DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on October 6, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 8-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 6, 2026.
Summary
Claims 8-15 are withdrawn, resulting in claims 1-7 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 depends from claim 1 and recites the limitation “wherein the first and second layers are pressed or crimped together along a compression region offset from their respective peripheral edges”. The limitation is indefinite because claim 1 previously recited the first layer and the second layer being connected to each other near their respective peripheral edges. It is unclear whether the compression region in claim 6 further limits or is in addition to the connection of claim 1. For the purposes of examination claim 6 will be interpreted as further limiting the connection of claim 1, pending further clarification from Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ziltener (US 2004/0236296).
With respect to claim 1, Ziltener discloses a disk or swab consisting of one or more plies for the application and/or absorption of liquid or semisolid substances, edge parts of the ply or plies lying on one another in a sheetlike manner, and the disk having a compression region on its circumference (paragraph [0001]). The disk may have three plies, outer plies 2 and 3 (first and second layers) and middle ply 1 (filler material) (paragraphs [0028], [0033]). The material of the outer layers are advantageously cotton (paragraph [0033]). The inner ply 1 (filler material) consisting of fibrous material may be looser than the fibrous material of the outer plies 2, 3 (first and second layers) (paragraph [0042]).
The upper outer ply 2 (first layer) has an edge part 12 (peripheral edge) and the lower outer ply 3 (second layer) has an edge part 13 (paragraph [0032]). If the diameter of the inner material ply 1 (filler material) is smaller than the diameter of the outer plies 2 and 3 (first and second layers), the edge parts 12 and 13 (peripheral edges) out the outer material plies 2 and 3 (first and second layers) lie directly one on the other (paragraph [0035]). The disk has at least one groove 20 which extends continuously or discontinuously around the disk circumference (paragraph [0038]). The groove 20 extends at a distance from (near to) and parallel to the circumferential surface 4 (peripheral edge) of the disk (paragraph [0039]). At the location of the groove 20 the material is pressed or pinched together in such a way that the material plies are connected to one another in the region of the disk groove 20 (paragraph [0049]). The continuous connection of the outer plies 2 and 3 (first and second layers) by the groove 20 would necessarily provide an interior space where the inner ply 1 is located (filler material).
With respect to claim 3, Ziltener discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above. Ziltener further discloses the material of the layers 1 to 3 (first and second layer and filler material) is preferably cotton (paragraph [0033]).
With respect to claim 5, Ziltener discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above. The limitation wherein ply 1 (filler material) comprises recycled material is a method limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113. Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because Ziltener discloses materials suitable for the ply 1 such as cotton.
Applicant’s specification does not set forth any characteristics which necessarily differentiate recycled material from the base material, such that the recitation of recycled imputes certain unique characteristics or properties to the claimed material other than indicating the source of the material. Therefore, the recitation of recycled only appears to be directed to the intermediate product or source of the material which is eventually used in the claimed invention. As such, the ply 1 (filler material) disclosed by Ziltener appears to meet the structural limitations of the claim.
With respect to claim 6, Ziltener discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above. Ziltener further discloses the groove 20 extends at a distance from (offset from) and parallel to the circumferential surface 4 (peripheral edge) of the disk (paragraph [0039]), providing a width B that is the distance of the groove 20 from the annular edge 10 of the disk (the respective peripheral edges are not bonded or connected) (Figs. 3-4, paragraph [0043]). At the location of the groove 20 the material is pressed or pinched together in such a way that the material plies are connected to one another in the region of the disk groove 20 (compression region) (paragraph [0049]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziltener (US 2004/0236296) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chandran (US 2019/0105204).
With respect to claim 2, Ziltener discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above. Ziltener further teaches the material of the layers 1 to 3 (first and second layer and filler material) is to be absorbent and is preferably cotton (paragraph [0033]).
Ziltener is silent as to the outer layers 2, 3 (first and second layers) being specifically spunlace cotton.
Chandran teaches facial pads made from a top layer, a bottom layer, and a third layer sandwiched between the top and bottom layers (paragraph [0005]). The top and bottom layer comprise absorbent cotton spun lace (paragraphs [0006], [0020]).
Since both Ziltener and Chandran teach cotton pads comprising two outer layers made of cotton and an inner layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the cotton outer layers 2, 3 (first and second layers) of Ziltener because cotton spun lace is known in the art as suitable for the outer layers of cotton pads and would provide the predictable result of a cotton pad with absorbent outer layers. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziltener (US 2004/0236296) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Picard (US 6998360).
With respect to claims 4-5, Ziltener discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Ziltener is silent as to the inner ply 1 (filler material) comprising chopped or shredded material or recycled material.
Picard teaches a hydrophilic product constituted 100% of cotton fibers for cosmetic purposes (col. 1, lines 5-8). The “natural” product is made solely of natural fibers, allowing easy recycling of the wastes incurred during manufacturing (col. 2, liens 20-24). These cutting (chopped) wastes are easily recycled to form new products (col. 6, lines 9-12). The product may comprise a core layer sandwiched between two outer layers (col. 4, lines 45-51).
Since both Ziltener and Picard teach layered cotton pads, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner ply 1 (filler material) of Ziltener to include cut pieces recycled from manufacturing waste in order to reduce the wastes incurred during manufacturing.
With respect to claim 7, Ziltener discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Ziltener is silent to at least one of the outer plies 2,3 (first and second layers) including an exfoliating texture.
Picard teaches a hydrophilic product constituted 100% of cotton fibers for cosmetic purposes (col. 1, lines 5-8). One side of the product is for scraping, and is intended to cleanse the skin, in particular to be used for makeup removal (col. 2, lines 12-19). The synthetic fibers in the composition of the first sheet are organized to implement the article’s scraping surface (exfoliating texture) (col. 2, lines 3-8).
Since both Ziltener and Picard teach layered cotton pads, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified at least one of the outer plies 2, 3 (first and second layers) to have a scraping surface (exfoliating texture) in order to allow the cotton disk of Ziltener to cleanse the skin and remove makeup.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li (CN 109532129)1 teaches a multi-layered cosmetic cotton pad utilizing waste cotton (paragraph [0002]). The cosmetic cotton pad includes an upper surface layer, a lower surface layer, and an intermediate layer between the upper and lower surface layers (paragraph [0011]). The upper and lower surface layers are formed by hydroentangling at least one layer of cotton web (paragraph [0011]). The intermediate layer is also a cotton web made of more than 60 wt% short-staple cotton (paragraph [0011]). Short-staple cotton includes ungraded cotton, waste cotton, recycled cotton, or raw cotton with a fiber length of less than 20 mm (paragraph [0013]). The intermediate layer is only mixed and carded (paragraph [0017]) and is not otherwise consolidated.
Nevue (US 5849647) discloses a hydrophilic cotton lap constituted 100% of cotton fibers (abstract). The lap is a composite and comprises three cotton layers evincing intercohesiveness arising from a continuous lap manufacturing procedure (abstract). The external layers and enclosing the central layer are webs (abstract). The lap is used in the form of packaged or formatted units of hydrophilic cotton (abstract).
McCloskey (EP 0970674) discloses a makeup removal pad with outer panels of a porous and absorbent fibrous material, preferably cotton (abstract). The two outer panels are adhesively sealed together about a peripheral rim of the pad forming a closed envelope or pocket within which is retained an intermediate layer of cotton in-fill material which preferably includes short cotton fibres (abstract).
LARISSA ROWE EMRICH
Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
1 Machine translation used as reference