DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended the claims and argued these amendments. Examiner agrees that the previous rejection is overcome with theses amendments. However, newly introduced art teaches the new limitations. Please see the rejections that follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 9, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sedin (2024/0340968) and further in view of Wang (2009/0042582) and further in view of Bellili (2022/0052883).
Regarding claim 1, Sedin discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
A processing system comprising at least one processer operable to cause the UE to: (See Sedin fig. 9; UE with processor executing an algorithm stored in memory; para. 139)
receive, from a network entity, control signaling indicating a plurality of codebooks associated with random access communications, the plurality of codebooks comprising at least a first codebook associated with a first set of channel conditions and a second codebook associated with a second set of channel conditions, (See Sedin para 106, fig. 7; UE obtains configuration for PRACH transmission (e.g. random access communication) from a radio network node (e.g. network entity) for one or more groups of preambles (e.g. plurality of codebooks); para. 107 each group is based upon conditions such as RSRP, reference signal received power, with thresholds for using a certain group (e.g. channel conditions for each set); para. 110; each group has multiple preambles (e.g. a codebook in that it has multiple sequences); see also para. 109; thresholds (e.g. sets of channel conditions))
select one of the first codebook or the second codebook based at least in part on a channel quality metric associated with a channel between the UE and the network entity; and (See Sedin fig. 7, para 107; UE selects a first preamble from a group based upon conditions including signal strength or RSRP (e.g. a channel quality metric) between the UE and network; para. 30; communication between UE and gnb)
transmit a message to the network entity, wherein the message is transmitted using a first sequence from the first plurality of sequences based at least in part on selecting the first codebook, or wherein the message is transmitted using a second sequence from the second plurality of sequences based at least in part on selecting the second codebook. (See Sedin fig. 7, para. 121; transmit PRACH (e.g. having a message) using first preamble; see also para. 30; communication between UE and gnB (e.g. network entity))
Sedin does not explicitly disclose wherein the sequences have different lengths. However, Wang does disclose wherein the sequences have different lengths. (See Wang para. 34; longer preamble for worse conditions; shorter preamble for better conditions (e.g. different lengths)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Sedin to include the teaching of wherein the sequences have different lengths of Wang with the motivation being to ensure reliable communication and further to balance the need for extending battery life with the need to reliably communicate and further enable battery savings and further to save bandwidth when possible.
Sedin does not explicitly disclose wherein the random access communications is unsourced and wherein each codebook comprises a respective plurality of sequences generated according to a respective distribution type. However, Bellili does disclose wherein the random access communications is unsourced and wherein each codebook comprises a respective plurality of sequences generated according to a respective distribution type. (See Bellili para. 23; codebook wherein each codeword is an n-dimensional complex sequence generated according to a Gaussian distribution; para. 5, 31, 33, fig. 1b; URA, unsourced random access, using Gaussian) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Sedin to include the teaching of wherein the random access communications is unsourced and wherein each codebook comprises a respective of Bellili with the motivation being to reduce overhead in a massive MTC communication environment by not requiring user id and further to establish the random-coding achievability bound for URA, with maximum-likelihood decoding (See Bellili para. 5) and further for compress-sensing recovery of sparsely selected transmitted messages in massive URA.
Regarding claim 2, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
compare the channel quality metric to the first set of channel conditions and the second set of channel conditions, wherein selecting one of the first codebook or the second codebook is based at least in part on the comparison. (See Sedin fig. 7, para 107, 109; UE selects a first preamble from a group based upon conditions including signal strength or RSRP (e.g. a channel quality metric) between the UE and network which is compared to the different thresholds (e.g. first and second set of channel conditions); para. 30; communication between UE and gnb)
Regarding claim 3, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
perform one or more measurements of signals received from the network entity via the channel; and (See Sedin para. 109; RSRP is measured by the UE; see also para. 30; communication between UE and gnB (e.g. network entity))
wherein the channel quality metric is based at least in part on the one or more measurements. (See Sedin para. 109; RSRP is measured, given a value and stored (e.g. a numerical value is determined) which is compared to threshold values)
Regarding claim 4, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive, from the network entity, additional control signaling indicating the channel quality metric, an indication of the first codebook or the second codebook, or both, wherein selecting one of the first codebook or the second codebook is based at least in part on receiving the additional control signaling. (See Sedin para. 106, 107, 68, fig. 7; additional signaling is part of signaling that indicates first or second codebook and/or additional signaling is conditions which include thresholds)
Regarding claim 7, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the UE of claim 1, Sedin discloses multiple codebooks. Bellili discloses wherein the codebook has a Gaussian distribution. (See Bellili para. 23; codebook wherein each codeword is an n-dimensional complex sequence generated according to a Gaussian distribution; para. 5, 31, 33, fig. 1b; URA, unsourced random access, using Gaussian) The motivation being to reduce overhead in a massive MTC communication environment by not requiring user id and further to establish the random-coding achievability bound for URA, with maximum-likelihood decoding (See Bellili para. 5) and further for compress-sensing recovery of sparsely selected transmitted messages in massive URA.
Regarding claim 9, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the UE of claim 1.
Sedin does not explicitly disclose wherein the sequences have different lengths based upon channel conditions. However, Wang does disclose wherein the sequences have different lengths based upon channel conditions. (See Wang para. 34; longer preamble for worse conditions; shorter preamble for better conditions (e.g. different lengths)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Sedin to include the teaching of wherein the sequences have different lengths based upon channel conditions of Wang with the motivation being to ensure reliable communication and further to balance the need for extending battery life with the need to reliably communicate and further enable battery savings and further to save bandwidth when possible.
Regarding claim 10, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the UE of claim 1.
Sedin does not explicitly disclose wherein the sequences have different lengths based upon channel conditions. However, Wang does disclose wherein the sequences have different lengths based upon channel conditions. (See Wang para. 34; longer preamble for worse conditions; shorter preamble for better conditions (e.g. different lengths)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Sedin to include the teaching of wherein the sequences have different lengths based upon channel conditions of Wang with the motivation being to ensure reliable communication and further to balance the need for extending battery life with the need to reliably communicate and further enable battery savings and further to save bandwidth when possible.
Regarding claim 12, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the first set of channel conditions, the second set of channel conditions, the channel quality metric, or any combination thereof, comprises a signal-to-noise ratio, a channel quality indicator, or both. (See Sedin fig. 7, para 107, 109; UE selects a first preamble from a group based upon conditions including signal strength or RSRP (e.g. a channel quality metric which is a channel quality indicator) between the UE and network para. 30; communication between UE and gnb)
Regarding claim 13, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the control signaling comprises radio resource control signaling, system information signaling, or both. (See Sedin para 106, fig. 7; UE obtains configuration for PRACH transmission (e.g. random access communication which is system information signaling in that it is signaling information used for this system) from a radio network node (e.g. network entity) for one or more groups of preambles (e.g. plurality of codebooks))
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sedin (2024/0340968) and further in view of Wang (2009/0042582) and further in view of Bellili (2022/0052883) and further in view of Bayesteh (2019/0190753).
Regarding claim 5, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the UE of claim 1. Sedin does not explicitly disclose wherein selecting one of the first codebook or the second codebook is based at least in part on a modulation and coding scheme associated with wireless communications between the UE and the network entity. However, Bayesteh does disclose wherein selecting one of the first codebook or the second codebook is based at least in part on a modulation and coding scheme associated with wireless communications between the UE and the network entity. (See Bayesteh para. 184, 185; codebook selected based upon MCS; signaling is between UE and network (e.g. network entity)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Sedin to include the teaching of wherein selecting one of the first codebook or the second codebook is based at least in part on a modulation and coding scheme associated with wireless communications between the UE and the network entity of Bayesteh with the motivation being to select a codebook having characteristics appropriate for particular transmission requirements and further to facilitate detection/decoding of multiple-user transmissions. (See also Bayesteh para. 136, 194)
Regarding claim 6, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the UE of claim 1. Sedin does not explicitly disclose wherein the first codebook is associated with a first modulation and coding scheme, and wherein the second codebook is associated with a second modulation and coding scheme. However, Bayesteh does disclose wherein the first codebook is associated with a first modulation and coding scheme, and wherein the second codebook is associated with a second modulation and coding scheme. (See Bayesteh para. 136; pool of codebooks arranged into groups based in part on MCS; para. 187; determining codebook group based on a target MCS) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Sedin to include the teaching of wherein the first codebook is associated with a first modulation and coding scheme, and wherein the second codebook is associated with a second modulation and coding scheme of Bayesteh with the motivation being to select a codebook having characteristics appropriate for particular transmission requirements and further to facilitate detection/decoding of multiple-user transmissions. (See also Bayesteh para. 136, 194)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sedin (2024/0340968) and further in view of Wang (2009/0042582) and further in view of Bellili (2022/0052883) and further in view of Eriksson (2015/0282215).
Regarding claim 8, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
Sedin in view of Wang does not explicitly disclose randomly select the first sequence from the first plurality of sequences based at least in part on selecting the first codebook, or randomly selecting the second sequence from the second plurality of sequences based at least in part on selecting the second codebook. However, Eriksson does disclose randomly select the first sequence from the first plurality of sequences based at least in part on selecting the first codebook, or randomly selecting the second sequence from the second plurality of sequences based at least in part on selecting the second codebook. (See Eriksson para. 82; UE selects a group based upon criteria and then randomly selects the preamble) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Sedin in view of Wang to include the teaching of randomly select the first sequence from the first plurality of sequences based at least in part on selecting the first codebook, or randomly selecting the second sequence from the second plurality of sequences based at least in part on selecting the second codebook of Eriksson with the motivation being to allow for initial access without coordination and further to reduce signaling overhead and further for efficient resource usage and further for contention resolution and further enable battery savings and further to save bandwidth when possible.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sedin (2024/0340968) and further in view of Wang (2009/0042582) and further in view of Bellili (2022/0052883) and further in view of Wiberg (2014/0079011).
Regarding claim 11, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the UE of claim 1. Sedin in view of Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the number of sequences is based upon the number of wireless devices in each group. However, Wiberg does disclose wherein the number of sequences is based upon the number of wireless devices in each group. (See Wiberg para. 152; number of preambles per group depends on the number of devices expected to be using each group and is updated) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Sedin in view of Wang to include the teaching of wherein the number of sequences is based upon the number of wireless devices in each group of Wiberg with the motivation being to reduce collision risk (See Wiberg para. 153) and further to maximize limited resources by allocating resources according to expectations of devices within the network and further to maximize scheduling.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 15, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sedin (2024/0340968) and further in view of Wang (2009/0042582) and further in view of Bellili (2022/0052883).
Regarding claim 14, Sedin discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: (See Sedin fig. 9; UE with processor executing an algorithm stored in memory; para. 139)
receiving, from a network entity, control signaling indicating a plurality of codebooks associated with random access communications, the plurality of codebooks comprising at least a first codebook associated with a first set of channel conditions and a second codebook associated with a second set of channel conditions, (See Sedin para 106, fig. 7; UE obtains configuration for PRACH transmission (e.g. random access communication) from a radio network node (e.g. network entity) for one or more groups of preambles (e.g. plurality of codebooks); para. 107 each group is based upon conditions such as RSRP, reference signal received power, with thresholds for using a certain group (e.g. channel conditions for each set); para. 110; each group has multiple preambles (e.g. a codebook in that it has multiple sequences); see also para. 109; thresholds (e.g. sets of channel conditions))
selecting one of the first codebook or the second codebook based at least in part on a channel quality metric associated with a channel between the UE and the network entity; and (See Sedin fig. 7, para 107; UE selects a first preamble from a group based upon conditions including signal strength or RSRP (e.g. a channel quality metric) between the UE and network; para. 30; communication between UE and gnb)
transmitting a message to the network entity, wherein the message is transmitted using a first sequence from the first plurality of sequences based at least in part on selecting the first codebook, or wherein the message is transmitted using a second sequence from the second plurality of sequences based at least in part on selecting the second codebook. (See Sedin fig. 7, para. 121; transmit PRACH (e.g. having a message) using first preamble; see also para. 30; communication between UE and gnB (e.g. network entity))
Sedin does not explicitly disclose wherein the sequences have different lengths. However, Wang does disclose wherein the sequences have different lengths. (See Wang para. 34; longer preamble for worse conditions; shorter preamble for better conditions (e.g. different lengths)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Sedin to include the teaching of wherein the sequences have different lengths of Wang with the motivation being to ensure reliable communication and further to balance the need for extending battery life with the need to reliably communicate and further enable battery savings and further to save bandwidth when possible.
Sedin does not explicitly disclose wherein the random access communications is unsourced and wherein each codebook comprises a respective plurality of sequences generated according to a respective distribution type. However, Bellili does disclose wherein the random access communications is unsourced and wherein each codebook comprises a respective plurality of sequences generated according to a respective distribution type. (See Bellili para. 23; codebook wherein each codeword is an n-dimensional complex sequence generated according to a Gaussian distribution; para. 5, 31, 33, fig. 1b; URA, unsourced random access, using Gaussian) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Sedin to include the teaching of wherein the random access communications is unsourced and wherein each codebook comprises a respective of Bellili with the motivation being to reduce overhead in a massive MTC communication environment by not requiring user id and further to establish the random-coding achievability bound for URA, with maximum-likelihood decoding (See Bellili para. 5) and further for compress-sensing recovery of sparsely selected transmitted messages in massive URA.
Regarding claim 15, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising:
comparing the channel quality metric to the first set of channel conditions and the second set of channel conditions, wherein selecting one of the first codebook or the second codebook is based at least in part on the comparison. (See Sedin fig. 7, para 107, 109; UE selects a first preamble from a group based upon conditions including signal strength or RSRP (e.g. a channel quality metric) between the UE and network which is compared to the different thresholds (e.g. first and second set of channel conditions); para. 30; communication between UE and gnb)
Regarding claim 16, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising:
performing one or more measurements of signals received from the network entity via the channel; and (See Sedin para. 109; RSRP is measured by the UE; see also para. 30; communication between UE and gnB (e.g. network entity))
wherein the channel quality metric is based at least in part on the one or more measurements. (See Sedin para. 109; RSRP is measured, given a value and stored (e.g. a numerical value is determined) which is compared to threshold values)
Regarding claim 17, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising:
receiving, from the network entity, additional control signaling indicating the channel quality metric, an indication of the first codebook or the second codebook, or both, wherein selecting one of the first codebook or the second codebook is based at least in part on receiving the additional control signaling. (See Sedin para. 106, 107, 68, fig. 7; additional signaling is part of signaling that indicates first or second codebook and/or additional signaling is conditions which include thresholds)
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sedin (2024/0340968) and further in view of Wang (2009/0042582) and further in view of Bellili (2022/0052883) and further in view of Bayesteh (2019/0190753).
Regarding claim 18, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the method of claim 14. Sedin does not explicitly disclose wherein selecting one of the first codebook or the second codebook is based at least in part on a modulation and coding scheme associated with wireless communications between the UE and the network entity. However, Bayesteh does disclose wherein selecting one of the first codebook or the second codebook is based at least in part on a modulation and coding scheme associated with wireless communications between the UE and the network entity. (See Bayesteh para. 184, 185; codebook selected based upon MCS; signaling is between UE and network (e.g. network entity)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Sedin to include the teaching of wherein selecting one of the first codebook or the second codebook is based at least in part on a modulation and coding scheme associated with wireless communications between the UE and the network entity of Bayesteh with the motivation being to select a codebook having characteristics appropriate for particular transmission requirements and further to facilitate detection/decoding of multiple-user transmissions. (See also Bayesteh para. 136, 194)
Regarding claim 19, Sedin in view of Wang in view of Bellili discloses the method of claim 14. Sedin does not explicitly disclose wherein the first codebook is associated with a first modulation and coding scheme, and wherein the second codebook is associated with a second modulation and coding scheme. However, Bayesteh does disclose wherein the first codebook is associated with a first modulation and coding scheme, and wherein the second codebook is associated with a second modulation and coding scheme. (See Bayesteh para. 136; pool of codebooks arranged into groups based in part on MCS; para. 187; determining codebook group based on a target MCS) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Sedin to include the teaching of wherein the first codebook is associated with a first modulation and coding scheme, and wherein the second codebook is associated with a second modulation and coding scheme of Bayesteh with the motivation being to select a codebook having characteristics appropriate for particular transmission requirements and further to facilitate detection/decoding of multiple-user transmissions. (See also Bayesteh para. 136, 194)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sedin (2024/0340968) and further in view of Wang (2009/0042582) and further in view of Bellili (2022/0052883).
Regarding claim 20, Sedin discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to: (See Sedin fig. 9; UE with processor executing an algorithm stored in memory; para. 139; computer -readable storage medium)
receive, from a network entity, control signaling indicating a plurality of codebooks associated with random access communications, the plurality of codebooks comprising at least a first codebook associated with a first set of channel conditions and a second codebook associated with a second set of channel conditions, (See Sedin para 106, fig. 7; UE obtains configuration for PRACH transmission (e.g. random access communication) from a radio network node (e.g. network entity) for one or more groups of preambles (e.g. plurality of codebooks); para. 107 each group is based upon conditions such as RSRP, reference signal received power, with thresholds for using a certain group (e.g. channel conditions for each set); para. 110; each group has multiple preambles (e.g. a codebook in that it has multiple sequences); see also para. 109; thresholds (e.g. sets of channel conditions))
select one of the first codebook or the second codebook based at least in part on a channel quality metric associated with a channel between the UE and the network entity; and (See Sedin fig. 7, para 107; UE selects a first preamble from a group based upon conditions including signal strength or RSRP (e.g. a channel quality metric) between the UE and network; para. 30; communication between UE and gnb)
transmit a message to the network entity, wherein the message is transmitted using a first sequence from the first plurality of sequences based at least in part on selecting the first codebook, or wherein the message is transmitted using a second sequence from the second plurality of sequences based at least in part on selecting the second codebook. (See Sedin fig. 7, para. 121; transmit PRACH (e.g. having a message) using first preamble; see also para. 30; communication between UE and gnB (e.g. network entity))
Sedin does not explicitly disclose wherein the sequences have different lengths. However, Wang does disclose wherein the sequences have different lengths. (See Wang para. 34; longer preamble for worse conditions; shorter preamble for better conditions (e.g. different lengths)) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Sedin to include the teaching of wherein the sequences have different lengths of Wang with the motivation being to ensure reliable communication and further to balance the need for extending battery life with the need to reliably communicate and further enable battery savings and further to save bandwidth when possible.
Sedin does not explicitly disclose wherein the random access communications is unsourced and wherein each codebook comprises a respective plurality of sequences generated according to a respective distribution type. However, Bellili does disclose wherein the random access communications is unsourced and wherein each codebook comprises a respective plurality of sequences generated according to a respective distribution type. (See Bellili para. 23; codebook wherein each codeword is an n-dimensional complex sequence generated according to a Gaussian distribution; para. 5, 31, 33, fig. 1b; URA, unsourced random access, using Gaussian) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Sedin to include the teaching of wherein the random access communications is unsourced and wherein each codebook comprises a respective of Bellili with the motivation being to reduce overhead in a massive MTC communication environment by not requiring user id and further to establish the random-coding achievability bound for URA, with maximum-likelihood decoding (See Bellili para. 5) and further for compress-sensing recovery of sparsely selected transmitted messages in massive URA.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stephen J Clawson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461