DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Applicant Response to Official Action
The response filed on 5/7/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Acknowledgment
Claim 15, canceled on 5/7/2026, are acknowledged by the examiner.
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 9, 11-15, and 17-19 amended on 5/7/2026, are acknowledged by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 19, and their dependent claims have been considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by the applicant. Examiner addresses the main arguments of the Applicant as below.
Regarding the drawing objection, the amendment filed on 5/7/2026 addresses the issue. As a result, the drawing objection is withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection for claim 15, the amendment filed on 5/7/2026 canceled claim 15. As a result, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection for claim 15 is withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection for claim 5, the argument filed on 5/7/2026 is persuasive. As a result, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection for claim 5 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11, 13, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asghar et al. (US Patent 11,562,550 B1), (“Asghar”), in view of Lind et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2024/0046506 A1), (“Lind”).
Regarding claim 1, Asghar meets the claim limitations as follow.
A computer-implemented method ((a method) [Asghar: col. 1, line 63]; (executed by one or more processors) [Asghar: col. 2, line 10]) for performing multi-user gaze tracking ((the XR device (e.g., AR device), a position/ orientation of the occupant, user activity (e.g., gestures movement, etc.), eye tracking) [Asghar: col. 12, line 58-60]; (determining an eye gaze of an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 17-18]) in a vehicle space of a vehicle (based on one or more images of an interior portion of a vehicle) [Asghar: Abstract] through multi-surface optical reflections, the method comprising (a method) [Asghar: col. 1, line 63]:
a) receiving reflected image data ((receiving data (e.g., messaging, video, audio, etc.), among other operations) [Asghar: col. 20, line 18-18]; (detected using one or more image sensors) [Asghar: col. 26, line 54-55] - Note: It is well known in the art that a captured image of an object is formed on an image sensor of a digital camera when light reflected from the object is focused on the image sensor. In other words, videos and images are reflected image data) of one or more occupants of the vehicle space (determining an eye gaze of an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 17-18; col. 33, line 50-52];
wherein the reflected image data comprises image data ((receiving data (e.g., messaging, video, audio, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 20, line 18]; (the tracking data (e.g., tracking data 422, device tracking data 440, hand tracking data 442, and/or eye tracking data 444), occupant data from the monitoring engine 410, vehicle and/or event data from the vehicle data 408 and/or the monitoring engine 402 on the vehicle application 302, sensor data, and/or any other data) [Asghar: col. 34, line 33-38]; (detected using one or more image sensors) [Asghar: col. 26, line 54-55] – Note: Captured images are the reflected image data) of the one or more occupants ((In some cases, the state of the occupant can additionally or alternatively include a pose of the occupant (e.g., a location, an orientation, a posture, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 40, line 56-58]; (position (e.g., location, orientation, posture, etc.) of the occupant) [Asghar: col. 40, line 64-65] ; (an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 18]) captured by one or more cameras (image data from one or more image sensors) [Asghar: col. 31, line 7-9] via one or more reflections of light from the one or more occupants ((receiving data (e.g., messaging, video, audio, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 20, line 18] ; (position (e.g., location, orientation, posture, etc.) of the occupant) [Asghar: col. 40, line 64-65] ; (an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 18]; (detected using one or more image sensors) [Asghar: col. 26, line 54-55] – Note: Captured images are the reflected image data), off at least one surface forming (area on a seat, etc., area in the interior portion of the vehicle, an immovable element of the interior portion of the vehicle (e.g., the instrument cluster, a corner(s) of the dashboard, a corner(s) of a window(s) and/or the windshield, a roof of the vehicle, a center console of the vehicle, etc.), a movable element of the interior portion of the vehicle with a known position/offset from the body of the vehicle (e.g., a passenger seat(s ), the steering wheel, etc.), among others) [Asghar: col. 11, line 26-36] at least part of an interior structure of the vehicle (area in an interior portion (e.g., the cabin) of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 11, line 22-23];
b) based on the reflected image data ((receiving data (e.g., messaging, video, audio, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 20, line 18]; (detected using one or more image sensors) [Asghar: col. 26, line 54-55] – Note: Captured images are the reflected image data), estimating a location of the one or more occupants of the vehicle space ((the one or more sensor systems 102 can include one or more image sensors such as image sensors 104A and 104N (collectively "image sensors 104" hereinafter), a location sensor) [Asghar: col. 18, line 51-55]; (a positioning beacon, a location measurement unit) [Asghar: col. 20, line 35]; (To illustrate, in some examples, the one or more compute 40 components 110 can perform monitoring ( e.g., device monitoring, user monitoring, vehicle monitoring, event monitoring, activity monitoring, object monitoring, etc.), device control / management, tracking (e.g., device tracking, object tracking, hand tracking, eye gaze tracking, etc.), localization, object detection and/or recognition, object classification, pose estimation, shape estimation, scene mapping, scene detection and/or scene recognition, face detection and/or recognition, emotion detection and/or recognition, content anchoring, content rendering, content filtering, image processing, modeling, content generation, gesture detection and/or recognition, user interface generation, power management, event detection and/or recognition, and/or other operations based on data from one or more of the components of the user computing system 100, the vehicle computing system 210, and/or any other system or component) [Asghar: col. 16, line 39-56; Figs. 5-7I]; (In some cases, the state of the occupant can additionally or alternatively include a pose of the occupant (e.g., a location, an orientation, a posture, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 40, line 56-58]; (position (e.g., location, orientation, posture, etc.) of the occupant) [Asghar: col. 40, line 64-65]; (an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 18]);
c) obtaining (the method, non-transitory computer-readable medium, and apparatuses described above can obtain, using one or more image sensors of the mobile device, a set of images of an interior portion of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 4, line 31-34] face image data (face detection) [Asghar: col. 16, line 47; Figs. 6A-7I], eye region image data (eye gaze tracking) [Asghar: col. 16, line 44], and head pose data (a user head pose, etc.) [Asghar: col. 12, line 61-62] from the reflected image data of the one or more occupants of the vehicle space (To illustrate, in some examples, the one or more compute 40 components 110 can perform monitoring (e.g., device monitoring, user monitoring, vehicle monitoring, event monitoring, activity monitoring, object monitoring, etc.), device control / management, tracking (e.g., device tracking, object tracking, hand tracking, eye gaze tracking, etc.), localization, object detection and/or recognition, object classification, pose estimation, shape estimation, scene mapping, scene detection and/or scene recognition, face detection and/or recognition, emotion detection and/or recognition, content anchoring, content rendering, content filtering, image processing, modeling, content generation, gesture detection and/or recognition, user interface generation, power management, event detection and/or recognition, and/or other operations based on data from one or more of the components of the user computing system 100, the vehicle computing system 210, and/or any other system or component) [Asghar: col. 16, line 39-56; Figs. 5-7I]; and
d) using a deep learning model (a machine learning model(s)) [Asghar: col. 16, line 62] trained on vehicle space occupant reflection image data (a machine learning classifier trained on positive and negative examples) [Asghar: col. 43, line 66-67], performing eye tracking for at least one of the one or more occupants (In some aspects, the XR device can implement an occupant monitoring process, such as eye tracking using one or more cameras on the XR device) [Asghar: col. 10, line 39-44; Fig. 4B] based on the face image data (face detection and/or recognition, emotion detection and/or recognition) [Asghar: col. 16, line 50-51; Figs. 5-7I], the eye region image data ((The eye tracking engine 434 can use image data from the one or more image sensors 104 to track the eyes and/or an eye gaze of the occupant) [Asghar: col. 33, line 50-52]; (eye-tracking data indicating that the occupant's gaze) [Asghar: col. 13, line 15-16]; (determining an eye gaze of an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 17-18]), and the head pose data (the XR device (e.g., AR device), a position/ orientation of the occupant, user activity (e.g., gestures movement, etc.), eye tracking, inertial sensor data, audio data (e.g., speech data, acoustic data, sound waves, etc.), a user head pose, etc.) [Asghar: col. 12, line 58-62],wherein the deep learning model (a machine learning model(s)) [Asghar: col. 16, line 62] comprises a deep learning network trained on face and eye images of vehicle occupants ((a machine learning classifier trained on positive and negative examples impairments such as drowsiness, intoxication, a health emergency, stress, a heightened emotional state, loss of consciousness, etc.) [Asghar: col. 51, line 16-19]; (For example, in some cases, occupant impairment can be detected based on eye-tracking data) [Asghar: col. 13, line 10-12]) – Note: Drowsiness and intoxication can be determined by a face and eyes) captured by cameras (image data from one or more image sensors) [Asghar: col. 31, line 7-9] via reflections of light from the vehicle occupants ((receiving data (e.g., messaging, video, audio, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 20, line 18]; (detected using one or more image sensors) [Asghar: col. 26, line 54-55] – Note: Captured images are the reflected image data) off one or more surfaces forming at least part of one or more vehicle interior structures (area on a seat, etc.), area in the interior portion of the vehicle, an immovable element of the interior portion of the vehicle (e.g., the instrument cluster, a corner(s) of the dashboard, a corner(s) of a window(s) and/or the windshield, a roof of the vehicle, a center console of the vehicle, etc.), a movable element of the interior portion of the vehicle with a known position/offset from the body of the vehicle ( e.g., a passenger seat(s ), the steering wheel, etc.), among others) [Asghar: col. 11, line 26-36] within one or more vehicle spaces (area in an interior portion (e.g., the cabin) of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 11, line 22-23].
Asghar does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
through multi-surface optical reflections,
However, in the same field of endeavor Lind further discloses the deficient claim limitations and claim limitation as follows:
through multi-surface optical reflections (A computer-implemented method for image analysis is disclosed comprising: sending an infrared (IR) light source toward an individual within a vehicular environment; receiving, by at least one video camera, IR light reflections from the individual, wherein at least one eye of the individual is obscured by a semitransparent material; evaluating low accuracy tracking of the individual using the IR light reflections through the semitransparent material; enhancing a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) for a sequence of video image frames using the IR light reflections of the individual through the semitransparent material, wherein the enhancing enables detection of feature points in an eye region for the individual; determining eye location for the individual based on results of the enhancing a signal-to-noise ratio; and deriving real-time gaze direction of a pupil for the at least one eye, wherein the deriving is based on the determining the eye location.) [Lind: para. 0007]; (The flow 200 further includes detecting that the individual is wearing tinted glasses 236. The detecting the wearing of tinted glasses can be based on detecting a semitransparent material located in an eye region associated with the individual. In embodiments, the determining eye location can be based on machine learning. The machine learning can be accomplished by training a network such as a neural network with training data and expected results associated with the training data. The training data can include video image frames that include faces of individuals wearing sunglasses) [Lind: para. 0033]; (The two or more flashes of IR light can be used to produce multiple reflections of IR light from the face of the individual) [Lind: para. 0034] – Note: The semitransparent material, the tinted glasses, and the face of the individual in these paragraphs are reflective surfaces),
reflected image data (using the IR light reflections of the individual through the semitransparent material) [Lind: para. 0007].
using a deep learning model trained on vehicle space occupant reflection image
data, performing eye tracking for at least one of the one or more occupants based on the face image data (The flow 200 further includes detecting that the individual is wearing tinted glasses 236. The detecting the wearing of tinted glasses can be based on detecting a semitransparent material located in an eye region associated with the individual. In embodiments, the determining eye location can be based on machine learning. The machine learning can be accomplished by training a network such as a neural network with training data and expected results associated with the training data. The training data can include video image frames that include faces of individuals wearing sunglasses) [Lind: para. 0033]; (The two or more flashes of IR light can be used to produce multiple reflections of IR light from the face of the individual) [Lind: para. 0034], the eye region image data (determining eye location for the individual based on results of the enhancing a signal-to-noise ratio; and deriving real-time gaze direction of a pupil for the at least one eye, wherein the deriving is based on the determining the eye location) [Lind: para. 0007], and the head pose data (In the flow 100, the determining is based on a rate of change for head position 152 of the individual. Change for head position of the individual can include changes in three dimensions. The head position changes can include rotation left or right, up or down; head tilt forward, back, left, right, up, or down; or a combination of rotation, tilt, translation, etc.) [Lind: para. 0025].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asghar with Lind to program the system to implement of Lind’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Asghar with Lind will enable the system to perform low light gaze detection in an vehicle environment [Lind: para. 0003].
Regarding claim 2, Asghar meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Asghar further meets the claim limitations as follow.
at least one surface forming part of the interior structure of the vehicle (area in an interior portion (e.g., the cabin) of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 11, line 22-23] comprises at least one of a window surface, a dashboard surface, a side panel surface, a center console surface, a seat surface, a mirror surface, and a display surface (area on a seat, etc., area in the interior portion of the vehicle, an immovable element of the interior portion of the vehicle (e.g., the instrument cluster, a corner(s) of the dashboard, a corner(s) of a window(s) and/or the windshield, a roof of the vehicle, a center console of the vehicle, etc.), a movable element of the interior portion of the vehicle with a known position/offset from the body of the vehicle (e.g., a passenger seat(s), the steering wheel, etc.), among others) [Asghar: col. 11, line 26-36]; (objects inside of the vehicle (e.g., doors, windows, seats, headrests, dashboard components, vehicle control systems (e.g., steering wheel, horn, signaling systems, etc.), patterns inside of the vehicle, shapes inside of the vehicle, etc.). The localization process can use such in-vehicle landmarks / markers to localize the XR device within the vehicle. For example, the localization process can use the in-vehicle landmarks/markers to determine a pose of the XR device relative to a coordinate system of the XR device and/or the vehicl) [Asghar: col. 9, line 53-61].
Regarding claim 3, Asghar meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Asghar further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the one or more cameras comprises (a device that can include one or more cameras) [Asghar: col. 1, line 21-22; Figs. 1, 3, 4A-B, 7A-I]:
at least one of: a digital camera (In some cases, the localization process can detect the in-vehicle landmarks based on data from one or more devices (e.g., sensors, emitters, transceivers, imaging devices, etc.) on the XR device (e.g., the AR device), such as one or more cameras) [Asghar: col. 9, line 62-66] with a wide field-of-view (FOV) (In some examples, the XR device can pulse an edge of the occupant's field-of-view (FOV), circle or highlight the location of the vehicle event in a displayed image/video, render head-locked arrows, pulse the periphery of the occupant's vision, use other directional indicators to direct the occupant's head and/or gaze in the direction of a vehicle event, stream a vehicle camera feed (e.g., a backup camera, a side-view camera, etc.) near the location of the vehicle event, stream vehicle status (e.g., instrumentation, etc.) as a head-locked HUD or world locked user interface (UI) element, render a warped and/or perspective-corrected exterior view locked to an area of the vehicle (e.g., the vehicle wall, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 13, line 48-60]), a plurality of cameras directed at one or more reflective surfaces (a surface within the interior portion of the vehicle, and an illuminated object inside of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 4, line 23-24] within the vehicle space (A vehicle is one example of a device that can include one or more cameras. For instance, a vehicle can include cameras that can capture frames of the interior of the vehicle and/or an area(s) outside of the vehicle.) [Asghar: col. 1, line 21-24], and a plurality of cameras capturing one or more of direct and reflected images of the one or more occupants ((In some examples, a vehicle can include cameras that can capture frames of the interior of the vehicle and/or an area(s) outside of the vehicle (e.g., the vehicle surroundings). The frames can be processed for various purposes, such as determining or recognizing road conditions; recognizing an identity of a person(s) in the vehicle; identifying other vehicles, objects, pedestrians, and/or obstacles in proximity to the vehicle; determining and/or recognizing activities and/or events in an environment associated with the vehicle (e.g., an environment outside of the vehicle, an environment inside of the vehicle, etc.); among others) [Asghar: col. 8, line 1-11]; (the XR device (e.g., AR device), a position/ orientation of the occupant, user activity (e.g., gestures movement, etc.), eye tracking, inertial sensor data, audio data (e.g., speech data, acoustic data, sound waves, etc.), a user head pose, etc.) [Asghar: col. 12, line 58-62]; (determining an eye gaze of an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 17-18]).
Regarding claim 4, Asghar meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Asghar further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the b) based on the reflected image data ((receiving data (e.g., messaging, video, audio, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 20, line 18]; (detected using one or more image sensors) [Asghar: col. 26, line 54-55]), estimating the location (To illustrate, in some examples, the one or more compute 40 components 110 can perform monitoring (e.g., device monitoring, user monitoring, vehicle monitoring, event monitoring, activity monitoring, object monitoring, etc.), device control / management, tracking (e.g., device tracking, object tracking, hand tracking, eye gaze tracking, etc.), localization, object detection and/or recognition, object classification, pose estimation, shape estimation, scene mapping, scene detection and/or scene recognition, face detection and/or recognition, emotion detection and/or recognition, content anchoring, content rendering, content filtering, image processing, modeling, content generation, gesture detection and/or recognition, user interface generation, power management, event detection and/or recognition, and/or other operations based on data from one or more of the components of the user computing system 100, the vehicle computing system 210, and/or any other system or component) [Asghar: col. 16, line 39-56; Figs. 5-7I] of the one or more occupants of the vehicle space ((In some cases, the state of the occupant can additionally or alternatively include a pose of the occupant (e.g., a location, an orientation, a posture, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 40, line 56-58]; (an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 18]; (position (e.g., location, orientation, posture, etc.) of the occupant) [Asghar: col. 40, line 64-65]) comprises:
selecting (In some examples, the content filtering engine 412 can use the localization data (e.g., localization data 314), the tracking data (e.g., tracking data 422, device tracking data 440, hand tracking data 442, and/or eye tracking data 444), impairment information from the monitoring engine 410 (and/or the vehicle monitoring engine 402) and/or any other 15 event, state, and/or sensor data, such as the vehicle data 408 (or a portion thereof), to determine/select content to filter/
block and/or render for the occupant. For example, the content filtering engine 412 can use a pose of the mobile device 150 relative to a coordinate system of the vehicle 202 (e.g., of the vehicle computing system 210) and vehicle data
indicating a context of the vehicle 202 (e.g., a state/status of the vehicle 202, a vehicle event/operation, etc.) to filter/block certain content that may distract the occupant from an operation of the vehicle 202 and/or a vehicle event and/or that may obstruct a view of the occupant to the vehicle event and/or a certain region outside of the vehicle 202 that the content filtering engine 412 determines should remain visible to the occupant) [Asghar: col. 9, line 9-28] one or more optimal views of each of the one or more occupants ((FIG. 7A through FIG. 7I are diagrams illustrating different example states of an occupant driving a vehicle, in accordance with some examples of the present disclosure) [Asghar: col. 5, line 34-36]; (a field-of-view of an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 2, line 67]); and estimating a position of at least one of the one or more occupants based on the selecting the one or more optimal views of each of the one or more occupants (To illustrate, in some examples, the one or more compute 40 components 110 can perform monitoring (e.g., device monitoring, user monitoring, vehicle monitoring, event monitoring, activity monitoring, object monitoring, etc.), device control / management, tracking (e.g., device tracking, object tracking, hand tracking, eye gaze tracking, etc.), localization, object detection and/or recognition, object classification, pose estimation, shape estimation, scene mapping, scene detection and/or scene recognition, face detection and/or recognition, emotion detection and/or recognition, content anchoring, content rendering, content filtering, image processing, modeling, content generation, gesture detection and/or recognition, user interface generation, power management, event detection and/or recognition, and/or other operations based on data from one or more of the components of the user computing system 100, the vehicle computing system 210, and/or any other system or component) [Asghar: col. 16, line 39-56; Figs. 5-7I], for multi-view localization ((images rendered in the virtual environment also change, giving the user the perception that the user is moving within the VR environment. For example, a user can tum left or right, look up or down, and/or move forwards or backwards, thus changing the user's point of view of the VR environment. The VR content presented to the user can change accordingly, so that the user's experience is as seamless as in the real world. VR content can include VR video in some cases, which can be captured and rendered at very high quality, potentially providing a truly immersive virtual reality experience) of the occupant) [Asghar: col. 7, line 30-40]; (In some cases, the state of the occupant can additionally or alternatively include a pose of the occupant (e.g., a location, an orientation, a posture, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 40, line 56-58]).
In the same field of endeavor, Lind further discloses the multi-view localization as follows:
multi-view localization (The cameras or imaging devices that can be used to obtain images including IR reflection data from the occupants of the vehicle 410 can be positioned to capture the face of the vehicle operator, the face of a vehicle passenger, multiple views of the faces of occupants of the vehicle, and so on. The cameras or imaging devices can detect that the eyes of the operator are obscured by a semitransparent material. The semitransparent material can be associated with tinted, polarized, or other types of sunglasses 424. The cameras can be located near a rear-view mirror 440, such as camera 442; coupled to a windshield 444 of the vehicle 410, such as camera 446; positioned within the dashboard 450, such as camera 452; positioned on or near the dashboard (not shown); positioned on or behind the steering wheel 460 such as camera 462; and so on. In embodiments, additional cameras, imaging devices, etc., can be located throughout the vehicle. In further embodiments, each occupant of the vehicle could have multiple cameras positioned to capture video data from that occupant) [Lind: para. 0007].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asghar with Lind to program the system to implement of Lind’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Asghar with Lind will enable the system to perform low light gaze detection in an vehicle environment [Lind: para. 0003].
Regarding claim 7, Asghar meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Asghar further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the reflected image data ((receiving data (e.g., messaging, video, audio, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 20, line 18]; (detected using one or more image sensors) [Asghar: col. 26, line 54-55]; (the computing system 100 can include one or more sensor systems 102. In some examples, the one or more sensor systems 102 can include one or more image sensors such as image sensors 104A and 104N (collectively "image sensors 104" hereinafter), a location sensor) [Asghar: col. 18, line 49-55]; (a positioning beacon, a location measurement unit) [Asghar: col. 20, line 34-35]) comprises: reflected image data from one or more of a highly reflective surface (a surface within the interior portion of the vehicle, and an illuminated object inside of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 4, line 23-24], a mirrored surface, a metal-coated surface, or a reflective plastic surface of the interior structure of the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Lind further discloses the multi-view localization as follows:
reflected image data from one or more of a highly reflective surface (The cameras or imaging devices that can be used to obtain images including IR reflection data from the occupants of the vehicle 410 can be positioned to capture the face of the vehicle operator, the face of a vehicle passenger, multiple views of the faces of occupants of the vehicle, and so on. The cameras or imaging devices can detect that the eyes of the operator are obscured by a semitransparent material. The semitransparent material can be associated with tinted, polarized, or other types of sunglasses 424. The cameras can be located near a rear-view mirror 440, such as camera 442; coupled to a windshield 444 of the vehicle 410, such as camera 446; positioned within the dashboard 450, such as camera 452; positioned on or near the dashboard (not shown); positioned on or behind the steering wheel 460 such as camera 462; and so on. In embodiments, additional cameras, imaging devices, etc., can be located throughout the vehicle. In further embodiments, each occupant of the vehicle could have multiple cameras positioned to capture video data from that occupant) [Lind: para. 0007], a mirrored surface, a metal-coated surface ((The semitransparent material can include a tinted material, a material comprising a polarizer, and the like) [Lind: para. 0007] - Note: the tinted material and the material comprising a polarizer are metal-coated surfaces), or a reflective plastic surface of the interior structure of the vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asghar with Lind to program the system to implement of Lind’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Asghar with Lind will enable the system to perform low light gaze detection in an vehicle environment [Lind: para. 0003].
Regarding claim 8, Asghar meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Asghar further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein at least one of the one or more cameras is configured to capture (In some cases, the localization process can detect the in-vehicle landmarks based on data from one or more devices (e.g., sensors, emitters, transceivers, imaging devices, etc.) on the XR device (e.g., the AR device), such as one or more cameras) [Asghar: col. 9, line 62-66] within its field of view (In some examples, the XR device can pulse an edge of the occupant's field-of-view (FOV), circle or highlight the location of the vehicle event in a displayed image/video, render head-locked arrows, pulse the periphery of the occupant's vision, use other directional indicators to direct the occupant's head and/or gaze in the direction of a vehicle event, stream a vehicle camera feed (e.g., a backup camera, a side-view camera, etc.) near the location of the vehicle event, stream vehicle status (e.g., instrumentation, etc.) as a head-locked HUD or world locked user interface (UI) element, render a warped and/or perspective-corrected exterior view locked to an area of the vehicle (e.g., the vehicle wall, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 13, line 48-60]) one or more surface reflections (a surface within the interior portion of the vehicle, and an illuminated object inside of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 4, line 23-24] of at least one occupant of the vehicle space ((In some examples, a vehicle can include cameras that can capture frames of the interior of the vehicle and/or an area(s) outside of the vehicle (e.g., the vehicle surroundings). The frames can be processed for various purposes, such as determining or recognizing road conditions; recognizing an identity of a person(s) in the vehicle; identifying other vehicles, objects, pedestrians, and/or obstacles in proximity to the vehicle; determining and/or recognizing activities and/or events in an environment associated with the vehicle (e.g., an environment outside of the vehicle, an environment inside of the vehicle, etc.); among others) [Asghar: col. 8, line 1-11]; (the XR device (e.g., AR device), a position/ orientation of the occupant, user activity (e.g., gestures movement, etc.), eye tracking, inertial sensor data, audio data (e.g., speech data, acoustic data, sound waves, etc.), a user head pose, etc.) [Asghar: col. 12, line 58-62]; (determining an eye gaze of an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 17-18]).
Regarding claim 9, Asghar meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 8. Asghar further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein at least one of the one or more cameras (In some cases, the localization process can detect the in-vehicle landmarks based on data from one or more devices (e.g., sensors, emitters, transceivers, imaging devices, etc.) on the XR device (e.g., the AR device), such as one or more cameras) [Asghar: col. 9, line 62-66] is positioned to capture within its field of view at least one reflection from at least one of a window surface, a dashboard surface, a side panel surface, a center console surface, a seat surface, a mirror surface, and a display surface (In some cases, the XR device can implement a localization process that can perform imaging-based (e.g., vision-based) and/or audio-based (e.g., via audio beamforming) localization of in-vehicle landmarks/markers (e.g., quick response (QR) codes inside of the vehicle, lights inside of the vehicle, objects inside of the vehicle (e.g., doors, windows, seats, headrests, dashboard components, vehicle control systems (e.g., steering wheel, horn, signaling systems, etc.), patterns inside of the vehicle, shapes inside of the vehicle, etc.). The localization process can use such in-vehicle landmarks / markers to localize the XR device within the vehicle. For example, the localization process can use the in-vehicle landmarks/markers to determine a pose of the XR device relative to a coordinate system of the XR device and/or the vehicl) [Asghar: col. 9, line 47-61]
Regarding claim 11, Asghar meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 9.
Asghar does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein at least one of the at least one reflection comprises: at least one surface reflection of at least one reflective surface.
However, in the same field of endeavor Lind further discloses the deficient claim limitations and claim limitations as follows:
wherein at least one of the at least one reflection comprises (A computer-implemented method for image analysis is disclosed comprising: sending an infrared (IR) light source toward an individual within a vehicular environment; receiving, by at least one video camera, IR light reflections from the individual, wherein at least one eye of the individual is obscured by a semitransparent material; evaluating low accuracy tracking of the individual using the IR light reflections through the semitransparent material; enhancing a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) for a sequence of video image frames using the IR light reflections of the individual through the semitransparent material, wherein the enhancing enables detection of feature points in an eye region for the individual; determining eye location for the individual based on results of the enhancing a signal-to-noise ratio; and deriving real-time gaze direction of a pupil for the at least one eye, wherein the deriving is based on the determining the eye location) [Lind: para. 0007]: at least one surface reflection of at least one reflective surface ((the IR light reflections of the individual through the semitransparent material) [Lind: para. 0007]; (The flow 200 further includes detecting that the individual is wearing tinted glasses 236. The detecting the wearing of tinted glasses can be based on detecting a semitransparent material located in an eye region associated with the individual. In embodiments, the determining eye location can be based on machine learning. The machine learning can be accomplished by training a network such as a neural network with training data and expected results associated with the training data. The training data can include video image frames that include faces of individuals wearing sunglasses) [Lind: para. 0033]; (The two or more flashes of IR light can be used to produce multiple reflections of IR light from the face of the individual) [Lind: para. 0034] – Note: The semitransparent material, the tinted glasses, and the face of the individual in these paragraphs are reflective surfaces).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asghar with Lind to program the system to implement of Lind’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Asghar with Lind will enable the system to perform low light gaze detection in an vehicle environment [Lind: para. 0003].
Regarding claim 13, Asghar meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 9. Asghar further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the d) using the deep learning model (a machine learning model(s)) [Asghar: col. 16, line 62] trained on the vehicle space occupant reflection image data (In some examples, events can be categorized as requiring the attention and/or interaction of the occupant 502 by the monitoring engine 402 of the vehicle application 302 and/or the vehicle user interface 414, e.g., via a machine learning classifier trained on positive and negative examples) [Asghar: col. 43, line 62-67], performing the eye tracking for the at least one of the one or more occupants (In some aspects, the XR device can implement an occupant monitoring process, such as a driver monitoring process, that can monitor a user for impairment based on a status of the vehicle, a position/orientation of the occupant, virtual content rendered by the XR device, eye tracking using one or more cameras on the XR device) [Asghar: col. 10, line 39-44; Fig. 4B] based on the face image data (To illustrate, in some examples, the one or more compute 40 components 110 can perform monitoring (e.g., device monitoring, user monitoring, vehicle monitoring, event monitoring, activity monitoring, object monitoring, etc.), device control / management, tracking (e.g., device tracking, object tracking, hand tracking, eye gaze tracking, etc.), localization, object detection and/or recognition, object classification, pose estimation, shape estimation, scene mapping, scene detection and/or scene recognition, face detection and/or recognition, emotion detection and/or recognition) [Asghar: col. 16, line 39-51; Figs. 5-7I], the eye region image data (eye-tracking data indicating that the occupant's gaze is focused elsewhere when the vehicle event monitor detects an imminent event or object) [Asghar: col. 13, line 15-17], and the head pose data (a user head pose, etc.) [Asghar: col. 12, line 61-62] comprises:
a) determining (The tracking engine 420 can obtain sensor data and use the sensor data to perform tracking operations) [Asghar: col. 32, line 15-17] a point of regard (PoR) of each eye of each of the one or more occupants ((The tracking engine 420 can obtain sensor data and use the sensor data to perform tracking operations. The tracking operations can track the occupant (and/or one or more body parts of the occupant such as hands, eyes, fingers, a head pose, etc.) of the vehicle 202, etc) [Asghar: col. 32, line 15-20]; (the position, attention/focus, eye gaze, orientation, motion, content engagement, activity, etc., of the occupant) [Asghar: col. 36, line 13-15]; (the user’s point of view) [Asghar: col. 7, line 34-35]; (point-of-view or field-of-view of the occupant) [Asghar: col. 9, line 16]);
b) determining (The tracking engine 420 can obtain sensor data and use the sensor data to perform tracking operations) [Asghar: col. 32, line 15-17] an eye state of each eye of each of the one or more occupants ((the XR device (e.g., AR device), a position/ orientation of the occupant, user activity (e.g., gestures movement, etc.), eye tracking, inertial sensor data, audio data (e.g., speech data, acoustic data, sound waves, etc.), a user head pose, etc.) [Asghar: col. 12, line 58-62]; (The tracking engine 420 can use one or more tracking algorithms, such as a Kalman filter, a hand tracking algorithm, a machine learning algorithm, a ray tracing algorithm, a gaze and/or eye tracking algorithm, a computer vision algorithm, a position tracking algorithm, etc., to track the mobile device 150 and/or one or more body parts (e.g., eyes, hands, fingers, head, etc.) of an occupant of the vehicle 202) [Asghar: col. 32, line 38-44]); and
c) determining (The tracking engine 420 can obtain sensor data and use the sensor data to perform tracking operations) [Asghar: col. 32, line 15-17] a gaze direction of each eye of each of the one or more occupants ((The eye tracking engine 434 can use image data from the one or more image sensors 104 to track the eyes and/or an eye gaze of the occupant) [Asghar: col. 33, line 50-52]; (determining an eye gaze of an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 17-18]; (eye-tracking data indicating that the occupant's gaze is focused elsewhere when the vehicle event monitor detects an imminent event or object) [Asghar: col. 13, line 15-17]).
Regarding claim 16, Asghar meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Asghar further discloses the claim limitation as follow.
at least one digital intensity image, wherein the at least one digital intensity image includes at least one visible eye region (Note: A visible eye region with three different intensities is shown in Fig. 6) [Asghar: col. 16, line 62]).
In the same field of endeavor Lind further discloses the limitations as follows:
at least one digital intensity image (intensities) [Lind: para. 0034].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asghar with Lind to program the system to implement of Lind’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Asghar with Lind will enable the system to perform low light gaze detection in an vehicle environment [Lind: para. 0003].
Regarding claim 19, Asghar meets the claim limitations as follow.
A system (systems) [Asghar: col. 1, line 60] configured for performing multi-user gaze tracking ((the XR device (e.g., AR device), a position/ orientation of the occupant, user activity (e.g., gestures movement, etc.), eye tracking) [Asghar: col. 12, line 58-62]; (determining an eye gaze of an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 17-18]) in a vehicle space of a vehicle (based on one or more images of an interior portion of a vehicle) [Asghar: Abstract] through multi-surface optical reflections, the system (systems) [Asghar: col. 1, line 60] comprising:
one or more hardware processors configured by machine-readable instructions to (a non-transitory computer-readable medium is provided for augmented reality for vehicle occupant assistance. The non-transitory computer-readable medium can include instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to) [Asghar: col. 2, line 6-11]:
a) receive reflected image data ((receiving data (e.g., messaging, video, audio, etc.), among other operations) [Asghar: col. 20, line 18-18]; (detected using one or more image sensors) [Asghar: col. 26, line 54-55] - Note: It is well known in the art that a captured image of an object is formed on an image sensor of a digital camera when light reflected from the object is focused on the image sensor. In other words, videos and images are reflected image data) of one or more occupants of a vehicle space (determining an eye gaze of an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 17-18],wherein the reflected image data comprises image data ((receiving data (e.g., messaging, video, audio, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 20, line 18]; (the tracking data (e.g., tracking data 422, device tracking data 440, hand tracking data 442, and/or eye tracking data 444), occupant data from the monitoring engine 410, vehicle and/or event data from the vehicle data 408 and/or the monitoring engine 402 on the vehicle application 302, sensor data, and/or any other data) [Asghar: col. 34, line 33-38]; (detected using one or more image sensors) [Asghar: col. 26, line 54-55] – Note: Captured images are the reflected image data) of the one or more occupants ((In some cases, the state of the occupant can additionally or alternatively include a pose of the occupant (e.g., a location, an orientation, a posture, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 40, line 56-58]; (position (e.g., location, orientation, posture, etc.) of the occupant) [Asghar: col. 40, line 64-65] ; (an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 18]) captured by one or more cameras (image data from one or more image sensors) [Asghar: col. 31, line 7-9] via one or more reflections of light from the one or more occupants ((receiving data (e.g., messaging, video, audio, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 20, line 18]; (detected using one or more image sensors) [Asghar: col. 26, line 54-55] – Note: Captured images are the reflected image data), off at least one surface forming (area on a seat, etc.), area in the interior portion of the vehicle, an immovable element of the interior portion of the vehicle (e.g., the instrument cluster, a corner(s) of the dashboard, a corner(s) of a window(s) and/or the windshield, a roof of the vehicle, a center console of the vehicle, etc.), a movable element of the interior portion of the vehicle with a known position/offset from the body of the vehicle ( e.g., a passenger seat(s ), the steering wheel, etc.), among others) [Asghar: col. 11, line 26-36] at least part of an interior structure of the vehicle (area in an interior portion (e.g., the cabin) of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 11, line 22-23];
b) based on the reflected image data ((receiving data (e.g., messaging, video, audio, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 20, line 18]; (detected using one or more image sensors) [Asghar: col. 26, line 54-55] – Note: Captured images are the reflected image data), estimating a location of the one or more occupants of the vehicle space ((The computing system 100 can include one or more sensor systems 102. In some examples, the one or more sensor systems 102 can include one or more image sensors such as image sensors 104A and 104N (collectively "image sensors 104" hereinafter), a location sensor) [Asghar: col. 18, line 49-55]; (a positioning beacon, a location measurement unit) [Asghar: col. 20, line 34-35]; (To illustrate, in some examples, the one or more compute 40 components 110 can perform monitoring (e.g., device monitoring, user monitoring, vehicle monitoring, event monitoring, activity monitoring, object monitoring, etc.), device control / management, tracking (e.g., device tracking, object tracking, hand tracking, eye gaze tracking, etc.), localization, object detection and/or recognition, object classification, pose estimation, shape estimation, scene mapping, scene detection and/or scene recognition, face detection and/or recognition, emotion detection and/or recognition, content anchoring, content rendering, content filtering, image processing, modeling, content generation, gesture detection and/or recognition, user interface generation, power management, event detection and/or recognition, and/or other operations based on data from one or more of the components of the user computing system 100, the vehicle computing system 210, and/or any other system or component) [Asghar: col. 16, line 39-56; Figs. 5-7I]; (In some cases, the state of the occupant can additionally or alternatively include a pose of the occupant (e.g., a location, an orientation, a posture, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 40, line 56-58]; (position (e.g., location, orientation, posture, etc.) of the occupant) [Asghar: col. 40, line 64-65] ; (an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 18]);
c) obtain (the method, non-transitory computer-readable medium, and apparatuses described above can obtain, using one or more image sensors of the mobile device, a set of images of an interior portion of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 4, line 31-34] face image data (face detection) [Asghar: col. 16, line 47; ; Figs. 6A-7I], eye region image data (eye gaze tracking) [Asghar: col. 16, line 44], and head pose data (a user head pose, etc.) [Asghar: col. 12, line 61-62] from the reflected image data of the one or more occupants of the vehicle space (To illustrate, in some examples, the one or more compute 40 components 110 can perform monitoring ( e.g., device monitoring, user monitoring, vehicle monitoring, event monitoring, activity monitoring, object monitoring, etc.), device control / management, tracking (e.g., device tracking, object tracking, hand tracking, eye gaze tracking, etc.), localization, object detection and/or recognition, object classification, pose estimation, shape estimation, scene mapping, scene detection and/or scene recognition, face detection and/or recognition, emotion detection and/or recognition, content anchoring, content rendering, content filtering, image processing, modeling, content generation, gesture detection and/or recognition, user interface generation, power management, event detection and/or recognition, and/or other operations based on data from one or more of the components of the user computing system 100, the vehicle computing system 210, and/or any other system or component) [Asghar: col. 16, line 39-56; Figs. 5-7I]; and
d) using a deep learning model (a machine learning model(s)) [Asghar: col. 16, line 62] trained on vehicle space occupant reflection image data (a machine learning classifier trained on positive and negative examples) [Asghar: col. 43, line 66-67], perform eye tracking for at least one of the one or more occupants (In some aspects, the XR device can implement an occupant monitoring process, such as eye tracking using one or more cameras on the XR device) [Asghar: col. 10, line 39-44; Fig. 4B] based on the face image data (face detection and/or recognition, emotion detection and/or recognition) [Asghar: col. 16, line 50-51; Figs. 5-7I], the eye region image data ((The eye tracking engine 434 can use image data from the one or more image sensors 104 to track the eyes and/or an eye gaze of the occupant) [Asghar: col. 33, line 50-52]; (eye-tracking data indicating that the occupant's gaze) [Asghar: col. 13, line 15-16]; (determining an eye gaze of an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 17-18]), and the head pose data (the XR device (e.g., AR device), a position/ orientation of the occupant, user activity (e.g., gestures movement, etc.), eye tracking, inertial sensor data, audio data (e.g., speech data, acoustic data, sound waves, etc.), a user head pose, etc.) [Asghar: col. 12, line 58-62].
Asghar does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
through multi-surface optical reflections,
However, in the same field of endeavor Lind further discloses the deficient claim limitations and claim limitations as follows:
through multi-surface optical reflections (A computer-implemented method for image analysis is disclosed comprising: sending an infrared (IR) light source toward an individual within a vehicular environment; receiving, by at least one video camera, IR light reflections from the individual, wherein at least one eye of the individual is obscured by a semitransparent material; evaluating low accuracy tracking of the individual using the IR light reflections through the semitransparent material; enhancing a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) for a sequence of video image frames using the IR light reflections of the individual through the semitransparent material, wherein the enhancing enables detection of feature points in an eye region for the individual; determining eye location for the individual based on results of the enhancing a signal-to-noise ratio; and deriving real-time gaze direction of a pupil for the at least one eye, wherein the deriving is based on the determining the eye location.) [Lind: para. 0007]; (The flow 200 further includes detecting that the individual is wearing tinted glasses 236. The detecting the wearing of tinted glasses can be based on detecting a semitransparent material located in an eye region associated with the individual. In embodiments, the determining eye location can be based on machine learning. The machine learning can be accomplished by training a network such as a neural network with training data and expected results associated with the training data. The training data can include video image frames that include faces of individuals wearing sunglasses) [Lind: para. 0033]; (The two or more flashes of IR light can be used to produce multiple reflections of IR light from the face of the individual) [Lind: para. 0034] – Note: The semitransparent material, the tinted glasses, and the face of the individual in these paragraphs are reflective surfaces),
reflected image data (using the IR light reflections of the individual through the semitransparent material) [Lind: para. 0007].
using a deep learning model trained on vehicle space occupant reflection image
data, performing eye tracking for at least one of the one or more occupants based on the face image data (The flow 200 further includes detecting that the individual is wearing tinted glasses 236. The detecting the wearing of tinted glasses can be based on detecting a semitransparent material located in an eye region associated with the individual. In embodiments, the determining eye location can be based on machine learning. The machine learning can be accomplished by training a network such as a neural network with training data and expected results associated with the training data. The training data can include video image frames that include faces of individuals wearing sunglasses) [Lind: para. 0033]; (The two or more flashes of IR light can be used to produce multiple reflections of IR light from the face of the individual) [Lind: para. 0034], the eye region image data (determining eye location for the individual based on results of the enhancing a signal-to-noise ratio; and deriving real-time gaze direction of a pupil for the at least one eye, wherein the deriving is based on the determining the eye location) [Lind: para. 0007], and the head pose data (In the flow 100, the determining is based on a rate of change for head position 152 of the individual. Change for head position of the individual can include changes in three dimensions. The head position changes can include rotation left or right, up or down; head tilt forward, back, left, right, up, or down; or a combination of rotation, tilt, translation, etc.) [Lind: para. 0025].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asghar with Lind to program the system to implement of Lind’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Asghar with Lind will enable the system to perform low light gaze detection in an vehicle environment [Lind: para. 0003].
Regarding claim 20, Asghar meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Asghar further meets the claim limitations as follow.
A computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform the operation of claim 1 (a non-transitory computer-readable medium is provided for augmented reality for vehicle occupant assistance. The non-transitory computer-readable medium can include instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to determine) [Asghar: col. 2, line 6-11].
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asghar et al. (US Patent 11,562,550 B1), (“Asghar”), in view of Lind et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2024/0046506 A1), (“Lind”), in view of Yang et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2024/0175677 A1), (“Yang”).
Regarding claim 5, Asghar meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Asghar further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the multi-view localization is performed using reflected image data ((images rendered in the virtual environment also change, giving the user the perception that the user is moving within the VR environment. For example, a user can tum left or right, look up or down, and/or move forwards or backwards, thus changing the user's point of view of the VR environment. The VR content presented to the user can change accordingly, so that the user's experience is as seamless as in the real world. VR content can include VR video in some cases, which can be captured and rendered at very high quality, potentially providing a truly immersive virtual reality experience) of the occupant) [Asghar: col. 7, line 30-40]; (In some cases, the state of the occupant can additionally or alternatively include a pose of the occupant (e.g., a location, an orientation, a posture, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 40, line 56-58]) captured by a single camera.
Asghar and Lind do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the multi-view localization is performed using reflected image data captured by a single camera.
However, in the same field of endeavor Yang further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
wherein the multi-view localization is performed using reflected image data captured by a single camera (Multi-view "SLAM" (simultaneous localization and mapping) stereo reconstruction using single camera) [Yang: para. 0086].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asghar and Lind with Yang to program the system to implement of Yang’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Asghar and Lind with Yang will enable the system to improve the acquisition of surface data of the objects [Yang: para. 0012].
Regarding claim 6, Asghar and Lind meet the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Lind further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the reflected image data comprises data from at least one of a diffuse surface ((using the IR light reflections of the individual through the semitransparent material) [Lind: para. 0007] - Note: A semitransparent surface is a diffuse surface) and a specular surface of the interior structure of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor Yang further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
at least one of a diffuse surface and a specular surface of the interior structure of the vehicle (To achieve photorealistic rendering of human faces, several such maps are typically used to control different aspects of the surface appearance. As an example, the "Digital Emily" model uses six maps to control diffuse, specular, single scatter and displacement) [Yang: para. 0109].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asghar and Lind with Yang to program the system to implement of Yang’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Asghar and Lind with Yang will enable the system to improve the acquisition of surface data of the objects [Yang: para. 0012].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asghar et al. (US Patent 11,562,550 B1), (“Asghar”), in view of Lind et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2024/0046506 A1), (“Lind”), in view of Xu et al. (DE Patent Application Publication DE 102023124878 A1), (“Xu”).
Regarding claim 10, Asghar and Lind meet the claim limitations as set forth in claim 9. Lind further discloses the claim limitation as follow.
wherein the at least one reflection (The cameras or imaging devices that can be used to obtain images including IR reflection data from the occupants of the vehicle 410 can be positioned to capture the face of the vehicle operator, the face of a vehicle passenger, multiple views of the faces of occupants of the vehicle, and so on. The cameras or imaging devices can detect that the eyes of the operator are obscured by a semitransparent material. The semitransparent material can be associated with tinted, polarized, or other types of sunglasses 424. The cameras can be located near a rear-view mirror 440, such as camera 442; coupled to a windshield 444 of the vehicle 410, such as camera 446; positioned within the dashboard 450, such as camera 452; positioned on or near the dashboard (not shown); positioned on or behind the steering wheel 460 such as camera 462; and so on. In embodiments, additional cameras, imaging devices, etc., can be located throughout the vehicle. In further embodiments, each occupant of the vehicle could have multiple cameras positioned to capture video data from that occupant) [Lind: para. 0007] does not include a windshield reflection or a rear-facing mirror reflection.
Asghar and Lind do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the at least one reflection does not include a windshield reflection or a rear-facing mirror reflection.
However, in the same field of endeavor Xu further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
wherein the at least one reflection does not include a windshield reflection or a rear-facing mirror reflection (One or more of the cameras may be mounted in a mounting assembly, such as a custom-designed (three-dimensional (3D) printed) assembly, to exclude stray light and reflections from the interior of the car (e.g., reflections from the dashboard reflected in the windshield mirrors), which may affect the camera's image data capture capabilities - Eine oder mehrere der Kameras können in einer Montagebaugruppe, z.B. einer kundenspezifisch entworfenen (dreidimensional (3D)-gedruckten) Baugruppe, montiert sein, um Streulicht und Reflexionen aus dem Inneren des Autos (z.B. Reflexionen vom Armaturenbrett, die sich in den Windschutzscheibenspiegeln spiegeln) auszuschließen, welche die) [Xu: para. 0074].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asghar and Lind with Xu to program the system to implement of Xu’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Asghar and Lind with Xu will enable the system to avoid a negative effect on the camera's image data capture capabilities [Xu: para. 0074].
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asghar et al. (US Patent 11,562,550 B1), (“Asghar”), in view of Lind et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2024/0046506 A1), (“Lind”), in view of Herr et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2021/0145608 A1), (“Herr”).
Regarding claim 12, Asghar and Lind meet the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Lind further discloses the claim limitation as follow.
wherein the based on the reflected image data ((receiving data (e.g., messaging, video, audio, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 20, line 18]; (detected using one or more image sensors) [Asghar: col. 26, line 54-55]), estimating the location of the one or more occupants of the vehicle space ((The computing system 100 can include one or more sensor systems 102. In some examples, the one or more sensor systems 102 can include one or more image sensors such as image sensors 104A and 104N (collectively "image sensors 104" hereinafter), a location sensor) [Asghar: col. 18, line 49-55]; (a positioning beacon, a location measurement unit) [Asghar: col. 20, line 34-35]; (To illustrate, in some examples, the one or more compute 40 components 110 can perform monitoring (e.g., device monitoring, user monitoring, vehicle monitoring, event monitoring, activity monitoring, object monitoring, etc.), device control / management, tracking (e.g., device tracking, object tracking, hand tracking, eye gaze tracking, etc.), localization, object detection and/or recognition, object classification, pose estimation, shape estimation, scene mapping, scene detection and/or scene recognition, face detection and/or recognition, emotion detection and/or recognition, content anchoring, content rendering, content filtering, image processing, modeling, content generation, gesture detection and/or recognition, user interface generation, power management, event detection and/or recognition, and/or other operations based on data from one or more of the components of the user computing system 100, the vehicle computing system 210, and/or any other system or component) [Asghar: col. 16, line 39-56; Figs. 5-7I]; (In some cases, the state of the occupant can additionally or alternatively include a pose of the occupant (e.g., a location, an orientation, a posture, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 40, line 56-58]; (position (e.g., location, orientation, posture, etc.) of the occupant) [Asghar: col. 40, line 64-65] ; (an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 18]) comprises:
based on the reflected image data (receiving data (e.g., messaging, video, audio, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 20, line 18]; (detected using one or more image sensors) [Asghar: col. 26, line 54-55]), triangulating the location of the one or more occupants of the vehicle space ((the computing system 100 can include one or more sensor systems 102. In some examples, the one or more sensor systems 102 can include one or more image sensors such as image sensors 104A and 104N (collectively "image sensors 104" hereinafter), a location sensor) [Asghar: col. 18, line 49-55]; (a positioning beacon, a location measurement unit) [Asghar: col. 20, line 34-35]; (To illustrate, in some examples, the one or more compute 40 components 110 can perform monitoring ( e.g., device monitoring, user monitoring, vehicle monitoring, event monitoring, activity monitoring, object monitoring, etc.), device control / management, tracking (e.g., device tracking, object tracking, hand tracking, eye gaze tracking, etc.), localization, object detection and/or recognition, object classification, pose estimation, shape estimation, scene mapping, scene detection and/or scene recognition, face detection and/or recognition, emotion detection and/or recognition, content anchoring, content rendering, content filtering, image processing, modeling, content generation, gesture detection and/or recognition, user interface generation, power management, event detection and/or recognition, and/or other operations based on data from one or more of the components of the user computing system 100, the vehicle computing system 210, and/or any other system or component) [Asghar: col. 16, line 39-56; Figs. 5-7I]; (In some cases, the state of the occupant can additionally or alternatively include a pose of the occupant (e.g., a location, an orientation, a posture, etc.)) [Asghar: col. 40, line 56-58]; (position (e.g., location, orientation, posture, etc.) of the occupant) [Asghar: col. 40, line 64-65] ; (an occupant of the vehicle) [Asghar: col. 3, line 18]).
Asghar and Lind do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
triangulating the location.
However, in the same field of endeavor Herr further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
triangulating the location ((FIG. 7 illustrates positions of a Triangular Cosserat
Point Element (TCPE)) [Herr: para. 0045; Figs. 7, 15A-F]; (The methods presented here are based on the triangular Cosserat point element formulation) [Herr: para. 0327]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asghar and Lind with Herr to program the system to implement of Herr’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Asghar and Lind with Herr will enable the system to provide
for the collection of accurate information [Herr: para. 0021].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asghar et al. (US Patent 11,562,550 B1), (“Asghar”), in view of Lind et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2024/0046506 A1), (“Lind”), in view of Dou et al. (US Patent 11,846,692 B2), (“Dou”).
Regarding claim 14, Asghar and Lind meet the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Lind further discloses the claim limitation as follow.
wherein the deep learning model ((a machine learning model(s)) [Asghar: col. 16, line 62]; (An AI model) [Lind: para. 0028]) comprises at least one of a convolutional neural network, a neural radiance field (NeRF), a neural radiance field to handle scenes with reflections (NeRFReN), and a generative pre-trained transformer network.
Asghar and Lind do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
comprises at least one of a convolutional neural network, a neural radiance field (NeRF), a neural radiance field to handle scenes with reflections (NeRFReN), and a generative pre-trained transformer network.
However, in the same field of endeavor Dou further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
comprises at least one of a convolutional neural network, a neural radiance field (NeRF), a neural radiance field to handle scenes with reflections (NeRFReN), and a generative pre-trained transformer network ((a deep convolutional neural network
(DCNN) architecture) [Dou: col. 3, line 48-50; Fig. 5]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asghar and Lind with Dou to program the system to implement of Dou’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Asghar and Lind with Dou will enable the system to improved the image quality [Dou: col. 11, line 25-26].
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asghar et al. (US Patent 11,562,550 B1), (“Asghar”), in view of Lind et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2024/0046506 A1), (“Lind”), in view of Pena et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0225817 A1), (“Pena”).
Regarding claim 17, Asghar and Lind meet the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Asghar and Lind further disclose the claim limitation as follow.
wherein the obtaining and face image data further comprises (a video camera to capture IR light reflections from the individual's face) [Lind: para. 0017]: associating at least one unique digital user identifier with each of the one or more
occupants face in the face image data ((face detection and/or recognition) [Asghar: col. 16, line 47; Figs. 7A-7I]; (a video camera to capture IR light reflections from the individual's face) [Lind: para. 0017].
Asghar and Lind do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
associating at least one digital user identifier with each of the one or more
occupants face.
However, in the same field of endeavor Pena further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
associating at least one digital user identifier with each of the one or more occupants face (In some cases, the gait identification function 506 may associate a unique gait identifier with each person, where the gait identifier represents either (i) the identifier of a known or registered user having the same or substantially similar gait or (ii) an identifier associated with an anonymous or unidentified user having a dissimilar gait) [Pena: para. 0079].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asghar and Lind with Pena to program the system to implement of Pena’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Asghar and Lind with Pena will enable the system improve overall confidence and make the identification of various people more robust with a high degree of accuracy [Pena: para. 0106].
Regarding claim 18, Asghar and Lind meet the claim limitations as set forth in claim 17. Lind further discloses the claim limitation as follow.
wherein the at least one unique digital user identifier comprises at least one anonymized unique digital user identifier ((face detection and/or recognition) [Asghar: col. 16, line 47; Figs. 7A-7I]; (a video camera to capture IR light reflections from the individual's face) [Lind: para. 0017].
Asghar and Lind do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the at least one unique digital user identifier comprises at least one anonymized unique digital user identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor Pena further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
wherein the at least one unique digital user identifier comprises at least one anonymized unique digital user identifier ((the architecture 200 may start tracking a person upon entering an image frame 202, initially assign an anonymous user identifier to the person, and subsequently assign a registered user identifier to the person after a suitable user identification has been made) [Pena: para. 0066]; (In some cases, the gait identification function 506 may associate a unique gait identifier with each person, where the gait identifier represents either
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Asghar and Lind with Pena to program the system to implement of Pena’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Asghar and Lind with Pena will enable the system improve overall confidence and make the identification of various people more robust with a high degree of accuracy [Pena: para. 0106].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information