predictable change to device functionality is considered to be prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04.
The combination of Ran and Lipshutz still differs from Applicant’s claimed invention because Ran does not appear to disclose a blocking region.
Wernerehl discloses a quantitative polymerase chain reaction microfluidic chip card comprising a microfluidic chip body (Figure 1:510). A sample pretreatment portion (Figure 1:515a-l) is in communication with a plurality of chambers (Figure 1:522, 544, 546, 548, 564, 566, 580). Any of these chambers may function as a mixing portion and/or a reaction chamber. This is described in paragraphs [0180]-[0191]. Wernerehl teaches that blocking regions are created using seals (Figure 3:871-874), wherein the blocking regions are sealed by heating and/or extrusion deformation. See paragraph [0191] (“there are a variety of methods of reversibly or irreversibly closing channels in addition to applying pressure normal to the axis of the channel. These include kinking the bag across the channel, heat-sealing, rolling an actuator, and a variety of physical valves sealed into the channel…”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to provide the Ran device with at least one blocking region that is sealed by heating and/or extrusion deformation. Wernerehl teaches that this allows for the controlled movement of reagents to and from a chamber location within a microfluidic chip card. Wernerehl indicates that external actuators for creating thermal and mechanical seals are well known in the art and especially useful when controlling fluid flow through an integrated nucleic acid amplification cartridge comprising many different interconnected processing locations.
With respect to claim 2, Ran, Wernerehl and Lipshutz disclose the combination as described above. It would have been obvious to provide the Ran device with different blocking regions, including a blocking region that interacts with a first flow region between the reaction chamber and the mixing portion. As previously discussed, this would have allowed one to more effectively control flow between different processing sites.
With respect to claim 3, Ran, Wernerehl and Lipshutz disclose the combination as described above. Ran and Wernerehl each describe the use of at least first and second flow sections, as well as a plurality of elastic cavities for containing a fluid, such as a buffer. Those of ordinary skill would have understood that such an elastic buffer cavity could be positioned within the Ran microfluidic chip card at a variety of different locations.
With respect to claims 4-7, Ran, Wernerehl and Lipshutz disclose the combination as described above. Ran shows that the mixing portion includes a mixing chamber having a first piston (Figure 4:102) and a second piston (Figure 4:103) that are slidably disposed in the mixing chamber. The provision of additional liquid storage chambers and air-permeable water barrier members are considered to represent a prima facie obvious duplication of parts where art-recognized features are utilized according to a known and predictable operation. Ran further teaches that the mixing chamber is provided with a driving port (see Figs. 1 and 4) for allowing a component to access and operate the pistons.
With respect to claims 8 and 9, Ran, Wernerehl and Lipshutz disclose the combination as described above. Ran, Wernerehl and Lipshutz each teach the provision of at least one waste liquid chamber and connecting flow channels. Ran, Wernerehl and Lipshutz each disclose the state of the art regarding liquid-blocking structures, such as valves.
With respect to claim 10, Ran, Wernerehl and Lipshutz disclose the combination as described above. Wernerehl and Lipshutz further describe associated real-time fluorescence polymerase chain reaction analyzers that include a heating component and/or extrusion component.
Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petersen (US 20080057572) in view of Wernerehl (US 20220347680) and Lipshutz (US 5856174).
With respect to claim 1, Petersen discloses a quantitative polymerase chain reaction microfluidic chip card comprising a microfluidic chip body (Figure 1:20). The chip body includes a sample pretreatment portion that includes a plurality of chambers (Figure 9:65, 66, 67) suitable for accommodating a lysis buffer, a wash buffer and an elution solution. A mixing portion (Figure 9:70, 71) is disposed on the microfluidic chip body and is configured for a sample lysis and a nucleic acid extraction. Furthermore, Petersen describes that a reaction chamber (Figure 9:40) is provided and is in communication with a first exhaust flow channel (Figure 9:132). At least paragraph [0053] indicates that the exhaust flow channel includes an air-permeable water barrier member, such as a hydrophobic membrane. It is unclear, however, if the air-permeable water barrier member is located between the exhaust flow channel and the reaction chamber.
Lipshutz discloses a quantitative polymerase chain reaction microfluidic chip test card comprising a microfluidic chip body (Figure 2A:102) and a reaction chamber (Figure 2A:104). An air-permeable water barrier member (Figure 2B:120) is disposed between the reaction chamber and an exhaust flow channel (Figure 2B:118) to prevent a reaction solution in the reaction chamber from being discharged to an external location. This is described in at least column 16, line 3 to column 17, line 16.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that the Petersen air-permeable water barrier member is located between the reaction chamber and the exhaust flow channel. This would have provided the desirable function of preventing reaction fluid from flowing into any part of the exhaust channel. As evidenced by Lipshutz, it would have been obvious to consider different locations along the length of the exhaust flow channel for positioning the air-permeable water barrier member. A mere rearrangement of parts (here, the location of the Petersen air-permeable water barrier member) that is recognized in the art and provides a minimal or predictable change to device functionality is considered to be prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04.
The combination of Petersen and Lipshutz still differs from Applicant’s claimed invention because Petersen does not appear to disclose a blocking region.
Wernerehl discloses a quantitative polymerase chain reaction microfluidic chip card comprising a microfluidic chip body (Figure 1:510). A sample pretreatment portion (Figure 1:515a-l) is in communication with a plurality of chambers (Figure 1:522, 544, 546, 548, 564, 566, 580). Any of these chambers may function as a mixing portion and/or a reaction chamber. This is described in paragraphs [0180]-[0191]. Wernerehl teaches that blocking regions are created using seals (Figure 3:871-874), wherein the blocking regions are sealed by heating and/or extrusion deformation. See paragraph [0191] (“there are a variety of methods of reversibly or irreversibly closing channels in addition to applying pressure normal to the axis of the channel. These include kinking the bag across the channel, heat-sealing, rolling an actuator, and a variety of physical valves sealed into the channel…”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to provide the Petersen device with at least one blocking region that is sealed by heating and/or extrusion deformation. Wernerehl teaches that this allows for the controlled movement of reagents to and from a chamber location within a microfluidic chip card. Wernerehl indicates that external actuators for creating thermal and mechanical seals are well known in the art and especially useful when controlling fluid flow through an integrated nucleic acid amplification cartridge comprising many different interconnected processing locations.
With respect to claim 2, Petersen, Wernerehl and Lipshutz disclose the combination as described above. It would have been obvious to provide the Petersen device with different blocking regions, including a blocking region that interacts with a first flow region between the reaction chamber and the mixing portion. As previously discussed, this would have allowed one to more effectively control flow between different processing sites.
With respect to claim 3, Petersen, Wernerehl and Lipshutz disclose the combination as described above. Petersen and Wernerehl each describe the use of at least first and second flow sections, as well as a plurality of elastic cavities for containing a fluid, such as a buffer. Those of ordinary skill would have understood that such an elastic buffer cavity could be positioned within the Petersen microfluidic chip card at a variety of different locations.
With respect to claims 8 and 9, Petersen, Wernerehl and Lipshutz disclose the combination as described above. Petersen, Wernerehl and Lipshutz each teach the provision of at least one waste liquid chamber and connecting flow channels. Petersen, Wernerehl and Lipshutz each disclose the state of the art regarding liquid-blocking structures, such as valves.
With respect to claim 10, Petersen, Wernerehl and Lipshutz disclose the combination as described above. Petersen, Wernerehl and Lipshutz further describe associated real-time fluorescence polymerase chain reaction analyzers that include a heating component and/or extrusion component.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Ririe (US 20250196149) reference teaches the state of the art regarding microfluidic PCR chips.
/NATHAN A BOWERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799
1 See provided English translation