Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CN on 5/9/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0033, 0034, 0035, 0036] “gaged” is a typographical error and should read “gauged”.
[0038, lines 3, 6, 8] “practical” is believed to be a typographical error and should read “particle”.
(Table 1) “Practical size” is believed to be a typographical error and should read “particle size”.
Appropriate correction is required.
The use of the term LUMISIZER [0035], which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al ("Natural oil bodies from typical oilseeds: Structural characterization and their potentials as natural delivery system for curcumin", publication date 7/31/2022, copy attached) in view of Li et al (CN 116218594 A, priority date 1/3/2023, English translation attached) and Xu et al (CN 114634839 A, priority date 3/22/2022, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses the use of oil bodies as a curcumin delivery system, the oil body extraction process comprising (page 2, Section 2.2. Oil body extraction process):
Washing seeds with water and soaking them in an alkaline solution containing 0.1 mol/L (M) NaHCO3 and NaOH at 4°C overnight (20 hours) in a weight ratio of 1:7,
Processing the soaked seeds with a wall breaking machine (blender) for 90 seconds,
Filtering the obtained slurry, and
Centrifuging the filtrate at 6500 rpm for 30 minutes.
Zhang also discloses that curcumin-loaded oil bodies were prepared by the method comprising (page 3, Section 2.4. Curcumin-loaded oil bodies):
Preparing alkaline curcumin solutions by adding curcumin to 0.2 M NaOH solutions,
Mixing the curcumin alkaline solution with the oil bodies at a weight ratio of 1:10,
Adjusting the pH of the mixture to 7.0, and
Stirring in the dark for 10 minutes.
Zhang does not particularly disclose blending the soaked seeds for 6 minutes. It is well established that ordinary creativity is presumed on the part of one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421 (2007) (“[a] person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.”). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious, using no more than ordinary creativity, to vary the processing time anywhere within the range of 90 seconds to 6 minutes, so long as the desired blending is achieved, which thus renders the claimed processing time prima facie obvious. See Ex Parte Jean-Paul Mardon, Jean Senevat, & Daniel Charquet, 101728,237, 2012 WL 1141738, at *2 (2012); In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980) (“[D]iscovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable...is ordinarily within the skill of the art.”); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”).
Zhang also does not particularly disclose stirring the mixed emulsion in the dark for 30 minutes. It is well established that ordinary creativity is presumed on the part of one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421 (2007) (“[a] person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.”). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious, using no more than ordinary creativity, to vary the time stirring in the dark anywhere within the range of 10 minutes to 30 minutes, so long as the desired emulsion is achieved, which thus renders the claimed stirring time prima facie obvious. See Ex Parte Jean-Paul Mardon, Jean Senevat, & Daniel Charquet, 101728,237, 2012 WL 1141738, at *2 (2012); In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980) (“[D]iscovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable...is ordinarily within the skill of the art.”); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”).
Although Zhang contemplates soybean oil body-curcumin emulsions (page 2, left-hand column, paragraph 2, lines 8-9), Zhang does not particularly disclose a preparation method for soybean oil body-curcumin emulsions. Zhang also does not particularly disclose adjusting the pH of the seed slurry, stirring the seed slurry in a water bath at 50°C for 2 hours, or centrifugating the oil body suspension at 4°C for 20 min with a rotational speed of 10000 revolutions per minute (rpm).
In the same field of endeavor, Li et al discloses a soybean oil body emulsion and preparation method thereof (page 2, lines 14-15) comprising:
Washing mature fresh soybeans in weakly alkaline water which is 0.5 wt% (0.06 M) sodium bicarbonate (page 2, lines 29-30) and conducting a water bath (soaking) the soybeans (page 2, lines 17-18) at 3-10°C for 10-30 minutes (page 2, line 30),
Crushing (blending) the soybeans to make a soybean slurry (page 2, lines 20-21),
Filtering the soybean slurry (page 2, lines 20-21),
Heating and stirring the soybean slurry in a water bath at 50-100°C (page 2, line 23) for 20-50 minutes (page 2, line 43), and
Performing refrigerated centrifugation (4°C) (page 2, lines 24-25) at 8,000-16,000 rpm for 40-70 minutes (page 2, lines 44-45) to obtain a soybean oil body emulsion.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Li further discloses that resultant soybean oil body emulsion composition can be used to improve the delivery rate of curcumin (page 3, line 12) by dispersing a curcumin emulsion (curcumin solution) with a soybean oil body emulsion and adjusting the pH (page 7, line 37-39). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of preparing curcumin-oil body emulsions disclosed by Zhang with the method of preparing soybean oil body emulsion disclosed by Li, motivated by a desire to improve the delivery of curcumin, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Neither Zhang nor Li particularly disclose adjusting the pH of the slurry prior to stirring in a water bath, that the slurry water bath is stirred for 2 hours, nor that the oil body suspension is centrifuged for 20 minutes.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu et al discloses a method for extracting a rice bran body, the method comprising:
Sieving and storing rice bran in 0.1 M NaHCO3 solution at 4°C overnight (20 hours) (page 1, line 59) at a mass ratio of rice bran to NaHCO3 of 1:4-1:7 (page 2, line 11),
Adjusting the pH of the rice bran slurry to 6.5-11.0 (page 2, line 16), stirring in a water bath at 50°C for 1-3 hours (page 2, lines 1-3 and 20-22), and
Filtering to obtain an oil body suspension, and centrifuging for 20 minutes at a rotation speed of 5,000-10,000 rpm (page 2, lines 2-3 and 24).
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Xu particularly discloses that adjusting the pH of the rice bran slurry to an alkaline pH (11.0) results in high-purity oil bodies, while pH values higher than 11.0 can remove oil body surface proteins (page 2, lines 16-19). Xu further discloses that stirring the rice bran slurry for 1-3 hours facilitates exposure of the oil bodies to water, allowing for more efficient extraction (page 2, lines 20-22). Xu also discloses that centrifuging for 20 minutes is sufficient to obtain a rice bran oil body (page 3, lines 5-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the soybean oil body-curcumin emulsion preparation method disclosed by the combination of Zhang and Li with the preparation conditions disclosed by Xu, motivated by routine optimization and the goals of producing high-purity oil bodies, more efficient extraction, and successful formation of oil bodies, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhang, Li, and Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1 as set forth in the above rejection. As set forth above, Zhang discloses soaking in a 0.1 M NaHCO3 solution at a weight ratio of 1:7 (page 2, Section 2.2. Oil body extraction process).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhang, Li, and Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1 as set forth in the above rejection. As set forth above, Xu discloses adjusting the pH of the slurry to 6.5-11.0 (page 2, line 16). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhang, Li, and Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1 as set forth in the above rejection. As set forth above, Zhang discloses alkaline curcumin solutions prepared with 0.2 M NaOH (page 3, Section 2.4. Curcumin-loaded oil bodies).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhang, Li, and Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1 as set forth in the above rejection. As set forth above, Zhang discloses mixing the curcumin alkaline solution with the oil bodies at a weight ratio of 1:10. Neither Zhang, Li, or Xu particularly disclose a weight ratio of the curcumin to the soybean oil body of 5:1 to 1:5. It is well established that ordinary creativity is presumed on the part of one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421 (2007) (“[a] person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.”). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious, using no more than ordinary creativity, to vary the amounts of oil body emulsion and curcumin anywhere within the range of 5:1 to 1:5 so long as the desired encapsulation is achieved, which thus renders the claimed ratio prima facie obvious. See Ex Parte Jean-Paul Mardon, Jean Senevat, & Daniel Charquet, 101728,237, 2012 WL 1141738, at *2 (2012); In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980) (“[D]iscovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable...is ordinarily within the skill of the art.”); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhang, Li, and Xu discloses all limitations of claim 1 as set forth in the above rejection. As set forth above, Zhang discloses adjusting the pH of the mixed oil body-curcumin emulsion to 7.0 (page 3, Section 2.4. Curcumin-loaded oil bodies). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qi et al (CN 115067519 A, priority date 5/19/2022, English translation attached) discloses a method of carrying curcumin using a soybean oil body (page 1, lines 41-43), the soybean oil body being prepared by the following method: washing then soaking the soybeans at a temperature from 2-10°C for 16-24 hours (page 1, lines 51, 58-59) at a solid-liquid weight ratio ranging from 1:6-1:10 (page 2, lines 1-2), refining and filtering to obtain a soybean slurry (page 1, line 51), adding sucrose to the slurry, adjusting the pH to 11.0, stirring, and centrifuging (page 1, line 53) from 8,000-15,000 rpm for 20-30 minutes (page2, lines 7-8). The soybean oil body-curcumin emulsion is prepared by the following method: dispersing curcumin in deionized water (page 3, lines 17-19), combining the curcumin dispersion with the soybean oil body emulsion (page 3, line 19), stirring the soybean oil body-curcumin emulsion in the dark (page 3, lines 19-20), and adjusting the pH to 7.0 (page 3, lines 20-22).
Li et al (CN 115039881 A, priority date 6/16/2022, English translation attached) discloses a preparation method of a polyunsaturated fatty acid emulsion, comprising: soaking soybeans in water at a 1:8 ratio in distilled water at 4°C for 20 hours (page 2, lines 2-3), mixing and refining the soybeans, stirring with a crusher (blender) for 180 seconds (page 2, lines 3-4), filtering and centrifuging the filtrate at 4°C for 10000 g (rpm) for 30 minutes, and repeating the centrifugation 3 times (page 2, lines 5-9).
Zheng et al ("Loading natural emulsions with nutraceuticals using the pH-driven method: formation & stability of curcumin-loaded soybean oil bodies", publication date 8/2/2019, copy attached) discloses curcumin-loaded soybean oil bodies prepared using a pH-driven method (Abstract).
/SAVANNAH G. PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763