Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments: On page 11 and 12, applicant argues that Won does not teach the independent claim 1 as recited “A method of a user equipment (UE) for establishing a session with one or more Stand-alone Non-Public Networks (SNPNs), the method comprising: first sending a service request to a SNPN network entity while the UE is in an idle mode; monitoring a response to the service request based on a first timer and a service request attempt counter; initiating a second timer in response to determining that the service request attempt counter exceeds a threshold count; receiving an indication indicative of one of a change in a current SNPN from among the one or more SNPNs, or an update associated with a selected entry of the current SNPN, the UE being associated with a list of subscriber data having a plurality of entries; stopping the second timer before the second timer expires; and second sending the service request to the SNPN network entity for connection with a new SNPN from among the one or more SNPNs, or the current SNPN with the update associated with the selected entry of the current SNPN, the second sending being performed in response to determining that the second timer has stopped, and the second sending being performed while the UE remains in the idle mode before the UE switches to a connected mode.” The same argument applies to independent claims 9 and 13.
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument with respect to claim(s) 1 and other independent claims have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection are found that do not rely on any reference applied in prior art rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments. An updated search was conducted, and new references were found as shown in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 13-14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won (US 2021/0258857 A1) in view of Shih et al. (US 2020/0322918)(“Shih”).
Regarding claim 1, A method of a user equipment (UE) for establishing a session with one or more Stand-alone Non-Public Networks (SNPNs), the method comprising:
first sending a service request to a SNPN network entity while the UE is in an idle mode;
Won [0164]; In some embodiments, a service request may be requested of the network, e.g., by way of the AMF 108, by the UE 102.
Won [0008]; In some embodiments, the one or more networks comprise at least one of a non-public network (NPN), a private network, a standalone non-public network (SNPN), an NPN deployed in conjunction with a public network, an NPN deployed in conjunction with a public land mobile network (PLMN), an NPN deployed in conjunction with a public network using a shared radio access network, an NPN deployed in conjunction with a public network using a shared radio access network and a shared control plane, an NPN deployed in a public network, or an NPN deployed in a PLMN.
monitoring a response to the service request based on a first timer and a service request attempt counter;
Won [0280] If the UE 102 receives a REGISTRATION REJECT or SERVICE REJECT message without integrity protection with 5GMM cause value #27 or #72 before the network has established secure exchange of NAS messages for the N1 NAS signalling connection, the UE 102 can or shall stop timer T3510 or T3517 (first timer), if running, and start timer T3247 (Second timer) with a random value uniformly drawn from the range between 30 minutes and 60 minutes if the timer is not running, and take the following actions:[0281] a) if the 5GMM cause value received is #27, the UE 102 can or shall proceed as specified in subclauses 5.5.1 and 5.6.1 of 3GPP TS 24.501. Additionally, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for the respective access type and for the current SNPN has a value less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, the UE 102 can or shall increment this counter for the entry (or for the SNPN);
initiating a second timer in response to determining that the service request attempt counter exceeds a threshold count;
Won [0358] As an implementation option, the UE 102 may start a timer (second timer) for enabling the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access when the UE's registration attempt counter reaches 5 (threshold can be any number less than 5 including 0-5) and the UE 102 disables the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access.
receiving an indication indicative of one of a change in a current SNPN from among the one or more SNPNs, or an update associated with a selected entry of the current SNPN, the UE being associated with a list of subscriber data having a plurality of entries;
Won [0298] The MS (mobile station) can or shall add an SNPN to the list of “temporarily forbidden SNPNs” and start an MS implementation specific timer not shorter than 60 minutes, if a message with cause value #74 “Temporarily not authorized for this SNPN” (see 3GPP TS 24.501) is received by the MS in response to an LR request from the SNPN and:
Won [0305] d) an entry of the “list of subscriber data” with the SNPN identity of the SNPN (current SNPN) is updated or the USIM is removed if: [0306] EAP based primary authentication and key agreement procedure using EAP-AKA′; or [0307] 5G AKA based primary authentication and key agreement procedure; [0308] was performed in the selected SNPN.
Won [0008] In some embodiments, a method can comprise maintaining, for a user equipment, a list of subscriber data for one or more networks, the list of subscriber data comprising one or more entries, each of which includes an entry index or a network identity and is used to send a request to a particular network;
Won [0391] The UE 102 can or shall store the above counters in its non-volatile memory. The UE 102 can or shall erase the attempt counters and reset the event counters to zero when the entry of the “list of subscriber data” with the corresponding SNPN identity is updated.
second timer;
Won [0358] As an implementation option, the UE 102 may start a timer (second timer) for enabling the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access when the UE's registration attempt counter reaches 5 (threshold can be any number less than 5 including 0-5) and the UE 102 disables the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access.
and second sending the service request to the SNPN network entity for connection with a new SNPN from among the one or more SNPNs,
or the current SNPN with the update associated with the selected entry of the current SNPN,
Won [0284] re-enable the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access for the entry and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for 3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for 3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for 3GPP access); and [0285] re-enable the N1 mode capability for non-3GPP access and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for non-3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the respective entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access).
the second sending being performed in response to determining that the second timer has stopped,
Won [0283] Upon expiry of timer T3247, the UE 102 can or shall: [0284] re-enable the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access (second sending being performed) for the entry and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for 3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for 3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for 3GPP access); and [0285] re-enable the N1 mode capability for non-3GPP access and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for non-3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the respective entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access).
and the second sending being performed while the UE remains in the idle mode before the UE switches to a connected mode.
Won [0359] if the UE 102 is in Iu mode or A/Gb mode and is in idle mode as specified in 3GPP TS 24.008 on expiry of the timer, the UE 102 should enable the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access;
Won does not teach stopping the timer before the timer expires;
Shih teaches stopping the timer before the timer expires;
Shih [0173]; Before the timer expires, if the UE reselects a different cell on an unlicensed band from the previous serving cell on the unlicensed band, the UE may stop (or restart) the timer and clear/remove/release the paging configuration.
[0194] In some implementations, the operations, actions or procedures described in the proposed implementations may be determined based on a per-PLMN basis, a per-NPN basis, a per-SNPN basis, or a per-Closed Access Group (CAG) basis.
In view of Shih, Won is modified such that the second timer stops before it expires.
Won and Shih are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, changing in a cell such as SNPN.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Won in the manner described above to apply the timer for the change between the
current and new SNPN to monitor the paging information between two cells (Shih [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the monitoring the response to the service request comprises:
initiating the first timer in response to the first sending the service request;
Won [0114] In some embodiments, the UE 102 can initiate the registration procedure for initial registration by sending a REGISTRATION REQUEST message to the AMF 108, and starting timer T3510.
restarting the first timer and incrementing the service request attempt counter in response to determining that no response to the service request has been received from the SNPN network entity by an expiry of the first timer;
Won [0280] If the UE 102 receives a REGISTRATION REJECT or SERVICE REJECT message without integrity protection with 5GMM cause value #27 or #72 before the network has established secure exchange of NAS messages for the N1 NAS signalling connection, the UE 102 can or shall stop timer T3510 or T3517 (an expiry of the first timer).
Won [0461]; Referring now to FIG. 8, a method 10 can be provided for managing a device's (e.g., UE 102) network capabilities (e.g., for a 5G network) in a private network (e.g., a SNPN or the like). In some embodiments, the method 10 can further comprise, in an instance in which a non-integrity protected rejection message to the request is received from the particular network that indicates the particular network does not allow a particular network access mode and a counter value for one of the one or more counters is below a predetermined threshold, disabling the particular network access mode for the entry used to send a request or the particular network (determining that no response to the service request has been received) , starting a timer (restarting the first timer) , and incrementing the one of the one or more counters associated with the entry, at 14.
and repeating the initiating the first timer, the restarting and the incrementing a number of times corresponding to the threshold count.
Won [0461]; In some embodiments, the method 10 can further comprise, in an instance in which a non-integrity protected rejection message to the request is received from the particular network that indicates the particular network does not allow a particular network access mode and a counter value for one of the one or more counters is below a predetermined threshold, disabling the particular network access mode for the entry used to send a request or the particular network, starting a timer, and incrementing the one of the one or more counters associated with the entry, at 14.
In some embodiments, the method 10 can further comprise, once the timer expires, in an instance in which a counter value for the one of the one or more counters is below a predetermined threshold, re-enabling (re-enabling= repeating the initiating the first timer, the restarting and the incrementing a number of times corresponding to the threshold count.) the particular network access mode for the entry used to send a request or the particular network, at 15.
Regarding claim 3, The method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
switching, by the UE, to the connected mode in connection with a first SNPN from among the one or more SNPNs, at least one entry among the plurality of entries including one or more SNPN identifiers, and the first SNPN being included in the at least one entry;
Won [0063] In some embodiments, when the UE 102 wants to access the system or network (e.g., 5GS), the UE 102 may first perform an access control check to determine if access to the network is allowed. In some embodiments, an access control check can be performed for access attempts defined by the following list of events:
Won [0064] a) the UE 102 is in an idle mode (e.g., 5G mobility management [5GMM]-IDLE mode) over 3GPP access and an event that requires a transition to a connected mode (e.g., 5GMM-CONNECTED mode) occurs;
Won [0008]; In some embodiments, the one or more networks comprise at least one of a non-public network (NPN), a private network, a standalone non-public network (SNPN)
[0366] In the case of SNPNs, for instance, If the UE 102 is not SNPN enabled, the UE 102 is always considered to be not operating in SNPN access mode. If the UE 102 is SNPN enabled, the UE 102 can operate in SNPN access mode. Details of activation and deactivation of SNPN access mode at the SNPN enabled UE 102 are up to UE 102 implementation.
Won [0383] Furthermore, there may be particular requirements for a UE 102 when accessing, registering with, and/or receiving services from an SNPN.
Won [0277] If the UE 102 is operating in SNPN access mode, the UE 102 can or shall maintain, for each of the entries in the “list of subscriber data”: [0278] one SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for 3GPP access. The maximum number of possible entries in the list is implementation dependent. This list is applicable to access attempts via 3GPP access only; and [0279] one SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for non-3GPP access. The maximum number of possible entries in the list is implementation dependent. This list is applicable in case of accessing SNPN services via a PLMN only.
Won [0286] In some embodiments, The registration on the selected SNPN and the LR are only necessary if the MS is capable of services which require registration. Otherwise, the SNPN selection procedures are performed without registration.
Won [0287] The ME is configured with a “list of subscriber data” containing zero or more entries. Each entry of the “list of subscriber data” consists of:
Won [0294] c) an SNPN identity (the first SNPN);
sending, by the UE, a first session establishment request to the SNPN network entity associated with the one or more SNPNs, wherein the first session establishment request is associated with a first session type;
Won [0008] In some embodiments, a method can comprise maintaining, for a user equipment, a list of subscriber data for one or more networks, the list of subscriber data comprising one or more entries, each of which includes an entry index or a network identity and is used to send a request to a particular network;
Won [0008]; In some embodiments, the one or more networks comprise at least one of a non-public network (NPN), a private network, a standalone non-public network (SNPN)
Won [0179] In some embodiments, the purpose of the service request procedure may be to change the 5GMM mode from 5GMM-IDLE to 5GMMCONNECTED mode, and/or to request the establishment of user-plane resources for PDU sessions ( first session establishment request is associated with a first session type) which are activated without user-plane resources.
receiving, by the UE, a first response from the SNPN network entity, the first response being indicative of a session rejection by the first SNPN for the first session type;
Won [0259] As such, embodiments described herein provide methods, systems, apparatuses, and computer program products for managing network capabilities for a UE 102 with regard to private network (e.g., SNPN) selection processes following receipt of a rejection message in response to, e.g., an initial registration request (first session type), mobility update request, period registration update request, service request, etc., the rejection message comprising a 5GMM cause value, e.g., #27 or #72 or the like.
detecting, by the UE, one of a change in a connection with the first SNPN,
or an update associated with a selected entry of the first SNPN;
Won [0165] In some embodiments, upon receipt of an AUTHENTICATION REJECT message: [0166] a. if the message has been successfully integrity checked by the NAS, the UE shall set the update status to 5U3 ROAMING NOT ALLOWED, delete the stored 5G-GUTI, TAI list, last visited registered TAI and ngKSI. The entry of the “list of subscriber data” with the SNPN identity of the current SNPN (selected entry of the first SNPN) shall be considered invalid until the UE is switched off or the entry is reconfigured or removed.
and triggering, by the UE, a second session establishment request in response to detecting the change in the connection with the first SNPN, the second session establishment request being associated with the first session type.
Won [0165] In some embodiments, upon receipt of an AUTHENTICATION REJECT message: [0166] a. if the message has been successfully integrity checked by the NAS, the UE shall set the update status to 5U3 ROAMING NOT ALLOWED, delete the stored 5G-GUTI, TAI list, last visited registered TAI and ngKSI. The entry of the “list of subscriber data” with the SNPN identity of the current SNPN shall be considered invalid until the UE is switched off or the entry is reconfigured or removed (to detecting the changing in the connection with the first SNPN)
Won [0263] In some embodiments, if the UE 102 receives a non-integrity protected reject message including 5GMM cause value #27 (or #72), the UE 102 disables N1 mode capability for {the entry, the respective access type (or non-3GPP access)} and starts T3247.
Won [0283] Upon expiry of timer T3247, the UE 102 can or shall: [0284] re-enable the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access for the entry and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for 3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for 3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for 3GPP access); Won [0285] re-enable the N1 mode capability for non-3GPP access (second session establishment request) and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for non-3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the respective entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access).
Won [0190] The service request procedure is initiated by the UE 102, however, it can be triggered by the network by means of: [0193] the notification procedure (see subclause 5.6.3) for the transfer of downlink signalling or user data pending over non-3GPP access to a UE 102 in 5GMM-CONNECTED mode over 3GPP access and in 5GMM-IDLE mode over non-3GPP access;
Won [0179] In some embodiments, the purpose of the service request procedure may be to change the 5GMM mode from 5GMM-IDLE to 5GMMCONNECTED mode, and/or to request the establishment of user-plane resources for PDU sessions (first session type) which are activated without user-plane resources. In latter case, the 5GMM mode can be the 5GMM-IDLE mode or the 5GMMCONNECTED mode if the UE 102 requires to activate user-plane resources for PDU sessions.
Regarding claim 5, The method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the triggering comprises: sending, by the UE, the second session establishment request to the first SNPN.
Won [0259] As such, embodiments described herein provide methods, systems, apparatuses, and computer program products for managing network capabilities for a UE 102 with regard to private network (e.g., SNPN) selection processes following receipt of a rejection message in response to, e.g., an initial registration request (request to the first SNPN), mobility update request, period registration update request, service request, etc., the rejection message comprising a 5GMM cause value, e.g., #27 or #72 or the like.
Won [0263] In some embodiments, if the UE 102 receives a non-integrity protected reject message including 5GMM cause value #27 (or #72), the UE 102 disables N1 mode capability for {the entry, the respective access type (or non-3GPP access)} and starts T3247.
Won [0283] Upon expiry of timer T3247, the UE 102 can or shall: [0284] re-enable the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access for the entry and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for 3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for 3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for 3GPP access); and [0285] re-enable the N1 mode capability for non-3GPP access (re-enable access mode= resending the session establishment request =second session establishment request)and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for non-3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the respective entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access).
Won [0240] In some embodiments, the N1 mode capability may refer to a UE's 102 capability to access a network. If the N1 mode capability is disabled for a particular network (e.g., a 5G system (5GS)), a UE 102 typically cannot access the 5GS and if the N1 mode capability is enabled and there is an available 5GS, a UE 102 can typically access the 5GS.
Won [0260] According to some embodiments, N1 mode disabling and re-enabling by the UE 102 can be managed for a network using an entry in the “list of subscriber data.” In some embodiments, the UE 102 can maintain a list of entries for which the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access was disabled.
Won [0265] In some embodiments, in the UE 102, the ME is configured with a “list of subscriber data” containing zero or more entries. Each entry of the “list of subscriber data” consists of:
Won [0271] c) an SNPN identity (first SNPN).
Won [0273] The UE 102 should maintain a list of entries for which the N1 mode capability was disabled due to receipt of a reject from the network with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed”. When the UE 102 disables its N1 mode capability due to receipt of a reject from the network with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed” for an entry: [0274] the UE 102 should add the index of the entry used for accessing the SNPN which sent a reject with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed” to the list of entries for which N1 mode is disabled (or add the SNPN identity of the SNPN which sent a reject with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed” to the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is disabled) and should start timer TG if timer TG is not already running. The number of entries (or SNPNs) that the MS can store for which N1 mode is not allowed is implementation specific, but it can or shall be at least one. The value of timer TG is UE implementation specific; [0275] in automatic SNPN selection, the UE 102 can or shall not use entries (or SNPNs) for which N1 mode is not allowed as SNPN selection candidates for NG-RAN access technology, unless no other SNPN is available;
Regarding claim 6, The method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the list of subscriber data is associated with one or more SNPN parameters, the one or more SNPN parameters including of one or more of:
an identifier associated with the UE;
UE Route Selection Policy (USRP) rules;
an SNPN identity of the first SNPN;
Won [0268] In some embodiments, The “list of subscriber data” is information configured in the ME of a UE 102 containing zero or more entries. Each entry of the “list of subscriber data” consists of:
Won [0271] c) an SNPN identity (SNPN identity of the first SNPN);
default configured Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (NSSAI); a user controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs; a credentials holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs; a credentials holder controlled prioritized list of Group IDs for Network Selection (GINs); access control configurations; or credentials for authentication and key agreement procedures.
Regarding claim 8, The method as claimed in claim 3, wherein: the first session type is associated with one of a PDU type, or a Session and Service Continuity (SSC) type;
Won [0179] In some embodiments, the purpose of the service request procedure may be to change the 5GMM mode from 5GMM-IDLE to 5GMMCONNECTED mode, and/or to request the establishment of user-plane resources for PDU sessions which are activated without user-plane resources.
and each of the first session establishment request and the second session establishment request is a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request.
Won [0285] re-enable the N1 mode capability for non-3GPP access (second session establishment request)
Won [0134] if the UE 102 supports sending an ATTACH REQUEST message containing a PDN CONNECTIVITY REQUEST message with request type set to “handover” to transfer a PDU session from N1 mode to S1 mode, set the HO attach bit to “attach request message containing PDN connectivity request with request type set to handover to transfer PDU session from N1 mode to S1 mode supported” in the 5GMM capability IE of the REGISTRATION REQUEST message.
Regarding claim 13, A system of a user equipment (UE) for establishing a session with one or more Stand-alone Non-Public Networks (SNPNs), the system comprising: processing circuitry (Won, Fig. 4, Ref. 202) configured to first sending a service request to a SNPN network entity while the UE is in an idle mode;
Won [0164]; In some embodiments, a service request may be requested of the network, e.g., by way of the AMF 108, by the UE 102.
Won [0008]; In some embodiments, the one or more networks comprise at least one of a non-public network (NPN), a private network, a standalone non-public network (SNPN), an NPN deployed in conjunction with a public network, an NPN deployed in conjunction with a public land mobile network (PLMN), an NPN deployed in conjunction with a public network using a shared radio access network, an NPN deployed in conjunction with a public network using a shared radio access network and a shared control plane, an NPN deployed in a public network, or an NPN deployed in a PLMN.
monitoring a response to the service request based on a first timer and a service request attempt counter;
Won [0280] If the UE 102 receives a REGISTRATION REJECT or SERVICE REJECT message without integrity protection with 5GMM cause value #27 or #72 before the network has established secure exchange of NAS messages for the N1 NAS signalling connection, the UE 102 can or shall stop timer T3510 or T3517 (first timer), if running, and start timer T3247 with a random value uniformly drawn from the range between 30 minutes and 60 minutes if the timer is not running, and take the following actions:[0281] a) if the 5GMM cause value received is #27, the UE 102 can or shall proceed as specified in subclauses 5.5.1 and 5.6.1 of 3GPP TS 24.501. Additionally, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for the respective access type and for the current SNPN has a value less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, the UE 102 can or shall increment this counter for the entry (or for the SNPN);
initiating a second timer in response to determining that the service request attempt counter exceeds a threshold count;
Won [0358] As an implementation option, the UE 102 may start a timer (second timer) for enabling the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access when the UE's registration attempt counter reaches 5 (threshold can be any number less than 5 including 0-5) and the UE 102 disables the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access.
receiving an indication indicative of one of a change in a current SNPN from among the one or more SNPNs, or an update associated with a selected entry of the current SNPN, the UE being associated with a list of subscriber data having a plurality of entries;
Won [0298] The MS (mobile station) can or shall add an SNPN to the list of “temporarily forbidden SNPNs” and start an MS implementation specific timer not shorter than 60 minutes, if a message with cause value #74 “Temporarily not authorized for this SNPN” (see 3GPP TS 24.501) is received by the MS in response to an LR request from the SNPN and:
Won [0305] d) an entry of the “list of subscriber data” with the SNPN identity of the SNPN (current SNPN) is updated or the USIM is removed if: [0306] EAP based primary authentication and key agreement procedure using EAP-AKA′; or [0307] 5G AKA based primary authentication and key agreement procedure; [0308] was performed in the selected SNPN.
Won [0008] In some embodiments, a method can comprise maintaining, for a user equipment, a list of subscriber data for one or more networks, the list of subscriber data comprising one or more entries, each of which includes an entry index or a network identity and is used to send a request to a particular network;
Won [0391] The UE 102 can or shall store the above counters in its non-volatile memory. The UE 102 can or shall erase the attempt counters and reset the event counters to zero when the entry of the “list of subscriber data” with the corresponding SNPN identity is updated.
the second timer;
Won [0358] As an implementation option, the UE 102 may start a timer (second timer) for enabling the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access when the UE's registration attempt counter reaches 5 (threshold can be any number less than 5 including 0-5) and the UE 102 disables the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access.
and second sending the service request to the SNPN network entity for connection with a new SNPN from among the one or more SNPNs,
or the current SNPN with the update associated with the selected entry of the current SNPN,
Won [0284] re-enable the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access for the entry and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for 3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for 3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for 3GPP access); and [0285] re-enable the N1 mode capability for non-3GPP access and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for non-3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the respective entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access).
the second sending being performed in response to determining that the second timer has stopped,
Won [0283] Upon expiry of timer T3247, the UE 102 can or shall: [0284] re-enable the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access (second sending being performed) for the entry and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for 3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for 3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for 3GPP access); and [0285] re-enable the N1 mode capability for non-3GPP access and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for non-3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the respective entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access).
and the second sending being performed while the UE remains in the idle mode before the UE switches to a connected mode.
Won [0359] if the UE 102 is in Iu mode or A/Gb mode and is in idle mode as specified in 3GPP TS 24.008 on expiry of the timer, the UE 102 should enable the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access;
Won does not teach stopping the timer before the timer expires;
Shih teaches stopping the timer before the timer expires;
Shih [0173]; Before the timer expires, if the UE reselects a different cell on an unlicensed band from the previous serving cell on the unlicensed band, the UE may stop (or restart) the timer and clear/remove/release the paging configuration.
[0194] In some implementations, the operations, actions or procedures described in the proposed implementations may be determined based on a per-PLMN basis, a per-NPN basis, a per-SNPN basis, or a per-Closed Access Group (CAG) basis.
In view of Shih, Won is modified such that the second timer stops before it expires.
Won and Shih are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, changing in a cell such as SNPN.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Won in the manner described above to apply the timer for the change between the
current and new SNPN to monitor the paging information between two cells (Shih [0007]).
Regarding claim 14, The system as claimed in claim 13, wherein processing circuitry is configured to monitor the response to the service request including:
initiating the first timer in response to the first sending the service request;
Won [0114] In some embodiments, the UE 102 can initiate the registration procedure for initial registration by sending a REGISTRATION REQUEST message to the AMF 108, and starting timer T3510.
restarting the first timer and incrementing the service request attempt counter in response to determining that no response to the service request has been received from the SNPN network entity by an expiry of the first timer;
Won [0280] If the UE 102 receives a REGISTRATION REJECT or SERVICE REJECT message without integrity protection with 5GMM cause value #27 or #72 before the network has established secure exchange of NAS messages for the N1 NAS signalling connection, the UE 102 can or shall stop timer T3510 or T3517 (an expiry of the first timer).
Won [0461]; Referring now to FIG. 8, a method 10 can be provided for managing a device's (e.g., UE 102) network capabilities (e.g., for a 5G network) in a private network (e.g., a SNPN or the like). In some embodiments, the method 10 can further comprise, in an instance in which a non-integrity protected rejection message to the request is received from the particular network that indicates the particular network does not allow a particular network access mode and a counter value for one of the one or more counters is below a predetermined threshold, disabling the particular network access mode for the entry used to send a request or the particular network (determining that no response to the service request has been received) , starting a timer (restarting the first timer) , and incrementing the one of the one or more counters associated with the entry, at 14.
and repeating the initiating the first timer, the restarting and the incrementing a number of times corresponding to the threshold count.
Won [0461]; In some embodiments, the method 10 can further comprise, in an instance in which a non-integrity protected rejection message to the request is received from the particular network that indicates the particular network does not allow a particular network access mode and a counter value for one of the one or more counters is below a predetermined threshold, disabling the particular network access mode for the entry used to send a request or the particular network, starting a timer, and incrementing the one of the one or more counters associated with the entry, at 14.
In some embodiments, the method 10 can further comprise, once the timer expires, in an instance in which a counter value for the one of the one or more counters is below a predetermined threshold, re-enabling (re-enabling= repeating the initiating the first timer, the restarting and the incrementing a number of times corresponding to the threshold count.) the particular network access mode for the entry used to send a request or the particular network, at 15.
Regarding claim 21, The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein in response to receiving the indication.
Won [0298] The MS (mobile station) can or shall add an SNPN to the list of “temporarily forbidden SNPNs” and start an MS implementation specific timer not shorter than 60 minutes, if a message with cause value #74 “Temporarily not authorized for this SNPN” (see 3GPP TS 24.501) is received by the MS in response to an LR request from the SNPN and:
Won [0305] d) an entry of the “list of subscriber data” with the SNPN identity of the SNPN (current SNPN) is updated or the USIM is removed if: [0306] EAP based primary authentication and key agreement procedure using EAP-AKA′; or [0307] 5G AKA based primary authentication and key agreement procedure; [0308] was performed in the selected SNPN.
Won does not teach the stopping includes stopping the second timer
the stopping includes stopping the second timer
Shih teaches stopping the timer before the timer expires;
Shih [0173]; Before the timer expires, if the UE reselects a different cell on an unlicensed band from the previous serving cell on the unlicensed band, the UE may stop (or restart) the timer and clear/remove/release the paging configuration.
[0194] In some implementations, the operations, actions or procedures described in the proposed implementations may be determined based on a per-PLMN basis, a per-NPN basis, a per-SNPN basis, or a per-Closed Access Group (CAG) basis.
In view of Shih, Won is modified such that the second timer stops before it expires.
Won and Shih are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, changing in a cell such as SNPN.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Won in the manner described above to apply the timer for the change between the
current and new SNPN to monitor the paging information between two cells (Shih [0007]).
Claims 9, 11,22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won in view of Kim (US 2025/0126550 A1).
Regarding claim 9, A method of a user equipment (UE) for establishing a session with one or more Stand-alone Non-Public Networks (SNPNs), the method comprising:
switching, by the UE, to a connected mode in connection with a current SNPN from among the one or more SNPNs, the UE being associated with a list of subscriber data having a plurality of entries, at least one entry among the plurality of entries including one or more SNPN identifiers, and the current SNPN being included in the at least one entry;
Won [0063] In some embodiments, when the UE 102 wants to access the system or network (e.g., 5GS), the UE 102 may first perform an access control check to determine if access to the network is allowed. In some embodiments, an access control check can be performed for access attempts defined by the following list of events:
[0064] a) the UE 102 is in an idle mode (e.g., 5G mobility management [5GMM]-IDLE mode) over 3GPP access and an event that requires a transition to a connected mode (e.g., 5GMM-CONNECTED mode) occurs;
Won [0008]; In some embodiments, the one or more networks comprise at least one of a non-public network (NPN), a private network, a standalone non-public network (SNPN)
Won [0366] In the case of SNPNs, for instance, If the UE 102 is not SNPN enabled, the UE 102 is always considered to be not operating in SNPN access mode. If the UE 102 is SNPN enabled, the UE 102 can operate in SNPN access mode. Details of activation and deactivation of SNPN access mode at the SNPN enabled UE 102 are up to UE 102 implementation.
Won [0383] Furthermore, there may be particular requirements for a UE 102 when accessing, registering with, and/or receiving services from an SNPN.
Won [0277] If the UE 102 is operating in SNPN access mode, the UE 102 can or shall maintain, for each of the entries in the “list of subscriber data”: [0278] one SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for 3GPP access. The maximum number of possible entries in the list is implementation dependent. This list is applicable to access attempts via 3GPP access only; and [0279] one SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for non-3GPP access. The maximum number of possible entries in the list is implementation dependent. This list is applicable in case of accessing SNPN services via a PLMN only.
Won [0286] In some embodiments, The registration on the selected SNPN and the LR are only necessary if the MS is capable of services which require registration. Otherwise, the SNPN selection procedures are performed without registration.
Won [0287] The ME is configured with a “list of subscriber data” containing zero or more entries. Each entry of the “list of subscriber data” consists of:
[0294] c) an SNPN identity;
sending, by the UE, a first session establishment request to a SNPN network entity associated with the one or more SNPNs, the first session establishment request being associated with a first session type;
[0008]; In some embodiments, the one or more networks comprise at least one of a non-public network (NPN), a private network, a standalone non-public network (SNPN)
[0179] In some embodiments, the purpose of the service request procedure may be to change the 5GMM mode from 5GMM-IDLE to 5GMMCONNECTED mode, and/or to request the establishment of user-plane resources for PDU sessions ( first session establishment request is associated with a first session type) which are activated without user-plane resources.
receiving, by the UE, a first response from the SNPN network entity, the first response being indicative of a session rejection by the current SNPN for the first session type;
Won [0259] As such, embodiments described herein provide methods, systems, apparatuses, and computer program products for managing network capabilities for a UE 102 with regard to private network (e.g., SNPN) selection processes following receipt of a rejection message in response to, e.g., an initial registration request (first session type), mobility update request, period registration update request, service request, etc., the rejection message comprising a 5GMM cause value, e.g., #27 or #72 or the like.
detecting, by the UE, one of a change in the current SNPN from among the one or more SNPNs, or an update associated with a selected entry of the current SNPN;
Won [0165] In some embodiments, upon receipt of an AUTHENTICATION REJECT message: [0166] a. if the message has been successfully integrity checked by the NAS, the UE shall set the update status to 5U3 ROAMING NOT ALLOWED, delete the stored 5G-GUTI, TAI list, last visited registered TAI and ngKSI. The entry of the “list of subscriber data” with the SNPN identity of the current SNPN (selected entry of the first SNPN) shall be considered invalid until the UE is switched off or the entry is reconfigured or removed.
and triggering, by the UE, a second session establishment request in response to detecting the update associated with the selected entry, the second session establishment request being associated with the first session type.
Won [0165] In some embodiments, upon receipt of an AUTHENTICATION REJECT message: [0166] a. if the message has been successfully integrity checked by the NAS, the UE shall set the update status to 5U3 ROAMING NOT ALLOWED, delete the stored 5G-GUTI, TAI list, last visited registered TAI and ngKSI. The entry of the “list of subscriber data” with the SNPN identity of the current SNPN shall be considered invalid until the UE is switched off or the entry is reconfigured or removed (to detecting the changing in the connection with the first SNPN)
Won [0263] In some embodiments, if the UE 102 receives a non-integrity protected reject message including 5GMM cause value #27 (or #72), the UE 102 disables N1 mode capability for {the entry, the respective access type (or non-3GPP access)} and starts T3247.
Won [0283] Upon expiry of timer T3247, the UE 102 can or shall: [0284] re-enable the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access for the entry and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for 3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for 3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for 3GPP access); and [0285] re-enable the N1 mode capability for non-3GPP access (second session establishment request) and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for non-3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the respective entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access).
Won [0190] The service request procedure is initiated by the UE 102, however, it can be triggered by the network by means of: [0193] the notification procedure (see subclause 5.6.3) for the transfer of downlink signalling or user data pending over non-3GPP access to a UE 102 in 5GMM-CONNECTED mode over 3GPP access and in 5GMM-IDLE mode over non-3GPP access;
Won [0179] In some embodiments, the purpose of the service request procedure may be to change the 5GMM mode from 5GMM-IDLE to 5GMMCONNECTED mode, and/or to request the establishment of user-plane resources for PDU sessions (first session type) which are activated without user-plane resources. In latter case, the 5GMM mode can be the 5GMM-IDLE mode or the 5GMMCONNECTED mode if the UE 102 requires to activate user-plane resources for PDU sessions.
Won does not teach the first response including an indication indicating that the first session type is not an allowed session type of the current SNPN.
Kim teaches the first response including an indication indicating that the first session type is not an allowed session type of the current SNPN.
Kim [0263] If the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message includes a PDU session type IE set
to “IPv6”, and the subscription, the SMF configuration, or both, are limited to IPv4 only for the
requested DNN, the SMF shall include the 5GSM cause value #50 “PDU session type IPv4 only
allowed” in the 5GSM cause IE of the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message.
Kim [0264] If the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message includes a PDU session type IE set
to “IPv6”, and the subscription, the SMF configuration, or both, support none of “IPv4” and “IPv6”
PDU session types for the requested DNN, the SMF shall include the 5GSM cause value #28 “unknown
PDU session type” in the 5GSM cause IE of the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message.
In view of Kim, Won is modified such that the first response including an indication indicating that the first session type is not an allowed session type of the current SNPN;
Won and Kim are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, communication in SNPN system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Won in the manner described above to not allow the first session type of the current
SNPN to improve the session establishment procedure (Kim[0322]).
Regarding claim 11, The method as claimed in claim 9, wherein the triggering comprises: sending, by the UE, the second session establishment request to the current SNPN.
Won [0259] As such, embodiments described herein provide methods, systems, apparatuses, and computer program products for managing network capabilities for a UE 102 with regard to private network (e.g., SNPN) selection processes following receipt of a rejection message in response to, e.g., an initial registration request (request to the first SNPN), mobility update request, period registration update request, service request, etc., the rejection message comprising a 5GMM cause value, e.g., #27 or #72 or the like.
Won [0263] In some embodiments, if the UE 102 receives a non-integrity protected reject message including 5GMM cause value #27 (or #72), the UE 102 disables N1 mode capability for {the entry, the respective access type (or non-3GPP access)} and starts T3247.
Won [0283] Upon expiry of timer T3247, the UE 102 can or shall: [0284] re-enable the N1 mode (re-enable access mode= resending the session establishment request =second session establishment request) capability for 3GPP access for the entry and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for 3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for 3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for 3GPP access); and [0285] re-enable the N1 mode capability for non-3GPP access and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for non-3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the respective entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access).
[0240] In some embodiments, the N1 mode capability may refer to a UE's 102 capability to access a network. If the N1 mode capability is disabled for a particular network (e.g., a 5G system (5GS)), a UE 102 typically cannot access the 5GS and if the N1 mode capability is enabled and there is an available 5GS, a UE 102 can typically access the 5GS.
[0260] According to some embodiments, N1 mode disabling and re-enabling by the UE 102 can be managed for a network using an entry in the “list of subscriber data.” In some embodiments, the UE 102 can maintain a list of entries for which the N1 mode capability for 3GPP access was disabled.
[0265] In some embodiments, in the UE 102, the ME is configured with a “list of subscriber data” containing zero or more entries. Each entry of the “list of subscriber data” consists of:
[0271] c) an SNPN identity (current SNPN).
[0273] The UE 102 should maintain a list of entries for which the N1 mode capability was disabled due to receipt of a reject from the network with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed”. When the UE 102 disables its N1 mode capability due to receipt of a reject from the network with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed” for an entry: [0274] the UE 102 should add the index of the entry used for accessing the SNPN which sent a reject with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed” to the list of entries for which N1 mode is disabled (or add the SNPN identity of the SNPN which sent a reject with 5GMM cause #27 “N1 mode not allowed” to the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is disabled) and should start timer TG if timer TG is not already running. The number of entries (or SNPNs) that the MS can store for which N1 mode is not allowed is implementation specific, but it can or shall be at least one. The value of timer TG is UE implementation specific; [0275] in automatic SNPN selection, the UE 102 can or shall not use entries (or SNPNs) for which N1 mode is not allowed as SNPN selection candidates for NG-RAN access technology, unless no other SNPN is available;
Regarding claim 22, The method as claimed in claim 9, wherein the first session type is
associated with one of: a PDU type; or a Session and Service Continuity (SSC) type.
Kim [0263]; If the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message includes a PDU session type IE set
to “IPv6”, and the subscription, the SMF configuration, or both, are limited to IPv4 only for the
requested DNN, the SMF shall include the 5GSM cause value #50 “PDU session type IPv4 only
allowed” in the 5GSM cause IE of the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message.
In view of Kim, Won is modified such the first session type is associated with one of a PDU type.
Won and Kim are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, communication in SNPN system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Won in the manner described above to not allow the first session type of the current
SNPN to improve the session establishment procedure (Kim[0322]).
Regarding claim 23, The method as claimed in claim 22, wherein the PDU type includes an Internet
Protocol (IP) version.
Kim [0263] If the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REQUEST message includes a PDU session type IE set to “IPv6”, and the subscription, the SMF configuration, or both, are limited to IPv4 only for the requested DNN, the SMF shall include the 5GSM cause value #50 “PDU session type IPv4 only allowed” in the 5GSM cause IE of the PDU SESSION ESTABLISHMENT REJECT message.
In view of Kim, Won is modified such that the PDU type includes an Internet
Protocol (IP) version.
Won and Kim are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, communication in SNPN system.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in
the art to modify Won in the manner described above to not allow the first session type of the current
SNPN to improve the session establishment procedure (Kim[0322]).
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won in view of Shi in further view of Tiwari et al. ( US 2021/0099968 A1)(“Tiwari”).
Regarding claim 4, The method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the triggering comprises: sending, by the UE, the second establishment request.
Won [0285]; re-enable the N1 mode capability for non-3GPP access (re-enable access mode= resending the session establishment request= second session establishment ) and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for non-3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the respective entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access).
Won [0179] In some embodiments, the purpose of the service request procedure may be to change the 5GMM mode from 5GMM-IDLE to 5GMMCONNECTED mode, and/or to request the establishment of user-plane resources for PDU sessions which are activated without user-plane resources. In latter case, the 5GMM mode can be the 5GMM-IDLE mode or the 5GMMCONNECTED mode if the UE 102 requires to activate user-plane resources for PDU sessions.
Won does not teach the second request to a second SNPN from among the one or more SNPNs, the second SNPN being different from the first SNPN.
Tiwari teaches the request to a second SNPN from among the one or more SNPNs, the second SNPN being different from the first SNPN.
Tiwari [0036] In one embodiment, the communicator (120) is configured to send a registration request message to the second SNPN. The registration request message is sent to the second SNPN in a security command complete message.
[0052] Fig. 3A, Referring to the FIG. 3A, at step 1, the UE (100) is registered to the SNPN-1 and the SNPN-2 (second SNPN being different from the first SNPN) is selected due to for example the mobility of the UE (100). At step 2, the UE (100) initiates a registration procedure for mobility registration to the SNPN-2.
In view of Tiwari , Won is modified such that the second request to a second SNPN from among the one or more SNPNs, the second SNPN being different from the first SNPN.
Won and Tiwari are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, SNPN network transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Won in the manner described above to rename one of the SNPNs to the second SNPN to describe the inventions more specifically and limit the invention between the two SNPNs to improve the communication system (Tiwari [0003]).
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won in view of Kim in further view of Tiwari et al. ( US 2021/0099968 A1)(“Tiwari”).
Regarding claim 10, The method as claimed in claim 9, wherein the triggering comprises: sending, by the UE, the second session establishment request.
Won [0285]; re-enable the N1 mode capability for non-3GPP access (re-enable access mode= resending the session establishment request= second session establishment ) and, if the SNPN-specific N1 mode attempt counter for non-3GPP access has a value greater than zero and less than a UE implementation-specific maximum value, remove the respective entry index from the list of entries for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access (or remove the SNPN identity from the list of SNPNs for which N1 mode is not allowed for non-3GPP access).
Won [0179] In some embodiments, the purpose of the service request procedure may be to change the 5GMM mode from 5GMM-IDLE to 5GMMCONNECTED mode, and/or to request the establishment of user-plane resources for PDU sessions which are activated without user-plane resources. In latter case, the 5GMM mode can be the 5GMM-IDLE mode or the 5GMMCONNECTED mode if the UE 102 requires to activate user-plane resources for PDU sessions.
Won does not teach the second request to a new SNPN from among the one or more SNPNs.
Tiwari teaches the request to a new SNPN from among the one or more SNPNs.
Tiwari [0036] In one embodiment, the communicator (120) is configured to send a registration request message to the second SNPN (a new SNPN). The registration request message is sent to the second SNPN in a security command complete message.
[0052] Fig. 3A, Referring to the FIG. 3A, at step 1, the UE (100) is registered to the SNPN-1 and the SNPN-2 ( from among the one or more SNPNs) is selected due to for example the mobility of the UE (100). At step 2, the UE (100) initiates a registration procedure for mobility registration to the SNPN-2.
In view of Tiwari , Won is modified such that the request to a new SNPN from among the one or more SNPNs.
Won and Tiwari are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, SNPN network transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Won in the manner described above to distinguish between the first (old) and the new SNPN to describe the handover more specifically and limit the invention between the two SNPNs to improve the communication system (Tiwari [0003]).
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won in view of Shi in further view of Sugawara (US 2023/0209489 A1).
Regarding claim 7, The method as claimed in claim 3, further comprising: the second session establishment request,
Won [0138] In some embodiments, in response to receiving a requestion rejection message including cause value #27 (e.g., “N1 mode not allowed”), the UE 102 can or shall set the 5GS update status to 5U3 ROAMING NOT ALLOWED (and can or shall store it according to subclause 5.1.3.2.2 of 3GPP TS 24.501) and can or shall delete any 5G-GUTI, last visited registered TAI, TAI list, and/or ngKSI. Also, the UE 102 can or shall reset the registration attempt counter (second session establishment request )and can or shall enter the state “5GMM-DEREGISTERED.LIMITED-SERVICE.” In some embodiments, if the message has been successfully integrity checked by the NAS, the UE 102 can or shall set:
[0140] 2) the SNPN-specific attempt counter for 3GPP access for the current SNPN (first SNPN) in case of SNPN;
Won does not teach receiving, by the UE, a second response from the SNPN network entity, the second response being indicative of a session acceptance associated with the first session type.
Sugawara teaches receiving, by the UE, a second response from the SNPN network entity, the second response being indicative of a session acceptance associated with the first session type.
Sugawara [0430] Here, it is assumed that the PDU session (first session type) establishment accept message is received and that the PDU session in the SNPN is established.
Sugawara [0414] Then, in a case of receiving the NAS message (S816), the UE can recognize that the request of the UE by the PDU session establishment request message has been accepted, and/or can recognize details of the information and the like (a message, a container, information) included in the NAS message.
In view of Sugawara, Won is modified such that UE receives a second response from the SNPN network entity, the second response being indicative of a session acceptance associated with the first session type.
Won and Sugawara are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, SNPN network transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Won in the manner described above for the UE to receive the acceptance from the SNPN network to efficiently show the handover to the network ( Sugawara [0008]).
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won in view of Kim in further view of Sugawara (US 2023/0209489 A1).
Regarding claim 12, The method as claimed in claim 3, further comprising: the second session establishment request,
Won [0138] In some embodiments, in response to receiving a requestion rejection message including cause value #27 (e.g., “N1 mode not allowed”), the UE 102 can or shall set the 5GS update status to 5U3 ROAMING NOT ALLOWED (and can or shall store it according to subclause 5.1.3.2.2 of 3GPP TS 24.501) and can or shall delete any 5G-GUTI, last visited registered TAI, TAI list, and/or ngKSI. Also, the UE 102 can or shall reset the registration attempt counter (second session establishment request )and can or shall enter the state “5GMM-DEREGISTERED.LIMITED-SERVICE.” In some embodiments, if the message has been successfully integrity checked by the NAS, the UE 102 can or shall set:
[0140] 2) the SNPN-specific attempt counter for 3GPP access for the current SNPN (first SNPN) in case of SNPN;
Won does not teach receiving, by the UE, a second response from the SNPN network entity, the second response being indicative of a session acceptance associated with the first session type.
Sugawara teaches receiving, by the UE, a second response from the SNPN network entity, the second response being indicative of a session acceptance associated with the first session type.
Sugawara [0430] Here, it is assumed that the PDU session (first session type) establishment accept message is received and that the PDU session in the SNPN is established.
Sugawara [0414] Then, in a case of receiving the NAS message (S816), the UE can recognize that the request of the UE by the PDU session establishment request message has been accepted, and/or can recognize details of the information and the like (a message, a container, information) included in the NAS message.
In view of Sugawara, Won is modified such that UE receives a second response from the SNPN network entity, the second response being indicative of a session acceptance associated with the first session type.
Won and Sugawara are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, SNPN network transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Won in the manner described above for the UE to receive the acceptance from the SNPN network to efficiently show the handover to the network ( Sugawara [0008]).
Claims 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won in view of Shih in further view of Sugawara in further view of Speicher et al (US 2021/0105712 A1)(“Speicher”).
Regarding claim 18, The method as claimed in claim 7, further comprising: generating, by the UE, a communication signal and transmitting the communication signal.
Sugawara, Fig. 8 [0210]; The UE can further transmit a registration complete message to the AMF via the base station apparatus as a response message to the registration accept message (S612). Here, the registration complete message is a NAS message transmitted and/or received on the N1 interface; however, the registration complete message may be included in an RRC message for transmission and/or reception between the UE and the base station apparatus.
Sugawara does not teach the communication after the receiving the second response, and by the UE, the communication to an external device via the current SNPN.
Speicher teaches communication after the receiving the second response, and by the UE, the communication to an external device via the current SNPN.
Speicher [0067]; As shown in FIG. 4A, after registration, the UE may communicate with a data network (e.g., a data network providing non-public network services, and/or the like) via a user plane function (UPF) of the SNPN.
In view of Speicher, Sugawara is modified such the communication after the receiving the second response is performed and by the UE, the communication to an external device via the current SNPN.
Speicher and Sugawara are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, SNPN network transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Sugawara in the manner described above to allow the UE to send the signal to the external device via the current SNPN to expand the network to the external route for the UE to transmit the signal.
Regarding claim 20, The system as claimed in claim 13, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to:
connect with a first SNPN based on the service request, the first SNPN being the new SNPN or the current SNPN;
Won [0064] a) the UE 102 is in an idle mode (e.g., 5G mobility management [5GMM]-IDLE mode) over 3GPP access and an event that requires a transition to a connected mode (e.g., 5GMM-CONNECTED mode) occurs;
Won [0107] Referring now to FIGS. 6 and 7, in the context of a communications system, e.g., the system 100, network access (current SNPN) or provisioning of services from the network can be requested, such as by the UE 102, by sending a registration request, an access request message, a service request, a session request message, or the like to the AMF 108.
Won [0179] In some embodiments, the purpose of the service request procedure may be to change the 5GMM mode from 5GMM-IDLE to 5GMMCONNECTED mode, and/or to request the establishment of user-plane resources for PDU sessions which are activated without user-plane resources.
Won [0008]; In some embodiments, the one or more networks comprise at least one of a non-public network (NPN), a private network, a standalone non-public network (SNPN),
Won does not teach generate a communication signal after receiving the response; and transmit the communication signal to an external device via the first SNPN.
Sugawara teaches generating, by the UE, a communication signal and transmitting the communication signal;
Sugawara, Fig. 8 [0210]; The UE can further transmit a registration complete message to the AMF via the base station apparatus as a response message to the registration accept message (S612). Here, the registration complete message is a NAS message transmitted and/or received on the N1 interface; however, the registration complete message may be included in an RRC message for transmission and/or reception between the UE and the base station apparatus.
In view of Sugawara, Won is modified such the UE generates a communication signal and transmitting the communication signal;
Won and Sugawara are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, SNPN network transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Won in the manner described above for the UE to receive the acceptance from the SNPN network to efficiently show the handover to the network ( Sugawara [0008]).
Won in view of Sugawara does not teach the communication after the receiving the response, and the communication to an external device via the first SNPN.
Speicher teaches communication after the receiving the response, and the communication to an external device via the first SNPN.
Speicher [0067]; As shown in FIG. 4A, after registration, the UE may communicate with a data network (e.g., a data network providing non-public network services, and/or the like) via a user plane function (UPF) of the SNPN (first SNPN).
In view of Speicher, Sugawara is modified such the communication after the receiving the second response is performed and by the UE, the communication to an external device via the current SNPN.
Speicher and Sugawara are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, SNPN network transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Sugawara in the manner described above to allow the UE to send the signal to the external device via the current SNPN to expand the network to the external route for the UE to transmit the signal.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won in view of Kim in further view of Sugawara in further view of Speicher et al (US 2021/0105712 A1)(“Speicher”).
Regarding claim 19, The method as claimed in claim 9, further comprising: the second session establishment request,
Won [0138] In some embodiments, in response to receiving a requestion rejection message including cause value #27 (e.g., “N1 mode not allowed”), the UE 102 can or shall set the 5GS update status to 5U3 ROAMING NOT ALLOWED (and can or shall store it according to subclause 5.1.3.2.2 of 3GPP TS 24.501) and can or shall delete any 5G-GUTI, last visited registered TAI, TAI list, and/or ngKSI. Also, the UE 102 can or shall reset the registration attempt counter (second session establishment request )and can or shall enter the state “5GMM-DEREGISTERED.LIMITED-SERVICE.” In some embodiments, if the message has been successfully integrity checked by the NAS, the UE 102 can or shall set:
[0140] 2) the SNPN-specific attempt counter for 3GPP access for the current SNPN (first SNPN) in case of SNPN;
Won does not teach receiving, by the UE, a second response from the SNPN network entity, the second response being indicative of a session acceptance associated with the first session type; generating, by the UE, a communication signal and transmitting the communication signal;
Sugawara teaches receiving, by the UE, a second response from the SNPN network entity, the second response being indicative of a session acceptance associated with the first session type.
Sugawara [0430] Here, it is assumed that the PDU session (first session type) establishment accept message is received and that the PDU session in the SNPN is established.
Sugawara [0414] Then, in a case of receiving the NAS message (S816), the UE can recognize that the request of the UE by the PDU session establishment request message has been accepted, and/or can recognize details of the information and the like (a message, a container, information) included in the NAS message.
generating, by the UE, a communication signal and transmitting the communication signal;
Sugawara, Fig. 8 [0210]; The UE can further transmit a registration complete message to the AMF via the base station apparatus as a response message to the registration accept message (S612). Here, the registration complete message is a NAS message transmitted and/or received on the N1 interface; however, the registration complete message may be included in an RRC message for transmission and/or reception between the UE and the base station apparatus.
In view of Sugawara, Won is modified such that UE receives a second response from the SNPN network entity, the second response being indicative of a session acceptance associated with the first session type.
Won and Sugawara are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, SNPN network transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Won in the manner described above for the UE to receive the acceptance from the SNPN network to efficiently show the handover to the network ( Sugawara [0008]).
Won in view of Sugawara does not teach the communication after the receiving the second response, and by the UE, the communication to an external device via the current SNPN.
Speicher teaches communication after the receiving the second response, and by the UE, the communication to an external device via the current SNPN.
Speicher [0067]; As shown in FIG. 4A, after registration, the UE may communicate with a data network (e.g., a data network providing non-public network services, and/or the like) via a user plane function (UPF) of the SNPN.
In view of Speicher, Sugawara is modified such the communication after the receiving the second response is performed and by the UE, the communication to an external device via the current SNPN.
Speicher and Sugawara are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, SNPN network transmission.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Sugawara in the manner described above to allow the UE to send the signal to the external device via the current SNPN to expand the network to the external route for the UE to transmit the signal.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone
number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478