DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 07/09/26 is acknowledged.
Upon further consideration, the restriction requirement as set forth therein has been withdrawn.
Claims 1-18 are considered for examination herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 15 provides for the use of a reactive resin component or reactive resin system, but since the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced.
Claim 15 fails to recite any specific steps associated with use of the reactive resin component or reactive resin system and/or offer any particular explanation of how the reactive resin component or reactive resin system is used in the method. It is unclear as to the scope of the manner in which the reactive resin component or reactive resin system is used and/or what is required in for the method to improve thixotropic properties of the reactive resin component and/or afterflow behavior of a reactive resin system. For example, does the mere inclusion of the compound of formula (I) improve thixotropic properties and/or afterflow behavior? Is a particular amount thereof required?
MPEP 2173.05(q) states “Attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process generally raises an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. For example, a claim which read: "[a] process for using monoclonal antibodies of claim 4 to isolate and purify human fibroblast interferon" was held to be indefinite because it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. Ex parte Erlich, 3 USPQ2d 1011 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986).
Instant claim 15 recites “utilizing a reactive resin component or reactive resin system comprising a compound of formula (I).” Such is similar to the example provided in MPEP 2173.05(q), wherein “utilizing a reactive resin component or reactive resin system” equates to “using monoclonal antibodies.” In both instances, the claim fails to identify a particular manner in which the object, i.e., reactive resin component or reactive resin system/monoclonal antibodies, is indeed used for its claimed purpose. Neither claim provides an active, positive step delimiting how the use is actually practiced.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 18 provides for the application of a compound, but since the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced.
Claim 18 fails to recite any specific steps associated with “applying a compound of formula (I)” and/or offer any particular explanation of how the compound is applied in the method. It is unclear as to the scope of the manner in which the compound is applied and/or what is required in for the method to apply the compound so as to improve thixotropic properties of the reactive resin component. For example, does the mere inclusion of the compound of formula (I) improve thixotropic properties of the reactive resin component? Is a particular amount and/or manner of application thereof required?
MPEP 2173.05(q) states “Attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process generally raises an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. For example, a claim which read: "[a] process for using monoclonal antibodies of claim 4 to isolate and purify human fibroblast interferon" was held to be indefinite because it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. Ex parte Erlich, 3 USPQ2d 1011 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986).
Instant claim 18 recites “applying a compound of formula (I)…to improve thixotropic properties of a reactive resin component.” Such is similar to the example provided in MPEP 2173.05(q), wherein “applying a compound of formula (I)” equates to “using monoclonal antibodies” and “to improve thixotropic properties of a reactive resin” equates to “to isolate and purify human fibroblast interferon.” In both instances, the claim fails to identify a particular manner in which the object, i.e., compound of formula (I)/monoclonal antibodies, is indeed used for its claimed purpose, i.e., to improve thixotropic properties of a reactive resin component/to isolate and purify human fibroblast interferon. Neither claim provides an active, positive step delimiting how the use is actually practiced and, as such, claim 18 is rendered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moszner (US 2002/0082315).
With respect to independent claim 15, Moszner discloses a method of improving thixotropic properties of a reactive resin component and/or afterflow behavior of a reactive resin system, the method comprising:
utilizing a reactive resin component or reactive resin system comprising a compound of
formula (I)
:
wherein B is
(i) a divalent aromatic hydrocarbon group,
(ii) a divalent aromatic-aliphatic hydrocarbon group, or
(iii) a divalent linear, branched or cyclic aliphatic hydrocarbon group, or an aliphatic hydrocarbon group comprising a cycloaliphatic moiety, and
wherein each R1 is independently a branched or linear aliphatic C1-C15 alkylene group.
([0080-81], wherein the above formula is disclosed).
With respect to independent claim 18, Moszner discloses a method for fastening anchoring elements in boreholes (The Examiner notes, when reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “for fastening anchoring elements in boreholes” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02), comprising:
applying a compound of formula (I):
wherein B is
(i) a divalent aromatic hydrocarbon group,
(ii) a divalent aromatic-aliphatic hydrocarbon group, or
(iii) a divalent linear, branched or cyclic aliphatic hydrocarbon group, or an aliphatic hydrocarbon group comprising a cycloaliphatic moiety, and
wherein each R1 is independently a branched or linear aliphatic C1-C15 alkylene group.
([0080-81], wherein the above formula is disclosed)
to improve thixotropic properties of a reactive resin component.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogel et al. (EP 3129441 B1 – citations are to provided English translation) in view of Moszner.
With respect to independent claim 1, Vogel et al. discloses a method for fastening anchoring elements in boreholes, comprising:
curing a reactive resin component comprising a urethane (methacrylate) derivative (p. 7, “The group of ethylenically unsaturated compounds which comprise…urethane (meth)acrylates; p. 8, “Examples of urethane (meth)acrylates”) in a borehole with an anchoring element (p. 5, “The synthetic resin composition is used in particular as….in particular for fastening anchoring agents in substrates;” p. 12, “..which is set up for fastening anchoring elements in boreholes” and “in particular for fastening anchoring means such as anchor rods or the like;” p. 13, “…in particular for fastening anchoring means, such as anchor rods, bolts or the like, in recesses, such as boreholes.”
Vogel et al. discloses wherein the reactive resin component comprises a urethane (methacrylate) derivative (p. 7, “The group of ethylenically unsaturated compounds which comprise…urethane (meth)acrylates; p. 8, “Examples of urethane (meth)acrylates…”), as indicated above. The reference, however, fails to specifically identify a formula thereof, and, thus, a formula according to formula (I) as instantly claimed.
Moszner teaches reactive resin components comprising urethane di(meth)acrylate derivatives capable of flowing and capable of polymerization ([0010]) and further suggests wherein such can be used for the production of technical radically curing adhesives, cements and composites ([0079]; claim 18). Such components include a compound of formula (I):
wherein B is
(i) a divalent aromatic hydrocarbon group,
(ii) a divalent aromatic-aliphatic hydrocarbon group, or
(iii) a divalent linear, branched or cyclic aliphatic hydrocarbon group, or an aliphatic hydrocarbon group comprising a cycloaliphatic moiety, and
wherein each R1 is independently a branched or linear aliphatic C1-C15 alkylene group.
([0080]-[0081]).
Since Moszner teaches wherein the above reactive resin component comprising a compound of formula (I) can be used for the production of technical radically curing adhesives, cements and composites ([0079]) and provides for a reactive resin capable of flowing and capable of polymerization ([0010]), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try such as the urethane (meth)acrylate in the method of Vogel et al. in order to yield the predictable result of allowing such to flow and subsequently polymerize within the borehole and cure therein.
With respect to dependent claim 2, Moszner teaches, wherein B is an aromatic C6-C20 carbon group. ([0080]-[0081], see motivation to combine as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1).
With respect to dependent claim 3, Moszner teaches wherein B is (i) an optionally substituted benzene ring, two optionally substituted fused benzene rings or two optionally substituted benzene rings which are bridged via an alkylene group ([0080]-[0081], see motivation to combine as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1).
With respect to dependent claim 4, Moszner teaches wherein B is (ii) a divalent aromatic-aliphatic hydrocarbon group of formula (Z) as claimed ([0080]-[0081], see motivation to combine as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1).
With respect to dependent claim 7, Moszner teaches wherein the compound of formula (I) is as claimed ([0080]-[0081], see motivation to combine as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1).
With respect to dependent claim 8, Moszner teaches wherein R1 is a C2- or C3-alkylene group. ([0019]; [0080]-[0081], see motivation to combine as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1).
With respect to dependent claim 9, Moszner teaches wherein the compound of formula (I) is as claimed ([0080]-[0081], see motivation to combine as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1).
With respect to dependent claim 10, Vogel et al. discloses wherein the reactive resin component comprises at least one inhibitor, at least one accelerator and optionally a least one diluent (p. 8, “Important examples of other ingredients are…”).
With respect to further dependent claim 11, Vogel et al. discloses wherein the reactive resin component further comprises filler and/or at least one additive (p. 8, “Important examples of other ingredients are…”).
With respect to dependent claim 12, Moszner teaches wherein a proportion of the compound of formula (I) in the reactive resin component is about 2.5 wt. % to about 45 wt. %, based on the reactive resin component ([0072], see motivation to combine as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1).
With respect to dependent claim 13, Moszner teaches wherein the reactive resin component is in a multi- or a two- component system ([0072]-[0075], see motivation to combine as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1).
With respect to dependent claim 14, Vogel et al. discloses the method further comprising preparing the reactive resin component (p. 13, “mixing components,” and “A variant of the use according to the invention provides that the components are introduced into a borehole”).
With respect to dependent claim 16, Moszner teaches combining or mixing the reactive resin component with a hardener ([0062]-[0065], the Examiner notes, Applicant defines hardener component as: “hardener component means a composition containing an initiator for the polymerization of a backbone resin” and further states “Another object of the present invention therefore also relates to a reactive resin system comprising a reactive resin component (A) and a hardener component (B) containing an initiator for the urethane methacrylate compound,”and, therefore, the initiator of Moszner provides for a hardener as claimed; see motivation to combine as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1).
With respect to dependent claim 17, Vogel et al. discloses wherein the anchoring element is selected from the group as claimed ;” p. 12, “in particular for fastening anchoring means such as anchor rods or the like;” p. 13, “…in particular for fastening anchoring means, such as anchor rods, bolts or the like, in recesses, such as boreholes”); and/or
wherein the borehole is in one or more of mineral substrates and/or metal substrates as claimed (p. 12, “…preferably of glass, metal, stone…; p. 13, “….masonry or concrete.”
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogel et al. in view of Moszner as applied to claim 1 above, and, further, in view of Nickerl (US 2020/0140593).
Vogel et al. in view of Moszner discloses the method as set forth above with respect to claim 1, wherein Moszner teaches the reactive resin component; Moszner, however, is silent on wherein B is (iii) a divalent linear or branched aliphatic C5-C8 hydrocarbon group or wherein B is an aliphatic hydrocarbon group Y as claimed.
Nickerl et al. teaches radically curable compounds for construction purposes and chemical fastening ([0001]) wherein such overlap that which is taught by Moszner ([0073], I; [0135]). As an alternative thereto, “X” of Nickerl et al., i.e., “B” of the instant claims, may include a divalent linear or branched aliphatic C5-C8 hydrocarbon group ([0078]-[0079]) or an aliphatic hydrocarbon group ([0135]).
Moszner and Nickerl are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of reactive resin compositions and for structural materials development.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have try a component for B as taught by Nickerl in the resin of Moszner in order to yield the predictable result of forming a reactive resin compound capable of use for construction purposes such as chemical fastening therewith.
Moszner and Buergel are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of reactive resin selection and process development for structural materials development.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 15, 16 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,459,422 (‘422 herein). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and those issued in ‘422 provide for a method of incorporating a compound of formula (I) in a reactive resin system for the purpose of improving thixotropic properties of flow behavior of the resin system; ‘422 further provides for the method as used to anchor elements in a borehole as instantly claimed, as well as wherein the reactive-resin component is combined with a hardener. As such, the instant claims are fully encompassed by the methods of ‘422 and not patentably distinct therefrom.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10,829,578 provides a method for fastening anchoring elements with reactive resin compounds.
/Angela M DiTrani Leff/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
ADL
08/19/26