DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5, 7, 9, and 10 in the reply filed on 05/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is dependent on non-elected claim 6, which renders the claim indefinite. The claim will be examined as depending on independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burgess et al. US Patent Application Publication 2010/0221838.
As to claim 1, Burgess teaches an adapter 106 for use in facilitating dissolution (para. 0029), the adapter comprising:
a container body 108; and a cavity 120 that is operative to contain a suspension 112 disposed in the container body 108 (Fig. 5; paras. 0037-0038);
where the cavity 120 comprises a conical section that protrudes into the container body 108 (Fig. 5; para. 0037); or where the cavity comprises a partial ellipsoidal shape that protrudes into the container body – this portion of the claim is in the alternative, and Applicant has elected a conical shape instead of an ellipsoidal shape.
As to claim 9, the adapter of Claim 1, further comprising a die that is disposed on an opening of the cavity – where Burgess teaches a cell holding cap and O-rings (not shown) are used to fix the sample holder and filter system 110 within the flow-through cell (para. 0037).
As to claim 10, the adapter of Claim 1, where an outer periphery of the container body 108 is a square, a rectangle, an ellipsoid, a circle, a triangle, a polygon, or a combination thereof (Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burgess et al. US Patent Application Publication 2010/0221838.
As to claims 2-4, Burgess teaches a conical section (Fig. 5; para. 0037), but does not specifically teach the claimed dimensions of the conical section. However, Burgess teaches the dimensions of the adapter cell design can be varied to correspond with the dimensions of other sizes of sample holders and are simply adjusted accordingly based on the size of the desired sample holder (para. 0035). This indicates the sample holder body size, including the angle of the conical portion may vary in size. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
As to claims 5 and 7, Burgess does not specifically teach the thickness and outer diameter periphery of the container body 108. Burgess does teach the adapter cell is configured for use in conjunction with the standard 22.6 mm diameter sample holder cells for the USP dissolution apparatus 4 (para. 0035), which indicates the outer diameter periphery of the circular container body is at least 22.6 mm, which meets the claimed outer diameter periphery of about 15 to about 26 millimeters. As to the thickness of the periphery, Burgess teaches the dimensions of the adapter cell design can be varied to correspond with the dimensions of other sizes of sample holders and are simply adjusted accordingly based on the size of the desired sample holder (para. 0035). This indicates the sample holder body size, including the thickness of the periphery may vary in size. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
/JACQUELINE F STEPHENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781