Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMurtry et al. (US 2016/0136731 A1, hereinafter McMurtry) in view of Krause et al. (US 2013/0040074 A1, hereinafter Krause).
Regarding Claims 1, 6, and 8-12, McMurtry teaches in Figure 1 and [0065] a method of operating an additive manufacturing machine, the method comprising circulating a first gas 118 through a condensate loop 111 and a first gas circulation device 113 operably coupled to the condensate loop and through a build area of the additive manufacturing machine proximate a build platform 102 of the additive manufacturing machine from a first discharge port 112 to a first suction port 110 positioned proximate a work surface for circulating the first gas as a laminar flow over the work surface to be proximate and parallel to a powder bed (as seen in Figure 1).
However, McMurtry is silent on a purge air loop as claimed.
In analogous art pertaining to 3D printing, Krause teaches in [0020] that purge gas is known to be delivered via pump (as seen in Figure 1) through nozzle 136 to protect sensitive components like a directing optic/scanner lens from debris and smoke by directing a shield across the component in question.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention’s filing to include purge gas delivery in McMurtry to protect sensitive components of the additive manufacturing machine.
However, while McMurtry is silent on using a loop as claimed to deliver the purge gas, McMurtry as discussed above teaches using loops with a gap created by a space between a discharge port and suction port as a way to deliver flowing gas to a specific spot in a 3D printer, and thus it would have been obvious to make the purge air gas delivery of the present combination a purge air loop as claimed with the second discharge port (a nozzle as applied above) and second suction port (which would then draw in the second gas and contaminants like the debris and smoke discussed by Krause) positioned proximate to the sensitive component, since such a combination would be simple substitution of one known gas delivery for another to yield the predictable result of targeted gas delivery.
Regarding Claims 12-16, the previous combination remains as applied above and while McMurtry is silent about the specific gas used, Krause teaches that argon and nitrogen are appropriate gases for use in gas shielding 3D printing applications, and therefore it would have been obvious to use either known gas one as the first gas and either one as the second gas in 3D printing to yield the predictable result of gas shielding , with the gases thus being different in the case that one loop uses argon and the other uses nitrogen.
Furthermore, while the combination is silent on the specific flow rates and pressures of the gases, the pumps would have to be set to some level of pressure and flow rate, and it would have been obvious to make the first gas circulate at a lower pressure and higher flow rate than the second gas, since finding the optimum or workable range has been held to require only ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claim 17, the previous combination remains as applied above and both McMurtry’s pump 113 and Krause’s pump are reasonably characterized as a blowers owing to the fact that they blow gas.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMurtry and Krause as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Cano et al. (US 2021/0221058 A1, hereinafter Cano).
Regarding Claims 2-5, the previous combination remains as applied, and Krause further teaches using a coolant loop 130 to dissipate heat from the laser, but is silent on the coolant being a gas and the cooling fluid being in fluid communication with an electronics compartment containing electronic components to thus comprise and be a part of an electronics cooling subsystem.
In analogous art pertaining to 3D printers, Cano teaches in [0016]-[0018] that a known method of cooling printer components involves circulating ambient air through a filter into fluid communication with a compartment containing electronic components such as lamps.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the previous combination’s coolant loop to use ambient air as the coolant and, as necessary, place electronic components needing cooling in a compartment fluidly communicating through a filter with the loop’s ambient air in order to cool the components.
While this combination is silent on the relative flow rates of the first, second, and third gases, some speed for the third gas would have to be chosen (as evidenced by [0023] of Cano), and it would have been obvious to make the third gas speed a higher flow rate than first and second gas, since finding the optimum or workable range has been held to require only ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McMurtry and Krause as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Go et al. (US 2017/0151704 A1, hereinafter Go).
Regarding Claims 7, the previous combination remains as applied, but is silent on gantry exposure to the purge air loop.
In analogous art pertaining to 3D printers, Go teaches in [0107] that gantries are known to be used in motion systems and are sensitive equipment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the previous combination to, use a gantry as part of the 3D printer motion system if it is not already using a gantry to yield the predictable result of controlling motion, and to position the purge air loop proximate to the gantry for shielding of the sensitive component per Krause as applied above.
Conclusion
/RYAN M OCHYLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743