Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/08/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant recites “…AM broadcast band are receivable from a feeding point electrically connected to the conductive film.”
The limitation renders the claim indefinite. It is nebulous to the Examiner if the conductive film is an AM antenna or the AM antenna is another element. Paragraph [0060] of the printed publication recites that the conductive film functions as an AM antenna. However, the claimed limitation recites that the AM broadcast band connected to the conductive film. It is unclear if we have one AM antenna and a conductive film or we have one element of a conductive film and functioning as an AM antenna. The Examiner interprets the claimed language as having a vehicle antenna with an AM antenna and a conductive film for the purpose of examining.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinnai et al. (JP 294904, hereby referred as Shinnai) in view of Aikawa et al. (JP 640746, hereby referred as Aikawa).
Regarding claim 1,
As best understood, Shinnai discloses,
A vehicle antenna device comprising (figures 1-3):
a dielectric substrate having a first main surface and a second main surface (dielectric substrate 1 with upper and bottom surfaces); and
a conductive film provided on a side of the second main surface and having an area of 0.025 m2 or more in a plan view of the dielectric substrate (conductive film 3 and the ratio of height H1 and height B. See a highlighted/underlined teaching in the Espacenet translation document), and
AM broadcast band are receivable from a feeding point electrically connected to the conductive film (the transparent antenna is formed over a wide area from the top of the window glass. See a highlighted/underlined teaching in the Espacenet translation document).
Shinnai does not disclose,
wherein the conductive film has a sheet resistance value of 1.5x103 Ω/□ or lower.
However, Aikawa teaches,
wherein the conductive film has a sheet resistance value of 1.5x103 Ω/□ or lower (see a highlighted and underlined teaching in the Espacenet translation document).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate wherein the conductive film has a sheet resistance value of 1.5x103 Ω/□ or lower, as taught by Aikawa, into Shinnai in order to provide an improved antenna for the vehicle.
Regarding claim 2,
Shinnai discloses,
wherein the feeding point is disposed at a center portion of the conductive film at a distance of 150 mm or more from an end side of the dielectric substrate in a plan view of the dielectric substrate (figures 1-3, feeding for the antenna for the glass of the vehicle).
Regarding claim 3,
Shinnai discloses,
wherein an outer edge of the conductive film is substantially quadrangular in a plan view of the dielectric substrate (figures 1-3, conductive film 3 and substrate 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Funatsu et al. US Pub. No. 2020/0023718, Kagaya US Pub. No. 2018/0090811, Kagaya et al. US Pub. No. 2012/0154229, Noro US Pub. No. 2008/0055161, Dai US Patent No. 9837699, Funatsu US Pub. No. 2019/0252758, Dai US Patent No. 8576130.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dimary Lopez can be reached at (571)-270-7893. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AWAT M SALIH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845