DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing on 8 May 2024.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Since the Office action offers new grounds of rejection, this Office action is considered non-final.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
Applicant states that this application is a continuation or divisional application of the prior-filed application. A continuation or divisional application cannot include new matter. Applicant is required to delete the benefit claim or change the relationship (continuation or divisional application) to continuation-in-part because this application contains the following matter not disclosed in the prior-filed application: 16/449,791.
Drawings
The drawings are objected under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following feature(s) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
“a plurality of third conductive tracks located on the first side of the circuit board” wherein “a plurality of motor terminals formed through the plurality of third conductive tracks – claims 1 and 11. [0078] describes the plurality of motor terminals formed through a plurality of intermediary conductive tracks disposed in an intermediary layer of the circuit board – not from the conductive tracks located on the first side of the circuit board.
“intermediary conductive tracks” and “an intermediary layer” – claim 5
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, the limitations, “a plurality of third conductive tracks located on the first surface of the circuit board along a third axis parallel to the second axis” and “a plurality of motor terminals formed through the plurality of third conductive tracks”, fail to comply with the written description requirement because the limitation recited in a continuation application is not supported in the original disclosure of the parent application, 16/449,791. [0074] of the original disclosure and [0079] of the instant application describes the plurality of motor terminals formed through a plurality of intermediary conductive tracks disposed in an intermediary layer of the circuit board – not formed through conductive tracks located on the first side of the circuit board as recited in claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5 and 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golightly (US 7,046,518 B2), in view of Weber (US 6,226,183 B1).
[AltContent: textbox (Golightly (US 7,046,518 B2)
Annotated figure 5)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (C)]
[AltContent: textbox (Golightly (US 7,046,518 B2)
Annotated figure 7)]
[AltContent: textbox (Golightly (US 7,046,518 B2)
Annotated figure 6)]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: textbox (Golightly (US 7,046,518 B2)
Annotated figure 2)]
Regarding claim 1, Golightly discloses an electronic module (10, fig. 1) comprising:
a circuit board (12, 32, 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44, figs. 5, 6) having a first surface (the bottom surface of substrate 32 and the bottom surface of molded shell 12, fig. 2) and a second surface (the top surface of substrate 32, fig. 7, and the top surface of conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44 and the top surface of molded shell 12, fig. 6) (Please note, annotated figures 5, 6 show the power module 10 without this substrate 32, wherein figure 2 and col. 4, ll. 29 – 33 shows and describes this substrate 32 mounted to the bottom a power module 10. Thus, the examiner has angled annotated figure 7 showing the top surface of substrate 32 that would be mounted beneath the molded shell 12 in annotated figure 5 so that all of the figures are in the same orientation to assist understanding in the examiner’s interpretation of the claimed, “a circuit board”. Col. 4, ll. 64 – 67 and col. 4, ll. 2 – 7 describes conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, and 44 having power semiconductor devices 440UH, 40UL, 40VH, 40VL, 40WH, and 40WL. Col. 5, ll. 34 – 41 describes the top surface of substrate 32 having conductive traces to facilitate electrical connection between control pins 30 and various components disposed within opening 52. Col. 5, ll. 34 – 41 describes the bottom of conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, and 44 soldered to the top surface of substrate 32. Thus, the examiner interprets the claimed, “a circuit board”, as the combination of the two single-sided circuit boards soldered together within the molded shell 12 wherein the first single-sided circuit board comprises the conductive pads 38UL, 38VL, 38WL, 42, 44 and the second single-sided circuit board comprises the substrate 32 having the top surface with the conductive traces); and
a plurality of power switches (40UL, 40VL, 40WL, 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, fig. 5) mounted on the second surface of the circuit board configured as an inverter circuit to supply power from a power supply to an electric motor (Col. 5, ll. 56 – 65 describes high side power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH being electrically coupled to respective low side power switches 40UL, 40VL, 40WL to form three inverter circuits for driving a three-phase motor),
wherein the plurality of power switches comprises:
a plurality of high-side power switches (40UH, 40VH, 40WH, fig. 5), and
a plurality of low-side power switches (40UL, 40VL, 40WL, fig. 5).
Golightly further discloses a heat sink (not shown in the drawings) in thermal communication with the first surface of the circuit board (Col. 4, ll. 33 – 38 describes the power module 10 mounted on a heat sink using heat sink mounting holes 16, 17 and when the power module 10 is mounted on the heat sink, the first surface of the circuit board – that is, the bottom surface of substrate 32 – is placed in intimate contact with the heat sink thereby improving heat dissipation).
Golightly does not explicitly disclose a first conductive track located on the first surface of the circuit board and extending along a first axis; a plurality of second conductive tracks located on the first surface of the circuit board along a second axis parallel to the first axis; at least one first heat sink mounted on the first conductive track and a plurality of second heat sinks mounted respectively on the plurality of second conductive tracks wherein the plurality of high-side power switches are located opposite the at least one first heat sink and in thermal communication therewith and the plurality of low-side power switches are located opposite the plurality of second heat sinks and in respective thermal communication therewith.
However, Weber, which reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, teaches a power switch (3, fig. 3; col. 3, l. 56, “a power component”) mounted on a second conductive track (10, fig. 3) on a second surface (8, fig. 3) of a circuit board (2, fig. 3) located opposite a heat sink (1, fig. 3) mounted on a first conductive track (11, fig. 3) on a first surface (9, fig. 3) of a circuit board and in thermal communication therewith (via holes 4 and a circuit trace 11, fig. 3) (Please note, Golightly discloses a circuit board structure having two attached single-sided circuit boards, as described above, wherein Weber teaches one double-sided circuit board. See col. 59 – 65 of Weber. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that with the incorporation of the teachings of Weber concerning the double-sided circuit board with the invention of Golightly, the two attached single-sided circuit boards of Golightly would be modified to one double-sided circuit board having the shape of substrate 32 and having on the first surface (bottom) of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks as shown in figure 7 of Golightly to include the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 and having on the second surface (top) of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks associated with conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44. Thus, a first conductive track would be lands 56, 58 on the first surface (bottom) of the double-sided circuit board extending along a first axis A, as shown in annotated fig. 7 of Golightly, and a plurality of second conductive tracks would be lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface (bottom) of the double-sided circuit board along a second axis B parallel to the first axis A, as also shown in annotated fig. 7 of Golightly.
One having ordinary skill in the art would further recognize that the power component 3 of Weber is an analogous structure to the power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL of Golightly. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Weber with the invention of Golightly, each power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL of Golightly would be located opposite its own heat sink 1, as taught by Weber, and in thermal communication therewith via the holes 4 and the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 of Golightly, as taught by Weber. Therefore, at least one first heat sink 1 (three heat sinks 1) would be mounted on the first conductive track (lands 56, 58) of Golightly and a plurality of second heat sinks 1 (three heat sinks 1) would be mounted respectively on the plurality of second conductive tracks (lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL) of Golightly, wherein the plurality of high-side power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH of Golightly would be located opposite at least one first heat sink 1 (each high-side power switch would have its own heat sink 1 so three heat sinks 1 total) and in thermal communication therewith via the holes 1 and the lands 56, 58 and the plurality of low-side power switches 40UL, 40VL, 40WL of Golightly would be located opposite the plurality of second heat sinks 1 (each low-side power switch would have its own heat sink 1 so three heat sinks 1 total) and in respective thermal communication therewith via the holes 1 and the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL).
Weber is evidence that having a double-sided circuit board was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success modifying the two attached single-sided circuit boards of Golightly to the double-sided circuit board, as taught by Weber. Moreover, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the two attached single-sided circuit boards of Golightly to the double-sided circuit board, as taught by Weber, in order to offer superior design flexibility, higher component density, and improved signal integrity over single-sided boards by allowing circuitry on both sides and utilizing vias. Furthermore, double-sided circuit boards are more compact, support complex routing, and generally provide better heat dissipation.
Weber is also evidence that having a power switch located opposite a heat sink and in thermal communication therewith was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success substituting the heat sink arrangement of Golightly for having each power switch located opposite its own heat sink and in thermal communication therewith, as taught by Weber. Because the heat sink arrangement of Golightly and the heat sink arrangement of Weber both improve heat dissipation for power switches, it would have been obvious to the one having ordinary skill in the art to have made a simple substitution of the heat sink arrangement of Golightly for the heat sink arrangement of Weber to achieve the predictable result of improving heat dissipation for power switches.
Golightly discloses a plurality of third conductive tracks (tracks 43, 45, 47 along axis C, annotated fig. 6) located on a side surface of the circuit board along a third axis (axis C, annotated figs. 5, 6, 7) parallel to the second axis and a plurality of motor terminals (28U, 28V, 28W, figs. 5, 6) formed through the plurality of third conductive tracks.
Golightly does not disclose a plurality of third conductive tracks located on the first surface.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified or moved the plurality of third conductive tracks from the side surface of the circuit board to the first surface because it has been held that the rearrangement of parts is not patentable if the position of the part does not modified the operation of the device and the particular placement of a part is an obvious matter of design choice. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device. In the instant case, shifting the position of the plurality of third conductive tracks from the side surface of the circuit board to a first surface of the circuit board would not modify the operation of these third conductive tracks thus the limitations regarding the position of these third conductive tracks would be likewise unpatentable. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975), the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. The specification does not disclose any criticality to these third conductive tracks being placed on the first surface thus the placement of these third conductive tracks would likewise be an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 2, Golightly, as modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Golightly discloses an axial length of the first conductive track (the first conductive track of the lands 56, 58 on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 56, 58 are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) is greater than a total length of the plurality of second conductive tracks (the plurality of the second conductive tracks of the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) (As shown figure 7, the axial length of lands 56, 58 is greater than the total length of lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL).
Regarding claim 3, Golightly, as modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Golightly discloses the at least one first heat sink comprises three heat sinks (Weber – 1, fig. 3) located mirror opposite the plurality of high-side power switches (Golightly – 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, fig. 5) (With the combination of the teachings of Weber with the invention of Golightly, each high-side power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH would have its own heat sink 1 located mirror opposite of its respective high-side power switch, as taught by Weber – see figure 3 of Weber).
Regarding claim 4, Golightly, as modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Golightly discloses the first conductive track (the first conductive track of the lands 56, 58 on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 56, 58 are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) is electrically coupled to a positive node of the power supply and electrically couples the at least one first heat sink to the positive node of the power supply (Weber – Col. 5, ll. 17 – 34 describes the second embodiment of figure 3 wherein the power component 3, heat sink 1, and the trace 11, upon which the heat sink 1 is thermally connected, having the same potential implying the power component 3, the heat sink 1, and the trace 11 are electrically connected. Thus, in the combination of the teachings of Weber and the invention of Golightly, each power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL, its respective heat sink 1, and the respective conductive track upon which these heat sinks are thermally connected would be electrically connected in order to have same potential, as also taught by Weber. Figure 8 of Golightly shows the drain of the high-side power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH electrically connected to the positive node of the power supply B+ thus their respective heat sinks and the respective conductive track upon which the respective heats sinks are thermally connected – that is, the first conductive track of the lands 56, 58 on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – would also be electrically connected to the positive node of the power supply B+ in order to have the same potential).
Regarding claim 5, Golightly, as modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Golightly the plurality of third conductive tracks (Golightly – tracks along axis C leading to terminal leads 28U, 28V, 28W, annotated fig. 6) is located along a peripheral side of the circuit board (the double-sided circuit board having the shape of substrate 32 and having on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks as shown in figure 7 of Golightly to include the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 and having on the second surface of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks associated with conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44.) (Golightly – Annotated figure 18 shows the tracks leading to the terminal leads 28U, 28V, 28W initially extend from a peripheral side of conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W) and is electrically coupled to phase outputs of the inverter circuit (Golightly – Col. 4, ll. 3 – 8 describes the power module 10 interfacing with the three phases of a motor through respective terminal leads 28U, 28V, 28W wherein terminal lead 28U supplies power to a first phase of the motor (U phase), terminal lead 28V supplies power to the second phase of the motor (V phase) and terminal 28W supplies power to the third phase of the motor (W phase)), and wherein the plurality of motor terminals (28U, 28V, 28W, figs. 5, 6) is disposed along the peripheral side of the circuit board adjacent and parallel to the plurality of power switches (40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, 40WL, fig. 5), and wherein the phase outputs of the inverter circuit (Col. 5, ll. 56 – 65 describes high side power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH being electrically coupled to respective low side power switches 40UL, 40VL, 40WL to form three inverter circuits for driving a three-phase motor) are routed to the plurality of motor terminals through intermediary conductive tracks (43, 45, 47, fig. 10) that disposed in an intermediary layer (the layer within the molded shell 12, figs. 9, 10) of the circuit board.
Regarding claim 8, Golightly, as modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Golightly discloses a plurality of thermal vias (Weber – 4, fig. 3) disposed through each of the plurality of second conductive tracks (the plurality of the second conductive tracks of the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) (Weber – Figure 3 shows holes 4 disposed through traces 11. Therefore, with the combination of the teachings of Weber with the invention of Golightly, the holes 4 would likewise be disposed through the plurality of the second conductive tracks of the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board) to thermally and electrically couple each of the plurality of second heat sinks and the respective of the plurality of low-side power switches (Golightly – 40UL, 40VL, 40WL, fig. 5) (Weber – Col. 5, ll. 17 – 34 describes the second embodiment of figure 3 wherein the power component 3, heat sink 1, and the trace 11, upon which the heat sink 1 is thermally connected, having the same potential implying the power component 3, the heat sink 1, and the trace 11 are electrically connected. Thus, in the combination of the teachings of Weber and the invention of Golightly, each power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL, its respective heat sink 1, and the respective conductive track, upon which these heat sinks are thermally connected, would be electrically connected in order to have same potential, as also taught by Weber. Therefore, the low-side power switches 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL would be thermally connected via the holes 4 to their respective heat sink and electrically connected to their respective heat sink in order to have the same potential).
Regarding claim 9, Golightly, as modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Golightly discloses a first plurality of power switch conductive tracks (Golightly – conductive pads 42, 44 on the second surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the conductive pads 42, 44 are best shown in fig. 5 of Golightly) disposed on the second surface of the circuit board opposite the first conductive track (the first conductive track of the lands 56, 58 on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 56, 58 are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) to provide mounting surfaces for the plurality of high-side power switches (Golightly – 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, fig. 5), and a second plurality of power switch conductive tracks (Golightly – conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W on the second surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W are best shown in fig. 5 of Golightly) disposed on the second surface of the circuit board opposite the plurality of second conductive tracks (Golightly – the plurality of the second conductive tracks of the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) to provide mounting surfaces for the plurality of low-side power switches (Golightly – 40UL, 40VL, 40WL, fig. 5), wherein the plurality of high-side power switches are mounted at least partially over corresponding power switch conductive tracks of the first plurality of power switch conductive tracks with drains of the plurality of high-side power switches making electrical contact with the corresponding power switch conductive tracks of the first plurality of power switch conductive tracks (Golightly – Col. 5, ll. 2 – 6 describes the high-side power switches 40UH and 40VH connected to conductive pad 42 and high-side switch 40WH connected to conductive pad 44 and col. 6, ll. 19 – 23 describes these high-side powers 40UH, 40VH, and 40WH having drain electrodes making electrical contact to their respective power switch conductive tracks and connected to a power bus), wherein the plurality of low-side power switches are mounted at least partially on corresponding power switch conductive tracks of the second plurality of power switch conductive tracks with drains of the plurality of low-side power switches electrically connected to the corresponding power switch conductive tracks of the second plurality of power switch conductive tracks (Golightly – Col. 4, ll. 64 – 67 describes the low-side switches 40UL, 40VL and 40WL each having a drain electrode electrically connected to a respective conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W), wherein the first plurality of power switch conductive tracks is connected to the first conductive track through a first series of conductive vias (Weber – 4, fig. 3), and wherein the second plurality of power switch conductive tracks is electrically connected to the plurality of second conductive tracks through a second series of conductive vias (Weber – 4, fig. 3) (Weber – Col. 5, ll. 17 – 34 describes the second embodiment of figure 3 wherein the power component 3, heat sink 1, and the trace 11, upon which the heat sink 1 is thermally connected, having the same potential thus the power component 3, the heat sink 1, and the trace 11 are electrically connected. Thus, in the combination of the teachings of Weber and the invention of Golightly, each power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL, its respective heat sink 1, and the respective conductive track upon which these heat sinks are thermally connected would be electrically connected in order to have same potential, as also taught by Weber. Please note, col. 4, ll. 5 – 7 describes voltage transmitted from power component 3 to printed circuit trace 11 via holes 4).
Regarding claim 10, Golightly, as modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
Golightly describes a controller (Col. 4, l. 19, “a control circuit”) mounted on the circuit board and configured to control a switching operation of the inverter circuit (Col. 4, ll. 19 – 23 describes a control circuit (not shown) controlling the switching of the power semiconductor devices wherein the control circuit interfaces with each one of the power switches and other electrical components within power module 10 through eighteen control pins 30. Please note, col. 5, ll. 56 – 65 describes these power switches forming three inverter circuits for driving a three-phase motor).
Claims 6 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golightly (US 7,046,518 B2), in view of Weber (US 6,226,183 B1), in further view of Bayerer (US 8,018,047 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Golightly, as modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Golightly discloses a module housing (Golightly – 12, fig. 1) having a plurality of side walls (Golightly – side walls D, annotated fig. 1) wherein the plurality of side walls form an open face (Golightly – the interior region within side walls D of the molded shell 12, annotated fig. 1), the module housing receiving the circuit board (the double-sided circuit board having the shape of substrate 32 and having on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks as shown in figure 7 of Golightly to include the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 and having on the second surface of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks associated with conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44) through the open face (Golightly – As shown in figure 5).
The modified Golightly does not explicitly disclose a module housing having a bottom surface and the plurality of side walls extending from the bottom surface to form an open face, the module housing receiving the circuit board through the open face and retaining the circuit board within the side walls substantially parallel to the bottom surface and at a distance from the bottom surface, wherein the plurality of power switches face the bottom surface of the module housing.
However, Bayerer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a module housing (1, fig. 1) having a bottom surface (interior surface of an upper side 4h of a housing cover 4, fig. 1) and a plurality of side walls (4d, fig. 1) extending from the bottom surface to form an open face (the interior region within side walls 4d of the housing cover 4, fig. 1), the module housing receiving the circuit board (3, fig. 1) through the open face and retaining the circuit board within the side walls substantially parallel to the bottom surface and at a distance from the bottom surface (As shown in fig. 1), wherein the plurality of power switches (40, fig. 1) face the bottom surface of the module housing (As shown in fig. 1).
Bayerer is evidence that the module housing having the bottom surface and the plurality of side walls extending from the bottom surface to form an open face, the module housing receiving the circuit board through the open face and retaining the circuit board within the side walls substantially parallel to the bottom surface and at the distance from the bottom surface, wherein the plurality of power switches face the bottom surface of the module housing was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success modifying the module housing of Golightly for the module housing as taught by Bayerer. Moreover, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the module housing of Golightly for the module housing as taught by Bayerer in order to protect the plurality of power switches from the outside environment so that the plurality of power switches are not abraded or damaged.
Regarding claim 7, Golightly, as modified by Weber, as further modified by Bayerer, discloses the invention as recited in claim 6.
The modified Golightly discloses potting material (Bayerer – 51, fig. 1) disposed in the distance between the circuit board (Bayerer – 3, fig. 1) and the bottom surface (Bayerer – interior surface of an upper side 4h of a housing cover 4, fig. 1) of the module housing (Bayerer – 1, fig. 1) to cover the plurality of power switches (Bayerer – 40, fig. 1).
Claims 11 – 15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 9,878,435 B2), in view of Golightly (US 7,046,518 B2), in further view of Weber (US 6,226,183 B1).
Regarding claim 11, Ito discloses a power tool comprising:
a housing (2, fig. 3);
an electric motor (10, fig. 3. Col. 1, ll. 15 – 18) disposed within the housing;
a battery receptacle (34, fig. 3) formed in the housing that receives a removeable battery pack (37, fig. 3) therein; and
an electronic module (39, fig. 3) mounted within the housing, comprising a circuit board (38, fig. 3) having a first surface (bottom surface of control circuit board 38, fig. 3) and a second surface (top surface of control circuit board 38, fig. 3).
Ito does not explicitly disclose a circuit board having a first conductive track located on the first surface of the circuit board and extending along a first axis; a plurality of second conductive tracks located on the first surface of the circuit board along a second axis parallel to the first axis; a plurality of third conductive tracks located on the first surface of the circuit board along a third axis parallel to the second axis; at least one first heat sink mounted on the first conductive track; a plurality of second heat sinks mounted respectively on the plurality of second conductive tracks; a plurality of motor terminals formed through the plurality of third conductive tracks; and a plurality of power switches mounted on the second surface of the circuit board configured as an inverter circuit to supply power from the battery pack to the electric motor, wherein the plurality of power switches comprises: a plurality of high-side power switches located opposite the at least one first heat sink and in thermal communication therewith, and a plurality of low-side power switches located opposite the plurality of second heat sinks and in respective thermal communication therewith.
However, Golightly, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a circuit board (12, 32, 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44, figs. 5, 6) having a first surface (the bottom surface of substrate 32 and the bottom surface of molded shell 12, fig. 2) and a second surface (the top surface of substrate 32, fig. 7, and the top surface of conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44 and the top surface of molded shell 12, fig. 6) (Please note, annotated figures 5, 6 show the power module 10 without this substrate 32, wherein figure 2 and col. 4, ll. 29 – 33 shows and describes this substrate 32 mounted to the bottom a power module 10. Thus, the examiner has angled annotated figure 7 showing the top surface of substrate 32 that would be mounted beneath the molded shell 12 in annotated figure 5 so that all of the figures are in the same orientation to assist understanding in the examiner’s interpretation of the claimed, “a circuit board”. Col. 4, ll. 64 – 67 and col. 4, ll. 2 – 7 describes conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, and 44 having power semiconductor devices 440UH, 40UL, 40VH, 40VL, 40WH, and 40WL. Col. 5, ll. 34 – 41 describes the top surface of substrate 32 having conductive traces to facilitate electrical connection between control pins 30 and various components disposed within opening 52. Col. 5, ll. 34 – 41 describes the bottom of conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, and 44 soldered to the top surface of substrate 32. Thus, the examiner interprets the claimed, “a circuit board”, as the combination of the two single-sided circuit boards within the molded shell 12 wherein the first single-sided circuit board comprises the conductive pads 38UL, 38VL, 38WL, 42, 44 and the second single-sided circuit board comprises the substrate 32 having the top surface with the conductive traces); and
a plurality of power switches (40UL, 40VL, 40WL, 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, fig. 5) mounted on the second surface of the circuit board configured as an inverter circuit to supply power from a power supply to an electric motor (Col. 5, ll. 56 – 65 describes high side power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH being electrically coupled to respective low side power switches 40UL, 40VL, 40WL to form three inverter circuits for driving a three-phase motor),
wherein the plurality of power switches comprises:
a plurality of high-side power switches (40UH, 40VH, 40WH, fig. 5), and
a plurality of low-side power switches (40UL, 40VL, 40WL, fig. 5).
Golightly further discloses a heat sink (not shown in the drawings) in thermal communication with the first surface of the circuit board (Col. 4, ll. 33 – 38 describes the power module 10 mounted on a heat sink using heat sink mounting holes 16, 17 and when the power module 10 is mounted on the heat sink, the first surface of the circuit board – that is, the bottom surface of substrate 32 – is placed in intimate contact with the heat sink thereby improving heat dissipation).
Golightly does not explicitly disclose a first conductive track located on the first surface of the circuit board and extending along a first axis; a plurality of second conductive tracks located on the first surface of the circuit board along a second axis parallel to the first axis; at least one first heat sink mounted on the first conductive track and a plurality of second heat sinks mounted respectively on the plurality of second conductive tracks wherein the plurality of high-side power switches are located opposite the at least one first heat sink and in thermal communication therewith and the plurality of low-side power switches are located opposite the plurality of second heat sinks and in respective thermal communication therewith.
However, Weber, which reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, teaches a power switch (3, fig. 3; col. 3, l. 56, “a power component”) mounted on a second conductive track (10, fig. 3) on a second surface (8, fig. 3) of a circuit board (2, fig. 3) located opposite a heat sink (1, fig. 3) mounted on a first conductive track (11, fig. 3) on a first surface (9, fig. 3) of a circuit board and in thermal communication therewith (via holes 4 and a circuit trace 11, fig. 3) (Please note, Golightly discloses a circuit board structure having two attached single-sided circuit boards, as described above, wherein Weber teaches one double-sided circuit board. See col. 59 – 65 of Weber. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that with the incorporation of the teachings of Weber concerning the double-sided circuit board with the invention of Golightly, the two attached single-sided circuit boards of Golightly would be modified to one double-sided circuit board having the shape of substrate 32 and having on the first surface (bottom) of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks as shown in figure 7 of Golightly to include the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 and having on the second surface (top) of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks associated with conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44. Thus, a first conductive track would be lands 56, 58 on the first surface (bottom) of the double-sided circuit board extending along a first axis A, as shown in annotated fig. 7 of Golightly, and a plurality of second conductive tracks would be lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface (bottom) of the double-sided circuit board along a second axis B parallel to the first axis A, as also shown in annotated fig. 7 of Golightly.
One having ordinary skill in the art would further recognize that the power component 3 of Weber is an analogous structure to the power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL of Golightly. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Weber with the invention of Golightly, each power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL of Golightly would be located opposite its own heat sink 1, as taught by Weber, and in thermal communication therewith via the holes 4 and the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 of Golightly, as taught by Weber. Therefore, at least one first heat sink 1 (three heat sinks 1) would be mounted on the first conductive track (lands 56, 58) of Golightly and a plurality of second heat sinks 1 (three heat sinks 1) would be mounted respectively on the plurality of second conductive tracks (lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL) of Golightly, wherein the plurality of high-side power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH of Golightly would be located opposite at least one first heat sink 1 (each high-side power switch would have its own heat sink 1 so three heat sinks 1 total) and in thermal communication therewith via the holes 1 and the lands 56, 58 and the plurality of low-side power switches 40UL, 40VL, 40WL of Golightly would be located opposite the plurality of second heat sinks 1 (each low-side power switch would have its own heat sink 1 so three heat sinks 1 total) and in respective thermal communication therewith via the holes 1 and the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL).
Weber is evidence that having a double-sided circuit board was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success modifying the two attached single-sided circuit boards of Golightly to the double-sided circuit board, as taught by Weber. Moreover, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the two attached single-sided circuit boards of Golightly to the double-sided circuit board, as taught by Weber, in order to offer superior design flexibility, higher component density, and improved signal integrity over single-sided boards by allowing circuitry on both sides and utilizing vias. Furthermore, double-sided circuit boards are more compact, support complex routing, and generally provide better heat dissipation.
Weber is also evidence that having a power switch located opposite a heat sink and in thermal communication therewith was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success substituting the heat sink arrangement of Golightly for having each power switch located opposite its own heat sink and in thermal communication therewith, as taught by Weber. Because the heat sink arrangement of Golightly and the heat sink arrangement of Weber both improve heat dissipation for power switches, it would have been obvious to the one having ordinary skill in the art to have made a simple substitution of the heat sink arrangement of Golightly for the heat sink arrangement of Weber to achieve the predictable result of improving heat dissipation for power switches.
Golightly discloses a plurality of third conductive tracks (tracks 43, 45, 47 along axis C, annotated fig. 6) located on a side surface of the circuit board along a third axis (axis C, annotated figs. 5, 6, 7) and a plurality of motor terminals (28U, 28V, 28W, figs. 5, 6) formed through the plurality of third conductive tracks.
Golightly does not disclose a plurality of third conductive tracks located on the first surface.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified or moved the plurality of third conductive tracks from the side surface of the circuit board to the first surface because it has been held that the rearrangement of parts is not patentable if the position of the part does not modified the operation of the device and the particular placement of a part is an obvious matter of design choice. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device. In the instant case, shifting the position of the plurality of third conductive tracks from the side surface of the circuit board to a first surface of the circuit board would not modify the operation of these third conductive tracks thus the limitations regarding the position of these third conductive tracks would be likewise unpatentable. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975), the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice. The specification does not disclose any criticality to these third conductive tracks being placed on the first surface thus the placement of these third conductive tracks would likewise be an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 12, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
The modified Ito discloses an axial length of the first conductive track (the first conductive track of the lands 56, 58 on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 56, 58 are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) is greater than a total length of the plurality of second conductive tracks (the plurality of the second conductive tracks of the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) (As shown figure 7, the axial length of lands 56, 58 is greater than the total length of lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL).
Regarding claim 13, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
The modified Ito discloses the at least one first heat sink comprises three heat sinks (Weber – 1, fig. 3) located mirror opposite the plurality of high-side power switches (Golightly – 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, fig. 5) (With the combination of the teachings of Weber with the invention of Golightly, each high-side power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH would have its own heat sink 1 located mirror opposite of its respective high-side power switch, as taught by Weber – see figure 3 of Weber).
Regarding claim 14, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
The modified Ito discloses the first conductive track (the first conductive track of the lands 56, 58 on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 56, 58 are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) is electrically coupled to a positive node of the power supply and electrically couples the at least one first heat sink to the positive node of the power supply (Weber – Col. 5, ll. 17 – 34 describes the second embodiment of figure 3 wherein the power component 3, heat sink 1, and the trace 11, upon which the heat sink 1 is thermally connected, having the same potential implying the power component 3, the heat sink 1, and the trace 11 are electrically connected. Thus, in the combination of the teachings of Weber and the invention of Golightly, each power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL, its respective heat sink 1, and the respective conductive track upon which these heat sinks are thermally connected would be electrically connected in order to have same potential, as also taught by Weber. Figure 8 of Golightly shows the drain of the high-side power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH electrically connected to the positive node of the power supply B+ thus their respective heat sinks and the respective conductive track upon which the respective heats sinks are thermally connected – that is, the first conductive track of the lands 56, 58 on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – would also be electrically connected to the positive node of the power supply B+ in order to have the same potential).
Regarding claim 15, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
The modified Ito discloses the plurality of third conductive tracks (Golightly – tracks along axis C leading to terminal leads 28U, 28V, 28W, annotated fig. 6) is located along a peripheral side of the circuit board (the double-sided circuit board having the shape of substrate 32 and having on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks as shown in figure 7 of Golightly to include the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 and having on the second surface of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks associated with conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44.) (Golightly – Annotated figure 18 shows the tracks leading to the terminal leads 28U, 28V, 28W initially extend from a peripheral side of conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W) and is electrically coupled to phase outputs of the inverter circuit (Golightly – Col. 4, ll. 3 – 8 describes the power module 10 interfacing with the three phases of a motor through respective terminal leads 28U, 28V, 28W wherein terminal lead 28U supplies power to a first phase of the motor (U phase), terminal lead 28V supplies power to the second phase of the motor (V phase) and terminal 28W supplies power to the third phase of the motor (W phase)), and wherein the plurality of motor terminals (28U, 28V, 28W, figs. 5, 6) is disposed along the peripheral side of the circuit board adjacent and parallel to the plurality of power switches (40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, 40WL, fig. 5), and wherein the phase outputs of the inverter circuit (Col. 5, ll. 56 – 65 describes high side power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH being electrically coupled to respective low side power switches 40UL, 40VL, 40WL to form three inverter circuits for driving a three-phase motor) are routed to the plurality of motor terminals through intermediary conductive tracks (43, 45, 47, fig. 10) that disposed in an intermediary layer (the layer within the molded shell 12, figs. 9, 10) of the circuit board.
Regarding claim 18, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
The modified Ito discloses a plurality of thermal vias (Weber – 4, fig. 3) disposed through each of the plurality of second conductive tracks (the plurality of the second conductive tracks of the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) (Weber – Figure 3 shows holes 4 disposed through traces 11. Therefore, with the combination of the teachings of Weber with the invention of Golightly, the holes 4 would likewise be disposed through the plurality of the second conductive tracks of the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board) to thermally and electrically couple each of the plurality of second heat sinks and the respective of the plurality of low-side power switches (Golightly – 40UL, 40VL, 40WL, fig. 5) (Weber – Col. 5, ll. 17 – 34 describes the second embodiment of figure 3 wherein the power component 3, heat sink 1, and the trace 11, upon which the heat sink 1 is thermally connected, having the same potential implying the power component 3, the heat sink 1, and the trace 11 are electrically connected. Thus, in the combination of the teachings of Weber and the invention of Golightly, each power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL, its respective heat sink 1, and the respective conductive track, upon which these heat sinks are thermally connected, would be electrically connected in order to have same potential, as also taught by Weber. Therefore, the low-side power switches 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL would be thermally connected via the holes 4 to their respective heat sink and electrically connected to their respective heat sink in order to have the same potential).
Regarding claim 19, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
The modified Ito discloses a first plurality of power switch conductive tracks (conductive pads 42, 44 on the second surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the conductive pads 42, 44 are best shown in fig. 5 of Golightly) disposed on the second surface of the circuit board opposite the first conductive track (the first conductive track of the lands 56, 58 on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 56, 58 are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) to provide mounting surfaces for the plurality of high-side power switches (Golightly – 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, fig. 5), and a second plurality of power switch conductive tracks (conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W on the second surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W are best shown in fig. 5 of Golightly) disposed on the second surface of the circuit board opposite the plurality of second conductive tracks (the plurality of the second conductive tracks of the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) to provide mounting surfaces for the plurality of low-side power switches (Golightly – 40UL, 40VL, 40WL, fig. 5), wherein the plurality of high-side power switches are mounted at least partially over corresponding power switch conductive tracks of the first plurality of power switch conductive tracks with drains of the plurality of high-side power switches making electrical contact with the corresponding power switch conductive tracks of the first plurality of power switch conductive tracks (Golightly – Col. 5, ll. 2 – 6 describes the high-side power switches 40UH and 40VH connected to conductive pad 42 and high-side switch 40WH connected to conductive pad 44 and col. 6, ll. 19 – 23 describes these high-side powers 40UH, 40VH, and 40WH having drain electrodes making electrical contact to their respective power switch conductive tracks and connected to a power bus), wherein the plurality of low-side power switches are mounted at least partially on corresponding power switch conductive tracks of the second plurality of power switch conductive tracks with drains of the plurality of low-side power switches electrically connected to the corresponding power switch conductive tracks of the second plurality of power switch conductive tracks (Golightly – Col. 4, ll. 64 – 67 describes the low-side switches 40UL, 40VL and 40WL each having a drain electrode electrically connected to a respective conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W), wherein the first plurality of power switch conductive tracks is connected to the first conductive track through a first series of conductive vias (Weber – 4, fig. 3), and wherein the second plurality of power switch conductive tracks is electrically connected to the plurality of second conductive tracks through a second series of conductive vias (Weber – 4, fig. 3) (Weber – Col. 5, ll. 17 – 34 describes the second embodiment of figure 3 wherein the power component 3, heat sink 1, and the trace 11, upon which the heat sink 1 is thermally connected, having the same potential thus the power component 3, the heat sink 1, and the trace 11 are electrically connected. Thus, in the combination of the teachings of Weber and the invention of Golightly, each power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL, its respective heat sink 1, and the respective conductive track upon which these heat sinks are thermally connected would be electrically connected in order to have same potential, as also taught by Weber. Please note, col. 4, ll. 5 – 7 describes voltage transmitted from power component 3 to printed circuit trace 11 via holes 4).
Regarding claim 20, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
Ito discloses a controller (Col. 8, ll. 34 – 39 describes a microcontroller mounted on the control circuit board 38 and configured to control a switching operation of the inverter circuit) mounted on the circuit board and configured to control a switching operation of the inverter circuit.
Claims 16 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 9,878,435 B2), in view of Golightly (US 7,046,518 B2), in further view of Weber (US 6,226,183 B1), in further view of Bayerer (US 8,018,047 B2).
Regarding claim 16, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
The modified Ito discloses a module housing (Golightly – 12, fig. 1) having a plurality of side walls (Golightly – side walls D, annotated fig. 1) wherein the plurality of side walls form an open face (Golightly – the interior region within side walls D of the molded shell 12, annotated fig. 1), the module housing receiving the circuit board (the double-sided circuit board having the shape of substrate 32 and having on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks as shown in figure 7 of Golightly to include the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 and having on the second surface of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks associated with conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44) through the open face (Golightly – As shown in figure 5).
The modified Ito does not explicitly disclose a module housing having a bottom surface and the plurality of side walls extending from the bottom surface to form an open face, the module housing receiving the circuit board through the open face and retaining the circuit board within the side walls substantially parallel to the bottom surface and at a distance from the bottom surface, wherein the plurality of power switches face the bottom surface of the module housing.
However, Bayerer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a module housing (1, fig. 1) having a bottom surface (interior surface of an upper side 4h of a housing cover 4, fig. 1) and a plurality of side walls (4d, fig. 1) extending from the bottom surface to form an open face (the interior region within side walls 4d of the housing cover 4, fig. 1), the module housing receiving the circuit board (3, fig. 1) through the open face and retaining the circuit board within the side walls substantially parallel to the bottom surface and at a distance from the bottom surface (As shown in fig. 1), wherein the plurality of power switches (40, fig. 1) face the bottom surface of the module housing (As shown in fig. 1).
Bayerer is evidence that the module housing having the bottom surface and the plurality of side walls extending from the bottom surface to form an open face, the module housing receiving the circuit board through the open face and retaining the circuit board within the side walls substantially parallel to the bottom surface and at the distance from the bottom surface, wherein the plurality of power switches face the bottom surface of the module housing was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success modifying the module housing of the modified Ito for the module housing as taught by Bayerer. Moreover, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the module housing of the modified Ito for the module housing as taught by Bayerer in order to protect the plurality of power switches from the outside environment so that the plurality of power switches are not abraded or damaged.
Regarding claim 17, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, as further modified by Bayerer, discloses the invention as recited in claim 16.The modified Ito discloses potting material (Bayerer – 51, fig. 1) disposed in the distance between the circuit board (Bayerer – 3, fig. 1) and the bottom surface (Bayerer – interior surface of an upper side 4h of a housing cover 4, fig. 1) of the module housing (Bayerer – 1, fig. 1) to cover the plurality of power switches (Bayerer – 40, fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 11 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
The Office Action's proposed combination depends on the premise that Golightly discloses "two attached single-sided circuit boards," namely alleged first board 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, and 44 and alleged second board 32, which Weber would allegedly convert into one double- sided circuit board. Applicant respectfully submits that this premise is unsupported by Golightly.
Golightly does not describe conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, and 44 as a circuit board. Golightly describes a molded-shell/lead-frame power module. In its summary, Golightly states that the power module includes a molded shell and a lead frame having a power lead, ground lead, motor terminal leads, capacitor leads, a jumper, and a lead having conductive pads for receiving power devices. Golightly further explains that the elements of the lead frame cross over one another within the molded shell to provide compact positioning and reduce resistance and inductance. See Golightly, col. 1, 1. 43-col. 2, 1. 9.
Golightly's detailed description is consistent with that summary. The low-side semiconductor devices 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL have drain electrodes electrically connected to respective conductive pads 38U, 38V, and 38W, and the high-side semiconductor devices 40UH, 40VH, and 40WH are disposed on and electrically connected to conductive pads 42 and 44. Golightly states that those conductive pads are disposed within opening 52 in molded shell 12. See Golightly, col. 4, 1. 62-col. 5, 1. 14.
Golightly separately describes substrate 32 as a thermal substrate. Golightly states that substrate 32 may be an insulated metal substrate or another substrate that provides electrical isolation while providing heat conductivity for dissipating heat from the power semiconductor devices. Golightly further states that the bottom surface of substrate 32 may be placed in intimate contact with a heat sink, or may itself dissipate heat to ambient. See Golightly, col. 4, 11. 28-40. Golightly, also, explains that substrate 32 is received at the bottom of opening 52 and placed in contact with conductive pads 38UL, 38VL, 38WL, 42, and 44 to withdraw heat from the power semiconductor devices mounted on those pads. The top surface of substrate 32 includes lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, and 58 that are thermally connected to the conductive pads by solder or another thermally conductive material. See Golightly, col. 5, 11. 23-42.
This disclosure does not support treating Golightly's lead-frame conductive pads and thermal substrate as "two attached single-sided circuit boards." Golightly's own claims reinforce the distinction. For example, claim 1 of Golightly recites a molded power shell, a substrate having at least one conductive trace, and a separate lead frame including a conductive pad having a power semiconductor die disposed thereon. Thus, Golightly itself treats the substrate and lead-frame conductive pad as different structures performing different roles, not as two circuit boards that can be collapsed into a single double-sided PCB. See Golightly, claim 1.
This distinction matters. Weber's teaching of a double-sided circuit board may be relevant where a reference actually has board-mounted traces and components on board surfaces. But the Office Action does not identify two printed circuit boards in Golightly. Instead, it recharacterizes Golightly's lead-frame pads as one circuit board and Golightly's thermal substrate as another. Converting those structures into a single double-sided circuit board would require more than substituting Weber's double-sided board for two known single-sided boards; it would require redesigning Golightly's molded-shell/lead-frame/substrate architecture into a different PCB architecture.
The proposed modification would, therefore, eliminate or substantially alter the structures Golightly relies upon: lead-frame conductive pads carrying the power devices, motor terminal leads and capacitor leads extending through the molded shell, bridge portions crossing within the molded shell, and substrate 32 functioning as a heat-withdrawal substrate beneath the lead-frame pads. Golightly expressly identifies the lead-frame crossover arrangement and bridge-over-substrate-trace arrangement as enabling compact positioning, shorter trace paths, and reduced resistance and inductance. See Golightly, col. 1, 1. 58-col. 2, 1. 9; col. 8, 11. 42-53.
Accordingly, the rejection rests on an unsupported characterization of Golightly. Golightly does not disclose "two attached single-sided circuit boards." It discloses a molded-shell lead-frame module with a separate thermal substrate. Because the Office Action's Weber rationale depends on converting the alleged two single-sided circuit boards into one double-sided board, the Office Action has not provided an adequate factual basis or reasoned explanation for the proposed modification. See MPEP § 2141(III) (requiring clear articulation of the reason why the claimed invention would have been obvious); MPEP § 2143(IV) (explaining that a statement that modifications would have been within ordinary skill is not sufficient by itself to establish a prima facie case of obviousness).
[AltContent: textbox (2nd single-sided circuit board)][AltContent: textbox (1st single-sided circuit board)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding applicant’s argument that Golightly does not disclose two attached single-sided circuit boards, the examiner interprets a circuit board as a sheet of insulating material carrying circuit elements. Under this definition, the examiner interprets the first circuit card comprising conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, and 44 on which power semiconductor devices 440UH, 40UL, 40VH, 40VL, 40WH, and 40WL are placed (Golightly – col. 4, ll. 64 – 67 and col. 4, ll. 2 – 7) and provides the circuit as shown in figure 8. The examiner further interprets the second circuit card comprising substrate 32 wherein the top surface of the substrate 32 has conductive traces that facilitates electrical connections between control pins 30 and various components disposed within opening 52 (Golightly – col. 5, ll. 41 – 45). The proposed combination concerns these two single-sided circuit boards. Applicant argues additional features (i.e., the molded frame 12) as part of these interpreted single-sided circuit boards but the examiner did not include those features in his interpretation. Applicant further argues that the proposed combination would require redesigning Golightly's molded-shell/lead-frame/substrate architecture into a different PCB architecture and would eliminate or substantially alter the structures Golightly relies upon – lead-frame conductive pads carrying the power devices, motor terminal leads and capacitor leads extending through the molded shell, bridge portions crossing within the molded shell, and substrate 32 functioning as a heat-withdrawal substrate beneath the lead-frame pads. However, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Golightly and Weber do not disclose that the proposed modification renders the prior unsatisfactory for its intended use (i.e., inoperable) or that the proposed modification changes the principle of operation of the Golightly. Thus, applicant’s arguments directed towards the bodily incorporation of the teachings of Weber with the invention of Golightly are unpersuasive.
Applicant argues:
Weber discloses a circuit board 2 having printed circuit traces on opposite sides and via holes for transferring heat from a power component to an opposite-side heat sink. Specifically, Weber describes a power component 3 applied to a first large-surface printed circuit trace 10 on one side of circuit board 2, with heat dissipated through via holes 4 to a second large-surface printed circuit trace 11 and then toward heat sink 1. See Weber, col. 3, 11. 1-34.
However, Weber does not teach or suggest converting a molded lead-frame power module, such as Golightly's, into a single double-sided PCB. Weber's teaching is directed to heat transfer in its own circuit-board/substrate arrangement. Weber does not disclose Golightly's lead- frame conductive pads, molded shell, motor terminal leads, capacitor leads, bridge 48, bridge portions 80 and 82, or substrate 32 nor does Weber explain why a person of ordinary skill would discard or substantially reconfigure those Golightly structures in favor of a new double-sided PCB shaped like substrate 32.
The Office Action reasons that, after incorporating Weber, the bottom surface of the modified double-sided board would include Golightly's substrate lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, and 58, and the top surface would include conductive tracks associated with Golightly's conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, and 44, however, that is not a teaching of either reference. It is a reconstruction of Golightly's separate lead-frame and thermal-substrate structures into a new board architecture. Weber's general disclosure of a power component, via holes, and opposite-side heat sinks, does not supply a reason to perform that reconstruction.
In response to applicant’s argument that Weber does not provide a teaching or rationale for reconstructing Golightly, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the motivation in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art was given that double-sided circuit boards are more compact, support complex routing, and generally provide better heat dissipation is given. Again, applicant arguments are directed towards the bodily incorporation the teachings of Weber with the invention of Golightly which are unpersuasive.
Applicant argues:
The claimed invention requires more than motor phase outputs generally. Independent claim 1 expressly requires "a plurality of third conductive tracks located on the first surface of the circuit board" and "a plurality of motor terminals formed through the plurality of third conductive tracks." Independent claim 11 requires similar features. Thus, the claimed invention requires a specific structural relationship between the circuit board, the third conductive tracks on the first surface of that circuit board, and the motor terminals formed through those tracks.
The Office Action identifies a third axis and relies on Golightly's U/V/W motor phase terminal structures. However, the Office Action does not identify any plurality of third conductive tracks on the first surface of the proposed Weber-modified double-sided circuit board through which motor terminals are formed. Under the Office Action's proposed modification, the first surface of the hypothetical double-sided board includes Golightly's substrate lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, and 58. Golightly describes those lands as thermally connected to conductive pads 38UL, 38VL, 38WL, 42, and 44 by solder or another thermally conductive material; Golightly does not describe those lands as motor-output terminal tracks or as tracks through which motor terminals are formed. See Golightly, col. 5, 11. 23-50.
Golightly's motor phase outputs are instead terminal leads 28U, 28V, and 28W. Golightly states that power module 10 interfaces with the three phases of the motor through terminal leads 28U, 28V, and 28W, and that those terminal leads include apertures for receiving screws so that they may be assembled onto the motor housing. See Golightly, col. 3, 1. 57-col. 4, 1.14. Golightly further describes the terminal-lead extensions as integral with conductive pads and extending through the body of molded shell 12, confirming that the motor phase terminals are lead- frame/molded-shell structures rather than motor terminals formed through conductive tracks on a first surface of a circuit board. See Golightly, col. 7, 1. 58-col. 8, 1. 27.
Weber does not cure this deficiency. Weber is relied upon for a thermal arrangement in which heat from a power component is transferred through via holes and large- surface printed circuit traces to an opposite-side heat sink. Weber does not disclose motor phase terminals, third conductive tracks for motor terminals, or motor terminals formed through third conductive tracks on a first surface of a three-phase inverter circuit board.
Accordingly, even assuming arguendo, the Examiner's proposed modification of Golightly with Weber still does not teach or suggest the claimed motor-terminal structure. At most, the Office Action identifies Golightly's lead-frame motor terminal leads and a possible third axis in the drawings. An axis is not a conductive track, and Golightly's lead-frame terminal leads are not motor terminals formed through third conductive tracks on the first surface of the claimed circuit board. The rejection, therefore, fails to account for these features.
In response to applicant’s arguments that the claimed motor-terminal features remain unmet, applicant’s arguments are persuasive.
Applicant argues:
Weber teaches a general thermal arrangement for a power component on a circuit board, with heat transferred through via holes to an opposite-side trace and heat sink. Weber also teaches that its substrate can be a circuit board having components on both sides and that spacer elements or conductor surface elements may be used in connection with the heat sink. See Weber, col. 3, 11. 1-35; col. 4, 11. 44-65; col. 5, 11. 1-33.
However, the claimed invention is not directed merely to placing a power component on one side of a board and a heat sink on the other. The claimed invention requires a particular inverter module architecture: first, second, and third conductive tracks located on a first surface; at least one first heat sink mounted on the first conductive track; second heat sinks mounted respectively on second conductive tracks; motor terminals formed through third conductive tracks; and high-side and low-side power switches mounted on the second surface opposite the respective heat sinks.
Weber does not disclose or suggest that architecture nor does Weber disclose how to map its generic power component 3 and heat sink 1 onto Golightly's high-side and low-side inverter switches in a way that yields the claimed first-surface conductive-track layout and motor- terminal structure. The Office Action's proposed mapping of lands 56 and 58 as first conductive tracks, lands 54UL, 54VL, and 54WL as second conductive tracks and Weber's heat sinks added opposite each switch, instead, appears to use Applicant's claim as a roadmap rather than following a teaching or suggestion in the prior art.
The fact that Weber discloses one power component thermally coupled through vias to an opposite-side heat sink does not explain why a person of ordinary skill would have modified Golightly to provide the claimed grouped high-side and low-side inverter architecture, including first-surface heat-sink mounting tracks and second-surface power switches on a single circuit board. Weber's general thermal path does not supply the claimed arrangement of high-side and low-side inverter components nor does it remedy the deficiencies in the Office Action's mapping of Golightly's lead-frame pads and substrate lands.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Weber does not teach the claimed high-side/low-side inverter track architecture, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the stance case, Golightly discloses first and second conductive tracks configured for placement of high and low power switched located on one surface and a single heat sink on the opposite surface. Weber teaches each power switch on one surface having its own heat sink directly opposite on the opposite surface connected via thermal and conductive vias. Weber further teaches a double-sided circuit board wherein electrical components can be positioned on both sides of the circuit board thus the conductive traces on the top of substrate 32 can be positioned on the bottom of the modified circuit board. Applicant argues that this conclusion is a product of improper hindsight, however, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
/DAVID G SHUTTY/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
30 September 2026