DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-34 are currently pending in the application 18/657,994 filed 05/08/2024, naming the inventors as Oded Mann and Yohan Albo.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS)s submitted on 06/16/2026 are considered by the examiner in accordance with 37 CFR 1.97, 37 CFR 1.98, and MPEP 609, to the fullest extent of the items presented including any concise explanation. Documents not meeting particular criteria are lined through and not considered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 10, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 10, each of which are dependent on claim 1, recite the limitation "the data channel”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in either claims 9 or 10, and claim 1.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the at least one power value" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It should read “the at least one power level value”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11-20 and 23-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0370379 A1 to Chen et al. (herein Chen) in view of US 2022/0179638 A1 to Lee (herein Lee) in view of US 2020/0073653 A1 to Jeong et al. (herein Jeong) in further view of US 11,982,563 B1 to Staats et al. (herein Staats).
Claim 1
Chen discloses a vehicle charging station (Chen: figure 1, element 14), comprising:
at least one station processor (Chen: figure 1, element 42; [0072]) configured for, when a vehicle is connected to the charging station (Chen: figure 1, vehicle connected to charge station):
sending, to the vehicle, a request for at least one power level value (Chen: [0039], charge station controller … requesting battery status parameter such as state of charge); and
in response to receiving the at least one power level value from the vehicle (Chen: [0040], battery status parameters received):
computing a charging time representative of an expected amount of time for charging at least one battery of the vehicle (Chen: [0040]-[0041], derived/based on received battery status parameters, determine charging parameters such as charging in a given time);
sending the vehicle … an instruction to execute the update while charging the at least one battery (Chen: [0034]; [0044], delivering the update content while charging; [0072], instructions to execute update steps).
To the extent Chen does not explicitly state computing an update time representative of the expected amount of charging time, Chen demonstrates that it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make calculations related to the charging conditions based on the available parameters (Chen: [0041]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the charging station of Chen with calculating the needed charging time when given the parameters of the state of the battery and the charging current used as suggested by the teachings of Chen. This implementation would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have found: using given variables in an equation/calculation to find a missing variable is a routine and well understood practice, which benefits a system/process by acquiring information that is not directly given, but trivial to determine.
Chen does not explicitly state computing an expected amount of time for executing an update of digital data of the vehicle, where the update time includes an amount of time for reverting the update; and executing the update if the update time is less than the charging time. However, Chen shows delivering update content while charging based on a similar time durations for each (Chen: [0034]; [0043]-[0044]) and instructions to execute the update (Chen: [0072]). Further, Lee demonstrates that it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to calculate a software update time (Lee: figure 6, step S604; and [0163]-[0165]) and to perform the update if the update time is less than the charging time (Lee: figure 6, step S605-S606; [0166]-[0168]). Additionally, Jeong demonstrates that it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to calculate a software update time as including a time for a revert/rollback of a software update in a vehicle (Jeong: [0031], [0034], [0036]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the content updating by the charge station of Chen with calculating the update time (as shown by Lee) such that the calculated update time includes time for a revert/rollback of the update (as shown by Jeong) and to perform/execute the update if the update time is less than the charge time as suggested by the teachings of Lee. This implementation would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have found: it is desirable for significant/important updates to be performed taking into account what can be accomplished in a safe state of the battery/charge (Lee: [0006]); it is beneficial for an update process to deal with an update failure and the time needed for correction (Jeong: [0034], [0036]); the implementation of is an application of a known elements/techniques yielding predictable results using acceptable pieces of prior art; and all the references are directed to vehicle updates in relation to vehicle charge state.
Additionally, to the extent Chen does not explicitly state computing an amount of time during which the vehicle is guaranteed not to be in use, Staats demonstrates that it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform maintenance, such as OTA updates, during periods when an apparatus is not expected to be used, such as nighttime (Staats: 15:65-16:26). Chen shows determining an available amount of charging time and to use this amount in providing options to a user not otherwise using the vehicle/apparatus (Chen: [0050]). Lee shows updates are performed in a state in which the vehicle is stopped or in which the vehicle is not running (Lee: [0004]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the charging station and calculations of Chen with calculating an amount of time during which the vehicle is guaranteed not to be in use as suggested by the teachings of Staats, Chen, and Lee. This implementation would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have found: routine calculations of a time period, such as the not in use time found in Staats, is consistent with the routine calculations of available time periods of Chen, i.e. the combined calculations are well understood and predictable; further, Staats explicitly states updating when a device is not in use, which bolsters the teachings of Chen and Lee which suggest updating when the apparatus/vehicle is not in use. As such, the combination shows subject to identifying that the update is less than the amount of time during which the vehicle is guaranteed not to be in use, sending and executing the update if the update time is less than the charging time (as discussed above).
Claim 2
Chen discloses the charging station of claim 1, further comprising at least one digital communication network interface (Chen: figure 1, elements 16, 18, 21, 52; [0033]-[0037]), connected to the station processor;
wherein the vehicle comprises at least one other hardware processor (Chen: figure 1, element 22; [0022]; [0043]);
wherein the vehicle processor and the station processor are further configured for establishing at least one digital data communication channel there between via the station data interface (Chen: [0043]-[0044]; figure 1, elements 16 and 21); and
wherein sending the request for the at least one power level value to the vehicle is via the data channel using the station data interface (Chen: [0039], [0043]).
Claim 3
Chen discloses the charging station of claim 2, wherein the station data interface comprises at least one of:
a digital data communication interface in a charging plug of the charging station (Chen: [0018], data though charge port);
a digital data communication interface in a charging socket of the charging station (Chen: [0018], data through charge port); and
a wireless digital data network interface (Chen: figure 1, element 21).
Claim 4
Chen discloses the charging station of claim 2 wherein the station data interface comprises a wireless digital data network interface (Chen: figure 1, elements 16, 18, 21, 52; [0033]-[0037]); and
wherein the vehicle processor is further configured for providing to the charging station at least one credential value for the purpose of establishing the data channel (Chen: [0066]-[0067], identifying users/vehicles using the network services via the data channel).
Claim 5
Chen discloses the charging station of claim 2, wherein the station processor is further configured for providing the vehicle, using the data channel, with updated digital data for the purpose of executing the update (Chen: [0034], updates; [0072], update instructions).
Claim 6
Chen discloses the charging station of claim 2, wherein the station processor is further configured for connecting via the station data interface to at least one user application, executed by at least one additional hardware processor (Chen: [0042], user interface mobile device application).
Claim 7
Chen discloses the charging station of claim 6, wherein the station processor is further configured for receiving from the at least one user application at least one user input value for the purpose of computing the charging time (Chen: [0042], user interface mobile device application providing parameters used to calculate charging time).
Claim 9
Chen, Lee, and Jeong disclose the charging station of claim 1, wherein the station processor is further configured for: sending the vehicle, via the data channel (Chen: [0043]-[0044]; figure 1, elements 16 and 21), a request for at least one vehicle data value (Chen: [0039], charge station controller … requesting battery status parameter such as state of charge); and receiving the at least one vehicle data value from the vehicle, via the data channel (Chen: [0040], battery status parameters received).
Claim 11
Chen discloses the charging station of claim 1, wherein the digital data comprises one or more sets of computer instructions (Chen: [0072], instructions to execute update steps).
Claim 12
Chen discloses the charging station of claim 1, wherein the digital data comprise one or more sets of component configuration values (Chen: [0034], broadly vehicle system updates).
Claims 13-20 and 23-34
The limitations of claims 13-20 and 23-34 correspond to the limitations of claims 1-7, 9, and 11-12 and as such are rejected in a corresponding manner. Further, Chen shows a cellular network for transmitting updated data (Chen: figure 1; [0033]; and [0036]).
Claim(s) 8 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0370379 A1 to Chen et al. (herein Chen) in view of US 2022/0179638 A1 to Lee (herein Lee) in view of US 2020/0073653 A1 to Jeong et al. (herein Jeong) in view of US 11,982,563 B1 to Staats et al. (herein Staats) in further view of US 2021/0188243 A1 to Morii et al. (herein Morii).
Claim 8
Chen does not explicitly state sending an update based on receiving a user confirmation value. However, Morii demonstrates that it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to update based on a user confirmation from a user application (Morii: figure 7, element S07; figure 8, S28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the software update system of Chen with executing/performing the update based on a user confirmation as suggested by the teachings of Morii. This implementation would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have found: it improves a user experience by allowing the user to remain in control and aware of their vehicle’s operations; the implementation of is an application of a known element/technique yielding a predictable result using an acceptable piece of prior art; and both Chen and Morii are directed to vehicle updates.
Claim 22
The limitations of claim 22 correspond to the limitations of claim 8 and as such are rejected in a corresponding manner.
Claim(s) 10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0370379 A1 to Chen et al. (herein Chen) in view of US 2022/0179638 A1 to Lee (herein Lee) in view of US 2020/0073653 A1 to Jeong et al. (herein Jeong) in view of US 11,982,563 B1 to Staats et al. (herein Staats) in further view of US 2019/0294135 A1 to Madrid et al. (herein Madrid).
Claim 10
Chen discloses the charging station of claim 1, wherein the station processor is further configured for sending the vehicle, via the data channel (Chen: [0043]-[0044]; figure 1, elements 16 and 21). Chen does not explicitly state sending a maintenance instruction to execute at least a diagnostic operation. However, Madrid demonstrates that it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to send maintenance instructions for diagnostic operations (Madrid: [0044]; [0075]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the software update system of Chen with diagnostic operations as suggested by the teachings of Madrid. This implementation would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have found: a diagnostic protocol would be beneficial to identity what/where an update is necessary; the implementation of is an application of a known element/technique yielding a predictable result using an acceptable piece of prior art; and both Chen and Madrid are directed to vehicle updates via a charging station.
Claim 21
The limitations of claim 21 correspond to the limitations of claim 10 and as such are rejected in a corresponding manner.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
The following objections/rejections from the Office Action of 04/01/2026 are withdrawn in view of the Applicant Response of 06/16/2026: (1) the rejections of claims 1-34 under 35 USC 112(b) with regard to extraneous parenthesis (overcome by the amendments); and (2) the rejections of claims 11 and 12 under 35 USC 112(b) with regard to antecedent basis of the term “the digital data” (upon further review the antecedent basis provided by claim 1 is sufficient).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 06/16/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence Information
/William H. Wood/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992