DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "X1 to X14" in section 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The structure of the claim on contains X1 to X12, and thus X13 and X14 lack antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Seo et al. (US 2025/0197643) in view of Changmin et al. (KR 20220045693). Note: A machine translation is being used for KR 20220045693.
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Considering Claims 1 and 15: Seo et al. teaches a composition comprising an alkali-soluble resin, a reactive unsaturated compound, a photoinitator, a reactive dye and a solvent (¶0008), where the reactive dye comprises a compound that has the formula
where at least one of X1-X4 is
, and the other variables are the same as the instant claims; and a protecting group of the formula
where the variables have the same definitions as the instant claims (¶0061-77).
Seo et al. does not teach the photoinitiator as having the claimed properties. However, Changmin et al. teaches a photosensitive composition comprising a photoinitiator having a maximum molar absorption of 10,000 or more in a region of 320 to 380 nm and a loss of 5% by weight at 200 ºC or less (pg. 7). Changmin et al. teaches the photoinitiator as having the structure of
with the variables being the same as claimed (Formula 3). Seo et al. and Changmin et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely photosensitive compositions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the photoinitiator of Changmin et al. in the composition of Seo et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Changmin et al. suggests, to produce a composition with excellent patternability due to the high sensitivity (pg. 15).
Considering Claims 2-3: Seo et al. teaches at least of X1 and X2 having formula A and at least one of X3 and X4 having formula A, with remainder having the recited substituents (¶0079).
Considering Claim 4: Seo et al. teaches the chromopohore having a maximum absorption peak between 520 and 680 nm (¶0082).
Considering Claim 5: Seo et al. teaches the cage width of the protecting ropu is 6.5 to 7.5 A and the volume is 10 to 16 A (¶0085).
Considering Claim 6: Seo et al. teaches the chromophore and protecting group as being in a 1:1 molar ratio (¶0086).
Considering Claim 7: Seo et al. teaches the dye as being present in an amount of 0.1 to 50 weight percent (¶0089).
Considering Claim 8: Seo et al. teaches the alkalie soluble resin as having a structure of
, with the variables being the same as currently claimed (¶0118-0147).
Considering Claim 9: Seo et al. teaches the molecular weight of the alkali soluble resin as being 1,000 to 100,000 g/mol (¶0156).
Considering Claim 10: Seo et al. does not teach the claimed ratio. However, Changmin et al. teaches an alkali soluble resin with the claimed formula, and a ratio of units E to F of 2:0 to 1:1 (pg. 10). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the claimed ratio of units E and F, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Changmin et al. suggests, to reduce residue and outgas from the rein (pg. 10).
Considering Claim 11: Seo et al. teaches the amount of resin as being 1 to 50 weight percent (¶0157).
Considering Claim 12: Seo et al. teaches the amount of reactive unsaturated compound as being 1 to 50 weight percent (¶0167).
Considering Claim 13: Seo et al. teaches the unsaturated compound as preferably being ethylene glycol diacrylate (¶0162).
Considering Claim 14: Seo et al. teaches the amount of photoinitiator as being 0.01 to 10 weight percent (¶0181).
Considering Claim 16: Seo et al. teaches a pattern or film made from the composition (¶0194).
Considering Claim 17: Seo et al. teaches the difference in transmittance at 450 to 620 before and after immersion in propylene glycol methyl ether as being 0.05 to 1.2 % in an example (Table 6).
Considering Claim 18: Seo et al. teaches an organic light emitting display device comprising the pattern or film (¶0194).
Considering Claim 19: Seo et al. teaches a electronic device comprising the display device and a control unit for operating the display device (¶0012).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3, 5-9, 16-23, and 25 of copending Application No. 18/707,680 in view of Changmin et al. (KR 20220045693). Note: A machine translation is being used for KR 20220045693.
Considering Claims 1 and 15: Claim 8 of Application ‘680 teaches a composition comprising an alkali-soluble resin, a reactive unsaturated compound, a photoinitator, a reactive dye and a solvent, where the reactive dye comprises a compound that has the formula
where at least one of X1-X4 is
, and the other variables are the same as the instant claims; and a protecting group of the formula
where the variables have the same definitions as the instant claims.
Application ‘680 does not teach the photoinitiator as having the claimed properties. However, Changmin et al. teaches a photosensitive composition comprising a photoinitiator having a maximum molar absorption of 10,000 or more in a region of 320 to 380 nm and a loss of 5% by weight at 200 ºC or less (pg. 7). Changmin et al. teaches the photoinitiator as having the structure of
with the variables being the same as claimed (Formula 3). Application ‘680 and Changmin et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely photosensitive compositions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the photoinitiator of Changmin et al. in the composition of Application ‘680, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Changmin et al. suggests, to produce a composition with excellent patternability due to the high sensitivity (pg. 15).
Considering Claims 2-9, 11, 12, 14 and 16-19: Claims 2, 3, 5-7, 9, 16-23, and 25 of Application ‘680 correspond to instant claims 2-10, 12, 14, and 16-19.
Considering Claim 10: Application ‘680 does not teach the claimed ratio. However, Changmin et al. teaches an alkali soluble resin with the claimed formula, and a ratio of units E to F of 2:0 to 1:1 (pg. 10). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the claimed ratio of units E and F, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Changmin et al. suggests, to reduce residue and outgas from the rein (pg. 10).
Considering Claim 13: Application ‘680 is silent towards the structure of the unsaturated compound. However, Changmin et al. teaches the claimed structure for the unsaturated compound (Formula 2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the compound of Changmin et al. as the unsaturated compound of Application ‘680, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Changmin et al. suggests, they provide excellent heat resistance, light resistance, and chemical resistance (pg. 12).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (US 20220204775) teaches a photosensitive composition comprising a protected squarylium core having at least three methacrylate groups and a shell (Abstract). The closest disclosed species is
(pg. 7). However, there is no suggestion in the art to add the carbamate or amide linkage of the instant claims to arrive at the claimed structure.
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767