Status of Claims
Claims 1-20, as filed 8 May 2024, are examined herein. No new matter is included.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, and 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hilligoss (US 20220077507 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hilligoss teaches a thermal runaway detection circuit ([0015] “detect a thermal event occurring in one of the plurality of cells”) comprising
a processing circuit, ([0115] battery management unit)
a first electric conduit configured to connect the processing circuit to a first sensor circuit and a second electric conduit configured to connect the processing circuit to a second sensor circuit, a portion of the first electric conduit and a portion of the second electric conduit between the processing circuit and the respective sensor circuit are configured to be arranged at an over pressure relief path of a battery device, (FIG. 11 and [0110] trace circuits 62A, 62B; “one leg of the trace circuits crosses the vent holes 60 in the laminated busbar, similarly .. one leg of the trace circuits 62B crosses the vent holes 60…. Both trace circuits are connected to a respective monitoring circuit.” At [0111] “each monitoring circuit comprises voltage monitor VMA, VMB. At [0113] “FIG. 12 shows an example of the voltages which would be seen by voltage monitors VMA and VMB if one of the battery cells vented, causing one of the traces to sever…. provide an indication of a thermal runaway event.)
wherein the processing circuit is configured to: obtain first data via the first electric conduit and second data via the second electric conduit, and (FIG. 8 and [0120] “output of resistance measurement unit 78 is connected to an input of comparator 80.”)
generate a thermal runaway indication based on the first data and the second data. (FIG. 13 resistance measurement 78, alarm 68, [0114] “detecting … when both trace circuits have severed” [0139] “provide an indication of a thermal runaway event”, [0017] produce an alarm signal)
Regarding claim 2, Hilligoss teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Hilligoss further teaches wherein the processing circuit is configured to generate the thermal runaway indication responsive to the first data being outside a first interval and the second data being outside a second interval. (FIG. 13 resistance measurement 78, comparator 80, threshold 82, alarm 68 [0017] produce an alarm signal, [0113] compare voltages to threshold, [0138-0139] “detection threshold”, “provide an indication of a thermal runaway event”,)
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Hilligoss teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Hilligoss further teaches wherein at least a portion of the first electric conduit and a portion of the second electric conduit are arranged on a printed circuit board (“PCB”). ([0040] The sensing circuit may be provided on a circuit board … , for example, a flexible printed circuit board.) This also teaches claim 6, wherein the PCB is a flexible printed circuit (“FPC”).
Regarding claim 8, Hilligoss teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Hilligoss further teaches a battery device (FIG. 1 battery 1) comprising at least one battery cell (FIG. 2 and [0087] battery cell units 24), a first sensor circuit, a second sensor circuit, (FIG. 11 sensor circuits 62A and 62B), a housing enclosing the at least one battery cell (FIG. 2 and [0087] battery module 12, end plates 26, cover 30), and comprising an over pressure relief path (FIG. 7 vents 60 sensors 62), and a thermal runaway detection circuit of claim 1 connected to the first sensor circuit and the second sensor circuit, wherein the first electric conduit and the second electric conduit of the thermal runaway detection circuit are arranged at the over pressure relief path. ([0099] and FIG. 7 vents 60 sensors 62)
Regarding claim 9, Hilligoss teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Hilligoss further teaches further comprising a pressure relief valve arranged to control the over pressure relief path. (FIG. 7 vents 60)
Regarding claim 10, Hilligoss teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Hilligoss further teaches ([0037] current, voltage and [0044] the sensors may be temperature sensors), these candidates are within the scope of the claimed list of alternatives.
Regarding claim 11, Hilligoss teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Hilligoss further teaches battery pack comprising two or more battery devices of claim 8 (FIG. 1, FIG. 2 showing multiple cells 24 and modules 12) and a battery pack processing circuit connected to each of the processing circuits of the two or more battery devices. ([0012] “a sensing circuit extending across the plurality of battery cells”, [0126] “comparator 80 outputs a signal to the alarm signal generator. … The output of the alarm signal generator is sent to the battery management system 16. [0052] “The battery management unit may be arranged to receive alarm signals from each of the battery modules.”)
Regarding claim 12, Hilligoss teaches all of the limitations set forth above, and Hilligoss further teaches wherein the battery pack processing circuit is configured to generate a battery pack thermal runaway indication responsive to obtaining a thermal runaway indication from at least one of the processing circuits of the two or more battery devices. (FIG. 13 threshold 82, comparator 80, alarm 68, [0119-0120] “provide an early indication of imminent thermal runaway event … output of comparator 80 is connected to the alarm signal generator 68.)
Regarding claim 13, Hilligoss teaches all of the limitations set forth above, and Hilligoss further teaches wherein the battery pack processing circuit is configured to generate the battery pack thermal runaway indication responsive to obtaining thermal runaway indications from at least two of the processing circuits of the two or more battery devices. ([0114] “some protection against false positives can be provided by detecting when both trace circuits are severed.”)
Regarding claim 14, Hilligoss teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Hilligoss further teaches vehicle comprising at least one battery device of any claim 8. ([0002) traction applications such as electric or hybrid vehicle)
Regarding claims 15 and 17, Hilligoss teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Hilligoss further teaches wherein the vehicle is configured to alert an operator of the vehicle responsive to the battery device generating a thermal runaway indication. ([0104] warn vehicle occupants … driver)
Regarding claim 16, Hilligoss teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Hilligoss further teaches vehicle comprising at least one battery pack of claim 11. ([0002) traction applications such as electric or hybrid vehicle)
Regarding claim 18, Hilligoss teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Hilligoss further teaches method of detecting thermal runaway of a battery device according to claim 8, the method comprising: obtaining first data from the first electric conduit and second data from the second electric conduit, and (FIG. 8 and [0120] “output of resistance measurement unit 78 is connected to an input of comparator 80.”) and generating a thermal runaway indication based on the first data and the second data. (FIG. 13 threshold 82, comparator 80, alarm 68, [0119-0120] “provide an early indication of imminent thermal runaway event … output of comparator 80 is connected to the alarm signal generator 68.)
Regarding claim 19, Hilligoss teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Hilligoss further teaches wherein generating a thermal runaway indication comprises generating the thermal runaway indication responsive to the first data being outside a first interval, and the second data being outside a second interval. ([0120] monitoring system … comparator, threshold generator, and generating a thermal runaway indication based on the first data and the second data [0114] “detecting when both trace circuits are severed.”)
Regarding claim 20, Hilligoss teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Hilligoss further teaches wherein generating a thermal runaway indication comprises generating the thermal runaway indication responsive to the first data indicating a first data maximum value or a first data minimum value, and the second data indicating a second data maximum value or a second data minimum value. (FIG. 13 threshold 82, comparator 80, alarm 68, [0119-0120] “provide an early indication of imminent thermal runaway event … output of comparator 80 is connected to the alarm signal generator 68. [0114] “some protection against false positives can be provided by detecting when both trace circuits are severed.”) Examiner notes that the connection of the threshold generator to the comparator as shown FIG. 13 creates a thermal runaway indication responsive to the maximum or minimum values for each of the first and second data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilligoss (US 2022007507 A1) in view of Nagase (US 20040189323 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Hilligoss teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, however Hilligoss does not explicitly teach a first impedance control circuit connected to the first electric conduit between the processing circuit and the over pressure relief path and/or a second impedance control circuit connected to the second electric conduit between the processing circuit and the over pressure relief path.
Nagase, in the field of electrical engineering, teaches (abstract) a disconnection detecting circuit comprising a control circuit and a sensor circuit. At FIG. 2 and [0011] Nagase “provides a disconnection
detecting circuit capable of detecting a disconnection of a connection line between circuits in a State where a useless current dissipation stemming from a current flow in a resistance element connected to an inside of a terminal of a sensor circuit is brought under control while avoiding an increase in contact resistance at terminal contacts to the utmost by increasing the energizing current with respect to a terminal to which a connection line is connected in a normal operation.” At [0012] “At the occurrence of a disconnection of a connection line, the sensor circuit side impedance is set to be higher than the control circuit side impedance, which enables the detection of the disconnection of the connection line put between the control circuit and the sensor circuit.” Examiner notes that because impedance is modified, therefore Nagase’s circuit is an impedance control circuit.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the thermal runaway detection circuit of Hilligoss by adding the impedance control circuit of Nagase, with a reasonable expectation of successfully improving detection of a sensor disconnection.
Regarding claim 4, Hilligoss in view of Nagase teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Hilligoss further teaches wherein the processing circuit is configured to generate the thermal runaway indication responsive to the first data indicating a first data maximum value or a first data minimum value and/or the second data indicating a second data maximum value or a second data minimum value. ([0114] “detecting … when both trace circuits have severed”) Examiner notes that when both trace circuits are severed, they will report minimum or maximum values, depending on what is being measured (resistance, voltage, current)
Regarding claim 7, Hilligoss teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Hilligoss further teaches the thermal runaway detection circuit further comprising
wherein the processing circuit is configured to generate the thermal runaway indication responsive to the first data indicating a first data maximum value or a first data minimum value and the second data indicating a first data maximum value or a first data minimum value; (FIG. 13 resistance measurement 78, comparator 80, threshold 82, alarm 68 [0017] produce an alarm signal, [0013] compare voltages to threshold, [0114] “detecting … when both trace circuits have severed”)
the processing circuit is further configured to generate the thermal runaway indication responsive to the first data being outside a first interval and the second data being outside a second interval; ([0120] monitoring system … comparator, threshold generator, and generating a thermal runaway indication based on the first data and the second data [0114] detecting when both trace circuits are severed).
at least a portion of the first electric conduit and a portion of the second electric conduit are arranged on a printed circuit board (“PCB”) wherein the PCB is a flexible printed circuit (“FPC”). ([0040] The sensing circuit may be provided on a circuit board … , for example, a flexible printed circuit board.)
However, Hilligoss does not explicitly teach a first impedance control circuit connected to the first electric conduit between the processing circuit and the over pressure relief path and/or a second impedance control circuit connected to the second electric conduit between the processing circuit and the over pressure relief path.
Nagase, in the field of electrical engineering, teaches (abstract) a disconnection detecting circuit comprising a control circuit and a sensor circuit. At FIG. 2 and [0011] Nagase “provides a disconnection
detecting circuit capable of detecting a disconnection of a connection line between circuits in a State where a useless current dissipation stemming from a current flow in a resistance element connected to an inside of a terminal of a sensor circuit is brought under control while avoiding an increase in contact resistance at terminal contacts to the utmost by increasing the energizing current with respect to a terminal to which a connection line is connected in a normal operation.” At [0012] “At the occurrence of a disconnection of a connection line, the sensor circuit side impedance is set to be higher than the control circuit side impedance, which enables the detection of the disconnection of the connection line put between the control circuit and the sensor circuit.” Examiner notes that because impedance is modified, therefore Nagase’s circuit is an impedance control circuit.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the thermal runaway detection circuit of Hilligoss by adding the impedance control circuit of Nagase, with a reasonable expectation of successfully improving detection of a sensor disconnection.
Conclusion
CLAIRE A. RUTISER
Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/C.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751