DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing on 8 May 2024.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 23 July 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5 and 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golightly (US 7,046,518 B2), in view of Weber (US 6,226,183 B1).
[AltContent: textbox (D)]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: textbox (B)][AltContent: textbox (C)]
[AltContent: textbox (Golightly (US 7,046,518 B2)
Annotated figures 3, 5, 6, and 7)]
[AltContent: textbox (Weber (US 6,226,183 B1)
Figure 3)]
Regarding claim 1, Golightly discloses an electronic module (10, fig. 1) comprising:
a circuit board (32, 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44, figs. 5, 6) having a first surface (the bottom surface of substrate 32 – best shown in fig. 2) and a second surface (the top surface of substrate 32 and the top surface of conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44 shown in figure 6) (Please note, annotated figures 5, 6 show the power module 10 without this substrate 32, thus the examiner has angled annotated figures 3, 7 so that all of the figures are in the same orientation as figure 6 to assist understanding in the examiner’s interpretation of the claimed, “a circuit board”. Figure 3 and col. 4, ll. 29 – 33 shows and describes a substrate 32 mounted to the bottom a power module 10. Col. 5, ll. 34 – 41 describes the substrate 32 including electrically isolated lands which are thermally connected to respective conductive pads when the substrate 32 is installed at the bottom of opening 52. Specifically, lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 are thermally connected to the bottom of conductive pads 38UL, 38VL, 38WL, 42, 44 respectively by a layer of solder or some other thermally conductive material. Thus, the examiner interprets the claimed, “a circuit board”, as the structure of the conductive pads 38UL, 38VL, 38WL, 42, 44 wherein the bottoms of the conductive pads 38UL, 38VL, 38WL, 42, 44 are thermally connected via a layer of solder or some other thermally conductive material to the top surface of substrate 32 onto the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 of the substrate 32);
a plurality of third conductive tracks (tracks along axis C leading to terminal leads 28U, 28V, 28W, annotated fig. 6) located on the first surface of the circuit board along a third axis (axis C, annotated figs. 5, 6, 7);
a plurality of motor terminals (28U, 28V, 28W, figs. 5, 6) formed through the plurality of third conductive tracks; and
a plurality of power switches (40UL, 40VL, 40WL, 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, fig. 5) mounted on the second surface of the circuit board configured as an inverter circuit to supply power from a power supply to an electric motor (Col. 5, ll. 56 – 65 describes high side power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH being electrically coupled to respective low side power switches 40UL, 40VL, 40WL to form three inverter circuits for driving a three-phase motor),
wherein the plurality of power switches comprises:
a plurality of high-side power switches (40UH, 40VH, 40WH, fig. 5), and
a plurality of low-side power switches (40UL, 40VL, 40WL, fig. 5).
Golightly further discloses a heat sink (not shown in the drawings) in thermal communication with the first surface of the circuit board (Col. 4, ll. 33 – 38 describes the power module 10 mounted on a heat sink using heat sink mounting holes 16, 17 and when the power module 10 is mounted on the heat sink, the first surface of the circuit board – that is, the bottom surface of substrate 32 – is placed in intimate contact with the heat sink thereby improving heat dissipation).
Golightly does not explicitly disclose a first conductive track located on the first surface of the circuit board and extending along a first axis; a plurality of second conductive tracks located on the first surface of the circuit board along a second axis parallel to the first axis; at least one first heat sink mounted on the first conductive track and a plurality of second heat sinks mounted respectively on the plurality of second conductive tracks wherein the plurality of high-side power switches are located opposite the at least one first heat sink and in thermal communication therewith and the plurality of low-side power switches are located opposite the plurality of second heat sinks and in respective thermal communication therewith.
However, Weber, which reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, teaches a power switch (3, fig. 3; col. 3, l. 56, “a power component”) mounted on a second conductive track (10, fig. 3) on a second surface (8, fig. 3) of a circuit board (2, fig. 3) located opposite a heat sink (1, fig. 3) mounted on a first conductive track (11, fig. 3) on a first surface (9, fig. 3) of a circuit board and in thermal communication therewith (via holes 4 and a circuit trace 11, fig. 3) (Please note, Golightly discloses a circuit board structure having two attached single-sided circuit boards, that is, a single-side circuit board 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44 attached to a single-side circuit board 32, wherein Weber teaches one double-sided circuit board. See col. 59 – 65 of Weber. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that with the incorporation of the teachings of Weber concerning the double-sided circuit board with the invention of Golightly, the two attached single-sided circuit boards 32, 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44 of Golightly would be modified to one double-sided circuit board having the shape of substrate 32 and having on the first surface (bottom) of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks as shown in figure 7 of Golightly to include the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 and having on the second surface (top) of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks associated with conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44. Thus, a first conductive track would be lands 56, 58 on the first surface (bottom) of the double-sided circuit board and extending along a first axis A, as shown in annotated figs. 3, 6, 7 of Golightly, and a plurality of second conductive tracks would be lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface (bottom) of the double-sided circuit board along a second axis B parallel to the first axis A, as shown in annotated figs. 3, 6, 7 of Golightly. With this interpretation, the third axis C upon which the plurality of third conductive tracks are located is parallel the second axis B, as shown in fig. 3, 6.
One having ordinary skill in the art would further recognize that the power component 3 of Weber is an analogous structure to the power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL of Golightly. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Weber with the invention of Golightly, each power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL of Golightly would be located opposite its own heat sink 1, as taught by Weber, and in thermal communication therewith via the holes 4 and the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 of Golightly, as taught by Weber. Therefore, at least one first heat sink 1 (three heat sinks 1) would be mounted on the first conductive track (lands 56, 58) of Golightly and a plurality of second heat sinks 1 (three heat sinks 1) would be mounted respectively on the plurality of second conductive tracks (lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL) of Golightly, wherein the plurality of high-side power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH of Golightly would be located opposite at least one first heat sink 1 (each high-side power switch would have its own heat sink 1 so three heat sinks 1 total) and in thermal communication therewith via the holes 1 and the lands 56, 58 and the plurality of low-side power switches 40UL, 40VL, 40WL of Golightly would be located opposite the plurality of second heat sinks 1 (each low-side power switch would have its own heat sink 1 so three heat sinks 1 total) and in respective thermal communication therewith via the holes 1 and the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL).
Weber is evidence that having a double-sided circuit board was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success modifying the two attached single-sided circuit boards of Golightly to the double-sided circuit board, as taught by Weber. Moreover, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the two attached single-sided circuit boards of Golightly to the double-sided circuit board, as taught by Weber, in order to offer superior design flexibility, higher component density, and improved signal integrity over single-sided boards by allowing circuitry on both sides and utilizing vias. Furthermore, double-sided circuit boards are more compact, support complex routing, and generally provide better heat dissipation.
Weber is also evidence that having a power switch located opposite a heat sink and in thermal communication therewith was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success substituting the heat sink arrangement of Golightly for having each power switch located opposite its own heat sink and in thermal communication therewith, as taught by Weber. Please note, the heat sink arrangement of Golightly and the heat sink arrangement of Weber both improve heat dissipation for power switches. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one having ordinary skill in the art to have made a simple substitution of the heat sink arrangement of Golightly for the heat sink arrangement of Weber to achieve the predictable result of improving heat dissipation for power switches.
Regarding claim 2, Golightly, as modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Golightly discloses an axial length of the first conductive track (the first conductive track of the lands 56, 58 on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 56, 58 are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) is greater than a total length of the plurality of second conductive tracks (the plurality of the second conductive tracks of the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) (As shown figure 7, the axial length of lands 56, 58 is greater than the total length of lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL).
Regarding claim 3, Golightly, as modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Golightly discloses the at least one first heat sink comprises three heat sinks (Weber – 1, fig. 3) located mirror opposite the plurality of high-side power switches (Golightly – 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, fig. 5) (With the combination of the teachings of Weber with the invention of Golightly, each high-side power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH would have its own heat sink 1 located mirror opposite of its respective high-side power switch, as taught by Weber – see figure 3 of Weber).
[AltContent: textbox (Golightly (US 7,046,518 B2)
Figure 8)]
Regarding claim 4, Golightly, as modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Golightly discloses the first conductive track (the first conductive track of the lands 56, 58 on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 56, 58 are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) is electrically coupled to a positive node of the power supply and electrically couples the at least one first heat sink to the positive node of the power supply (Weber – Col. 5, ll. 17 – 34 describes the second embodiment of figure 3 wherein the power component 3, heat sink 1, and the trace 11, upon which the heat sink 1 is thermally connected, having the same potential implying the power component 3, the heat sink 1, and the trace 11 are electrically connected. Thus, in the combination of the teachings of Weber and the invention of Golightly, each power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL, its respective heat sink 1, and the respective conductive track upon which these heat sinks are thermally connected would be electrically connected in order to have same potential, as also taught by Weber. Figure 8 of Golightly shows the drain of the high-side power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH electrically connected to the positive node of the power supply B+ thus their respective heat sinks and the respective conductive track upon which the respective heats sinks are thermally connected – that is, the first conductive track of the lands 56, 58 on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – would also be electrically connected to the positive node of the power supply B+ in order to have the same potential).
[AltContent: textbox (Golightly (US 7,046,518 B2)
Figure 18)]
Regarding claim 5, Golightly, as modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Golightly the plurality of third conductive tracks (Golightly – tracks along axis C leading to terminal leads 28U, 28V, 28W, annotated fig. 6) is located along a peripheral side of the circuit board (the double-sided circuit board having the shape of substrate 32 and having on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks as shown in figure 7 of Golightly to include the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 and having on the second surface of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks associated with conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44.) (Golightly – Annotated figure 18 shows the tracks leading to the terminal leads 28U, 28V, 28W initially extend from a peripheral side of conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W) and is electrically coupled to phase outputs of the inverter circuit (Golightly – Col. 4, ll. 3 – 8 describes the power module 10 interfacing with the three phases of a motor through respective terminal leads 28U, 28V, 28W wherein terminal lead 28U supplies power to a first phase of the motor (U phase), terminal lead 28V supplies power to the second phase of the motor (V phase) and terminal 28W supplies power to the third phase of the motor (W phase)).
Regarding claim 8, Golightly, as modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Golightly discloses a plurality of thermal vias (Weber – 4, fig. 3) disposed through each of the plurality of second conductive tracks (the plurality of the second conductive tracks of the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) (Weber – Figure 3 shows holes 4 disposed through traces 11. Therefore, with the combination of the teachings of Weber with the invention of Golightly, the holes 4 would likewise be disposed through the plurality of the second conductive tracks of the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board) to thermally and electrically couple each of the plurality of second heat sinks and the respective of the plurality of low-side power switches (Golightly – 40UL, 40VL, 40WL, fig. 5) (Weber – Col. 5, ll. 17 – 34 describes the second embodiment of figure 3 wherein the power component 3, heat sink 1, and the trace 11, upon which the heat sink 1 is thermally connected, having the same potential implying the power component 3, the heat sink 1, and the trace 11 are electrically connected. Thus, in the combination of the teachings of Weber and the invention of Golightly, each power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL, its respective heat sink 1, and the respective conductive track, upon which these heat sinks are thermally connected, would be electrically connected in order to have same potential, as also taught by Weber. Therefore, the low-side power switches 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL would be thermally connected via the holes 4 to their respective heat sink and electrically connected to their respective heat sink in order to have the same potential).
Regarding claim 9, Golightly, as modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Golightly discloses a first plurality of power switch conductive tracks (conductive pads 42, 44 on the second surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the conductive pads 42, 44 are best shown in fig. 5 of Golightly) disposed on the second surface of the circuit board opposite the first conductive track (the first conductive track of the lands 56, 58 on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 56, 58 are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) to provide mounting surfaces for the plurality of high-side power switches (Golightly – 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, fig. 5), and a second plurality of power switch conductive tracks (conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W on the second surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W are best shown in fig. 5 of Golightly) disposed on the second surface of the circuit board opposite the plurality of second conductive tracks (the plurality of the second conductive tracks of the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) to provide mounting surfaces for the plurality of low-side power switches (Golightly – 40UL, 40VL, 40WL, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Golightly, as modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
Golightly describes a controller (Col. 4, l. 19, “a control circuit”) mounted on the circuit board and configured to control a switching operation of the inverter circuit (Col. 4, ll. 19 – 23 describes a control circuit (not shown) controlling the switching of the power semiconductor devices wherein the control circuit interfaces with each one of the power switches and other electrical components within power module 10 through eighteen control pins 30. Please note, col. 5, ll. 56 – 65 describes these power switches forming three inverter circuits for driving a three-phase motor).
Claims 11 – 15 and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 9,878,435 B2), in view of Golightly (US 7,046,518 B2), in further view of Weber (US 6,226,183 B1).
Regarding claim 11, Ito discloses a power tool comprising:
a housing (2, fig. 3);
an electric motor (10, fig. 3. Col. 1, ll. 15 – 18) disposed within the housing;
a battery receptacle (34, fig. 3) formed in the housing that receives a removeable battery pack (37, fig. 3) therein; and
an electronic module (39, fig. 3) mounted within the housing, comprising a circuit board (38, fig. 3) having a first surface (bottom surface of control circuit board 38, fig. 3) and a second surface (top surface of control circuit board 38, fig. 3).
Ito does not explicitly disclose a circuit board having a first conductive track located on the first surface of the circuit board and extending along a first axis; a plurality of second conductive tracks located on the first surface of the circuit board along a second axis parallel to the first axis; a plurality of third conductive tracks located on the first surface of the circuit board along a third axis parallel to the second axis; at least one first heat sink mounted on the first conductive track; a plurality of second heat sinks mounted respectively on the plurality of second conductive tracks; a plurality of motor terminals formed through the plurality of third conductive tracks; and a plurality of power switches mounted on the second surface of the circuit board configured as an inverter circuit to supply power from the battery pack to the electric motor, wherein the plurality of power switches comprises: a plurality of high-side power switches located opposite the at least one first heat sink and in thermal communication therewith, and a plurality of low-side power switches located opposite the plurality of second heat sinks and in respective thermal communication therewith.
However, Golightly, which reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, teaches a circuit board (32, 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44, figs. 5, 6) having a first surface (the bottom surface of substrate 32 – best shown in fig. 2) and a second surface (the top surface of substrate 32 and the top surface of conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44 shown in figure 6) (Please note, annotated figures 5, 6 show the power module 10 without this substrate 32, thus the examiner has angled annotated figures 3, 7 so that all of the figures are in the same orientation as figures 5, 6 to assist understanding in the examiner’s interpretation of the claimed, “a circuit board”. Figure 3 and col. 4, ll. 29 – 33 shows and describes a substrate 32 mounted to the bottom a power module 10. Col. 5, ll. 34 – 41 describes the substrate 32 including electrically isolated lands which are thermally connected to respective conductive pads when the substrate 32 is installed at the bottom of opening 52. Specifically, lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 are thermally connected to the bottom of conductive pads 38UL, 38VL, 38WL, 42, 44 respectively by a layer of solder or some other thermally conductive material. Thus, the examiner interprets the claimed, “a circuit board”, as the structure of the conductive pads 38UL, 38VL, 38WL, 42, 44 wherein the bottoms of the conductive pads 38UL, 38VL, 38WL, 42, 44 are thermally connected via a layer of solder or some other thermally conductive material to the top surface of substrate 32 onto the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 of the substrate 32);
a plurality of third conductive tracks (tracks along axis C leading to terminal leads 28U, 28V, 28W, annotated fig. 6) located on the first surface of the circuit board along a third axis (axis C, annotated figs. 5, 6, 7);
a plurality of motor terminals (28U, 28V, 28W, figs. 5, 6) formed through the plurality of third conductive tracks; and
a plurality of power switches (40UL, 40VL, 40WL, 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, fig. 5) mounted on the second surface of the circuit board configured as an inverter circuit to supply power from a power supply to an electric motor (Col. 5, ll. 56 – 65 describes high side power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH being electrically coupled to respective low side power switches 40UL, 40VL, 40WL to form three inverter circuits for driving a three-phase motor),
wherein the plurality of power switches comprises:
a plurality of high-side power switches (40UH, 40VH, 40WH, fig. 5), and
a plurality of low-side power switches (40UL, 40VL, 40WL, fig. 5).
Golightly further discloses a heat sink (not shown in the drawings) in thermal communication with the first surface of the circuit board (Col. 4, ll. 33 – 38 describes the power module 10 mounted on a heat sink using heat sink mounting holes 16, 17 and when the power module 10 is mounted on the heat sink, the first surface of the circuit board – that is, the bottom surface of substrate 32 – is placed in intimate contact with the heat sink thereby improving heat dissipation).
Golightly is evidence that having a circuit board having with a plurality of third conductive tracks located on the first surface of the circuit board; a plurality of motor terminals formed through the plurality of third conductive tracks; and a plurality of power switches mounted on the second surface of the circuit board configured as an inverter circuit to supply power from the battery pack to the electric motor, wherein the plurality of power switches comprises: a plurality of high-side power switches and a plurality of low-side power switches was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success modifying the circuit board of Ito to the circuit board as taught by Golightly. Moreover, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the circuit board of Ito to the circuit board as taught by Ito because Ito is silent regarding the structure of the circuit board wherein the one having ordinary skill in the art may look to Golightly to understand and construct such a circuit board.
The modified Ito does not explicitly disclose a first conductive track located on the first surface of the circuit board and extending along a first axis; a plurality of second conductive tracks located on the first surface of the circuit board along a second axis parallel to the first axis; at least one first heat sink mounted on the first conductive track and a plurality of second heat sinks mounted respectively on the plurality of second conductive tracks wherein the plurality of high-side power switches are located opposite the at least one first heat sink and in thermal communication therewith and the plurality of low-side power switches are located opposite the plurality of second heat sinks and in respective thermal communication therewith.
However, Weber, which reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, teaches a power switch (3, fig. 3; col. 3, l. 56, “a power component”) mounted on a second conductive track (10, fig. 3) on a second surface (8, fig. 3) of a circuit board (2, fig. 3) located opposite a heat sink (1, fig. 3) mounted on a first conductive track (11, fig. 3) on a first surface (9, fig. 3) of a circuit board and in thermal communication therewith (via holes 4 and a circuit trace 11, fig. 3) (Please note, Golightly discloses a circuit board structure having two attached single-sided circuit boards, that is, a single-side circuit board 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44 attached to a single-side circuit board 32, wherein Weber teaches one double-sided circuit board. See col. 59 – 65 of Weber. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that with the incorporation of the teachings of Weber concerning the double-sided circuit board with the invention of Golightly, the two attached single-sided circuit boards 32, 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44 of Golightly would be modified to one double-sided circuit board having the shape of substrate 32 and having on the first surface (bottom) of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks as shown in figure 7 of Golightly to include the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 and having on the second surface (top) of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks associated with conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44. Thus, a first conductive track would be lands 56, 58 on the first surface (bottom) of the double-sided circuit board and extending along a first axis A, as shown in annotated figs. 3, 6, 7 of Golightly, and a plurality of second conductive tracks would be lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface (bottom) of the double-sided circuit board along a second axis B parallel to the first axis A, as shown in annotated figs. 3, 6, 7 of Golightly. With this interpretation, the third axis C upon which the plurality of third conductive tracks are located is parallel the second axis B, as shown in fig. 3, 6.
One having ordinary skill in the art would further recognize that the power component 3 of Weber is an analogous structure to the power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL of Golightly. Thus, with the incorporation of the teachings of Weber with the invention of Golightly, each power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL of Golightly would be located opposite its own heat sink 1, as taught by Weber, and in thermal communication therewith via the holes 4 and the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 of Golightly, as taught by Weber. Therefore, at least one first heat sink 1 (three heat sinks 1) would be mounted on the first conductive track (lands 56, 58) of Golightly and a plurality of second heat sinks 1 (three heat sinks 1) would be mounted respectively on the plurality of second conductive tracks (lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL) of Golightly, wherein the plurality of high-side power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH of Golightly would be located opposite at least one first heat sink 1 (each high-side power switch would have its own heat sink 1 so three heat sinks 1 total) and in thermal communication therewith via the holes 1 and the lands 56, 58 and the plurality of low-side power switches 40UL, 40VL, 40WL of Golightly would be located opposite the plurality of second heat sinks 1 (each low-side power switch would have its own heat sink 1 so three heat sinks 1 total) and in respective thermal communication therewith via the holes 1 and the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL).
Weber is evidence that having a double-sided circuit board was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success modifying the two attached single-sided circuit boards of Golightly to the double-sided circuit board, as taught by Weber. Moreover, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the two attached single-sided circuit boards of Golightly to the double-sided circuit board, as taught by Weber, in order to offer superior design flexibility, higher component density, and improved signal integrity over single-sided boards by allowing circuitry on both sides and utilizing vias. Furthermore, double-sided circuit boards are more compact, support complex routing, and generally provide better heat dissipation.
Weber is also evidence that having a power switch located opposite a heat sink and in thermal communication therewith was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success substituting the heat sink arrangement of Golightly for having each power switch located opposite its own heat sink and in thermal communication therewith, as taught by Weber. Please note, the heat sink arrangement of Golightly and the heat sink arrangement of Weber both improve heat dissipation for power switches. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one having ordinary skill in the art to have made a simple substitution of the heat sink arrangement of Golightly for the heat sink arrangement of Weber to achieve the predictable result of improving heat dissipation for power switches.
Regarding claim 12, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
The modified Ito discloses an axial length of the first conductive track (the first conductive track of the lands 56, 58 on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 56, 58 are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) is greater than a total length of the plurality of second conductive tracks (the plurality of the second conductive tracks of the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) (As shown figure 7, the axial length of lands 56, 58 is greater than the total length of lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL).
Regarding claim 13, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
The modified Ito discloses the at least one first heat sink comprises three heat sinks (Weber – 1, fig. 3) located mirror opposite the plurality of high-side power switches (Golightly – 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, fig. 5) (With the combination of the teachings of Weber with the invention of Golightly, each high-side power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH would have its own heat sink 1 located mirror opposite of its respective high-side power switch, as taught by Weber – see figure 3 of Weber).
Regarding claim 14, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
The modified Ito discloses the first conductive track (the first conductive track of the lands 56, 58 on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 56, 58 are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) is electrically coupled to a positive node of the power supply and electrically couples the at least one first heat sink to the positive node of the power supply (Weber – Col. 5, ll. 17 – 34 describes the second embodiment of figure 3 wherein the power component 3, heat sink 1, and the trace 11, upon which the heat sink 1 is thermally connected, having the same potential implying the power component 3, the heat sink 1, and the trace 11 are electrically connected. Thus, in the combination of the teachings of Weber and the invention of Golightly, each power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL, its respective heat sink 1, and the respective conductive track upon which these heat sinks are thermally connected would be electrically connected in order to have same potential, as also taught by Weber. Figure 8 of Golightly shows the drain of the high-side power switches 40UH, 40VH, 40WH electrically connected to the positive node of the power supply B+ thus their respective heat sinks and the respective conductive track upon which the respective heats sinks are thermally connected – that is, the first conductive track of the lands 56, 58 on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – would also be electrically connected to the positive node of the power supply B+ in order to have the same potential).
Regarding claim 15, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
The modified Ito discloses the plurality of third conductive tracks (Golightly – tracks along axis C leading to terminal leads 28U, 28V, 28W, annotated fig. 6) is located along a peripheral side of the circuit board (the double-sided circuit board having the shape of substrate 32 and having on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks as shown in figure 7 of Golightly to include the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 and having on the second surface of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks associated with conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44.) (Golightly – Annotated figure 18 shows the tracks leading to the terminal leads 28U, 28V, 28W initially extend from a peripheral side of conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W) and is electrically coupled to phase outputs of the inverter circuit (Golightly – Col. 4, ll. 3 – 8 describes the power module 10 interfacing with the three phases of a motor through respective terminal leads 28U, 28V, 28W wherein terminal lead 28U supplies power to a first phase of the motor (U phase), terminal lead 28V supplies power to the second phase of the motor (V phase) and terminal 28W supplies power to the third phase of the motor (W phase)).
Regarding claim 18, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
The modified Ito discloses a plurality of thermal vias (Weber – 4, fig. 3) disposed through each of the plurality of second conductive tracks (the plurality of the second conductive tracks of the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) (Weber – Figure 3 shows holes 4 disposed through traces 11. Therefore, with the combination of the teachings of Weber with the invention of Golightly, the holes 4 would likewise be disposed through the plurality of the second conductive tracks of the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board) to thermally and electrically couple each of the plurality of second heat sinks and the respective of the plurality of low-side power switches (Golightly – 40UL, 40VL, 40WL, fig. 5) (Weber – Col. 5, ll. 17 – 34 describes the second embodiment of figure 3 wherein the power component 3, heat sink 1, and the trace 11, upon which the heat sink 1 is thermally connected, having the same potential implying the power component 3, the heat sink 1, and the trace 11 are electrically connected. Thus, in the combination of the teachings of Weber and the invention of Golightly, each power switch 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL, its respective heat sink 1, and the respective conductive track, upon which these heat sinks are thermally connected, would be electrically connected in order to have same potential, as also taught by Weber. Therefore, the low-side power switches 40UL, 40VL, and 40WL would be thermally connected via the holes 4 to their respective heat sink and electrically connected to their respective heat sink in order to have the same potential).
Regarding claim 19, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
The modified Ito discloses a first plurality of power switch conductive tracks (conductive pads 42, 44 on the second surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the conductive pads 42, 44 are best shown in fig. 5 of Golightly) disposed on the second surface of the circuit board opposite the first conductive track (the first conductive track of the lands 56, 58 on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 56, 58 are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) to provide mounting surfaces for the plurality of high-side power switches (Golightly – 40UH, 40VH, 40WH, fig. 5), and a second plurality of power switch conductive tracks (conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W on the second surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W are best shown in fig. 5 of Golightly) disposed on the second surface of the circuit board opposite the plurality of second conductive tracks (the plurality of the second conductive tracks of the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board – as described in claim 1. Please note, the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL are best shown in fig. 7 of Golightly) to provide mounting surfaces for the plurality of low-side power switches (Golightly – 40UL, 40VL, 40WL, fig. 5).
Regarding claim 20, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
Ito discloses a controller (Col. 8, ll. 34 – 39 describes a microcontroller mounted on the control circuit board 38 and configured to control a switching operation of the inverter circuit) mounted on the circuit board and configured to control a switching operation of the inverter circuit.
Claims 6 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golightly (US 7,046,518 B2), in view of Weber (US 6,226,183 B1), in further view of Bayerer (US 8,018,047 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Golightly, as modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 1.
The modified Golightly discloses a module housing (Golightly – 12, fig. 1) having a plurality of side walls (Golightly – side walls D, annotated fig. 1) wherein the plurality of side walls form an open face (Golightly – the interior region within side walls D of the molded shell 12, annotated fig. 1), the module housing receiving the circuit board (the double-sided circuit board having the shape of substrate 32 and having on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks as shown in figure 7 of Golightly to include the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 and having on the second surface of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks associated with conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44) through the open face (Golightly – As shown in figure 5).
The modified Golightly does not explicitly disclose a module housing having a bottom surface and the plurality of side walls extending from the bottom surface to form an open face, the module housing receiving the circuit board through the open face and retaining the circuit board within the side walls substantially parallel to the bottom surface and at a distance from the bottom surface, wherein the plurality of power switches face the bottom surface of the module housing.
However, Bayerer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a module housing (1, fig. 1) having a bottom surface (interior surface of an upper side 4h of a housing cover 4, fig. 1) and a plurality of side walls (4d, fig. 1) extending from the bottom surface to form an open face (the interior region within side walls 4d of the housing cover 4, fig. 1), the module housing receiving the circuit board (3, fig. 1) through the open face and retaining the circuit board within the side walls substantially parallel to the bottom surface and at a distance from the bottom surface (As shown in fig. 1), wherein the plurality of power switches (40, fig. 1) face the bottom surface of the module housing (As shown in fig. 1).
Bayerer is evidence that the module housing having the bottom surface and the plurality of side walls extending from the bottom surface to form an open face, the module housing receiving the circuit board through the open face and retaining the circuit board within the side walls substantially parallel to the bottom surface and at the distance from the bottom surface, wherein the plurality of power switches face the bottom surface of the module housing was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success modifying the module housing of Golightly for the module housing as taught by Bayerer. Moreover, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the module housing of Golightly for the module housing as taught by Bayerer in order to protect the plurality of power switches from the outside environment so that the plurality of power switches are not abraded or damaged.
Regarding claim 7, Golightly, as modified by Weber, as further modified by Bayerer, discloses the invention as recited in claim 6.
The modified Golightly discloses potting material (Bayerer – 51, fig. 1) disposed in the distance between the circuit board (Bayerer – 3, fig. 1) and the bottom surface (Bayerer – interior surface of an upper side 4h of a housing cover 4, fig. 1) of the module housing (Bayerer – 1, fig. 1) to cover the plurality of power switches (Bayerer – 40, fig. 1).
Claims 16 – 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 9,878,435 B2), in view of Golightly (US 7,046,518 B2), in further view of Weber (US 6,226,183 B1), in further view of Bayerer (US 8,018,047 B2).
Regarding claim 16, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, discloses the invention as recited in claim 11.
The modified Ito discloses a module housing (Golightly – 12, fig. 1) having a plurality of side walls (Golightly – side walls D, annotated fig. 1) wherein the plurality of side walls form an open face (Golightly – the interior region within side walls D of the molded shell 12, annotated fig. 1), the module housing receiving the circuit board (the double-sided circuit board having the shape of substrate 32 and having on the first surface of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks as shown in figure 7 of Golightly to include the lands 54UL, 54VL, 54WL, 56, 58 and having on the second surface of the double-sided circuit board the conductive tracks associated with conductive pads 38U, 38V, 38W, 42, 44) through the open face (Golightly – As shown in figure 5).
The modified Ito does not explicitly disclose a module housing having a bottom surface and the plurality of side walls extending from the bottom surface to form an open face, the module housing receiving the circuit board through the open face and retaining the circuit board within the side walls substantially parallel to the bottom surface and at a distance from the bottom surface, wherein the plurality of power switches face the bottom surface of the module housing.
However, Bayerer, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a module housing (1, fig. 1) having a bottom surface (interior surface of an upper side 4h of a housing cover 4, fig. 1) and a plurality of side walls (4d, fig. 1) extending from the bottom surface to form an open face (the interior region within side walls 4d of the housing cover 4, fig. 1), the module housing receiving the circuit board (3, fig. 1) through the open face and retaining the circuit board within the side walls substantially parallel to the bottom surface and at a distance from the bottom surface (As shown in fig. 1), wherein the plurality of power switches (40, fig. 1) face the bottom surface of the module housing (As shown in fig. 1).
Bayerer is evidence that the module housing having the bottom surface and the plurality of side walls extending from the bottom surface to form an open face, the module housing receiving the circuit board through the open face and retaining the circuit board within the side walls substantially parallel to the bottom surface and at the distance from the bottom surface, wherein the plurality of power switches face the bottom surface of the module housing was known and within the skill of one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success modifying the module housing of the modified Ito for the module housing as taught by Bayerer. Moreover, the one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the module housing of the modified Ito for the module housing as taught by Bayerer in order to protect the plurality of power switches from the outside environment so that the plurality of power switches are not abraded or damaged.
Regarding claim 17, Ito, as modified by Golightly, as further modified by Weber, as further modified by Bayerer, discloses the invention as recited in claim 16.
The modified Ito discloses potting material (Bayerer – 51, fig. 1) disposed in the distance between the circuit board (Bayerer – 3, fig. 1) and the bottom surface (Bayerer – interior surface of an upper side 4h of a housing cover 4, fig. 1) of the module housing (Bayerer – 1, fig. 1) to cover the plurality of power switches (Bayerer – 40, fig. 1).
Conclusion
/DAVID G SHUTTY/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
2 February 2026